$252 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Griswold, CT
Jan 30, 2011

Nice place to stay

The hotel service was very good and the place was spotless. Our rooms were large and nicely situated. The beds were very uncomfortable however. Upon arrival the staff had us sit in the front lobby for a half hour prior to the sales pitch. We and our travel companions were very unhappy about that waste of our time and very much resented the sales pitch after we had paid a steep price to stay there. We were finally shown to our rooms which we had booked in May for this Jan.vacation and had also emailed to confirm that our rooms be situated close together if not adjoining. Our confirmation stated that the Hotel would honor our request but instead , we were in separate buildings with alternate room offers that were not the Ocean View suites which we had paid for in May.We thought that the room scheduling could have been done much better then it was done. The food was good but the restaurant schedules were less then convenient. The beach and surroundings were beautiful and the naturalness of the rivers,mango groves and jungle were worth the trip alone. Pricey but worth seeing at least once. Would we go again? The hotel was only 30% full yet our rooms closeness was not handled well and the hotel could not handle any more guests ,food wise , service wise or toilet facilities wise. So our stay was very good at a 30% occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not sit in the lobby upon arrival but instead ask to be shown to your room immediately. They don't have any site maps so it is a learn as you go anyway.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Diving Traveler
Family
Boulder, CO
Nov 10, 2009

Excellent Trip - Service was superior.

We did it all, tours, spa, pool, activities, wedding, traveled offsite. It was a beautiful resort, close proximity to Playa de Carmen with staff that worked very hard to ensure you were pleased. It was the nicest hotel I have stayed at in Mexico. Even though we had torrential downpours for 3 of the 7 days, we still played in the rain and had fun. The only dissappointment was that I perceived the resort to be brand new, but I believe it is simply newly remodeled. Some of the things like the phone, key card lock and others did not work but were not major inconviences. The food was good but not great, it met my expectations, so I was not dissappointed. The homemade food displays were fantastic. We were not nickeled and dimed at all...this was a pleasant surprise. They provided what they said they would without question. That is really important and unfortunately not always the case in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Budget for tipping when you plan your trip, this way you will be able and willing to provide the staff with a tip when you check out. They earn it here!

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 23, 2010

Relaxation Station

Nice quiet place to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The offered tours were very fun and worth the time.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karenandtwins
Family
Philadelphia PA
Sep 5, 2010

great value and great time

This was the best value I have ever experienced on a vacation, bar none. Terrific resort, great food and service by the staff. The only thing missing was a crystal clear beach. This resort is situated in an area that receives deposits from local rivers which makes the private beach area basically unswimmable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trice the Traveler
Couples
Stamford, CT
Nov 21, 2010

Great Vacation Destination

Great time, excellent customer service, helpful staff, great amenities, great food, beautiful weather, modern, great location. Beautiful hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret...

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lalaleo
Family
Murrieta, CA, USA
Oct 1, 2011

great location, great food, front desk/concierge needs work

great location, great food, front desk/concierge needs work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

do not miss the circus, skip michael jackson

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel:loves beach vacations
Couples
Casper, WY
Dec 10, 2010

Nice Place...

The hotel was nice and very pretty. The concierge desk was not very nice and it didnt seem like they had very many activities to offer outside the hotel in the area.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexico or bust
Couples
Jacobus, Pa
Jun 22, 2009

What a unique place to stay

We loved our trip to tres rios resort. The hotel is at a wonderful location set on the riviera maya, but secluded in a nature preserve. The whole hotel was built on top of mangroves and 3 rivers and they did it in a way to preserve the wildlife. The hotel is very luxurious with a grand entrance way and very nice staff. We enjoyed the lack of guests as we had a private beach most of the time and loved kyaking up the rivers to swim in the fresh water cenotes. My wife and I love to visit different resorts and try new things. This resort fit the bill to a tee. If your looking for wonderful accomodations with outdoor activities then this place is for you. What a wonderful way to spend my wife's 30th birthday and our 3rd anniversary. The place is a bit understaffed, but with what is going on with H1N1 and the "stay away from Mexico scare" you can't help but wonder why. There is more swine flu in our state of Pennsylvania then in Cancun or Riviera Maya. At least they take precautions. The hotel isn't even finished being built, so I'm sure that when it is complete this will be the go to place for everyone. I would love to visit again, but I think they are gearing more to timeshares then travel companies like Orbitz for the future. Make sure to visit here if you get a chance soon. I'm so sad to be home, but so grateful for our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cenotes tour...all of them. It is amazing and make use of the snorkels all around the rivers

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Bum
Couples
Azusa, CA
Jun 25, 2009

Outstanding value for the price!

The hotel is brand new, the rooms are very clean, the landscaping is well kept. The hotel is currently having a soft opening, was not crowded at all, and there still is a medium level of construction taking place on the north side of the resort(not bothersome at all though). The hotel is very nice, it still is a little bare in places with a little final finish work needed. But for the price it was a real deal, it probably will not be as cheap in the future. The atmosphere at the pool was very relaxing, as was the beach(the beach water is not very clear because of the algae that is in it causes it to turn a dark color), however, a short 5 minute walk you are on a beach with white sand and water that is a spectacular emerald shade. The food was excellent for an all-inclusive resort, the buffet was great for breakfast(omelette station, fresh fruit, juices, etc.), lunch was a little lacking, but the quality of the food was very good. The outdoor grill adjacent to the pool was great for lunch/dinner. I had steak & lobster for dinner which was really good for all-inclusive menu(the live sax player was a bonus). There is a Mexican Restaurant that serves really good food,but had a limited menu on my visit(the grilled sea bass was excellent). Japanese Restaurant 2-3 days a week & a Italian Restaurant the days the Japanese was closed. Several times while I was at the beach & pool I was served appetizers without asking(everything from grilled shrimp, seared tuna, etc.). The outdoor pizza was also very good(even the calzone was excellent). The Resort has a welcome party(dinner/show) every Sun evening outside the main lobby for all guests with live entertainment. Mon night they have Mayan Performers, & Tues night they have their Fire Show. I do believe that the party & shows were to cater to potential vacation club members who all seemed to arrive on Sunday, but all guests were invited. There is also a sports bar off the main lobby, however, it was never crowded and pretty dead overall, however, I believe that will gradually change over time. As for any negative things or improvements needed, the one negative item was the vacation club representative calling us in our room the day after we told them we were basically not interested. Things that could be improved are having night swimming hours(the pool is posted open until 7PM), but I was swimming well past that on a few nights with no question. The service in the buffet was a little inconsistent, but other than these issues, I would have no problem going back to this resort, because right now it is an exceptional value for what you receive. If I had to rate everything about this resort on a scale between 1 & 10, 10 being best, I would give it a solid 9. If you are going on vacation and just want to really relax, not party, want peace & quiet, don't get bored staying at the same place for 3-4 days, enjoy good food, then this is about the best place I've been for the money spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is very secluded, therefore, if you want to go shopping you have to go to the front desk and have them call a Taxi (takes about 15-20 minutes), Call for the taxi before you leave your room.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sugar Land, Tx
Nov 23, 2010

A beautiful resort in a Natural Setting

Our vacation at Hacienda Tres Rios was worth every Penny.The rooms were big, clean and comfortable.Restaurants had excellent food and the service was exemplary.Staff was very pleasant and helpful.Most of them spoke passable English. Overall a great experience.The natural surroundings provided enough activities and relaxation.Definitely recommend this resort for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret Park.Must visit for underground rivers, snorkeling and animals (Sharks,Dolphins,Turtles etc.)

Back to menu Return to top