$1,560 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Perfect family resort

Staff treats you great, kudos to all. Great tasting food, gourmet type, can't get any better... See full review

  • Coach Alex
  • Jun 29, 2014
Perfect family resort option

You'll find the friendliest staff at this beautiful resort. Food was prime and great tasting,... See full review

  • Alejandro Quintero
  • Jun 28, 2014
This beach front and all suites property is located in the exclusive Tres Rios natural park, all guests will enjoy adventure activities like kayaking and snorkeling in rivers and cenotes, biking and walking guided tours to learn about flora and fauna and the unique SenseAventure.

Tres Rios combines the quality and experiences of a luxury resort with strict conservation of the environment. The hotel has invested in infrastructure and equipment making it a model of sustainable tourism development through the intelligent and responsible use of ecosystems and natural resources:

* Building constructed on over 400 pilings and permeable rock base to allow natural water flows through the wetlands.
* 55,000 plants produced and planted in 6 acres.
* Complete set of Best Environmental Practices on energy efficiency, resource conservation, pollution prevention and environmental management.
* A titanium-clad water desalination plant treats and filters seawater, avoiding use of the freshwater aquifer.
* Cold water from deep wells used to pre-cool air conditioning systems.
* Heat generated from air conditioning is captured and used to heat hot water.

Hacienda Tres Rios is located only 28 miles from Cancun International Airport and is the perfect place for families and couples, adventure, culture and nature lovers, weddings and honeymooners and groups and conventions.

. All-inclusive Plan includes:
* Unlimited meals and snacks in any bar and restaurant
* Premium national & imported alcoholic beverages
* 24 hr room service
* Mini bar re-stocked daily
* Wireless internet in rooms and public areas
* Unlimited tours in Tres Rios Natural Park
* Access to gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi at Ya'ax che Spa
* Yoga classes
* Pillows menu
* Children's activities
* Kid's club
* Fine nightly entertainment
* Tips and taxes.

Additional services not included: Spa, boutique, personalized private dining, scuba diving and snorkeling tours to the reef, nearby golf course, yachting, fishing, horseback riding, car rental, laundry and dry cleaning services, long distance calls and baby sitters on request.

Children from 0 to 5 years of age are complimentary.

Hotel Amenities:
Tres Rios Natural Park exclusive for guests, two swimming pools, outdoor jacuzzis, three restaurants and bars, a brick-oven pizzeria, a patisserie, Martini Terrace, gym, Spa, full service concierge and The Exit Lounge.

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite with jacuzzi 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, two queen size beds or one king size bed, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite Mangrove View with Jacuzzi, 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, one king size bed, Jacuzzi, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite Mangrove View, 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, one king size bed, Jacuzzi, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, two queen size beds or one king size bed, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hacienda Tres Rios offers extraordinary indoor and outdoor functions space for meetings and incentives able to accommodate up to 500 people. Featuring one divisible ball room of 5.979 ft2 along three breakouts rooms from 915 ft2 to 1265 ft2 (Not currently available)

Dining

Casa Las Islas
International buffet, various foods; serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner The inviting flavors and aromas of the Riviera Maya region beckon at Casa Las Islas, an international buffet-style restaurant. Casual but elegant, Casa Las Islas provides a family friendly atmosphere with fine cuisine from around the world. Schedule: 7:00-11:00 a.m.; 12:30-4:00 p.m.; 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Closed on Wednesdays. Dress code: Casual; shorts and T-shirts permitted.
Kotori
Serving Asian fusion and mixed Asian cuisine for dinner Imagine a blend of Chinese, Japanese, and Thai foods, and the result is a savory variety of Asian fusion cuisine. Kotori offers some of the freshest sushi, Thai and teppanyaki dishes. Whether it's a spicy spinach salad, fresh sushi and sashimi, teriyaki or spicy Thai entrees, tempura vegetables and shrimp, noodle dishes, or chicken wraps, you will find it all at Kotori. Save room for a delicious dessert, such as banana stew, chocolate fondant on ice cream, or passion fruit cheesecake. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Only Tuesdays, Fridays, and Sundays. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes.
Victory Sports Bar
Bar, featuring tequila tasting, and serving appetizers & snacks Watch the game, enjoy a cocktail with your family, or sip the finest spirits with your friends at this sports bar. Discover tantalizing mixed drinks like a Mojito (rum), Iceberg Tropical (vodka), Gin Cobbler, Chocolate Martini (vodka), and Peach Fizz (brandy). They also offer a delightful selection of non-alcoholic mixed drinks. Known for its variety of distinctive tequilas, Victory Sports Bar offers tequila tasting on select nights, so you can sample many different tequila flavors. Schedule: 3:00 p.m.-1:00 a.m. No Dress Code Required.
Martini and Tea time Terrace
Bar Serving Cocktails and Appetizers Bar, appetizers Relax in the cozy atmosphere of this beachside terrace by the pool. This terrace bar features traditional afternoon tea and early evening cocktails. It's the perfect place to try a variety of unique martinis, such as a Blue Canary Martini (gin), a Sun Martini (vodka), or a Tequini (a tequila martini). Martini Bar Schedule: 8:00 p.m.-10:00 p.m. Tea Services Schedule: 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. No Dress Code Required.
Lobby Bar
Delicious drinks and cocktails in a smooth and tranquil environment.
Patisserie Cafe de Paris
French bakery and caf. Enjoy the enticing scent and heavenly flavor of fresh baked breads, Parisian pastries, and specialty desserts, with a cup of full-bodied espresso, latte, coffee, or tea. Indulge in a light, creamy pastry or a slice of rich, flavorful cake, which are sure to please the palate. Schedule: 10:00 a.m.-10:00 p.m. No Dress Code required.
Alebrije
A la carte restaurant serving Mexican cuisine for dinner El Alebrije, Hacienda Tres Ros' flagship restaurant, celebrates its Mexican heritage by blending the exotic flavors of true Mexican cuisine with the traditional decor of Jalisco, Puebla, and Michoacn.Regional specialties are featured daily and include sea bass, fresh tuna, grilled chicken, lobster, duck, and lamb, as well as delicious desserts such as chipotle crme brle, rose petal ice cream, and sweet potato cake. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Closed Sundays. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes. Music: Mexican Quartet
Porto Bello
A la carte restaurant serving Italian cuisine for dinner Italian dining at its finest is right in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Dishes are prepared with a real flair and use some of the tastiest combinations of Italian seasonings and sauces. Entrees feature special mixed salads, fresh tuna, grouper, broiled chicken, almond cream soup, pasta dishes using risotto, angel hair, or fettuccini, veal, beef, and eggplant parmesan, to name just a few. After dinner, indulge in a choice of delectable desserts, for example, almond truffles, mascarpone with vanilla sauce, or caramelized pistachio cannolis, among others. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Only Saturday, Monday, and Thursday. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes.
Hacienda Grill
Bar & grill serving lunch buffets, snacks, and dinner a la carte Located in a private enclave, the Hacienda Grill sits poolside and features beautiful views of the river as it flows to the Caribbean Sea. It offers a full bar and food menu, which includes salads, burgers, chicken wings, cheese sticks, sea bass, shrimp, chicken, rib eye steak, and tasty desserts such as dark chocolate or pumpkin/white-chocolate tarts. Schedule: Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. *Cocktails 11:00-6:00 p.m. Dinner 6:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. *Closed Wednesdays and Sundays. Dress Code: Pool casual; shorts and T-shirts permitted.
Il Forno
Serving Italian style foods for lunch and snacks Savor some of the most delicious comfort food at this pizzeria which offers specialty pizzas and calzones baked in a wood-fired ceramic oven. This casual, outdoor restaurant by the pool has a wholesome, fun feel and beautiful views. The menu features international style pizzas from Mexican and Italian to European and Lebanese, and scrumptious calzones, such as vegetarian and Caribbean style. Schedule: 12:00 p.m-7:00pm No Dress Code Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Dy
Chicago
Sep 5, 2012

We just got back from this resort

We had a good time but there are definitely something's the resort can do to improve. First my family was Dissapointed with the beach if you're looking to spend time on the beach. There really isn't much entertainment and the little entertainment that they do have is over by 10 pm. After that there's absolutely nothing to do. We were forced to our room by 10 pm. The staff was great other than the person they assign you to speak to immediately after check in. I was so irritated with how aggressive they were for us to attend their presentation even after I said no we were not interested. On his second attempt to convince us he had a really bad attitude with us. We went to ask if we could go kayaking that day he told us they were booked we later found out that we didn't need an appointment. I don't think we would ever consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 2, 2010

Dont waste your money!!!!!

The hotel at first glance is very impressive...but after 9 nights of sub par food and service I would not recomend this hotel. The Spa is nice and the pool(except for no swim up bar) was cool aswell. There where plenty of bars sent up throughout the property. So, getting a drink was easy but they where never consistant with any drink throughout the entire stay. Room service was a joke. The food side of the hotel had a few major flaws; never consistant, less than friendly staff. House keeping helped themselves to clothing and loose pesos during the week. The river area of the beach area is very cool. However the water infront of the main beach area was nasty. The water was filled with peat or some type of dirt deposit. They were working hard to keep the sand clean but foget about snokeling. Take your money closer to Playa Del Carmen. Thanks for reading my review....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called "Brunos". Amazing food, service and drinks. Its located on the main strip they call 5th Ave, just north of the Tequila Barrel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zeek999
Business
chicago
Nov 14, 2011

horrible hacienda

Where can I start with how bad this hotel was. We were supposed to stay there for 5 nights but packed our bags and got the heck out of there after 2 nights. Here is a list of complaints we have. 1- From the beginning the reception staff was not very friendly nor did they smile at their guests. 2- Rooms were given late to us. We arrived tired from our flight around 1pm at the hotel and they said the rooms would be available by 3pm. We did not get our room until 3:45 after we yelling at the reception staff to give us a room 3- We were promised an ocean view but this hotel is not on the ocean. The ocean is a five minute walk away from the hotel itself. We enjoy looking at the ocean from our rooms but all we could see was a bunch of trees. 4- We were told that there would be snorkeling provided for at this hotel but they have not finished that section of the hotel grounds and even told us that they have quit make a snorkeling section because of the expenses. 5- The food was below par. We have stayed at other all-inclusive hotels in cancun and the buffets at these other hotels were amazing. When we got to this hotel we were shocked to see the limited variety of food at this buffet even though they claim that it is a five star hotel. 6- The raccoons and coatimundi were everywhere. The most shocking thing we witnessed at this hotel was at night while we walked around the empty hotel grounds, we witnessed around 10 of these animals eating leftover bits on the countertops where chefs and bartendars prepare food and drinks. These animals may have diseases like rabies and this is a great health violation. When we asked the receptionist about this, she said 'What do you expect? We are in the middle of a jungle'. I did not know that I can stay at a five star hotel in the middle of the jungle. 7- We decided to take part in the bicycle tour around the hotel grounds. The 'mountain' bikes that they provided us with were in the worst condition possible. The bikes looked like they were from the year 1900. They were dirty, rusty, not taken care of, very uncomfortable to sit on, and extremely unsafe to ride. One of our friends fell off the bike twice because of how horrible the bikes were. She got a huge bruise on her thigh which pained her for the rest of our vacation. 8- The hairdryers are worst hairdryers I have ever seen in my life. They are very weird shaped, turn on in a very weird fashion, and do not dry hair properly. 9- This hotel felt like a prison. The security guards at the entrance make you feel like you are entering a jail when they inspect the vehicle and none of them speak English. 10- This hotel is for really old people. The hotel does not feel alive. There is no one to be seen at many times in the day and was not a fun atmosphere for kids. 11- The hotel is far from the city where all the shops are located. Each way to and from the hotel costs $20. 12- When checking out, they made a big deal because my bracelet got ripped off while canoeing. Apparently we have to return the bracelet to them at check out and were going to charge us $20 since I didn't have it but I got into an argument with the receptionist and they waived the bogus fee. We really could not take it at this hotel more than two nights. We called the booking company, complained about the hotel and they switched us to an amazing hotel in Cancun named Riu Palace. With the money you pay at this hotel, you can have a much better stay at a different hotel. The manager really seems like he has no idea what's going on in the hotel and it is a very badly managed hotel. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Des Moines
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Mar 25, 2012

Reservations were not honored

We were disappointed to arrive and discover the Hacienda Tres Rios had overbooked the resort and they displaced us to another location 20 miles away. We were traveling with family who also booked and they were also displaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
srey29
Business
Bel Air, MD
May 23, 2012

TimeShare Nightmare!!!!!

First off, the resort itself is very nice and the food was very respectable! In regards to the Time Share, you will be cornered multiple times and they say it will last 90 minutes....it lasts 3-4 hours. We caved and purchased the timeshare/ travel club membership and were promised that we could cancel within 5 days. On day 3, I sent in my written request to cancel to the sales rep (Jay) and the Legal Officer (Carmen). They ignored the first two requests and then on the third request stated that they would assist in cancelling the membership and refunding my money. That has yet to happen and it is 22 days later! I feel like I have been scammed! This is nothing but a nightmare and a rip off!!!! Go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 30, 2010

Not Impressed At All

My husband and I just returned from Hacienda Tres Rios after attending a wedding. We did not choose your hotel but the Wedding was taking place at your resort and the entire group was staying there and it was convenient to be in the same location as everyone. The positive about Hacienda Tres Rios is the beauty and cleanliness of the outdoor locations available to the guests. The pool area and the lounging beds on the beach were wonderful and the beachfront was kept clean and debris free. The bed in our hotel room, even though we did not receive a king bed was comfortable and provided a nice place to lay our head at night. The steps the management is taking to keep the hotel green and environmentally friendly are commendable and the staff was always quick with a "hola" wherever you went. Unfortunately, that's where my positive comments end and my challenges begin. The remainder of our stay was very disappointing. I must first preface my comments with the fact that my husband and I returned from a trip to The Dreams Resort in Puerto Vallarta in February. The two hotels are on opposite ends of the spectrum which is certainly not what we expected, given the price we paid was comparable. That was the only thing Hacienda Tres Rios had in common with Dreams Puerto Vallarta. It all began at check-in when there was only one person at the front desk checking in guests when they should have been aware of the arrivals for the day and been staffed appropriately. We were expecting a welcome drink upon our arrival when exiting the vehicle, like we did at Dreams, but instead had to chase down a waiter that was walking aimlessly around the lobby with the signature drink. There were fresh moist towels behind the front desk that once again we were expecting to be handed upon check in (like Dreams) but they just sat there and never got offered to any guests. They must be for the Front Desk staff and Bellmen to use throughout their long exhausting day. All over the resort the service was non-existent unless you tipped heavily. We booked the Endless Luxury All-Inclusive plan for the value and convenience it offered and it clearly states on your website that service tips and taxes are included. We definitely are not against tipping when the service warrants it and in fact tipped heavily on our Dreams vacation, but at Hacienda Tres Rios we consistently got our own drinks and food no matter if we were at the pool or on the beach. In our book tips are earned, not expected! Service was consistently slow or non-existent in the outlets as well. One incident I remember vividly was during breakfast at the Casa Las Islas buffet at 8am when the restaurant was not even half full we were seated and waited 10 minutes without any servers approaching us. After getting frustrated, I proceeded to get up and pour my husband and me our own coffee and my own mimosa. When the server did arrive he didn't look surprised at all and didn't even apologize for the wait or lack of service. We had another disappointing encounter in the Mexican restaurant, El Alebrije on our last evening. We arrived at 6:30pm when the restaurant opened and there were only 4 other tables occupied by resort guests. We were seated and waited 15 minutes to even be approached by any servers to give us water and take our drink order. We finally ordered our three course dinner at 7pm, an appetizer, Soup and Main Entrée. Our first course arrived 45 minutes later and was to be a hot appetizer and it was ice cold. Our second course was skipped completely (not at our request) perhaps it was just too much for them to handle. When the main course finally arrived the veal was overcooked, crispy and cold as well. At this point we left the restaurant and told the hostess of our disappointment. An hour later, we received a call from the Restaurant Manager apologizing and offering us a free dinner! Did you get that, A FREE DINNER . . . remember we booked an Endless Luxury All-I...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA USA
May 9, 2009

Horrible Beach- and nothing to do!

This hotel has recently opened. It is a $33 cab to the airport and $15 to Playa del Carmen. There are limited activities in the evening and non existent activities during the day. The beach is dirty from seaweed and the water is brown. If you walk south 5 minutes to the other hotels you will find clean beaches and clear water. The service is inconsitent and management is unconcerned. When a concern is brought to management- excuses are offered and the problem becomes YOURS - the guest and NOT theirs the hotel. There is a mexican restaurant, a buffet, and certain nites the grill by the pool stays open at nite. Another restaurant (sharing space with the buffet) is open some nites as Italian and some nites at Asian. Food quality is mediocre at best. The staff tries to accomadate but is limited in what they can do due the environment. The rooms are spotless and modern- lacking of doors on the bathrooms however- and interesting concept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk south to the next hotel zone to use the beach and to have clear warm water

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary Alberta Canada
May 19, 2009

In the middle of nowhere and Dirty Beach

The pictures of the resort are deceiving. The beach area is filrhy water and beach is loaded with seaweed. When management is asked- they say it is because of a reef- funny the resorts south 5 minute walk have wonderful and clean beaches. Management is unconcerned here and is totally not concerned about issues brought to them. Food is adequate at best but simple things are good. Pizza is good. Steak is not. Drinks are good. The say they have an Italian and Asian restaurant- in actuality it is the same- some nites it is asian, some nights it is italian- both of which have wonderfully frozen food. Activities are limited and there are 2 weekly shows only that are about 45 mins long. One night they have "casino" nite for fake money- kinda reminded me of what they do in nursing homes! They have a shuttle for time share people to go to Playa Del Carmen- but hotel guests are not allowed to use it! Who thought that up???? Rooms are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is $15 dollar cab ride each way. But - worth it to be able to go and do something.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 8, 2009

Dirty Beach,Short staff, No Food Options

The hotel construction is not complete yet. The beach water is dirty, full of junk, dark grey color. Don't be fooled by the pictures posted [...]. The good restaurants (not that good, but better than their junk food stands) have very limited hours. There is only one nice restaurant. they change their cuisine every night. So, they've got the same chef cook Italian, japanese, American, etc. food... Poor food quality. The 24 hour room service is junk after 11pm. Cold cut sandwiches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste your time with the time share sharks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GoCards!
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 12, 2010

Beautiful place...terrible food

My wife and I went to Hacienda Tres Rios for our honeymoon. Overall the resort is beautiful but it's obvious that the resort is still working out kinks being that it's a relatively new resort. Our first impressions were great with a grand entrance and a very friendly welcoming staff. However, when we got to our room we had no type of touch screen or guide to tell us where everything was, no cable TV, and the room was not fully decorated since it was in one of the newer sections of the resort. When we asked the front desk about why we didn't have these things it seemed as though we were "inconveniencing" them. This seemed to be pretty consistent throughout the week. Also, swimming in the gulf is pretty much non-existent. With having 3 rivers there a lot of the mangrove brush gets washed up on shore making for almost a blackish tinted water. One thing we were looking forward to was the all-inclusive food and alcohol. The alcohol was great with numerous high end liquors, but my wife and I are not big drinkers so we didn't necessarily get our moneys worth on this. The food, however, was downright bad. We tried nearly every restaurant and the food was either cold, luke warm, or not what we ordered and had to be sent back. The only meals that we even looked forward to eating was the omelette station at breakfast and pizza at lunch dinner...mostly because they were hot! The best food we had was McDonalds that we had our cab driver take us to on the way to Tulum. Activities at the resort were great. Kayaking was awesome, snorkeling was fun, and there was always plenty of other activities going on. Overall, I don't think I'd recommend Hacienda Tres Rios. For as much as we paid I would have wanted better food and definitely some more friendly assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go somewhere else to eat at some point!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captonv
Business
PA
Jun 18, 2011

Summer Vacation

Well overall not too bad, but luxury hotel it is not. I would say the food was average, rooms slightly above average, grounds average, service and employees average. We had a nice time overall but the worst part was there was zero entertainment, I mean nothing. One person said it was because of low numbers of people other said because of noise issues with an eco park hotel. Very boring to say the least. If your 85 yrs old and looking for a nice vacation give it a try, if not its probably best to stay somewhere else. Oh forgot about the beach, the worst, black water not great sand, not swimable! Best part was the cenotes and rivers were very nice and cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top