$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

3 stars
5 TA Av. Entre 38 Y 40 Av. Colonia Centro, LT 08 MZ 151 Col Zacil-Ha, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
39 reviews
Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed... See full review

  • DaniCy
  • May 6, 2014
Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the... See full review

  • Juan Colombia
  • May 5, 2014
Modern, adults-only hideaway on Playa del Carmen’s Fifth Avenue
Hotel Casa Ticul on Playa del Carmen's Fifth Avenue boasts a swimming pool, reading room, concierge service, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and passes to the famous Mamitas Beach Club. This adults-only refuge also features daily Mexican homestyle breakfast, roof terrace and massage services (fees apply). The hotel's close proximity to all that Playa del Carmen has to offer means that both the chaos of the city and the relaxation of the beach are close at hand.
Highlights:
  • Access to Mamitas Beach Club
  • In Playa del Carmen on Fifth Avenue, famous for its boutiques and restaurants
  • A short walk from Hotel Casa Ticul to Playa Mamitas beach
  • Free daily continental breakfast
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby and public areas of the hotel
  • Access to Beach Club, includes beach towels and umbrellas (A $10 USD of  minimum consumption required)
  • Free 24-hour coffee service
  • Free beach towels
  • Business Center
Rooms:

Modern rooms at Hotel Casa Ticul benefit from white linens, bright red accent colors, tile floors and dark wood accessories. Casa Ticul has 15 standard king rooms, four standard double room and one junior suite. All feature creature comforts such as wheat and honey extract body products, shampoo and conditioner, cotton facial towels, bathrobes and slippers and extra linens. The mini-bar, flatscreen TV, AC and Wi-Fi Internet (fees may apply) make life easy at Hotel Casa Ticul. The junior suite boasts a king-sized canopy bed, private balcony and small living room.

Features:

Hotel Casa Ticul boasts a pool, passes to the Mamitas Beach Club, and in-room massages (fees apply). DVDs and board games can be borrowed from the concierge. The roof deck offers a view of Playa del Carmen.

Popular day trips from Hotel Casa Ticul include a trip to the wildlife reserve Xcaret and the ruins at Tulum. Get even further from home by taking a trip to the famed Mayan pyramids of Chichen-Itza.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (45 minutes)
Attractions
  • Xcaret (5 mi/9 km)
  • Tulum (40 mi/65 km)
  • Business­
  • Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees may apply)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel does not accept kids under 16 years old.
  • A $10 minimum purchase is required to access the Beach Club.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented Rooms

Standard Ticul Room - King
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 244sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room. Guests 16 + are welcome.
Suite
The bedding option for the room is one king bed in 385sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.
Standard Ticul Room - Double
The bedding option for the room is two double bed in 257sq ft. Room offers Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Ceiling fan, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Refrigerator and Safe in room.Guests 16 + are welcome.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Breakfast Room
The hotel has a welcoming rooftop terrace where complimentary continental breakfast is served from 7.30 to 11.00am. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, toast, fresh fruit, cheese and ham.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaceandlove08
Toronto, ON, Canada
May 13, 2012

best ever vacation

close to everything!!!!!!!!! close to 5ft ave, close restaurants, beauty shops and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMEV
Business
MEXICO CITY
Jul 7, 2014

Great Hotel for Playa

If you are not interested in big hotels with all the amenities. This boutique hotel is for you! specially traveling alone or couples. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Right at 5th ave. You can have beach day passes at different locations. Very happy with the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all restaurants and clubs in playa, all walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Exploring Duo
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 31, 2014

Nice Boutique Hotel

We stayed four nights in May. The hotel has a great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. They were doing rooftop renovation and told us noise would start at 10 a.m. but it actually started by 7 a.m. daily and woke us up early. They offered a continental breakfast which was just enough food for us. It is a good choice for a well-priced hotel option. There are no bells and whistles except for passes to beach clubs where you have to spend a minimum of 100 pesos per person each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Pirata for fresh fish and seafood coctels. It is on Calle 40 a block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaniCy
Business
Arizona
May 6, 2014

Great Experience

We just returned from our trip, and this was a great experience. This hotel felt like a cute bed and breakfast. The Staff is very helpful and was a blessing to us as we had no idea what we were doing down there. Loved that it was on 5th street with ease of walking to many places to eat, pharmacies for snacks and very close walking distances to the beach. The Beach nearby is beautiful and was very enjoyable. This place in regard to Cancun resorts on the strip felt very cultural and gave you a more authentic trip. It was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan Colombia
Business
Bogota, Colombia
May 5, 2014

Great hotel

Great hotel, great staff, only thing bad is internet that doesnt work well on rooms, but all the rest is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCEM
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2014

Great Hotel. Great Location.

This hotel was perfectly located right on the main street but still quiet. It was extremely clean and the staff was always nice and ready with recommendations. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenLi
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 4, 2013

Excellent Small Boutique Hotel

Barbara at the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly with many great restaurant suggestions. She is great! Our room was comfortable and modern. The shower was nice with a big overhead rain showerhead. The bathroom also had a small window which I like as it makes it less stuffy. The best thing about this hotel is how great it smells. I know that sounds weird, but a lot of hotel rooms in the area seem to reek of chemical cleaners. This place smelled great (though very strongly) and natural like essential oils at a spa – not some scented cleaner. I loved it and it really stood out to me as being different from other places I have stayed. They also have great body products. I normally do not use hotel shampoo or conditioner because my hair is so damaged, but I could not resist using this stuff made from local honey. It smells delicious and felt like it was doing my hair some good. Honestly they should bottle the stuff and do a little retail – I would have bought a big bottle. The Hotel is right on 5th Avenue, but in a relatively quiet part. On Friday night we did hear music from a club, but it wasn’t too loud and didn't bother us and we didn’t hear it on any other weekday or weekend evening. It’s very conveniently located close to three beach clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alibabba
Business
San francisco
May 5, 2013

Cute and modern

Even though hotel was far from the main downtown area, it was still noisy at night.. We could hear talking past 1 am in the morning.. Staff blasted the outdoor stereo at 7 am on a Saturday morning...waking up all the guests! We had to wait for a couple of hours to check in after a long day of travel as the rooms were not ready. I like the decor...it was hip. Staff was nice. Hotel has access to a couple of beach clubs...I used Mamitas which was good. But, you have to present a coupon from the hotel...they will charge you if you don't have one and they are not very accommodating if you tell them you lost it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thai basil
Business
atlanta
Mar 25, 2013

Just Okay

After several trips to Playa, we thought we would stay at the north end of the 5th Ave strip. We were hoping it would be quieter, but it was not. There was a restaurant across the street with live music, usually quite loud. The rooms all face the court yard and we could hear everyone coming and going. The staff began work early in the day and were talking with one another at loud volumes. There was no balcony or porch. Breakfast on the roof was nice, but nothing special. The orange juice was delicious, but they often ran out for those guests arriving at the last hour of breakfast. Housekeeping needed some work. Perhaps a checklist for cleaning the rooms. For instance, our room had a dehumidifier which the maid usually forgot to empty. Our toilet whistled loudly when flushed. I would think housekeeping would be encouraged to report problems so they could be fixed. The sheets were pilled and not so soft. The ceiling fan in our first room only ran on full speed, which was too much for the space. It would be nice to have a dresser instead of just dark shelves. The only place to sit in the room was a small bench which was overflowing with throw pillows. A proper chair would be nice. This was the most disappointing place we have stayed in Playa. The pool was on the ground level in the courtyard and rather small. The lounge chairs were on top of the roof. The cushions on the lounge chairs were very thin and uncomfortable. The staff was okay, just not very friendly or warm. There are better hotels in the same price range in Playa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rainey Woods
Business
North Carolina
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The location is great. It is north of the tourist hub but within 5 minutes walk to the beach,10 minutes to the bank, and 15 minutes to the bus station. You can walk down 5th Avenue to Playacar in around 20 minutes or walk to catch the Cozumel ferry in about 15 minutes. Resturants are around every corner. There is a small convenience store, "Bananas", as you walk out the front door to the left. Great for picking up a beer and snacks to take to the room. Everything is very convenient. My wife and I especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof top terrace. The food was very tasty. And, it was a great place to meet other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had excellent food and service at Mi Pueblo, 5th Ave and Calle 38. My wife had vegetarian fahitas and I had (very fresh) grilled grouper. Fine dining at a reasonable price. We also enjoyed Bardella Pizza Restorante located at 5th Avenue and Calle 32. The pizza and salads were very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul - Adults Oriented

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scubalawyer
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 14, 2012

Excellent Boutique Hotel

The staff at Casa Ticul, particularly Diego, was wonderful! The hotel is small with no on-site restaurant, but they served nice continental breakfast every morning on the rooftop. They are right on 5th Avenue so walking to restaurants is no problem. The hotel provides excellent Wi-Fi service and is perfect for travelers looking for something clean, affordable, and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top