Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

3 stars
View map of LT 5 MZ 29 FRACC PLAYACAR, Playa del Carmen, 77713

Hotel Overview

3.5/5

Overall score

77%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen. This Playa del Carmen hotel boasts an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike.

Highlights
  • FREE Daily American Breakfast Included.
  • FREE Wireless Internet in Rooms and Hotel Public Areas.
  • FREE Parking.
  • Beach Shuttle(Complimentary).
  • Newspaper in Lobby(Complimentary).

  • Come and see why people stay smart at our accommodations. Leisure travelers appreciate our beautiful location, which features a variety of attractions. Families can enjoy relaxing on some of Mexico's finest beaches or going ocean snorkeling. Experienced divers will love the numerous nearby cenotes that offer fabulous diving.

    The Hotel is also located near the exciting 5th Ave Corridor and downtown Playa del Carmen, which offers excitement for the entire family. Xcaret theme park, one of Mexico's most beautiful and renowned parks, is five kilometers from our hotel in Playa del Carmen.
    If you are in Mexico on business, it is easy to leave our hotel in Playa del Carmen and travel a few kilometers to the numerous nearby businesses Holiday Inn Express Playacar features a total of 145 rooms with big spaces and natural colors that give peacefulness and stillness essential to a well deserve rest. Our guests will enjoy an extense variety of amenities and services, such as the American buffet breakfast daily served in the dining area of the hotel.

    Holiday Inn Express Playacar features a comfortable breakfast area where our guests will daily enjoy an exquisite breakfast buffet and succulent coffee during the whole day. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen.

    Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen Rooms

    STANDARD ROOM
    Free High Speed Internet Service for entertainment a triple sheeted king bed or 2 Double Beds and 25 inch Television are also featured, 600 Sq Ft room - 2 adults 2 Child

    Amenities

    • Free breakfast
    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Dining
    Free breakfast
    Restaurant
    Services
    Business center
    Conference facilities
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking

    Hotel Map

    20.6207 -87.0872
    Area served
    LT 5 MZ 29 Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico.
    Nearby airports
    International Cancun Airport
    Area description
    LT 5 MZ 29 Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77713, Mexico.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (22)

    Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Overall score

    3.5 / 5
    5.01.0
    22 out of 22
    Amenities:
    3.4
    Cleanliness:
    4.2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4.1
    Location:
    3.6
    Value:
    4.1

    77% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    US
    Jan 7, 2011

    Worst Experience

    I booked the hotel through [...]. But the hotel could not find my reservation. totally ruined my vacation. !!!!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    1
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Mexico City
    Mar 29, 2010

    excellent

    excellent location. 10 minute walking from the 5th Avenue.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    THE RELAXERS
    Business
    Tacoma wa.
    Nov 20, 2009

    SEEMED MORE FOR THE BUISSNESS PEOPLE

    We just chilled for 2 weeks and got a good tan. we were their for their 200th Bday what a treat. the Mexicans are so nice what a change from the states where no one could give a rats behinds about you. We Love That area of Mexico and will start looking for better deals rent places for very cheap no 5 stars here though but we go for the people and the warmest waters you've ever been in

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    ky
    May 8, 2009

    great hotel

    beach and visited Playa

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    safe walk

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Atwater, CA
    May 8, 2009

    Great Value

    Good value on a hotel. Location was OK. Breakfast was also OK. Bare Bones Hotel but clean.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    florida
    May 5, 2009

    pleasant surprise

    need to remove smoking rooms from options, law changed 8/08

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    San Antonio, Tx
    May 1, 2009

    Clean American Hotel

    Great! All you would expect at an American hotel. Clean, friendly, quiet, close to everything and only a short maybe 5 minute drive from everything. We will definitely be returning!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    There is a Walmart close by for all your needs including an ATM (dispenses pesos only). You can count on spending 50 pesos ~ $5 American dollars on a taxito take you there as well as 5th Avenue (tourist area) and the ferry to Cozumel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    St. PAul, mn
    Apr 22, 2009

    Hotel

    We liked the fact it was a 5 minute cab ride from 5th ave. The beach resort we did not go to, they had no umrella and they would not let you bring food or water into there area, so we went up the beach to a publuic area. The Hotel was clean, breakfast was very good and staff friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Don't walk, take a cab it's 5 pesos

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Fontana,CA
    Apr 22, 2009

    Great 9 day Vacation

    Great service and location. Close to everything. Clean rooms, friendly staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Holiday Inn Express Playa del Carmen

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Toronto, Ontario
    Apr 6, 2009

    Excellent value for the money

    From the moment I arrived at the hotel, the staff was friendly and very helpful. I was in my room within 15 minutes of my arrival at the front desk. The room was spotless, and the bathroom/shower clean. I appreciated that a great deal after an 8 hr travel time. The property is located about a 10 minute walk from the action on 5th Avenue and the beach zone with many shops and tourist info kiosks to satisfy the most demanding guest. The complimentary breakfast was good: The usual suspects...eggs, toast, pastries, juices, coffee, tea, cereal etc. It was the same variety daily but not a bad way to start off the day. There is no shortage of restaurants and bars to fill in the desire for more exotic fare. The hotel itself is quite well maintained and the free wireless internet was a big plus for me to keep in contact with the office and family back home. My only knit-pick was the lack of an ATM as listed in the amenities description. that would have come in handy. I didn't use the pool, exercise room or Coco Maya beach club, but from what I saw, they were as advertised.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    taxis should not charge you more than $40 Pesos to go from the hotel to 5th Avenue. Tip the drive and extra $10. Anything more and your being gouged.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top