Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

3 stars
View map of 5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
SAN DIEGO, CA
May 17, 2010

Great location and amenities for a beach

Great. off the beaten path (by two blocks) so quiet, but still surrounded by great restaurants and markets. friendly staff, great rooftop breakfast, clean, large rooms. comfy beds, good showers, nice courtyard pool, Mamitas beach club tickets were great. Top of the list for a reurn trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playamax
Family
Sunny California
Jun 10, 2011

Comfort, Convenience, and Service

Our stay was very comfortable starting with the smooth checkin to the nice compact breakfast selection on the rooftop terrace. Everyone working had great attitute and a smile on their face. The free passes to Mamita's beach were great value as we were a family of 5. Evidenced by the blue and white stripe towels (Casa Ticul), I could tell others felt the same way. If you have a car, there is free parking lot at Mamita's, if you spend at least 200 pesos in food n bevrages. The only drawback was that at the end of the day, the hot water in the shower was only lukewarm, even when no cold water was used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Dis is a wonderful Argentine restaurant (5th and Calle 30). They have the best empanandas!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 11, 2010

Quaint & Quiet

Casa Ticul had beautifully appointed rooms with just the right ammenities for a very comfortable and memorable stay. Being located at the north end of 5th Ave was far enough away from the never ending trinket shops and restaurants but just blocks to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using taxis and the local businesses in the immediate area were always cheaper and the restaurants were authentic and great.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artfulsong
Single
Maple Grove, MN, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Calm in the midst of parties

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were really nice. It was also in a quiet area, north of all the clubs, but still within walking distance of the fun. My only critiques have to do with the really small pool, and the beach club passes. One of the beach clubs had boats parked out front so there was no room to swim. The other had loud thumping disco music--not really conducive to relaxing. With that said, you can go anywhere to swim, so it wasn't that big of a deal. It's a good choice for a vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chichen Itza and Xcaret are worth the money!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel lovers from Italy and Russia
Couples
New York, USA
Feb 2, 2010

The best value for the price

This small family-owned hotel is located right on 5ta avenida in Playa del Carmen, but not in the buzy loud area. It is a short walk from all the restaurants, clubs and shops - about 5 minutes - so you will not have to walk far to be fed and entertained, but will have a quiet restful sleep and will not be disturbed by loud music. Morning starts with a delicious home-style breakfast on the top floor terrace: eggs, crepes, fruit, juices, tea and coffee - every day something different. There is a lovely restaurant to have lunch and dinner at right across the street! You will not regret your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston
May 19, 2010

Ok experience

Room was ok even though I had the worst room in the house. (next to cleaning room, facing a wall and with tiny window). Rooms are all very dark (lights are really not enough). Breakfast was ok. Staff was good. Cleaning lady was great. Beach passes were good but we used it more to go to the restrooms than to stay on the chairs. Beach passes good for a chair OR umbrella. Location was great, close from the buzz but far enough not to hear the noise at night. Not sure if I would stay again, but it was an ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMEV
Couples
MEXICO CITY
Jul 7, 2014

Great Hotel for Playa

If you are not interested in big hotels with all the amenities. This boutique hotel is for you! specially traveling alone or couples. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Right at 5th ave. You can have beach day passes at different locations. Very happy with the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all restaurants and clubs in playa, all walking distance.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papaya
Couples
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Great staffs, nice room, but bit noisy

I stayed with my husband in December. First we had a room that had no sun light (top floor corner room #16) so it was dark and humid. We asked to change the room to #18(middle room on the top floor) and it was much better. Staffs were very accurate and friendly, there is always free coffee and towels, great breakfast, clean room. But all room windows are facing 5th ave so you need ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise. There are corridors in front of the windows so you see people walking by if you are opening the windows, so no much privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like quieter beach, go to Akumal beach. There is a public shuttle bus from down town of Playa del carmen and only 35pesos/one way. 30mins drive and you'll get there. Good snorkeling (I saw turtles, mantas, squids) and nice restaurant on the way to Yal ku.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan W.
Couples
Melrose Park
Jun 13, 2015

Vacation

We look at the previous customers reviews, still not sure, so we booked only one night , but once we were there booked an xtra night, very good service , the girls at the kitchen very helpful, food delicious,rooms spacious and clean will be back definitely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCEM
Couples
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2014

Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean and the staff was always nice and ready with recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top