Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

3 stars
5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
39 reviews
Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed... See full review

  • DaniCy
  • May 6, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the... See full review

  • Juan Colombia
  • May 5, 2014
Modern, adults-only hideaway on Playa del Carmen’s Fifth Avenue
Hotel Casa Ticul on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue boasts a swimming pool, reading room, concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and passes to the famous Mamitas Beach Club. This adults-only refuge also features daily Mexican homestyle breakfast, roof terrace and massage services (fees apply). The hotel's close proximity to all that Playa del Carmen has to offer means that both the chaos of the city and the relaxation of the beach are close at hand.
Highlights:
  • Access to Mamitas Beach Club
  • In Playa del Carmen on Fifth Avenue, famous for its boutiques and restaurants
  • A short walk from Hotel Casa Ticul to Playa Mamitas beach
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby and public areas of the hotel
  • Access to Beach Club, includes beach towels and umbrellas (A $10 USD of  minimum consumption required)
  • Free 24-hour coffee service
  • Free beach towels
  • Business Center
Rooms:

Modern rooms at Hotel Casa Ticul benefit from white linens, bright red accent colors, tile floors and dark wood accessories. Casa Ticul has 15 standard king rooms, four standard double room and one junior suite. All feature creature comforts such as wheat and honey extract body products, shampoo and conditioner, cotton facial towels, bathrobes and slippers and extra linens. The mini-bar, flatscreen TV, AC and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply) make life easy at Hotel Casa Ticul. The junior suite boasts a king-sized canopy bed, private balcony and small living room.

Features:

Hotel Casa Ticul boasts a pool, passes to the Mamitas Beach Club, and in-room massages (fees apply). DVDs and board games can be borrowed from the concierge. The roof deck offers a view of Playa del Carmen.

Popular day trips from Hotel Casa Ticul include a trip to the wildlife reserve Xcaret and the ruins at Tulum. Get even further from home by taking a trip to the famed Mayan pyramids of Chichen-Itza.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (5 mi/9 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
  • Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel does not accept kids under 16 years old.
  • A $10 minimum purchase is required to access the Beach Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented Rooms

Standard Ticul Room - King
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 244sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room. Guests 16 + are welcome.
Suite
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 385sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.
Standard Ticul Room - Double
The bedding option for the room is two double bed in 257sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

20.6359 -87.0657
Area served
Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya: Puerto Morelos,Cozumel, Xcaret Park,Cancun,Xel-Ha, Tulum,Cob,Chichen Itza Transport/tours/car hire/taxis can be arranged at the hotel.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport. 32 miles, 45 minute drive Local airport in Playa del Carmen where pleasure flights to Holbox, Chiapas, Campeche and many other destinations can be arranged.
Area description
Casa Ticul is located in the heart of cosmopolitan Playa del Carmen at the intersection of the famous quinta avenida (fifth avenue) and 38th street North. This upscale area is populated wth fashionable stores, boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. We are 3 blocks from the beach and walking distance to our beach club "Mamitas".

Dining

Breakfast Room
The hotel has a welcoming rooftop terrace where complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7.30 to 11.00am. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and ham.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
May 5, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the rest is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul MN
Apr 18, 2010

peaceful retreat

Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful included made-to-order breakfast on the rooftop. Close enough to walk to all the restaurants and beach - far enough north on 5th that you don't hear the noise of the bars and clubs. Great small pool, spotless rooms, AC and ceiling fans, free purified water, and free access to Mamitas Beach club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the walk-up Argentinian place around the corner - they have great empenadas for about 20 pesos each! Another favorite was Piola for pizza and pasta- walk towards the beach on 38th Street, just a few steps from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevo D
Sydney Australia
Nov 15, 2010

Fantastic place with peace and quiet

Amazing value for money.We stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. Away from the hustle and bustle, great rooms and staff. Based in the growing part of Fifth Ave which is alot more classy than the other end. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Piaola Pizza. Around the corner. Fantastic food, service and music.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaniCy
Arizona
May 6, 2014

Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed and breakfast. The Staff is very helpful and was a blessing to us as we had no idea what we were doing down there. Loved that it was on 5th street with ease of walking to many places to eat, pharmacies for snacks and very close walking distances to the beach. The Beach nearby is beautiful and was very enjoyable. This place in regard to Cancun resorts on the strip felt very cultural and gave you a more authentic trip. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2010

Wonderful hotel!!!

My friend and I stayed at Casa Ticul for 9 nights and we would do it all over again. Both of us have stayed in PDC before and we were very impressed. You will not get value better than this in PDC!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. There was a large selection of TV channels. The breakfasts served on the top deck (included with the cost of the hotel) were out of this world. This is no "Continental breakfast"... they serve made to order eggs, omelettes, toast, coffee, espresso, freshly squeezed juices, fruits, meats and cheeses. The hotel is a little far from the main action of 5th Ave, but being New Yorkers we were OK with the walk and enjoyed the peace at night. Also, we felt safe. The beach club passes were a great inclusive. We loved Mamitas. Get there early to get a good spot. If I had to stretch to "complain", I would say they could use a stronger internet signal for the 3rd Floor and Roof, but the WIFI is free so I shouldn't complain. The pool is small and we never used it, but it fits the hotels boutique-ness. I will definitely stay here again when I return to PDC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocina 38 (right across the street) was excellent! It is pricey but worth it for a splurge and the culinary delight! [...] is a master chef and [...] is an ultimate professional!

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Toronto, ON, Canada
May 13, 2012

best ever vacation

close to everything!!!!!!!!! close to 5ft ave, close restaurants, beauty shops and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LordNottingham
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 1, 2011

A wonderful hotel to stay at!

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway! All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convenience store next door has well-priced alcohol, as well as snacks and drinks.

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mexico lovers
brooklyn, ny
Oct 12, 2011

Quiet and Cozy

Excellent family run boutique hotel friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurants across the way including La Cueva del Chango

Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCEM
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2014

Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean and the staff was always nice and ready with recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roanoke, VA
Feb 22, 2010

Excellent location, best bed ever!!!!

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in period! I suffer from intractable back pain and was dreading having to sleep on a hard bed, so we always have to bring an airmattress. Not this time! No, I had the best sleep ever and woke up in no pain. This is a family run business and they are wonderful, caring people. We were always greeted with a smile. They have a continental breakfast and I had an omlette made to order every day with caramel or chocolate sauce. It was great. The hotel was very quite and the rooms were exceptionally clean. You get a pass to a beach that is just around the corner and it is very very beautiful. Beach towels are furnished too. There is a lockbox in every room and we felt very safe there. I have nothing but wonderful thoughts when thinking back on the hotel. It is a hidden treasure for sure. Thank you to all the staff at Casa Ticul for making our stay with you so wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is at the northern end of Playa and just a short walk to all the shops. It is just far away to have peace and quite, but close enough to get to all the shopping, bus stations, cabs, etc. Oh, there is a little shop beside the hotel that you can get drinks, snacks and just about anything there you need like a 7/ll would have.

Back to menu Return to top