$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenga Queen
Business
Kansas
Jul 19, 2010

Great Atmosphere

This trip was great! We really enjoyed the staff. They helped make our stay relaxing, fun, and memorable. The hotel offers fun tours, i suggest taking part of those...get out and have fun, explore! It rained one day so we took the tequila tasting class...the head chef Oscar made it really interesting and fun! The beach needs work. It's still new and needs to be worked on so there is still a lot of seaweed etc. We took a taxi to Playa del Carmen to use that beach and it worked out just fine! The pools were great, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to Playa del Carmen...that is where the bus station is (like greyhound buses) it's cheap to get to cancun and Telum to see the Mayan ruins! Explore!

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WeWantaGoBack Wilsons
Business
Strasburg PA
Mar 14, 2010

"Food for the Mind, Body, and Spirit!"

We chose this resort for its all-inclusive, complete package amenities we sought out...we support the "green" movement and it is a big part of this resort despite the opulence! The first impression is that this was a resort inserted into a huge mangrove forest with a minimal footprint. The staff greets you constantly as if you're the only visitor to the place...most are very happy to accommodate and go the extra distance to make things work out well for you-giving you very personal attention. Our rooms and the whole resort was very clean! The floors are marble in the rooms so bring slippers if you don't like the feel of cool marble under your feet! Most activities were very good quality and staff helps out those of us with two left feet to dance Salsa, Marimbe and whatever! Our two grown daughters (22 and 20) really enjoyed themselves and were well attended to by the wait staff and entertainment staff who were mainly their age. The meals are excellent with small portions and lots of variety. The best meals were at the outside Grill and at the Mexican restaurant there. Asian was OK. Did not do Italian. The culinary highlight for us was dining with [...] (head chef) who prepares a 7 course meal-awesome food. One caveat...since this is a resort, you won't find extreme tastes or spices but very solid quality!! So many activities provided you wouldn't have to leave to see outside sights..but we did day trips to Tulum and Coba (7 hrs total) and Zip-lining, snorkeling in cenotes, shopping in nearby Playa Del Carmen. The rivers that are part of the resort's character provide good opportunities to see wildlife- birds, fish, reptiles (iguanas, caimans) are accessible thru kayaking and snorkeling. There are catamarands that you can take out on your own or have one of the guides take you out...which we did and spent a nice trip getting acquainted with a real nice young man who was genuinely glad to spend time with us. We also dedicated a 4 hour time block to listening to the "time share presentation" which helped pay for several things that we wanted to do while in Mexico...we felt it was a good use of our time even though we didn't buy in. We have never before been to an All-Inclusive and we feel we started at one of the best the Riviera Maya region has to offer and enjoyed our stay immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, IL
Dec 26, 2009

Great resort for kids and adults

I was very pleasantly surprised by Hacienda Tres Rios. The staff tried to cater to all requests, especially when motivated by a nominal tip.The food was much better than I expected. We went to Cozumel a few years ago and also stayed at an all-inclusive. We were reluctant to consider Mexico as a vacation destination because of our poor experience at the Grand Cozumel. However we got such a great deal on the package and read good reviews about this place that we decided to give it a shot.It's true that the beach is not particularly attractive because of the vegetation which grows near the shore, even though they are out there cleaning it every day (even Christmas morning). The beds on the beach and by the pool are very comfortable and very clean. The cenotes are great for both the adults and the kids since you can do a lot of nature activities, such as swim, sail or explore the well maintained paths on the property. The bar service can be either very good or fair (as in the buffet restaurant). Some of the wait staff are phenomenal trying to cater to your every need. [...] really does a great job trying to put out the best food and presentation. Overall, I would say that it is a place worth going back to. We enjoyed the good service, large clean rooms and the lack of being crowded. Yes, the beach wasn't as pretty as the other resorts but the nature activities and friendly staff were a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the typical honeymooners
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 28, 2009

We had a blast!

The beds on the beach were awesome. Hotel is brand new. Lots of activities to do on hotel grounds including snorkeling and kayaking. Very quiet and relaxing(but we were there during the slow season). One small complaint we had was the inability to control the temperature in the room. The thermostat simply wouldn't allow us to change the temperature above 68F. It was either off or on. We complained twice, but nothing changed. Also, the non-buffet restaurants take forever to eat at. Prepare to spend two hours eating there since the service is kind of slow. But the food itself was pretty darn good. Be prepared to try new things such as fried crickets and beef carpaccio(raw). My wife thought it was cool how they compost all of the food waste and use it to fertilize the hotel plants. The staff seemed to appreciate it when you try and talk in Spanish to them and would serve us quicker. High school classes paid off! The location of the hotel is closer to Playa Del Carmen than Cancun, so you can get to some popular places (such as Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Xplor, and the ferry to Cozumel) quicker than if you stay in Cancun. This also keeps you a safe distance from crazy spring breakers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to bring your eco-friendly sunscreen and bug spray. They may or may not let you use the normal stuff. Also bring a cheap underwater camera for the snorkeling. The bartenders inside seemed to make tastier drinks. I'm not sure whether or not this was because the ice melts so fast outside or if the bartenders inside just care more.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Apr 10, 2010

Beautiful facilities and very restful!

My husband and I stayed 8 nights and we've just returned feeling very rested! The service was great--everyone who worked there was VERY nice. We tried every restaurant and all were good. There are daily activities so you can do as much or as little as you like. One morning we did the Kayaking tour and on another the bike tour. I recommend both. The grounds are absolutely beautiful--well maintained and clean. I highly recommend H3R!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Educated, and not your typical turist
Business
Jackson Hole, WY
Nov 30, 2009

Fantastically quiet getaway

My family enjoyed the quiet ambiance, the efficiency and friendliness of the staff, and the sustainable practices in the building and site. Mexico is famous for its varied fruit, excellent food and pastry so we were disappointed to see juices coming from a box(like in USA)American type pastries(donuts, cheese cake and cinnamon rolls),and exotic dishes(Ostrich tamales, Asian fusion dishes, etc.)not well mastered, and that did not reflect the indigenous food and spirit of the place. In my opinion we can import other countries food and culture,as an option but we do not need to offer the turist an homogeneous experience but the experience of being in the beautiful country that is Mexico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss the Xcaret's night show were you could see the richness and variety of folk dances that Mexican culture has to offer.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Griswold, CT
Jan 30, 2011

Nice place to stay

The hotel service was very good and the place was spotless. Our rooms were large and nicely situated. The beds were very uncomfortable however. Upon arrival the staff had us sit in the front lobby for a half hour prior to the sales pitch. We and our travel companions were very unhappy about that waste of our time and very much resented the sales pitch after we had paid a steep price to stay there. We were finally shown to our rooms which we had booked in May for this Jan.vacation and had also emailed to confirm that our rooms be situated close together if not adjoining. Our confirmation stated that the Hotel would honor our request but instead , we were in separate buildings with alternate room offers that were not the Ocean View suites which we had paid for in May.We thought that the room scheduling could have been done much better then it was done. The food was good but the restaurant schedules were less then convenient. The beach and surroundings were beautiful and the naturalness of the rivers,mango groves and jungle were worth the trip alone. Pricey but worth seeing at least once. Would we go again? The hotel was only 30% full yet our rooms closeness was not handled well and the hotel could not handle any more guests ,food wise , service wise or toilet facilities wise. So our stay was very good at a 30% occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not sit in the lobby upon arrival but instead ask to be shown to your room immediately. They don't have any site maps so it is a learn as you go anyway.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Diving Traveler
Business
Boulder, CO
Nov 10, 2009

Excellent Trip - Service was superior.

We did it all, tours, spa, pool, activities, wedding, traveled offsite. It was a beautiful resort, close proximity to Playa de Carmen with staff that worked very hard to ensure you were pleased. It was the nicest hotel I have stayed at in Mexico. Even though we had torrential downpours for 3 of the 7 days, we still played in the rain and had fun. The only dissappointment was that I perceived the resort to be brand new, but I believe it is simply newly remodeled. Some of the things like the phone, key card lock and others did not work but were not major inconviences. The food was good but not great, it met my expectations, so I was not dissappointed. The homemade food displays were fantastic. We were not nickeled and dimed at all...this was a pleasant surprise. They provided what they said they would without question. That is really important and unfortunately not always the case in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Budget for tipping when you plan your trip, this way you will be able and willing to provide the staff with a tip when you check out. They earn it here!

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 23, 2010

Relaxation Station

Nice quiet place to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The offered tours were very fun and worth the time.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karenandtwins
Business
Philadelphia PA
Sep 5, 2010

great value and great time

This was the best value I have ever experienced on a vacation, bar none. Terrific resort, great food and service by the staff. The only thing missing was a crystal clear beach. This resort is situated in an area that receives deposits from local rivers which makes the private beach area basically unswimmable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top