$364 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 3, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captonv
Business
PA
Jun 18, 2011

Summer Vacation

Well overall not too bad, but luxury hotel it is not. I would say the food was average, rooms slightly above average, grounds average, service and employees average. We had a nice time overall but the worst part was there was zero entertainment, I mean nothing. One person said it was because of low numbers of people other said because of noise issues with an eco park hotel. Very boring to say the least. If your 85 yrs old and looking for a nice vacation give it a try, if not its probably best to stay somewhere else. Oh forgot about the beach, the worst, black water not great sand, not swimable! Best part was the cenotes and rivers were very nice and cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 2, 2011

Incredible Food

Our favorite part of our trip was the incredible food offered at this all-inclusive hotel. I can say that everything I ate was fabulous. The beds are extremely comfortable. I often saw the friendly staff running to make sure that the guests' needs were met in a quick fashion. The beach beds were wonderful. The water is not as blue as other areas of Playa del Carmen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you ask the waiter for the best dishes, not all items appear on the menus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LIGHT&MOON
Business
Mexico City
Mar 22, 2011

NICE HOTEL NEEDS WORK IN THE KITCHEN

IT WAS GOOD NOT WONDERFUL... THE HOTEL IS NICE, CLEAN, VERY ECO FRIENDLY. BUT THE BAR SERVICE IS JUST .. BAD!! FROM A SIMPLE LEMONADE TO A MARGARITA OR COCKTAIL THE TASTE AND SERVICE WAS SAD TO SAY.. AWFUL..... FOODWISE IT´S OK... THE SPECIALTY RESTAURANTS AND OUTDOOR PIZZARIA ARE OKAY BUT THE BUFFET AND POOLSIDE GRILL IS BLAND IN TASTE TO SAY THE LEAST.THE NIGHT TIME ACTIVITY PLAN CALLED FOR A MEXICAN FIESTA WICH WAS A BIG SHAM.. I´VE BEEN TO BETTER ONES THAT LASTED MORE THAN THE FULL 2 HOURS THE ONE AT THE HOTEL DID.... STILL IF YOU AREN´T GOING THERE FOR THE NIGHTTIME SO CALLED PARTIES OR THE FOOD AND DRINKS THE PLACE IS KIND OF COOL AND RELAXING. THE RIVERS/CENOTE TOURS ARE GORGEOUS AND FUN. THE STAFF IS FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE SPA IS OVERPRICED BUT IF YOU GO FOR YOUR FREE 30 MIN MASSAGE IT WILL DO THE TRICK JUST FINE. oH!! AND THE BEACH IS NOTHING LIKE YOU SEE IN CANCUN OR OGHER RIVIERA MAYA RESORTS.. THEY SAY IT BECAUSE OF THE MANGLARS ... BUT YOU DO WISH YOU HAD THE PRETTY CORAL BLUES OUTSIDE YOUR WINDOW INSTEAD OF A BLACKISH BEACH... OH! AND CHECK OUT IS AT 11:00 AM with an optional LATE check out at noon.... witch sucks in my humble opinion....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

CENOTE SNORKLE TOURS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York, New York
Mar 14, 2011

Great Resort Away from Cancun

Located close enough to Playa del Carmen and far enough from Cancun this resort really is top notch for the money. I spent 2 more days in GR Solaris in Cancun and that was an absolute dump in comparison- couldn't believe the white trash there. Hacienda Tres Rios has the atmosphere, the top shelf drinks (they really do make a difference!), great food (with several quality restaurants, serious buffet and snack bar options), and awesomely friendly and fast service! The pools are great and the beach beds are really comfy. Playa del Carmen is a short drive away for the authentic restaurants and souvineir shops. But really HTR is an awesome place to just relax and sun worship, and enjoy the eco theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 14, 2011

Great Resort Away from Cancun

Located close enough to Playa del Carmen and far enough from Cancun this resort really is top notch for the money. I spent 2 more days in GR Solaris in Cancun and that was an absolute dump in comparison- couldn't believe the white trash there. Hacienda Tres Rios has the atmosphere, the top shelf drinks (they really do make a difference!), great food (with several quality restaurants, serious buffet and snack bar options), and awesomely friendly and fast service! The pools are great and the beach beds are really comfy. Playa del Carmen is a short drive away for the authentic restaurants and souvineir shops. But really HTR is an awesome place to just relax and sun worship, and enjoy the eco theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnsond52
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 27, 2011

Great Family Vacation

All of the staff at Hacienda Tres Rios should be commended - they did everything they could to make our stay an outstanding one. We cannot imagine not having a great time. The food is excellent (even in the buffet) and the activities at the resort are enough to stay busy without leaving the property for a few days. Make sure to visit the cenotes, even if you don't have the time to take the official tours, just go walk to them. They are really amazing. Swim where the river meets the ocean. If you pay attention you will see all types and sizes of fish, crabs, and other wildlife in the blue water. Bring a snorkeling mask. If you prefer plain food, stick to the pizza oven or room service type stuff. The food everywhere is excellent, though, but if you do not enjoy eating non-americanized Mexican food your choices will be limited. If you do, however, like flavorful, spicy food you can't find in the USA then you are in luck. I did not have anything that I didn't think was excellent, or at least of excellent quality. The Mexican restaurant and the Hacienda Grill (outdoor dining) have the best food in my opinion. If you tip the pool service guys 10-20 pesos every once in a while, they will make sure you have everything you need without having to leave your pool chair. Seriously, they were amazing. We travel very frequently (family of 4, 2-3 big trips every year) and have never been to a cleaner, more well maintained resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want to plan an excursion, go see the travel agency guy just off the main lobby. He was able to set up a private excursion for the four of us, with a private driver/van and tour guide way cheaper than we could find anywhere else. We went to Tulum which is pretty close, and doesn't take all day to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blizzard in Chicago!
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 4, 2011

Eco-friendly, quiet, clean, great food!

Tres Rios was indeed eco-friendly, clean, quiet compared to other resorts, great food, excellent service, very nice beach front with an additional lagoon and mangroves with inland rivers. Northern part of Riviera Maya, so not too far in the van. Staff was fun and friendly. Spas services were wonderful. Less children and less 'partiers' than at most resorts in the area, but yet had accomodations for both if needed. Thrilled to have found this place and look forward to going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enough restaurants and cafes on site that you don't feel the need to leave. Wide variety of food (Asian fusion, Mexican, Italian, French Patisserie...). All-inclusive included 24 hour room service with a great menu selection and excellent alcohol choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Griswold, CT
Jan 30, 2011

Nice place to stay

The hotel service was very good and the place was spotless. Our rooms were large and nicely situated. The beds were very uncomfortable however. Upon arrival the staff had us sit in the front lobby for a half hour prior to the sales pitch. We and our travel companions were very unhappy about that waste of our time and very much resented the sales pitch after we had paid a steep price to stay there. We were finally shown to our rooms which we had booked in May for this Jan.vacation and had also emailed to confirm that our rooms be situated close together if not adjoining. Our confirmation stated that the Hotel would honor our request but instead , we were in separate buildings with alternate room offers that were not the Ocean View suites which we had paid for in May.We thought that the room scheduling could have been done much better then it was done. The food was good but the restaurant schedules were less then convenient. The beach and surroundings were beautiful and the naturalness of the rivers,mango groves and jungle were worth the trip alone. Pricey but worth seeing at least once. Would we go again? The hotel was only 30% full yet our rooms closeness was not handled well and the hotel could not handle any more guests ,food wise , service wise or toilet facilities wise. So our stay was very good at a 30% occupancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not sit in the lobby upon arrival but instead ask to be shown to your room immediately. They don't have any site maps so it is a learn as you go anyway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Superior, CO
Dec 29, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel is very different than other resorts in the area. Service is individualized. We were under the impression that there was one waiter/family the whole time. It is not crowded at all and we never had problems finding cabanas on the beach. The nature park is incredible and the canoe tour to the ocean was great. They also have a sensory tour that was an amazing experience. There is an optional 7 course chef dinner that is to die for. Minor issues: lack of hot tub in the adult's pool. The ones in the kid's pool is full of kids. The restaurant food is much better than the buffet and there is no wait for the restaurants, but men need pants and closed toe shoes. This information is not on their website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Men need pants and cloed toe shoes for the restaurants and this information is not on the website.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sylvelinc
Business
delaware
Dec 28, 2010

a very merry christmas

The tours they offer are well worth the time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top