$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prior Lake, MN
Jan 21, 2010

Wonderful resort

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation for two, and we found it. The staff was very attentive and friendly, they went out of their way for any special request. I'm surprised by some reviews stating that the food was not good, because we thought it was wonderful! There are several restaurants plus the pizzaria and grill. Sushi was fresh, desserts plentiful. All of the food was flavorful with beautiful presentation. Even the room service food was tasty. buffet food was not prepared in large, mushy batches as is sometimes the case, but instead plates of many items are available. This gives even the buffet a gourmet feel. Beds on the beach were comfortable and there are plenty of them. We took the Bike tour, which was fun and informative, with an emphasis on the Mayan traditions and environmental awareness. Our Jr. Suite was large and beautifully appointed. Lots of marble and high-end fixtures. If you are looking for an active night life and loads of activities, this is not the place for you, but if you want to relax on the beach and enjoy good food and beautifully groomed grounds, this is the resort you are looking for. We'll be back. We have traveled many times to Mexico and other tropical areas, and this is our favorite resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy who can't wait to return
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 19, 2010

Beautiful, relaxing stay

Wow, what a great trip. First let me say that the food in every restaurant on the property was some of the best I've ever been served including the many fine restaurants I've eaten at that were not affiliated with any hotels (stand alone restaurants). [...] designs entire new menus in each restaurant every 6 months. Whenever possible, the foods are authentic to each corresponding cuisine. Everything is prepared fresh. At breakfast in the Mexican restaurant, tortillas were being prepared right in front of us from a batch of fresh dough, pressed on an small cast iron tortilla press and then thrown in a skillet with toppings we chose added.The grounds were beautiful from the hotel, to the pools to the beach to the plant nursery and surrounding protected lands with walking paths and cenotes. Everything is maintained with great care and respect for the land. Small touches were ever present from different authentic mexican candies on our pillow each night to our pad of butter in one restaurant wrapped in a green leaf. Little touches that showed how much thought was put into the entire operation. All the hotel staff was friendly, courteous and eager to help in any way they could. The rooms were good size and spotless. Our stay was completely relaxing and worry free. I would gladly return and enjoy another memorable vacation at this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When arriving at Tres Rios, book dinner in the kitchen one night. For the nominal price of picking out and purchasing a bottle of wine (per 2 people) from the hotel, you will be treated to a table in the kitchen where the chef will prepare a 7 course meal to go perfectly with your chosen wine. The service is fantastic, chef Oscar will present each course and you will get a front seat view to an amazing kitchen operation, serving all the restaurants on the property. Delicious and fun!

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GoCards!
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 12, 2010

Beautiful place...terrible food

My wife and I went to Hacienda Tres Rios for our honeymoon. Overall the resort is beautiful but it's obvious that the resort is still working out kinks being that it's a relatively new resort. Our first impressions were great with a grand entrance and a very friendly welcoming staff. However, when we got to our room we had no type of touch screen or guide to tell us where everything was, no cable TV, and the room was not fully decorated since it was in one of the newer sections of the resort. When we asked the front desk about why we didn't have these things it seemed as though we were "inconveniencing" them. This seemed to be pretty consistent throughout the week. Also, swimming in the gulf is pretty much non-existent. With having 3 rivers there a lot of the mangrove brush gets washed up on shore making for almost a blackish tinted water. One thing we were looking forward to was the all-inclusive food and alcohol. The alcohol was great with numerous high end liquors, but my wife and I are not big drinkers so we didn't necessarily get our moneys worth on this. The food, however, was downright bad. We tried nearly every restaurant and the food was either cold, luke warm, or not what we ordered and had to be sent back. The only meals that we even looked forward to eating was the omelette station at breakfast and pizza at lunch dinner...mostly because they were hot! The best food we had was McDonalds that we had our cab driver take us to on the way to Tulum. Activities at the resort were great. Kayaking was awesome, snorkeling was fun, and there was always plenty of other activities going on. Overall, I don't think I'd recommend Hacienda Tres Rios. For as much as we paid I would have wanted better food and definitely some more friendly assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go somewhere else to eat at some point!

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 2, 2010

Dont waste your money!!!!!

The hotel at first glance is very impressive...but after 9 nights of sub par food and service I would not recomend this hotel. The Spa is nice and the pool(except for no swim up bar) was cool aswell. There where plenty of bars sent up throughout the property. So, getting a drink was easy but they where never consistant with any drink throughout the entire stay. Room service was a joke. The food side of the hotel had a few major flaws; never consistant, less than friendly staff. House keeping helped themselves to clothing and loose pesos during the week. The river area of the beach area is very cool. However the water infront of the main beach area was nasty. The water was filled with peat or some type of dirt deposit. They were working hard to keep the sand clean but foget about snokeling. Take your money closer to Playa Del Carmen. Thanks for reading my review....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called "Brunos". Amazing food, service and drinks. Its located on the main strip they call 5th Ave, just north of the Tequila Barrel.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
el Marco de Chicago
Business
Chicago
Jan 2, 2010

A Great Place to Relax

Hacienda Tres Rios is a magnificent all inclusive. The staff are fabulous, allowing you rest and relax but always nearby in case you need something. The food is magnificent. The rooms are beautiful. The on-site activities are great and you're close enough to other places, such as Playa del Carmen or Tulum if you want to get away. We're going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co
Jan 2, 2010

Dont waste your money!!!!!

The hotel at first glance is very impressive...but after 9 nights of sub par food and service I would not recomend this hotel. The Spa is nice and the pool(except for no swim up bar) was cool aswell. There where plenty of bars sent up throughout the property. So, getting a drink was easy but they where never consistant with any drink throughout the entire stay. Room service was a joke. The food side of the hotel had a few major flaws; never consistant, less than friendly staff. House keeping helped themselves to clothing and loose pesos during the week. The river area of the beach area is very cool. However the water infront of the main beach area was nasty. The water was filled with peat or some type of dirt deposit. They were working hard to keep the sand clean but foget about snokeling. Take your money closer to Playa Del Carmen. Thanks for reading my review....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a place called "Brunos". Amazing food, service and drinks. Its located on the main strip they call 5th Ave, just north of the Tequila Barrel.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmwood, Il
Dec 27, 2009

Fun People, Fun Times

The entertainment staff, the bartenders and the waiters at the hotel are excellent. They try very hard to meet your every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, IL
Dec 26, 2009

Great resort for kids and adults

I was very pleasantly surprised by Hacienda Tres Rios. The staff tried to cater to all requests, especially when motivated by a nominal tip.The food was much better than I expected. We went to Cozumel a few years ago and also stayed at an all-inclusive. We were reluctant to consider Mexico as a vacation destination because of our poor experience at the Grand Cozumel. However we got such a great deal on the package and read good reviews about this place that we decided to give it a shot.It's true that the beach is not particularly attractive because of the vegetation which grows near the shore, even though they are out there cleaning it every day (even Christmas morning). The beds on the beach and by the pool are very comfortable and very clean. The cenotes are great for both the adults and the kids since you can do a lot of nature activities, such as swim, sail or explore the well maintained paths on the property. The bar service can be either very good or fair (as in the buffet restaurant). Some of the wait staff are phenomenal trying to cater to your every need. [...] really does a great job trying to put out the best food and presentation. Overall, I would say that it is a place worth going back to. We enjoyed the good service, large clean rooms and the lack of being crowded. Yes, the beach wasn't as pretty as the other resorts but the nature activities and friendly staff were a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Educated, and not your typical turist
Business
Jackson Hole, WY
Nov 30, 2009

Fantastically quiet getaway

My family enjoyed the quiet ambiance, the efficiency and friendliness of the staff, and the sustainable practices in the building and site. Mexico is famous for its varied fruit, excellent food and pastry so we were disappointed to see juices coming from a box(like in USA)American type pastries(donuts, cheese cake and cinnamon rolls),and exotic dishes(Ostrich tamales, Asian fusion dishes, etc.)not well mastered, and that did not reflect the indigenous food and spirit of the place. In my opinion we can import other countries food and culture,as an option but we do not need to offer the turist an homogeneous experience but the experience of being in the beautiful country that is Mexico!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss the Xcaret's night show were you could see the richness and variety of folk dances that Mexican culture has to offer.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba Diving Traveler
Business
Boulder, CO
Nov 10, 2009

Excellent Trip - Service was superior.

We did it all, tours, spa, pool, activities, wedding, traveled offsite. It was a beautiful resort, close proximity to Playa de Carmen with staff that worked very hard to ensure you were pleased. It was the nicest hotel I have stayed at in Mexico. Even though we had torrential downpours for 3 of the 7 days, we still played in the rain and had fun. The only dissappointment was that I perceived the resort to be brand new, but I believe it is simply newly remodeled. Some of the things like the phone, key card lock and others did not work but were not major inconviences. The food was good but not great, it met my expectations, so I was not dissappointed. The homemade food displays were fantastic. We were not nickeled and dimed at all...this was a pleasant surprise. They provided what they said they would without question. That is really important and unfortunately not always the case in Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Budget for tipping when you plan your trip, this way you will be able and willing to provide the staff with a tip when you check out. They earn it here!

Back to menu Return to top