$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

3 stars
5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean... See full review

  • DCEM
  • Mar 22, 2014
Excellent Small Boutique Hotel

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly with many great restaurant... See full review

  • JenLi
  • Jul 4, 2013
Modern, adults-only hideaway on Playa del Carmen’s Fifth Avenue
Hotel Casa Ticul on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue boasts a swimming pool, reading room, concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and passes to the famous Mamitas Beach Club. This adults-only refuge also features daily Mexican homestyle breakfast, roof terrace and massage services (fees apply). The hotel's close proximity to all that Playa del Carmen has to offer means that both the chaos of the city and the relaxation of the beach are close at hand.
Highlights:
  • Access to Mamitas Beach Club
  • In Playa del Carmen on Fifth Avenue, famous for its boutiques and restaurants
  • A short walk from Hotel Casa Ticul to Playa Mamitas beach
Rooms:

Modern rooms at Hotel Casa Ticul benefit from white linens, bright red accent colors, tile floors and dark wood accessories. Casa Ticul has 15 standard king rooms, four standard double room and one junior suite. All feature creature comforts such as wheat and honey extract body products, shampoo and conditioner, cotton facial towels, bathrobes and slippers and extra linens. The mini-bar, flatscreen TV, AC and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply) make life easy at Hotel Casa Ticul. The junior suite boasts a king-sized canopy bed, private balcony and small living room.

Features:

Hotel Casa Ticul boasts a pool, passes to the Mamitas Beach Club, and in-room massages (fees apply). DVDs and board games can be borrowed from the concierge. The roof deck offers a view of Playa del Carmen.

Popular day trips from Hotel Casa Ticul include a trip to the wildlife reserve Xcaret and the ruins at Tulum. Get even further from home by taking a trip to the famed Mayan pyramids of Chichen-Itza.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (5 mi/9 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
  • Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel does not accept kids under 16 years old

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented Rooms

Standard Ticul Room - King
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 244sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room. Guests 16 + are welcome.
Suite
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 385sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.
Standard Ticul Room - Double
The bedding option for the room is two double bed in 257sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6359 -87.0657
Area served
Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya: Puerto Morelos,Cozumel, Xcaret Park,Cancun,Xel-Ha, Tulum,Cob,Chichen Itza Transport/tours/car hire/taxis can be arranged at the hotel.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 32 miles, 45 minute drive Local airport in Playa del Carmen where pleasure flights to Holbox, Chiapas, Campeche and many other destinations can be arranged.
Area description
Casa Ticul is located in the heart of cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen at the intersection of the famous quinta avenida (fifth avenue) and 38th street North. This upscale area is populated wth fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. We are 3 blocks from the beach and walking distance to our beach club "Mamitas".

Dining

Breakfast Room
The hotel has a welcoming rooftop terrace where complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7.30 to 11.00am. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and ham.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
19 out of 35
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Roanoke, VA
Feb 22, 2010

Excellent location, best bed ever!!!!

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in period! I suffer from intractable back pain and was dreading having to sleep on a hard bed, so we always have to bring an airmattress. Not this time! No, I had the best sleep ever and woke up in no pain. This is a family run business and they are wonderful, caring people. We were always greeted with a smile. They have a continental breakfast and I had an omlette made to order every day with caramel or chocolate sauce. It was great. The hotel was very quite and the rooms were exceptionally clean. You get a pass to a beach that is just around the corner and it is very very beautiful. Beach towels are furnished too. There is a lockbox in every room and we felt very safe there. I have nothing but wonderful thoughts when thinking back on the hotel. It is a hidden treasure for sure. Thank you to all the staff at Casa Ticul for making our stay with you so wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is at the northern end of Playa and just a short walk to all the shops. It is just far away to have peace and quite, but close enough to get to all the shopping, bus stations, cabs, etc. Oh, there is a little shop beside the hotel that you can get drinks, snacks and just about anything there you need like a 7/ll would have.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 1, 2010

Great Time in Playa del Carmen

Casa Ticul is great! We just returned from a week at stay and we will definitely consider returning on a future trip to Playa del Carmen. There are no negatives to comment on other than the fact that our stay was too short! The rooms were a nice size for Playa, beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast that was included was awesome! They prepared different local specialties each morning and everything was perfect! Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
mexico lovers
brooklyn, ny
Oct 12, 2011

Quiet and Cozy

Excellent family run boutique hotel friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurants across the way including La Cueva del Chango

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
DCEM
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2014

Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean and the staff was always nice and ready with recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
St. Paul MN
Apr 18, 2010

peaceful retreat

Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful included made-to-order breakfast on the rooftop. Close enough to walk to all the restaurants and beach - far enough north on 5th that you don't hear the noise of the bars and clubs. Great small pool, spotless rooms, AC and ceiling fans, free purified water, and free access to Mamitas Beach club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the walk-up Argentinian place around the corner - they have great empenadas for about 20 pesos each! Another favorite was Piola for pizza and pasta- walk towards the beach on 38th Street, just a few steps from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Stevo D
Sydney Australia
Nov 15, 2010

Fantastic place with peace and quiet

Amazing value for money.We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. Away from the hustle and bustle, great rooms and staff. Based in the growing part of Fifth Ave which is alot more classy than the other end. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Piaola Pizza. Around the corner. Fantastic food, service and music.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Mar 29, 2010

Amazing!!

This hotel was amazing! First off, everyone that works there is so nice and helpful. The rooftop breakfast had great omelettes and fruit. My boyfriend loved their coffee and espressos. At night the rooftop turned into a bar with a free welcome drink of delicious sangria. The hotel staff was very friendly, and will help you with whatever you need whether it be recommendations or reservations. The place was kept very clean, and it was very modern and nice looking. The hotel was in an awesome location, right at the north end of fifth street. Easy access to the shopping and restaurants of fifth street and great beaches, yet not too noisy. The bed and pillows were so comfortable! I was beyond impressed with this hotel, they constantly try and go above and beyond to please their guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and was very sad to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try restaurants that are off 5th street and not right on it. They seem to be much cheaper and delicious! We loved El Fogon and Carboncitos.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
Rainey Woods
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The location is great. It is north of the tourist hub but within 5 minutes walk to the beach,10 minutes to the bank, and 15 minutes to the bus station. You can walk down 5th Avenue to Playacar in around 20 minutes or walk to catch the Cozumel ferry in about 15 minutes. Resturants are around every corner. There is a small convenience store, "Bananas", as you walk out the front door to the left. Great for picking up a beer and snacks to take to the room. Everything is very convenient. My wife and I especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof top terrace. The food was very tasty. And, it was a great place to meet other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had excellent food and service at Mi Pueblo, 5th Ave and Calle 38. My wife had vegetarian fahitas and I had (very fresh) grilled grouper. Fine dining at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed Bardella Pizza Restorante located at 5th Avenue and Calle 32. The pizza and salads were very good.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Houston
May 19, 2010

Ok experience

Room was ok even though I had the worst room in the house. (next to cleaning room, facing a wall and with tiny window). Rooms are all very dark (lights are really not enough). Breakfast was ok. Staff was good. Cleaning lady was great. Beach passes were good but we used it more to go to the restrooms than to stay on the chairs. Beach passes good for a chair OR umbrella. Location was great, close from the buzz but far enough not to hear the noise at night. Not sure if I would stay again, but it was an ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
Vashni
Branchburg, NJ
May 9, 2012

A great alternative to the mega resorts

The staff is very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast on the roof is a real treat! There is no elevator so be prepared to get some exercise! The room was clean, large (junior suite), and had a mini fridge and a balcony, but there was not a lot of furniture to upack into. The hotel is on the quieter end of 5th Ave and is in walking distance of great beaches (beach club passes for 3 beach clubs are available) and restaraunts. That being said, we had a lot of noise (both music and road) especially Friday and Saturday nights. The pool is small, but lovely and all the plants and outside furniture make for many pleasant spots to sit and enjoy the moment! Kudos for creating a little oasis in downtown Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cave of the Monkey-great outdoor dining in a lovely setting. Just a short walk from the hotel along the road to the public beach.

Back to menu Return to top