$560 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel:loves beach vacations
Business
Casper, WY
Dec 10, 2010

Nice Place...

The hotel was nice and very pretty. The concierge desk was not very nice and it didnt seem like they had very many activities to offer outside the hotel in the area.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Nov 30, 2010

Not Impressed At All

My husband and I just returned from Hacienda Tres Rios after attending a wedding. We did not choose your hotel but the Wedding was taking place at your resort and the entire group was staying there and it was convenient to be in the same location as everyone. The positive about Hacienda Tres Rios is the beauty and cleanliness of the outdoor locations available to the guests. The pool area and the lounging beds on the beach were wonderful and the beachfront was kept clean and debris free. The bed in our hotel room, even though we did not receive a king bed was comfortable and provided a nice place to lay our head at night. The steps the management is taking to keep the hotel green and environmentally friendly are commendable and the staff was always quick with a "hola" wherever you went. Unfortunately, that's where my positive comments end and my challenges begin. The remainder of our stay was very disappointing. I must first preface my comments with the fact that my husband and I returned from a trip to The Dreams Resort in Puerto Vallarta in February. The two hotels are on opposite ends of the spectrum which is certainly not what we expected, given the price we paid was comparable. That was the only thing Hacienda Tres Rios had in common with Dreams Puerto Vallarta. It all began at check-in when there was only one person at the front desk checking in guests when they should have been aware of the arrivals for the day and been staffed appropriately. We were expecting a welcome drink upon our arrival when exiting the vehicle, like we did at Dreams, but instead had to chase down a waiter that was walking aimlessly around the lobby with the signature drink. There were fresh moist towels behind the front desk that once again we were expecting to be handed upon check in (like Dreams) but they just sat there and never got offered to any guests. They must be for the Front Desk staff and Bellmen to use throughout their long exhausting day. All over the resort the service was non-existent unless you tipped heavily. We booked the Endless Luxury All-Inclusive plan for the value and convenience it offered and it clearly states on your website that service tips and taxes are included. We definitely are not against tipping when the service warrants it and in fact tipped heavily on our Dreams vacation, but at Hacienda Tres Rios we consistently got our own drinks and food no matter if we were at the pool or on the beach. In our book tips are earned, not expected! Service was consistently slow or non-existent in the outlets as well. One incident I remember vividly was during breakfast at the Casa Las Islas buffet at 8am when the restaurant was not even half full we were seated and waited 10 minutes without any servers approaching us. After getting frustrated, I proceeded to get up and pour my husband and me our own coffee and my own mimosa. When the server did arrive he didn't look surprised at all and didn't even apologize for the wait or lack of service. We had another disappointing encounter in the Mexican restaurant, El Alebrije on our last evening. We arrived at 6:30pm when the restaurant opened and there were only 4 other tables occupied by resort guests. We were seated and waited 15 minutes to even be approached by any servers to give us water and take our drink order. We finally ordered our three course dinner at 7pm, an appetizer, Soup and Main Entrée. Our first course arrived 45 minutes later and was to be a hot appetizer and it was ice cold. Our second course was skipped completely (not at our request) perhaps it was just too much for them to handle. When the main course finally arrived the veal was overcooked, crispy and cold as well. At this point we left the restaurant and told the hostess of our disappointment. An hour later, we received a call from the Restaurant Manager apologizing and offering us a free dinner! Did you get that, A FREE DINNER . . . remember we booked an Endless Luxury All-I...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Nov 23, 2010

Amazing hotel for people of all ages!

I loved everything about Tres Rios! The staff at the hotel were absolutely amazing and always so helpful. I was there with 11 members of my family and the staff took such good care of us all. The hotel was spotless and had so many different activities available to guests that we couldn't even get through them all during this stay. The kayaking, snorkeling and biking on site was fantastic and so were the staff that were in charge of delivering the tours. The restaurants were all great and had a very good variety of food, but I would have liked some more restaurant options for lunch. The italian restaurant was the best and we ate there multiple times for dinner. If you are able to do the Chefs table dinner do it's, it's definitely an experience worth having :) Overall the experience was amazing and I would definitely go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, Tx
Nov 23, 2010

A beautiful resort in a Natural Setting

Our vacation at Hacienda Tres Rios was worth every Penny.The rooms were big, clean and comfortable.Restaurants had excellent food and the service was exemplary.Staff was very pleasant and helpful.Most of them spoke passable English. Overall a great experience.The natural surroundings provided enough activities and relaxation.Definitely recommend this resort for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret Park.Must visit for underground rivers, snorkeling and animals (Sharks,Dolphins,Turtles etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trice the Traveler
Business
Stamford, CT
Nov 21, 2010

Great Vacation Destination

Great time, excellent customer service, helpful staff, great amenities, great food, beautiful weather, modern, great location. Beautiful hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xcaret...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
Oct 14, 2010

The Good the bad

Only some of the wait staff were attentive. Breakfast service was terrible I had to keep asking for more coffee. Teh Concerige did not follow through no welcome package delievered to our room like promised. I would not book at this Hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karenandtwins
Business
Philadelphia PA
Sep 5, 2010

great value and great time

This was the best value I have ever experienced on a vacation, bar none. Terrific resort, great food and service by the staff. The only thing missing was a crystal clear beach. This resort is situated in an area that receives deposits from local rivers which makes the private beach area basically unswimmable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenga Queen
Business
Kansas
Jul 19, 2010

Great Atmosphere

This trip was great! We really enjoyed the staff. They helped make our stay relaxing, fun, and memorable. The hotel offers fun tours, i suggest taking part of those...get out and have fun, explore! It rained one day so we took the tequila tasting class...the head chef Oscar made it really interesting and fun! The beach needs work. It's still new and needs to be worked on so there is still a lot of seaweed etc. We took a taxi to Playa del Carmen to use that beach and it worked out just fine! The pools were great, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a taxi to Playa del Carmen...that is where the bus station is (like greyhound buses) it's cheap to get to cancun and Telum to see the Mayan ruins! Explore!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Francomacorisano
Business
Lowell, MA
Jul 15, 2010

Unbelievable Personnel & Great Food

The Best expirience ever.Great service(24 hours), great pool, great food , great shows. Eat, Drink as much as you can. If you're on the beach someone woould ask if you need anything, if you in the pool someone would ask you if need anything.Everywhere you go there is someone to serve you. Cleanest hotel i have ever seen. There are also a lot of activities to do in the hotel:Kayaking, Bicycling, Snorkeling and more. The only downside of the hotel is the beach (when it rains a lot of dirt come to beach)other than that everything is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Xelha Park, Great waterpark with a huge snorkeling area, diving, dolphin shows and water games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PinkBlushing Bride
Business
Karval, CO
Jul 9, 2010

Super relaxing!

My husband and I spent our entire honeymoon at Tres Rios and found it beautiful and relaxing. It was devastated a few years ago by a hurricane and thus has some areas in the surrounding park with obvious damage. As a result, the resort has its own nursery, which can be toured by guests. We loved the tours of the park, especially the snorkeling and kayaking in the freshwater canals. We would definitely stay at Tres Rios again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the all-inclusive!! It is worth every penny, and we would never have been able to afford all of the food and drinks without it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top