$334 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
White's honeymoon
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 8, 2009

Best vacation ever.

We had the best vacation ever. The service pool side was unbelievable they knew what we wanted before we did. The food was good. We had a great time taking out the sail boat and they told us where there was a great reef to snorkle it was amazing! The rooms were clean and had a turn down service most nights. I wish the buffet was open more often, but we certainly were not hungery. They had no problems with special requests in the restraunts they would make whatever you asked. The special events they had were fun and the cenotes tour was cool. They were not pushy about trying to sell you a time share which we thought was a highlight we hate it when they try to push you into the tours. I would recommend Tres Rios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The afternoon classes are great fun.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 8, 2009

Dirty Beach,Short staff, No Food Options

The hotel construction is not complete yet. The beach water is dirty, full of junk, dark grey color. Don't be fooled by the pictures posted [...]. The good restaurants (not that good, but better than their junk food stands) have very limited hours. There is only one nice restaurant. they change their cuisine every night. So, they've got the same chef cook Italian, japanese, American, etc. food... Poor food quality. The 24 hour room service is junk after 11pm. Cold cut sandwiches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't waste your time with the time share sharks.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the typical honeymooners
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 28, 2009

We had a blast!

The beds on the beach were awesome. Hotel is brand new. Lots of activities to do on hotel grounds including snorkeling and kayaking. Very quiet and relaxing(but we were there during the slow season). One small complaint we had was the inability to control the temperature in the room. The thermostat simply wouldn't allow us to change the temperature above 68F. It was either off or on. We complained twice, but nothing changed. Also, the non-buffet restaurants take forever to eat at. Prepare to spend two hours eating there since the service is kind of slow. But the food itself was pretty darn good. Be prepared to try new things such as fried crickets and beef carpaccio(raw). My wife thought it was cool how they compost all of the food waste and use it to fertilize the hotel plants. The staff seemed to appreciate it when you try and talk in Spanish to them and would serve us quicker. High school classes paid off! The location of the hotel is closer to Playa Del Carmen than Cancun, so you can get to some popular places (such as Xel-Ha, Xcaret, Xplor, and the ferry to Cozumel) quicker than if you stay in Cancun. This also keeps you a safe distance from crazy spring breakers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget to bring your eco-friendly sunscreen and bug spray. They may or may not let you use the normal stuff. Also bring a cheap underwater camera for the snorkeling. The bartenders inside seemed to make tastier drinks. I'm not sure whether or not this was because the ice melts so fast outside or if the bartenders inside just care more.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Bum
Business
Azusa, CA
Jun 25, 2009

Outstanding value for the price!

The hotel is brand new, the rooms are very clean, the landscaping is well kept. The hotel is currently having a soft opening, was not crowded at all, and there still is a medium level of construction taking place on the north side of the resort(not bothersome at all though). The hotel is very nice, it still is a little bare in places with a little final finish work needed. But for the price it was a real deal, it probably will not be as cheap in the future. The atmosphere at the pool was very relaxing, as was the beach(the beach water is not very clear because of the algae that is in it causes it to turn a dark color), however, a short 5 minute walk you are on a beach with white sand and water that is a spectacular emerald shade. The food was excellent for an all-inclusive resort, the buffet was great for breakfast(omelette station, fresh fruit, juices, etc.), lunch was a little lacking, but the quality of the food was very good. The outdoor grill adjacent to the pool was great for lunch/dinner. I had steak & lobster for dinner which was really good for all-inclusive menu(the live sax player was a bonus). There is a Mexican Restaurant that serves really good food,but had a limited menu on my visit(the grilled sea bass was excellent). Japanese Restaurant 2-3 days a week & a Italian Restaurant the days the Japanese was closed. Several times while I was at the beach & pool I was served appetizers without asking(everything from grilled shrimp, seared tuna, etc.). The outdoor pizza was also very good(even the calzone was excellent). The Resort has a welcome party(dinner/show) every Sun evening outside the main lobby for all guests with live entertainment. Mon night they have Mayan Performers, & Tues night they have their Fire Show. I do believe that the party & shows were to cater to potential vacation club members who all seemed to arrive on Sunday, but all guests were invited. There is also a sports bar off the main lobby, however, it was never crowded and pretty dead overall, however, I believe that will gradually change over time. As for any negative things or improvements needed, the one negative item was the vacation club representative calling us in our room the day after we told them we were basically not interested. Things that could be improved are having night swimming hours(the pool is posted open until 7PM), but I was swimming well past that on a few nights with no question. The service in the buffet was a little inconsistent, but other than these issues, I would have no problem going back to this resort, because right now it is an exceptional value for what you receive. If I had to rate everything about this resort on a scale between 1 & 10, 10 being best, I would give it a solid 9. If you are going on vacation and just want to really relax, not party, want peace & quiet, don't get bored staying at the same place for 3-4 days, enjoy good food, then this is about the best place I've been for the money spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is very secluded, therefore, if you want to go shopping you have to go to the front desk and have them call a Taxi (takes about 15-20 minutes), Call for the taxi before you leave your room.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexico or bust
Business
Jacobus, Pa
Jun 22, 2009

What a unique place to stay

We loved our trip to tres rios resort. The hotel is at a wonderful location set on the riviera maya, but secluded in a nature preserve. The whole hotel was built on top of mangroves and 3 rivers and they did it in a way to preserve the wildlife. The hotel is very luxurious with a grand entrance way and very nice staff. We enjoyed the lack of guests as we had a private beach most of the time and loved kyaking up the rivers to swim in the fresh water cenotes. My wife and I love to visit different resorts and try new things. This resort fit the bill to a tee. If your looking for wonderful accomodations with outdoor activities then this place is for you. What a wonderful way to spend my wife's 30th birthday and our 3rd anniversary. The place is a bit understaffed, but with what is going on with H1N1 and the "stay away from Mexico scare" you can't help but wonder why. There is more swine flu in our state of Pennsylvania then in Cancun or Riviera Maya. At least they take precautions. The hotel isn't even finished being built, so I'm sure that when it is complete this will be the go to place for everyone. I would love to visit again, but I think they are gearing more to timeshares then travel companies like Orbitz for the future. Make sure to visit here if you get a chance soon. I'm so sad to be home, but so grateful for our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cenotes tour...all of them. It is amazing and make use of the snorkels all around the rivers

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 13, 2009

Wonderful vacation

My wife and I went to Tres Rios primarily to relax, and we couldn't have chosen a better resort. Everything was top-notch beginning with beautiful decor, extremely comfortable rooms and terrific pools and grounds. We really enjoyed the beach as well; the water is brackish at times, which kept most everyone away, but we loved it. The temp was generally like bath water, with occassional cool streams providing refreshment, and there is a layer of sea/river mud and sand which feels wonderful on the skin. Plus, the canopy beds are phenomenal, as you lay out,sip a cocktail and enjoy the breeze. The staff is also terrific, always working to make your stay enjoyable. I wish I could thank each one of them here, but there are too many to mention. Every meal was great, as were the moments when cooks would appear from out of nowhere as we sat by the pool, and offer a delicious appetizer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rika99
Business
Virginia
Jun 1, 2009

Great, relaxing vacation!

This place was pristine, brand new, and spotlessly clean. The rooms and the pools were beautiful, the beach beds were great, the service was excellent, and it was neat to be able to swim in cenotes and go kayaking in rivers without leaving the property. This was a totally stress-free vacation, as we never had to wait for or jockey for anything we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
May 20, 2009

Great Resort for Couples or Families

This hotel is not fully open except for some minor finishing work. The place is spotless and the service is extraordinary. With the 50% off deal I got through Orbitz, it can't be beat. My wife is very discerning when it comes to food and she liked the food very much. Executive chef [...] is the highlight of the hotel. He made sure everything involving food service works well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly reccomend that you rent a car. There is so much to do and see in the Riviera Maya that without a car you are missing out on a lot. This is particularily the case if you are staying more than 5 nights, by which point you will have exhausted much you can do and see on the Resort.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary Alberta Canada
May 19, 2009

In the middle of nowhere and Dirty Beach

The pictures of the resort are deceiving. The beach area is filrhy water and beach is loaded with seaweed. When management is asked- they say it is because of a reef- funny the resorts south 5 minute walk have wonderful and clean beaches. Management is unconcerned here and is totally not concerned about issues brought to them. Food is adequate at best but simple things are good. Pizza is good. Steak is not. Drinks are good. The say they have an Italian and Asian restaurant- in actuality it is the same- some nites it is asian, some nights it is italian- both of which have wonderfully frozen food. Activities are limited and there are 2 weekly shows only that are about 45 mins long. One night they have "casino" nite for fake money- kinda reminded me of what they do in nursing homes! They have a shuttle for time share people to go to Playa Del Carmen- but hotel guests are not allowed to use it! Who thought that up???? Rooms are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen is $15 dollar cab ride each way. But - worth it to be able to go and do something.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
May 11, 2009

Will be hard to ever match

We arrived to be greeted by several. There was no line for check in. We were in our room in a matter of minutes after arrival. Exhaustion did not stop us from our instant need to explore after walking out onto our balcany. We stayed for six nights. The number of patrons seemed low but no corners were cut in service. Quiet which was fine by us, and by the second day we were hoping to be quarentined with the swine flu scare! Several of the staff knew us by our names by our second day. The rooms were the most beautiful I have ever stayed. All rooms seemed to have a wonderful view. We were never made to feel that tipping was expected, and employees seemed to all enjoy their jobs. The food was non fat american portions so we found room service to be a necessary evil for a pre-dinner diet of cheese and crackers, norweigin salman, or fruits. There were many in hotel activities that provided additional entertainment. The staff multitasked for evening shows and the performances were first rate. We were quite spoiled the entire time and can only hope it does not become a time share only place in the future. Would go back tomorrow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

if you are looking for a party club atmosphere this is not the place. Town is a 40$ taxi ride away. Ask staff to be set up with a local fisherman for a day if you like the water, and a chance at a big fish

Back to menu Return to top