$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

3 stars
5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed... See full review

  • DaniCy
  • May 6, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the... See full review

  • Juan Colombia
  • May 5, 2014
Modern, adults-only hideaway on Playa del Carmen’s Fifth Avenue
Hotel Casa Ticul on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue boasts a swimming pool, reading room, concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and passes to the famous Mamitas Beach Club. This adults-only refuge also features daily Mexican homestyle breakfast, roof terrace and massage services (fees apply). The hotel's close proximity to all that Playa del Carmen has to offer means that both the chaos of the city and the relaxation of the beach are close at hand.
Highlights:
  • Access to Mamitas Beach Club
  • In Playa del Carmen on Fifth Avenue, famous for its boutiques and restaurants
  • A short walk from Hotel Casa Ticul to Playa Mamitas beach
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby and public areas of the hotel
  • Access to Beach Club, includes beach towels and umbrellas (A $10 USD of  minimum consumption required)
  • Free 24-hour coffee service
  • Free beach towels
  • Business Center
Rooms:

Modern rooms at Hotel Casa Ticul benefit from white linens, bright red accent colors, tile floors and dark wood accessories. Casa Ticul has 15 standard king rooms, four standard double room and one junior suite. All feature creature comforts such as wheat and honey extract body products, shampoo and conditioner, cotton facial towels, bathrobes and slippers and extra linens. The mini-bar, flatscreen TV, AC and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply) make life easy at Hotel Casa Ticul. The junior suite boasts a king-sized canopy bed, private balcony and small living room.

Features:

Hotel Casa Ticul boasts a pool, passes to the Mamitas Beach Club, and in-room massages (fees apply). DVDs and board games can be borrowed from the concierge. The roof deck offers a view of Playa del Carmen.

Popular day trips from Hotel Casa Ticul include a trip to the wildlife reserve Xcaret and the ruins at Tulum. Get even further from home by taking a trip to the famed Mayan pyramids of Chichen-Itza.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (5 mi/9 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
  • Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel does not accept kids under 16 years old.
  • A $10 minimum purchase is required to access the Beach Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented Rooms

Standard Ticul Room - King
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 244sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room. Guests 16 + are welcome.
Suite
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 385sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.
Standard Ticul Room - Double
The bedding option for the room is two double bed in 257sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6359 -87.0657
Area served
Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya: Puerto Morelos,Cozumel, Xcaret Park,Cancun,Xel-Ha, Tulum,Cob,Chichen Itza Transport/tours/car hire/taxis can be arranged at the hotel.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 32 miles, 45 minute drive Local airport in Playa del Carmen where pleasure flights to Holbox, Chiapas, Campeche and many other destinations can be arranged.
Area description
Casa Ticul is located in the heart of cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen at the intersection of the famous quinta avenida (fifth avenue) and 38th street North. This upscale area is populated wth fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. We are 3 blocks from the beach and walking distance to our beach club "Mamitas".

Dining

Breakfast Room
The hotel has a welcoming rooftop terrace where complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7.30 to 11.00am. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and ham.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
intfriend
Maryland, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Second time--still great

This is our second visit to Hotel Casa Ticul in a month. We like this place very much for three major reasons: (1) the price is right (2) the rooms are very clean, and (3) the free breakfasts are hot and superb! One morning they served mushroom and cheese omelettes, next morning was huevos con rajas (an omelette stuffed with strips of poblano peppers and other vegetables, another mornng was pancakes with blueberry sauce. Amazing!!! In addition the location is very good if you want to be close to the beach but not in a noisy, busy part of town. My only suggestion for the hotel is to eventually improve the computer connection speed in the rooms. In the two rooms we stayed in the connection spped was weak. But I can mention that the computer in the lobby were fine. Overall a wonderful place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restuarants nearby (like a block away)are La Cueva del Chango (Mexican) and Piola (pizza).

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artfulsong
Maple Grove, MN, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Calm in the midst of parties

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were really nice. It was also in a quiet area, north of all the clubs, but still within walking distance of the fun. My only critiques have to do with the really small pool, and the beach club passes. One of the beach clubs had boats parked out front so there was no room to swim. The other had loud thumping disco music--not really conducive to relaxing. With that said, you can go anywhere to swim, so it wasn't that big of a deal. It's a good choice for a vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chichen Itza and Xcaret are worth the money!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artfulsong
Maple Grove, MN, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Calm in the midst of parties

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were really nice. It was also in a quiet area, north of all the clubs, but still within walking distance of the fun. My only critiques have to do with the really small pool, and the beach club passes. One of the beach clubs had boats parked out front so there was no room to swim. The other had loud thumping disco music--not really conducive to relaxing. With that said, you can go anywhere to swim, so it wasn't that big of a deal. It's a good choice for a vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chichen Itza and Xcaret are worth the money!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playamax
Sunny California
Jun 10, 2011

Comfort, Convenience, and Service

Our stay was very comfortable starting with the smooth checkin to the nice compact breakfast selection on the rooftop terrace. Everyone working had great attitute and a smile on their face. The free passes to Mamita's beach were great value as we were a family of 5. Evidenced by the blue and white stripe towels (Casa Ticul), I could tell others felt the same way. If you have a car, there is free parking lot at Mamita's, if you spend at least 200 pesos in food n bevrages. The only drawback was that at the end of the day, the hot water in the shower was only lukewarm, even when no cold water was used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Dis is a wonderful Argentine restaurant (5th and Calle 30). They have the best empanandas!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playamax
Sunny California
Jun 10, 2011

Comfort, Convenience, and Service

Our stay was very comfortable starting with the smooth checkin to the nice compact breakfast selection on the rooftop terrace. Everyone working had great attitute and a smile on their face. The free passes to Mamita's beach were great value as we were a family of 5. Evidenced by the blue and white stripe towels (Casa Ticul), I could tell others felt the same way. If you have a car, there is free parking lot at Mamita's, if you spend at least 200 pesos in food n bevrages. The only drawback was that at the end of the day, the hot water in the shower was only lukewarm, even when no cold water was used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Dis is a wonderful Argentine restaurant (5th and Calle 30). They have the best empanandas!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LordNottingham
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 1, 2011

A wonderful hotel to stay at!

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway! All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convenience store next door has well-priced alcohol, as well as snacks and drinks.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LordNottingham
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 1, 2011

A wonderful hotel to stay at!

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway! All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convenience store next door has well-priced alcohol, as well as snacks and drinks.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
tacwa
May 8, 2011

Welcoming and quaint

We could not have been happier with our accomadations. The staff and atmosphere make Casa Ticul a home away from home. Very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Quiet, convenient location on 5th, close to the beach. Plus, great breakfast on the lovely rooftop terrace and tickets for the beach chairs and umbrellas. My favorite part of the day was a cappacino on the terrace, my husband was also able to enjoy his evening cigar up there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just bring US $ and dont bother exchanging.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
tacwa
May 8, 2011

Welcoming and quaint

We could not have been happier with our accomadations. The staff and atmosphere make Casa Ticul a home away from home. Very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Quiet, convenient location on 5th, close to the beach. Plus, great breakfast on the lovely rooftop terrace and tickets for the beach chairs and umbrellas. My favorite part of the day was a cappacino on the terrace, my husband was also able to enjoy his evening cigar up there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just bring US $ and dont bother exchanging.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Haven, MI
Feb 16, 2011

Great location, great staff

What a fabulous hotel, staff, location. The hotel has a great roof top for breakfast dining and what a breakfast! Our completments to [...] and [...]. We also used the rooftop for sunning during the day and our own cocktail hour time in the evenings. What a supper plus for the hotel. Hats off to the managers. They have hired an entire staff of professional, friendly, helpful, happy,courteous, and hardworking people. Also, they have a very large staff for a small hotel so it is kept up to exacting standards. Loved the small pool with tables in the shade and at night lit candles surrounding it. Lovely, experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Incredibly good, inexpensive, upscale or casual restaurants within one block of hotel.Pialo for Pizza on 38th just off 5th, ComoComo and Pachmann or something like that for elegant on 5th between 38th and 40th, and Baremar at 5th and 38th for a great penne pasta dish. Much better than dining in the hubbub of the downtown 5th.

Back to menu Return to top