$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
75 reviews
Perfect family resort

Staff treats you great, kudos to all. Great tasting food, gourmet type, can't get any better... See full review

  • Coach Alex
  • Jun 29, 2014
Perfect family resort option

You'll find the friendliest staff at this beautiful resort. Food was prime and great tasting,... See full review

  • Alejandro Quintero
  • Jun 28, 2014
Eco-friendly Caribbean resort in Riviera Maya with private beach
Hacienda Tres Rios is a true eco resort. For instance, the hotel was constructed on pilings and a permeable rock base to allow for natural water flow and filters seawater to avoid using the freshwater aquifer. The resort sits on 326 acres of a protected nature park that includes jungle, mangroves, coastal dunes and cenotes (sinkholes filled with water). The resort boasts a private beach, two swimming pools, gym/fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.
Highlights:
  • Nestled into a 326 acre nature park
  • Green Globe, Sustainable Travel International and Rainforest Alliance certified
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
Rooms:

Expect brightly colored, spacious suites facing the natural mangroves or the ocean. Hacienda Tres Rios' is committed to the environment in rooms, too. For example, the heat generated from running the in-room air conditioner is re-processed to heat the hot water for showers and sinks. In addition to air conditioning, all suites include flat-screen TVs, a private terrace (some with Jacuzzi), Internet access, vanity mirror, pillow menu, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linens, hair dryer, robes and slippers.

Features:

Have you always wanted to know more about tequila or traditional Mexican cuisine? Take a tequila or cooking class with the executive chef during your stay and walk away with a better understanding of both. Kids have access to the kids club where they'll meet new friends, go on adventures and make souvenirs to take home. For a completely different experience, go on a SenseAdventure tour or take a stroll through the botanical garden or plant nursery. Also included is evening entertainment, a 30-minute massage at the spa, 24-hour room service, yoga and spinning classes and an adult-only pool area. At night, book a reservation at the chef's tasting table for a seven-course journey through the world (guests must purchase a bottle of wine at the tasting table).

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Playa del Carmen (8 mi/13 km)
  • Tulum ruins (44 mi/71 km)
  • Chichen Itza (100 mi/162 km)
Business­
  • Meeting rooms and banquet area accommodates large and small groups (fees apply)
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Business center - fax, copy, office supplies, secretary service, translation services (fees apply)
  • Video conferencing/audiovisual equipment (fees apply)

Hotel Map

20.7052 -87.0097
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport CUN- 28 miles.
Area description
Cancun International Airport, the second busiest in Mexico after that of Mexico City, welcomes over eighty arrivals per day from North America and Europe alone, plus many more from Central and South America. From there, Hacienda Tres Rios is easily accessible by private car services and scheduled buses. Hacienda Tres Rios is located only 28 miles south from Cancun International Airport in Riviere Maya and only 6 miles before Playa del Carmen.

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite with jacuzzi 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, two queen size beds or one king size bed, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite Mangrove View with Jacuzzi, 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, one king size bed, Jacuzzi, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite Mangrove View, 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, one king size bed, Jacuzzi, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children
Junior Suite 645 Sq.Ft
Each Suite offers fresh water canals and features: Mahogany furniture, two queen size beds or one king size bed, flat screen satellite TV, CD and DVD players, marble floors, in room liqueur selection re-stocked daily, coffee maker, air conditioning, living area with sofa bed, terrace or private balcony, iron and ironing board, In- room laptop size safe, alarm clock with Ipod adapter, in-room Internet access, purified bottled water, vanity mirror with light, robes and slippers, pillows menu, cotton linen, 3 layers of deluxe 300 threads Egyptian cotton sheets, hair dryer. 645 ft2. Capacity: 3 adults & 2 children or 2 adults & 3 children

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hacienda Tres Rios offers extraordinary indoor and outdoor functions space for meetings and incentives able to accommodate up to 500 people. Featuring one divisible ball room of 5.979 ft2 along three breakouts rooms from 915 ft2 to 1265 ft2 (Not currently available)

Dining

Casa Las Islas
International buffet, various foods; serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner The inviting flavors and aromas of the Riviera Maya region beckon at Casa Las Islas, an international buffet-style restaurant. Casual but elegant, Casa Las Islas provides a family friendly atmosphere with fine cuisine from around the world. Schedule: 7:00-11:00 a.m.; 12:30-4:00 p.m.; 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Closed on Wednesdays. Dress code: Casual; shorts and T-shirts permitted.
Kotori
Serving Asian fusion and mixed Asian cuisine for dinner Imagine a blend of Chinese, Japanese, and Thai foods, and the result is a savory variety of Asian fusion cuisine. Kotori offers some of the freshest sushi, Thai and teppanyaki dishes. Whether it's a spicy spinach salad, fresh sushi and sashimi, teriyaki or spicy Thai entrees, tempura vegetables and shrimp, noodle dishes, or chicken wraps, you will find it all at Kotori. Save room for a delicious dessert, such as banana stew, chocolate fondant on ice cream, or passion fruit cheesecake. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Only Tuesdays, Fridays, and Sundays. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes.
Victory Sports Bar
Bar, featuring tequila tasting, and serving appetizers & snacks Watch the game, enjoy a cocktail with your family, or sip the finest spirits with your friends at this sports bar. Discover tantalizing mixed drinks like a Mojito (rum), Iceberg Tropical (vodka), Gin Cobbler, Chocolate Martini (vodka), and Peach Fizz (brandy). They also offer a delightful selection of non-alcoholic mixed drinks. Known for its variety of distinctive tequilas, Victory Sports Bar offers tequila tasting on select nights, so you can sample many different tequila flavors. Schedule: 3:00 p.m.-1:00 a.m. No Dress Code Required.
Martini and Tea time Terrace
Bar Serving Cocktails and Appetizers Bar, appetizers Relax in the cozy atmosphere of this beachside terrace by the pool. This terrace bar features traditional afternoon tea and early evening cocktails. It's the perfect place to try a variety of unique martinis, such as a Blue Canary Martini (gin), a Sun Martini (vodka), or a Tequini (a tequila martini). Martini Bar Schedule: 8:00 p.m.-10:00 p.m. Tea Services Schedule: 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. No Dress Code Required.
Lobby Bar
Delicious drinks and cocktails in a smooth and tranquil environment.
Patisserie Cafe de Paris
French bakery and caf. Enjoy the enticing scent and heavenly flavor of fresh baked breads, Parisian pastries, and specialty desserts, with a cup of full-bodied espresso, latte, coffee, or tea. Indulge in a light, creamy pastry or a slice of rich, flavorful cake, which are sure to please the palate. Schedule: 10:00 a.m.-10:00 p.m. No Dress Code required.
Alebrije
A la carte restaurant serving Mexican cuisine for dinner El Alebrije, Hacienda Tres Ros' flagship restaurant, celebrates its Mexican heritage by blending the exotic flavors of true Mexican cuisine with the traditional decor of Jalisco, Puebla, and Michoacn.Regional specialties are featured daily and include sea bass, fresh tuna, grilled chicken, lobster, duck, and lamb, as well as delicious desserts such as chipotle crme brle, rose petal ice cream, and sweet potato cake. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Closed Sundays. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes. Music: Mexican Quartet
Porto Bello
A la carte restaurant serving Italian cuisine for dinner Italian dining at its finest is right in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Dishes are prepared with a real flair and use some of the tastiest combinations of Italian seasonings and sauces. Entrees feature special mixed salads, fresh tuna, grouper, broiled chicken, almond cream soup, pasta dishes using risotto, angel hair, or fettuccini, veal, beef, and eggplant parmesan, to name just a few. After dinner, indulge in a choice of delectable desserts, for example, almond truffles, mascarpone with vanilla sauce, or caramelized pistachio cannolis, among others. Schedule: 6:30-10:00 p.m. *Only Saturday, Monday, and Thursday. Dress Code: Formal; dress shirts, long pants, and dress shoes.
Hacienda Grill
Bar & grill serving lunch buffets, snacks, and dinner a la carte Located in a private enclave, the Hacienda Grill sits poolside and features beautiful views of the river as it flows to the Caribbean Sea. It offers a full bar and food menu, which includes salads, burgers, chicken wings, cheese sticks, sea bass, shrimp, chicken, rib eye steak, and tasty desserts such as dark chocolate or pumpkin/white-chocolate tarts. Schedule: Lunch 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. *Cocktails 11:00-6:00 p.m. Dinner 6:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. *Closed Wednesdays and Sundays. Dress Code: Pool casual; shorts and T-shirts permitted.
Il Forno
Serving Italian style foods for lunch and snacks Savor some of the most delicious comfort food at this pizzeria which offers specialty pizzas and calzones baked in a wood-fired ceramic oven. This casual, outdoor restaurant by the pool has a wholesome, fun feel and beautiful views. The menu features international style pizzas from Mexican and Italian to European and Lebanese, and scrumptious calzones, such as vegetarian and Caribbean style. Schedule: 12:00 p.m-7:00pm No Dress Code Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horsejocey
Alberta
Feb 19, 2013

Great family get away

Staff very friendly, always able to get a beach or pool chair without any problems. Great food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa del Carmen has fantastic boutique shopping

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIGHT&MOON
Mexico City
Mar 22, 2011

NICE HOTEL NEEDS WORK IN THE KITCHEN

IT WAS GOOD NOT WONDERFUL... THE HOTEL IS NICE, CLEAN, VERY ECO FRIENDLY. BUT THE BAR SERVICE IS JUST .. BAD!! FROM A SIMPLE LEMONADE TO A MARGARITA OR COCKTAIL THE TASTE AND SERVICE WAS SAD TO SAY.. AWFUL..... FOODWISE IT´S OK... THE SPECIALTY RESTAURANTS AND OUTDOOR PIZZARIA ARE OKAY BUT THE BUFFET AND POOLSIDE GRILL IS BLAND IN TASTE TO SAY THE LEAST.THE NIGHT TIME ACTIVITY PLAN CALLED FOR A MEXICAN FIESTA WICH WAS A BIG SHAM.. I´VE BEEN TO BETTER ONES THAT LASTED MORE THAN THE FULL 2 HOURS THE ONE AT THE HOTEL DID.... STILL IF YOU AREN´T GOING THERE FOR THE NIGHTTIME SO CALLED PARTIES OR THE FOOD AND DRINKS THE PLACE IS KIND OF COOL AND RELAXING. THE RIVERS/CENOTE TOURS ARE GORGEOUS AND FUN. THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE SPA IS OVERPRICED BUT IF YOU GO FOR YOUR FREE 30 MIN MASSAGE IT WILL DO THE TRICK JUST FINE. oH!! AND THE BEACH IS NOTHING LIKE YOU SEE IN CANCUN OR OGHER RIVIERA MAYA RESORTS.. THEY SAY IT BECAUSE OF THE MANGLARS ... BUT YOU DO WISH YOU HAD THE PRETTY CORAL BLUES OUTSIDE YOUR WINDOW INSTEAD OF A BLACKISH BEACH... OH! AND CHECK OUT IS AT 11:00 AM with an optional LATE check out at noon.... witch sucks in my humble opinion....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

CENOTE SNORKLE TOURS

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
New York, New York
Mar 14, 2011

Great Resort Away from Cancun

Located close enough to Playa del Carmen and far enough from Cancun this resort really is top notch for the money. I spent 2 more days in GR Solaris in Cancun and that was an absolute dump in comparison- couldn't believe the white trash there. Hacienda Tres Rios has the atmosphere, the top shelf drinks (they really do make a difference!), great food (with several quality restaurants, serious buffet and snack bar options), and awesomely friendly and fast service! The pools are great and the beach beds are really comfy. Playa del Carmen is a short drive away for the authentic restaurants and souvineir shops. But really HTR is an awesome place to just relax and sun worship, and enjoy the eco theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, New York
Mar 14, 2011

Great Resort Away from Cancun

Located close enough to Playa del Carmen and far enough from Cancun this resort really is top notch for the money. I spent 2 more days in GR Solaris in Cancun and that was an absolute dump in comparison- couldn't believe the white trash there. Hacienda Tres Rios has the atmosphere, the top shelf drinks (they really do make a difference!), great food (with several quality restaurants, serious buffet and snack bar options), and awesomely friendly and fast service! The pools are great and the beach beds are really comfy. Playa del Carmen is a short drive away for the authentic restaurants and souvineir shops. But really HTR is an awesome place to just relax and sun worship, and enjoy the eco theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnsond52
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2011

Great Family Vacation

All of the staff at Hacienda Tres Rios should be commended - they did everything they could to make our stay an outstanding one. We cannot imagine not having a great time. The food is excellent (even in the buffet) and the activities at the resort are enough to stay busy without leaving the property for a few days. Make sure to visit the cenotes, even if you don't have the time to take the official tours, just go walk to them. They are really amazing. Swim where the river meets the ocean. If you pay attention you will see all types and sizes of fish, crabs, and other wildlife in the blue water. Bring a snorkeling mask. If you prefer plain food, stick to the pizza oven or room service type stuff. The food everywhere is excellent, though, but if you do not enjoy eating non-americanized Mexican food your choices will be limited. If you do, however, like flavorful, spicy food you can't find in the USA then you are in luck. I did not have anything that I didn't think was excellent, or at least of excellent quality. The Mexican restaurant and the Hacienda Grill (outdoor dining) have the best food in my opinion. If you tip the pool service guys 10-20 pesos every once in a while, they will make sure you have everything you need without having to leave your pool chair. Seriously, they were amazing. We travel very frequently (family of 4, 2-3 big trips every year) and have never been to a cleaner, more well maintained resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to plan an excursion, go see the travel agency guy just off the main lobby. He was able to set up a private excursion for the four of us, with a private driver/van and tour guide way cheaper than we could find anywhere else. We went to Tulum which is pretty close, and doesn't take all day to see.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blizzard in Chicago!
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 4, 2011

Eco-friendly, quiet, clean, great food!

Tres Rios was indeed eco-friendly, clean, quiet compared to other resorts, great food, excellent service, very nice beach front with an additional lagoon and mangroves with inland rivers. Northern part of Riviera Maya, so not too far in the van. Staff was fun and friendly. Spas services were wonderful. Less children and less 'partiers' than at most resorts in the area, but yet had accomodations for both if needed. Thrilled to have found this place and look forward to going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Enough restaurants and cafes on site that you don't feel the need to leave. Wide variety of food (Asian fusion, Mexican, Italian, French Patisserie...). All-inclusive included 24 hour room service with a great menu selection and excellent alcohol choices.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Griswold, CT
Jan 30, 2011

Nice place to stay

The hotel service was very good and the place was spotless. Our rooms were large and nicely situated. The beds were very uncomfortable however. Upon arrival the staff had us sit in the front lobby for a half hour prior to the sales pitch. We and our travel companions were very unhappy about that waste of our time and very much resented the sales pitch after we had paid a steep price to stay there. We were finally shown to our rooms which we had booked in May for this Jan.vacation and had also emailed to confirm that our rooms be situated close together if not adjoining. Our confirmation stated that the Hotel would honor our request but instead , we were in separate buildings with alternate room offers that were not the Ocean View suites which we had paid for in May.We thought that the room scheduling could have been done much better then it was done. The food was good but the restaurant schedules were less then convenient. The beach and surroundings were beautiful and the naturalness of the rivers,mango groves and jungle were worth the trip alone. Pricey but worth seeing at least once. Would we go again? The hotel was only 30% full yet our rooms closeness was not handled well and the hotel could not handle any more guests ,food wise , service wise or toilet facilities wise. So our stay was very good at a 30% occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not sit in the lobby upon arrival but instead ask to be shown to your room immediately. They don't have any site maps so it is a learn as you go anyway.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Superior, CO
Dec 29, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel is very different than other resorts in the area. Service is individualized. We were under the impression that there was one waiter/family the whole time. It is not crowded at all and we never had problems finding cabanas on the beach. The nature park is incredible and the canoe tour to the ocean was great. They also have a sensory tour that was an amazing experience. There is an optional 7 course chef dinner that is to die for. Minor issues: lack of hot tub in the adult's pool. The ones in the kid's pool is full of kids. The restaurant food is much better than the buffet and there is no wait for the restaurants, but men need pants and closed toe shoes. This information is not on their website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Men need pants and cloed toe shoes for the restaurants and this information is not on the website.

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sylvelinc
delaware
Dec 28, 2010

a very merry christmas

The tours they offer are well worth the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel:loves beach vacations
Casper, WY
Dec 10, 2010

Nice Place...

The hotel was nice and very pretty. The concierge desk was not very nice and it didnt seem like they had very many activities to offer outside the hotel in the area.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

[...]

Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Nov 30, 2010

Not Impressed At All

My husband and I just returned from Hacienda Tres Rios after attending a wedding. We did not choose your hotel but the Wedding was taking place at your resort and the entire group was staying there and it was convenient to be in the same location as everyone. The positive about Hacienda Tres Rios is the beauty and cleanliness of the outdoor locations available to the guests. The pool area and the lounging beds on the beach were wonderful and the beachfront was kept clean and debris free. The bed in our hotel room, even though we did not receive a king bed was comfortable and provided a nice place to lay our head at night. The steps the management is taking to keep the hotel green and environmentally friendly are commendable and the staff was always quick with a "hola" wherever you went. Unfortunately, that's where my positive comments end and my challenges begin. The remainder of our stay was very disappointing. I must first preface my comments with the fact that my husband and I returned from a trip to The Dreams Resort in Puerto Vallarta in February. The two hotels are on opposite ends of the spectrum which is certainly not what we expected, given the price we paid was comparable. That was the only thing Hacienda Tres Rios had in common with Dreams Puerto Vallarta. It all began at check-in when there was only one person at the front desk checking in guests when they should have been aware of the arrivals for the day and been staffed appropriately. We were expecting a welcome drink upon our arrival when exiting the vehicle, like we did at Dreams, but instead had to chase down a waiter that was walking aimlessly around the lobby with the signature drink. There were fresh moist towels behind the front desk that once again we were expecting to be handed upon check in (like Dreams) but they just sat there and never got offered to any guests. They must be for the Front Desk staff and Bellmen to use throughout their long exhausting day. All over the resort the service was non-existent unless you tipped heavily. We booked the Endless Luxury All-Inclusive plan for the value and convenience it offered and it clearly states on your website that service tips and taxes are included. We definitely are not against tipping when the service warrants it and in fact tipped heavily on our Dreams vacation, but at Hacienda Tres Rios we consistently got our own drinks and food no matter if we were at the pool or on the beach. In our book tips are earned, not expected! Service was consistently slow or non-existent in the outlets as well. One incident I remember vividly was during breakfast at the Casa Las Islas buffet at 8am when the restaurant was not even half full we were seated and waited 10 minutes without any servers approaching us. After getting frustrated, I proceeded to get up and pour my husband and me our own coffee and my own mimosa. When the server did arrive he didn't look surprised at all and didn't even apologize for the wait or lack of service. We had another disappointing encounter in the Mexican restaurant, El Alebrije on our last evening. We arrived at 6:30pm when the restaurant opened and there were only 4 other tables occupied by resort guests. We were seated and waited 15 minutes to even be approached by any servers to give us water and take our drink order. We finally ordered our three course dinner at 7pm, an appetizer, Soup and Main Entrée. Our first course arrived 45 minutes later and was to be a hot appetizer and it was ice cold. Our second course was skipped completely (not at our request) perhaps it was just too much for them to handle. When the main course finally arrived the veal was overcooked, crispy and cold as well. At this point we left the restaurant and told the hostess of our disappointment. An hour later, we received a call from the Restaurant Manager apologizing and offering us a free dinner! Did you get that, A FREE DINNER . . . remember we booked an Endless Luxury All-I...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search