$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

3 stars
View map of 5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovemexico
Business
Montclair, NJ, USA
Mar 26, 2012

North end charmer

We stayed 6 nights at Casa ticul and it became a true home away from home. Each and every member of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was terrific and the hotel includes free beach passes. Our first time in Playa was 10 years ago and the growth is almost too much for us. The North end and places like Casa Ticul will keep us returning another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AmyBChav
Business
Chicago
Jan 10, 2012

Definitely pleasantly surprised

Booked this hotel last minute based on website reviews, was very nervous about it as I stayed on my own (never done that in central america, as a woman it's a little nervewracking). I always take reviews with a grain of salt, but decided to go for it, and everything the reviews said was spot on. Safe, clean, great staff, a little bit loud but everywhere in PDC was this past weekend with music festival (and nothing a pair of comfortable ear plugs couldn't cure). Great breakfast, and fantastic value for money. The room was nicer than my friend's room who were paying almost twice what I paid at a different hotel, and they had to move rooms 3 times before they were comfortable! All in all, would highly recommend this. It's not a huge room, but it's a good, comfortable size room (enough to have a few people over for a quick drink before heading out). And the towel animals were adorable :) All in all, highly recommended for a very nice, safe, convenient, clean, pretty hotel, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aitotravel
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 8, 2012

It was OKAY

This hotel is great! Great Staff! They are very friendly and helpful (the receptionist even printed out maps for us). The location could be better though. You have to do a lot of walking to go anywhere from here. But It's only 5 mins away from the beach and it's also close to downtown. The hotel was noisy. I can hear people yelling, walking up and down the stairs, and cars and motorcycles driving by. But this didn't happen every night but still it disturbed our sleep. Overall I give 3.5/5. Great location and staff! But the noisy is hard to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mexico lovers
Business
brooklyn, ny
Oct 12, 2011

Quiet and Cozy

Excellent family run boutique hotel friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful restaurants across the way including La Cueva del Chango

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
intfriend
Business
Maryland, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Second time--still great

This is our second visit to Hotel Casa Ticul in a month. We like this place very much for three major reasons: (1) the price is right (2) the rooms are very clean, and (3) the free breakfasts are hot and superb! One morning they served mushroom and cheese omelettes, next morning was huevos con rajas (an omelette stuffed with strips of poblano peppers and other vegetables, another mornng was pancakes with blueberry sauce. Amazing!!! In addition the location is very good if you want to be close to the beach but not in a noisy, busy part of town. My only suggestion for the hotel is to eventually improve the computer connection speed in the rooms. In the two rooms we stayed in the connection spped was weak. But I can mention that the computer in the lobby were fine. Overall a wonderful place for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two great restuarants nearby (like a block away)are La Cueva del Chango (Mexican) and Piola (pizza).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
artfulsong
Business
Maple Grove, MN, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Calm in the midst of parties

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were really nice. It was also in a quiet area, north of all the clubs, but still within walking distance of the fun. My only critiques have to do with the really small pool, and the beach club passes. One of the beach clubs had boats parked out front so there was no room to swim. The other had loud thumping disco music--not really conducive to relaxing. With that said, you can go anywhere to swim, so it wasn't that big of a deal. It's a good choice for a vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chichen Itza and Xcaret are worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playamax
Business
Sunny California
Jun 10, 2011

Comfort, Convenience, and Service

Our stay was very comfortable starting with the smooth checkin to the nice compact breakfast selection on the rooftop terrace. Everyone working had great attitute and a smile on their face. The free passes to Mamita's beach were great value as we were a family of 5. Evidenced by the blue and white stripe towels (Casa Ticul), I could tell others felt the same way. If you have a car, there is free parking lot at Mamita's, if you spend at least 200 pesos in food n bevrages. The only drawback was that at the end of the day, the hot water in the shower was only lukewarm, even when no cold water was used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Dis is a wonderful Argentine restaurant (5th and Calle 30). They have the best empanandas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LordNottingham
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 1, 2011

A wonderful hotel to stay at!

We stayed at the Hotel Casa Ticul when we went to Playa for a friend's wedding. The wedding was at one of the huge resorts at the southern end of town, and we definitely got the better deal!! Casa Ticul is very personal because of the small number of rooms. We got to know the front desk staff fairly well and even saw one of them on 5th Avenue a few times. Our room was very clean, and very well appointed. The breakfast on the roof patio was amazing and definitely got the day started off right. Also, the passes to Mamita's beach were wonderful and helped us spend a relaxing day on the beach. The hotel staff also helped us book our tour of Tulum and Coba, which were both great. The only thing that wasn't 100% awesome was that the wi-fi did not reach into our room; however, the computers in the lobby worked well and I try not to be completely connected when I'm on vacation anyway! All in all, a great place to stay and enjoy Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convenience store next door has well-priced alcohol, as well as snacks and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tacwa
May 8, 2011

Welcoming and quaint

We could not have been happier with our accomadations. The staff and atmosphere make Casa Ticul a home away from home. Very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Quiet, convenient location on 5th, close to the beach. Plus, great breakfast on the lovely rooftop terrace and tickets for the beach chairs and umbrellas. My favorite part of the day was a cappacino on the terrace, my husband was also able to enjoy his evening cigar up there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just bring US $ and dont bother exchanging.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul on Fifth Avenue - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Haven, MI
Feb 16, 2011

Great location, great staff

What a fabulous hotel, staff, location. The hotel has a great roof top for breakfast dining and what a breakfast! Our completments to [...] and [...]. We also used the rooftop for sunning during the day and our own cocktail hour time in the evenings. What a supper plus for the hotel. Hats off to the managers. They have hired an entire staff of professional, friendly, helpful, happy,courteous, and hardworking people. Also, they have a very large staff for a small hotel so it is kept up to exacting standards. Loved the small pool with tables in the shade and at night lit candles surrounding it. Lovely, experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Incredibly good, inexpensive, upscale or casual restaurants within one block of hotel.Pialo for Pizza on 38th just off 5th, ComoComo and Pachmann or something like that for elegant on 5th between 38th and 40th, and Baremar at 5th and 38th for a great penne pasta dish. Much better than dining in the hubbub of the downtown 5th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top