$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

3 stars
View map of 5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN DIEGO, CA
May 17, 2010

Great location and amenities for a beach

Great. off the beaten path (by two blocks) so quiet, but still surrounded by great restaurants and markets. friendly staff, great rooftop breakfast, clean, large rooms. comfy beds, good showers, nice courtyard pool, Mamitas beach club tickets were great. Top of the list for a reurn trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul MN
Apr 18, 2010

peaceful retreat

Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful included made-to-order breakfast on the rooftop. Close enough to walk to all the restaurants and beach - far enough north on 5th that you don't hear the noise of the bars and clubs. Great small pool, spotless rooms, AC and ceiling fans, free purified water, and free access to Mamitas Beach club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the walk-up Argentinian place around the corner - they have great empenadas for about 20 pesos each! Another favorite was Piola for pizza and pasta- walk towards the beach on 38th Street, just a few steps from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 29, 2010

Amazing!!

This hotel was amazing! First off, everyone that works there is so nice and helpful. The rooftop breakfast had great omelettes and fruit. My boyfriend loved their coffee and espressos. At night the rooftop turned into a bar with a free welcome drink of delicious sangria. The hotel staff was very friendly, and will help you with whatever you need whether it be recommendations or reservations. The place was kept very clean, and it was very modern and nice looking. The hotel was in an awesome location, right at the north end of fifth street. Easy access to the shopping and restaurants of fifth street and great beaches, yet not too noisy. The bed and pillows were so comfortable! I was beyond impressed with this hotel, they constantly try and go above and beyond to please their guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and was very sad to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try restaurants that are off 5th street and not right on it. They seem to be much cheaper and delicious! We loved El Fogon and Carboncitos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yucatan traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 23, 2010

My favorite hotel in Playa

Great location. Easy walk to the shops of 5th Avenue, but quiet due to not being right in the middle of everything. Beach is an easy three block walk. Super nice and efficient staff. Breakfast is on the roof. Great for starting the morning. Eggs, omelets, quesadillas, fruit, fresh squeezed OJ are served. Pool is small - but great for a dip after the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the hotel personnel about anything: beach clubs, restaurants, snorkeling, etc. They are very informed and helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2010

Wonderful hotel!!!

My friend and I stayed at Casa Ticul for 9 nights and we would do it all over again. Both of us have stayed in PDC before and we were very impressed. You will not get value better than this in PDC!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. There was a large selection of TV channels. The breakfasts served on the top deck (included with the cost of the hotel) were out of this world. This is no "Continental breakfast"... they serve made to order eggs, omelettes, toast, coffee, espresso, freshly squeezed juices, fruits, meats and cheeses. The hotel is a little far from the main action of 5th Ave, but being New Yorkers we were OK with the walk and enjoyed the peace at night. Also, we felt safe. The beach club passes were a great inclusive. We loved Mamitas. Get there early to get a good spot. If I had to stretch to "complain", I would say they could use a stronger internet signal for the 3rd Floor and Roof, but the WIFI is free so I shouldn't complain. The pool is small and we never used it, but it fits the hotels boutique-ness. I will definitely stay here again when I return to PDC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocina 38 (right across the street) was excellent! It is pricey but worth it for a splurge and the culinary delight! [...] is a master chef and [...] is an ultimate professional!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Great Time in Playa del Carmen

Casa Ticul is great! We just returned from a week at stay and we will definitely consider returning on a future trip to Playa del Carmen. There are no negatives to comment on other than the fact that our stay was too short! The rooms were a nice size for Playa, beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast that was included was awesome! They prepared different local specialties each morning and everything was perfect! Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, VA
Feb 22, 2010

Excellent location, best bed ever!!!!

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in period! I suffer from intractable back pain and was dreading having to sleep on a hard bed, so we always have to bring an airmattress. Not this time! No, I had the best sleep ever and woke up in no pain. This is a family run business and they are wonderful, caring people. We were always greeted with a smile. They have a continental breakfast and I had an omlette made to order every day with caramel or chocolate sauce. It was great. The hotel was very quite and the rooms were exceptionally clean. You get a pass to a beach that is just around the corner and it is very very beautiful. Beach towels are furnished too. There is a lockbox in every room and we felt very safe there. I have nothing but wonderful thoughts when thinking back on the hotel. It is a hidden treasure for sure. Thank you to all the staff at Casa Ticul for making our stay with you so wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is at the northern end of Playa and just a short walk to all the shops. It is just far away to have peace and quite, but close enough to get to all the shopping, bus stations, cabs, etc. Oh, there is a little shop beside the hotel that you can get drinks, snacks and just about anything there you need like a 7/ll would have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 11, 2010

Quaint & Quiet

Casa Ticul had beautifully appointed rooms with just the right ammenities for a very comfortable and memorable stay. Being located at the north end of 5th Ave was far enough away from the never ending trinket shops and restaurants but just blocks to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using taxis and the local businesses in the immediate area were always cheaper and the restaurants were authentic and great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel lovers from Italy and Russia
Business
New York, USA
Feb 2, 2010

The best value for the price

This small family-owned hotel is located right on 5ta avenida in Playa del Carmen, but not in the buzy loud area. It is a short walk from all the restaurants, clubs and shops - about 5 minutes - so you will not have to walk far to be fed and entertained, but will have a quiet restful sleep and will not be disturbed by loud music. Morning starts with a delicious home-style breakfast on the top floor terrace: eggs, crepes, fruit, juices, tea and coffee - every day something different. There is a lovely restaurant to have lunch and dinner at right across the street! You will not regret your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark from N. CA
Business
San Jose CA
Jan 14, 2010

Great Hotel in PLAYA DEL CARMEN

The staff were awesome! I was really impressed when the owner of the Hotel Casa Ticul carried all our luggage to our room. He did not hesitate when we arrived with heavy dive gear. The hotel is situated several blocks from the noisier party side of Playa, so it was quiet and nice. Awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top