$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

3 stars
5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
39 reviews
Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed... See full review

  • DaniCy
  • May 6, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the... See full review

  • Juan Colombia
  • May 5, 2014
Modern, adults-only hideaway on Playa del Carmen’s Fifth Avenue
Hotel Casa Ticul on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue boasts a swimming pool, reading room, concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and passes to the famous Mamitas Beach Club. This adults-only refuge also features daily Mexican homestyle breakfast, roof terrace and massage services (fees apply). The hotel's close proximity to all that Playa del Carmen has to offer means that both the chaos of the city and the relaxation of the beach are close at hand.
Highlights:
  • Access to Mamitas Beach Club
  • In Playa del Carmen on Fifth Avenue, famous for its boutiques and restaurants
  • A short walk from Hotel Casa Ticul to Playa Mamitas beach
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby and public areas of the hotel
  • Access to Beach Club, includes beach towels and umbrellas (A $10 USD of  minimum consumption required)
  • Free 24-hour coffee service
  • Free beach towels
  • Business Center
Rooms:

Modern rooms at Hotel Casa Ticul benefit from white linens, bright red accent colors, tile floors and dark wood accessories. Casa Ticul has 15 standard king rooms, four standard double room and one junior suite. All feature creature comforts such as wheat and honey extract body products, shampoo and conditioner, cotton facial towels, bathrobes and slippers and extra linens. The mini-bar, flatscreen TV, AC and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply) make life easy at Hotel Casa Ticul. The junior suite boasts a king-sized canopy bed, private balcony and small living room.

Features:

Hotel Casa Ticul boasts a pool, passes to the Mamitas Beach Club, and in-room massages (fees apply). DVDs and board games can be borrowed from the concierge. The roof deck offers a view of Playa del Carmen.

Popular day trips from Hotel Casa Ticul include a trip to the wildlife reserve Xcaret and the ruins at Tulum. Get even further from home by taking a trip to the famed Mayan pyramids of Chichen-Itza.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (5 mi/9 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
  • Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel does not accept kids under 16 years old.
  • A $10 minimum purchase is required to access the Beach Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented Rooms

Standard Ticul Room - King
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 244sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room. Guests 16 + are welcome.
Suite
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 385sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.
Standard Ticul Room - Double
The bedding option for the room is two double bed in 257sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Breakfast Room
The hotel has a welcoming rooftop terrace where complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7.30 to 11.00am. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and ham.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aitotravel
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

It was OKAY

This hotel is great! Great Staff! They are very friendly and helpful (the receptionist even printed out maps for us). The location could be better though. You have to do a lot of walking to go anywhere from here. But It's only 5 mins away from the beach and it's also close to downtown. The hotel was noisy. I can hear people yelling, walking up and down the stairs, and cars and motorcycles driving by. But this didn't happen every night but still it disturbed our sleep. Overall I give 3.5/5. Great location and staff! But the noisy is hard to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thai basil
Business
atlanta
Mar 25, 2013

Just Okay

After several trips to Playa, we thought we would stay at the north end of the 5th Ave strip. We were hoping it would be quieter, but it was not. There was a restaurant across the street with live music, usually quite loud. The rooms all face the court yard and we could hear everyone coming and going. The staff began work early in the day and were talking with one another at loud volumes. There was no balcony or porch. Breakfast on the roof was nice, but nothing special. The orange juice was delicious, but they often ran out for those guests arriving at the last hour of breakfast. Housekeeping needed some work. Perhaps a checklist for cleaning the rooms. For instance, our room had a dehumidifier which the maid usually forgot to empty. Our toilet whistled loudly when flushed. I would think housekeeping would be encouraged to report problems so they could be fixed. The sheets were pilled and not so soft. The ceiling fan in our first room only ran on full speed, which was too much for the space. It would be nice to have a dresser instead of just dark shelves. The only place to sit in the room was a small bench which was overflowing with throw pillows. A proper chair would be nice. This was the most disappointing place we have stayed in Playa. The pool was on the ground level in the courtyard and rather small. The lounge chairs were on top of the roof. The cushions on the lounge chairs were very thin and uncomfortable. The staff was okay, just not very friendly or warm. There are better hotels in the same price range in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alibabba
Business
San francisco
May 5, 2013

Cute and modern

Even though hotel was far from the main downtown area, it was still noisy at night.. We could hear talking past 1 am in the morning.. Staff blasted the outdoor stereo at 7 am on a Saturday morning...waking up all the guests! We had to wait for a couple of hours to check in after a long day of travel as the rooms were not ready. I like the decor...it was hip. Staff was nice. Hotel has access to a couple of beach clubs...I used Mamitas which was good. But, you have to present a coupon from the hotel...they will charge you if you don't have one and they are not very accommodating if you tell them you lost it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exploring Duo
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 31, 2014

Nice Boutique Hotel

We stayed four nights in May. The hotel has a great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. They were doing rooftop renovation and told us noise would start at 10 a.m. but it actually started by 7 a.m. daily and woke us up early. They offered a continental breakfast which was just enough food for us. It is a good choice for a well-priced hotel option. There are no bells and whistles except for passes to beach clubs where you have to spend a minimum of 100 pesos per person each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Pirata for fresh fish and seafood coctels. It is on Calle 40 a block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mochilero
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 25, 2010

Nice location, nice people

It's very good location. We didn't need to take a taxi to go to ADO terminal. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice and ready to help us. But there is a guy who gave me wrong information about taxi fare from ADO to the hotel when we arrived in Playa del Carmen. We were noticed that MX$50 was too much from the terminal to the hotel which information was given by a person from the hotel. We could pay MX$20 or $30 as max. When we went to Tulum and Xcaret, we got up early and walked on the street where is very safe and a lot of things to see. At night there was some noise in front of the hotel then my wife couldn't sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

just go out from the hotel and go straight to the right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark from N. CA
Business
San Jose CA
Jan 14, 2010

Great Hotel in PLAYA DEL CARMEN

The staff were awesome! I was really impressed when the owner of the Hotel Casa Ticul carried all our luggage to our room. He did not hesitate when we arrived with heavy dive gear. The hotel is situated several blocks from the noisier party side of Playa, so it was quiet and nice. Awesome experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Haven, MI
Feb 16, 2011

Great location, great staff

What a fabulous hotel, staff, location. The hotel has a great roof top for breakfast dining and what a breakfast! Our completments to [...] and [...]. We also used the rooftop for sunning during the day and our own cocktail hour time in the evenings. What a supper plus for the hotel. Hats off to the managers. They have hired an entire staff of professional, friendly, helpful, happy,courteous, and hardworking people. Also, they have a very large staff for a small hotel so it is kept up to exacting standards. Loved the small pool with tables in the shade and at night lit candles surrounding it. Lovely, experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Incredibly good, inexpensive, upscale or casual restaurants within one block of hotel.Pialo for Pizza on 38th just off 5th, ComoComo and Pachmann or something like that for elegant on 5th between 38th and 40th, and Baremar at 5th and 38th for a great penne pasta dish. Much better than dining in the hubbub of the downtown 5th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyBChav
Business
Chicago
Jan 10, 2012

Definitely pleasantly surprised

Booked this hotel last minute based on website reviews, was very nervous about it as I stayed on my own (never done that in central america, as a woman it's a little nervewracking). I always take reviews with a grain of salt, but decided to go for it, and everything the reviews said was spot on. Safe, clean, great staff, a little bit loud but everywhere in PDC was this past weekend with music festival (and nothing a pair of comfortable ear plugs couldn't cure). Great breakfast, and fantastic value for money. The room was nicer than my friend's room who were paying almost twice what I paid at a different hotel, and they had to move rooms 3 times before they were comfortable! All in all, would highly recommend this. It's not a huge room, but it's a good, comfortable size room (enough to have a few people over for a quick drink before heading out). And the towel animals were adorable :) All in all, highly recommended for a very nice, safe, convenient, clean, pretty hotel, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemexico
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
Mar 26, 2012

North end charmer

We stayed 6 nights at Casa ticul and it became a true home away from home. Each and every member of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was terrific and the hotel includes free beach passes. Our first time in Playa was 10 years ago and the growth is almost too much for us. The North end and places like Casa Ticul will keep us returning another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kclarkrn
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Apr 15, 2012

Very Nice location and atmosphere

We had a very nice one night stay . The staff greeted us and were very helpful. Close to town and all the fun of Playa del Carmen. We will return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top