Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

3 stars
View map of 5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Toronto, ON, Canada
Apr 29, 2012

Great vacation ever!!!

I usually travel a lot around the world, and most of the time i find out that family hotel oriented offer best solution. Hotel Casa Ticul offer all the best confortable close to one of the best treet of Playa, the 5 th ave! The staff very friendly and especially the breakfast in the morning is excellent!!!! I will definatelly going back! Thank you !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything!!!!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCEM
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2014

Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean and the staff was always nice and ready with recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenLi
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Excellent Small Boutique Hotel

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly with many great restaurant suggestions. She is great! Our room was comfortable and modern. The shower was nice with a big overhead rain showerhead. The bathroom also had a small window which I like as it makes it less stuffy. The best thing about this hotel is how great it smells. I know that sounds weird, but a lot of hotel rooms in the area seem to reek of chemical cleaners. This place smelled great (though very strongly) and natural like essential oils at a spa – not some scented cleaner. I loved it and it really stood out to me as being different from other places I have stayed. They also have great body products. I normally do not use hotel shampoo or conditioner because my hair is so damaged, but I could not resist using this stuff made from local honey. It smells delicious and felt like it was doing my hair some good. Honestly they should bottle the stuff and do a little retail – I would have bought a big bottle. The Hotel is right on 5th Avenue, but in a relatively quiet part. On Friday night we did hear music from a club, but it wasn’t too loud and didn't bother us and we didn’t hear it on any other weekday or weekend evening. It’s very conveniently located close to three beach clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alibabba
Business
San francisco
May 5, 2013

Cute and modern

Even though hotel was far from the main downtown area, it was still noisy at night.. We could hear talking past 1 am in the morning.. Staff blasted the outdoor stereo at 7 am on a Saturday morning...waking up all the guests! We had to wait for a couple of hours to check in after a long day of travel as the rooms were not ready. I like the decor...it was hip. Staff was nice. Hotel has access to a couple of beach clubs...I used Mamitas which was good. But, you have to present a coupon from the hotel...they will charge you if you don't have one and they are not very accommodating if you tell them you lost it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thai basil
Business
atlanta
Mar 25, 2013

Just Okay

After several trips to Playa, we thought we would stay at the north end of the 5th Ave strip. We were hoping it would be quieter, but it was not. There was a restaurant across the street with live music, usually quite loud. The rooms all face the court yard and we could hear everyone coming and going. The staff began work early in the day and were talking with one another at loud volumes. There was no balcony or porch. Breakfast on the roof was nice, but nothing special. The orange juice was delicious, but they often ran out for those guests arriving at the last hour of breakfast. Housekeeping needed some work. Perhaps a checklist for cleaning the rooms. For instance, our room had a dehumidifier which the maid usually forgot to empty. Our toilet whistled loudly when flushed. I would think housekeeping would be encouraged to report problems so they could be fixed. The sheets were pilled and not so soft. The ceiling fan in our first room only ran on full speed, which was too much for the space. It would be nice to have a dresser instead of just dark shelves. The only place to sit in the room was a small bench which was overflowing with throw pillows. A proper chair would be nice. This was the most disappointing place we have stayed in Playa. The pool was on the ground level in the courtyard and rather small. The lounge chairs were on top of the roof. The cushions on the lounge chairs were very thin and uncomfortable. The staff was okay, just not very friendly or warm. There are better hotels in the same price range in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rainey Woods
Business
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The location is great. It is north of the tourist hub but within 5 minutes walk to the beach,10 minutes to the bank, and 15 minutes to the bus station. You can walk down 5th Avenue to Playacar in around 20 minutes or walk to catch the Cozumel ferry in about 15 minutes. Resturants are around every corner. There is a small convenience store, "Bananas", as you walk out the front door to the left. Great for picking up a beer and snacks to take to the room. Everything is very convenient. My wife and I especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof top terrace. The food was very tasty. And, it was a great place to meet other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had excellent food and service at Mi Pueblo, 5th Ave and Calle 38. My wife had vegetarian fahitas and I had (very fresh) grilled grouper. Fine dining at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed Bardella Pizza Restorante located at 5th Avenue and Calle 32. The pizza and salads were very good.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scubalawyer
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 14, 2012

Excellent Boutique Hotel

The staff at Casa Ticul, particularly Diego, was wonderful! The hotel is small with no on-site restaurant, but they served nice continental breakfast every morning on the rooftop. They are right on 5th Avenue so walking to restaurants is no problem. The hotel provides excellent Wi-Fi service and is perfect for travelers looking for something clean, affordable, and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nash
Business
Castroville, TX, USA
Jul 31, 2012

Quaint

This hotel has the feel of a bed and breakfast but with many of the amenities of a 4 star hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and SPOTLESS! The utilities, AC, plumbing are in great working order. The daily FREE breakfast is a real plus for divers wanting some nourishment before hitting the reefs. Although I didn't use it there is a dive shop just next to the hotel. The hotel, located on 5th St., is removed enough so you don't have the nightly noise but close enough to do some shopping easily. I will be returning to this hotel soon .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wal-Mart is close enough for a good walk to exercise and return taxi fare if you like is $5.US.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
May 13, 2012

best ever vacation

close to everything!!!!!!!!! close to 5ft ave, close restaurants, beauty shops and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vashni
Business
Branchburg, NJ
May 9, 2012

A great alternative to the mega resorts

The staff is very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast on the roof is a real treat! There is no elevator so be prepared to get some exercise! The room was clean, large (junior suite), and had a mini fridge and a balcony, but there was not a lot of furniture to upack into. The hotel is on the quieter end of 5th Ave and is in walking distance of great beaches (beach club passes for 3 beach clubs are available) and restaraunts. That being said, we had a lot of noise (both music and road) especially Friday and Saturday nights. The pool is small, but lovely and all the plants and outside furniture make for many pleasant spots to sit and enjoy the moment! Kudos for creating a little oasis in downtown Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cave of the Monkey-great outdoor dining in a lovely setting. Just a short walk from the hotel along the road to the public beach.

Back to menu Return to top