$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

3 stars
View map of 5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rainey Woods
Business
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The location is great. It is north of the tourist hub but within 5 minutes walk to the beach,10 minutes to the bank, and 15 minutes to the bus station. You can walk down 5th Avenue to Playacar in around 20 minutes or walk to catch the Cozumel ferry in about 15 minutes. Resturants are around every corner. There is a small convenience store, "Bananas", as you walk out the front door to the left. Great for picking up a beer and snacks to take to the room. Everything is very convenient. My wife and I especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof top terrace. The food was very tasty. And, it was a great place to meet other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had excellent food and service at Mi Pueblo, 5th Ave and Calle 38. My wife had vegetarian fahitas and I had (very fresh) grilled grouper. Fine dining at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed Bardella Pizza Restorante located at 5th Avenue and Calle 32. The pizza and salads were very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scubalawyer
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 14, 2012

Excellent Boutique Hotel

The staff at Casa Ticul, particularly Diego, was wonderful! The hotel is small with no on-site restaurant, but they served nice continental breakfast every morning on the rooftop. They are right on 5th Avenue so walking to restaurants is no problem. The hotel provides excellent Wi-Fi service and is perfect for travelers looking for something clean, affordable, and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nash
Business
Castroville, TX, USA
Jul 31, 2012

Quaint

This hotel has the feel of a bed and breakfast but with many of the amenities of a 4 star hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and SPOTLESS! The utilities, AC, plumbing are in great working order. The daily FREE breakfast is a real plus for divers wanting some nourishment before hitting the reefs. Although I didn't use it there is a dive shop just next to the hotel. The hotel, located on 5th St., is removed enough so you don't have the nightly noise but close enough to do some shopping easily. I will be returning to this hotel soon .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wal-Mart is close enough for a good walk to exercise and return taxi fare if you like is $5.US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
May 13, 2012

best ever vacation

close to everything!!!!!!!!! close to 5ft ave, close restaurants, beauty shops and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vashni
Business
Branchburg, NJ
May 9, 2012

A great alternative to the mega resorts

The staff is very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast on the roof is a real treat! There is no elevator so be prepared to get some exercise! The room was clean, large (junior suite), and had a mini fridge and a balcony, but there was not a lot of furniture to upack into. The hotel is on the quieter end of 5th Ave and is in walking distance of great beaches (beach club passes for 3 beach clubs are available) and restaraunts. That being said, we had a lot of noise (both music and road) especially Friday and Saturday nights. The pool is small, but lovely and all the plants and outside furniture make for many pleasant spots to sit and enjoy the moment! Kudos for creating a little oasis in downtown Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cave of the Monkey-great outdoor dining in a lovely setting. Just a short walk from the hotel along the road to the public beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Apr 29, 2012

Great vacation ever!!!

I usually travel a lot around the world, and most of the time i find out that family hotel oriented offer best solution. Hotel Casa Ticul offer all the best confortable close to one of the best treet of Playa, the 5 th ave! The staff very friendly and especially the breakfast in the morning is excellent!!!! I will definatelly going back! Thank you !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kclarkrn
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Apr 15, 2012

Very Nice location and atmosphere

We had a very nice one night stay . The staff greeted us and were very helpful. Close to town and all the fun of Playa del Carmen. We will return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemexico
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
Mar 26, 2012

North end charmer

We stayed 6 nights at Casa ticul and it became a true home away from home. Each and every member of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was terrific and the hotel includes free beach passes. Our first time in Playa was 10 years ago and the growth is almost too much for us. The North end and places like Casa Ticul will keep us returning another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyBChav
Business
Chicago
Jan 10, 2012

Definitely pleasantly surprised

Booked this hotel last minute based on website reviews, was very nervous about it as I stayed on my own (never done that in central america, as a woman it's a little nervewracking). I always take reviews with a grain of salt, but decided to go for it, and everything the reviews said was spot on. Safe, clean, great staff, a little bit loud but everywhere in PDC was this past weekend with music festival (and nothing a pair of comfortable ear plugs couldn't cure). Great breakfast, and fantastic value for money. The room was nicer than my friend's room who were paying almost twice what I paid at a different hotel, and they had to move rooms 3 times before they were comfortable! All in all, would highly recommend this. It's not a huge room, but it's a good, comfortable size room (enough to have a few people over for a quick drink before heading out). And the towel animals were adorable :) All in all, highly recommended for a very nice, safe, convenient, clean, pretty hotel, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aitotravel
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

It was OKAY

This hotel is great! Great Staff! They are very friendly and helpful (the receptionist even printed out maps for us). The location could be better though. You have to do a lot of walking to go anywhere from here. But It's only 5 mins away from the beach and it's also close to downtown. The hotel was noisy. I can hear people yelling, walking up and down the stairs, and cars and motorcycles driving by. But this didn't happen every night but still it disturbed our sleep. Overall I give 3.5/5. Great location and staff! But the noisy is hard to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top