$560 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun Tulum KM 54, Playa del Carmen, 77760

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess Dy
Chicago
Sep 5, 2012

We just got back from this resort

We had a good time but there are definitely something's the resort can do to improve. First my family was Dissapointed with the beach if you're looking to spend time on the beach. There really isn't much entertainment and the little entertainment that they do have is over by 10 pm. After that there's absolutely nothing to do. We were forced to our room by 10 pm. The staff was great other than the person they assign you to speak to immediately after check in. I was so irritated with how aggressive they were for us to attend their presentation even after I said no we were not interested. On his second attempt to convince us he had a really bad attitude with us. We went to ask if we could go kayaking that day he told us they were booked we later found out that we didn't need an appointment. I don't think we would ever consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
srey29
Business
Bel Air, MD
May 23, 2012

TimeShare Nightmare!!!!!

First off, the resort itself is very nice and the food was very respectable! In regards to the Time Share, you will be cornered multiple times and they say it will last 90 minutes....it lasts 3-4 hours. We caved and purchased the timeshare/ travel club membership and were promised that we could cancel within 5 days. On day 3, I sent in my written request to cancel to the sales rep (Jay) and the Legal Officer (Carmen). They ignored the first two requests and then on the third request stated that they would assist in cancelling the membership and refunding my money. That has yet to happen and it is 22 days later! I feel like I have been scammed! This is nothing but a nightmare and a rip off!!!! Go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mogc
Business
Indy
May 4, 2012

restaurants

Not enough variety for sit down restaurants! Buffet meals were not up to snuff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mogc
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Lap of luxury

Service from all staff was excellent. Most meal options were outstanding. Beach area a little disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are looking for night life, go someplace else!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Des Moines
Business
Des Moines Iowa
Mar 25, 2012

Reservations were not honored

We were disappointed to arrive and discover the Hacienda Tres Rios had overbooked the resort and they displaced us to another location 20 miles away. We were traveling with family who also booked and they were also displaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booper2
Business
Alberta, Canada
Feb 22, 2012

Absolutely Amazing Family Vacation

Best all-inclusive we have experienced! Beds are incredibly comfortable. Rooms are large with very little noise from hallways or sourounding rooms. Food and service are great. We felt very safe and our children loved the resort. People from other resorts kept asking what we thought of Hacienda. Main beach is not great but cenotes and side beach are fabulous. A couple of morning shift servers and a concierge were grumpy but other than that the staff was terrific. Highly recommend for nice getaway... Not a party place... if you are looking for that go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
looking for family fun
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Nov 18, 2011

just ok family vacation

the hotel staff was great! the location was not the best....the beach was awful!!!! I would recommend this resort for a family but not a couple looking for fun and night life. Although I would not go back to this resort it was a good family experience. Overall is was just ok and not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zeek999
Business
chicago
Nov 14, 2011

horrible hacienda

Where can I start with how bad this hotel was. We were supposed to stay there for 5 nights but packed our bags and got the heck out of there after 2 nights. Here is a list of complaints we have. 1- From the beginning the reception staff was not very friendly nor did they smile at their guests. 2- Rooms were given late to us. We arrived tired from our flight around 1pm at the hotel and they said the rooms would be available by 3pm. We did not get our room until 3:45 after we yelling at the reception staff to give us a room 3- We were promised an ocean view but this hotel is not on the ocean. The ocean is a five minute walk away from the hotel itself. We enjoy looking at the ocean from our rooms but all we could see was a bunch of trees. 4- We were told that there would be snorkeling provided for at this hotel but they have not finished that section of the hotel grounds and even told us that they have quit make a snorkeling section because of the expenses. 5- The food was below par. We have stayed at other all-inclusive hotels in cancun and the buffets at these other hotels were amazing. When we got to this hotel we were shocked to see the limited variety of food at this buffet even though they claim that it is a five star hotel. 6- The raccoons and coatimundi were everywhere. The most shocking thing we witnessed at this hotel was at night while we walked around the empty hotel grounds, we witnessed around 10 of these animals eating leftover bits on the countertops where chefs and bartendars prepare food and drinks. These animals may have diseases like rabies and this is a great health violation. When we asked the receptionist about this, she said 'What do you expect? We are in the middle of a jungle'. I did not know that I can stay at a five star hotel in the middle of the jungle. 7- We decided to take part in the bicycle tour around the hotel grounds. The 'mountain' bikes that they provided us with were in the worst condition possible. The bikes looked like they were from the year 1900. They were dirty, rusty, not taken care of, very uncomfortable to sit on, and extremely unsafe to ride. One of our friends fell off the bike twice because of how horrible the bikes were. She got a huge bruise on her thigh which pained her for the rest of our vacation. 8- The hairdryers are worst hairdryers I have ever seen in my life. They are very weird shaped, turn on in a very weird fashion, and do not dry hair properly. 9- This hotel felt like a prison. The security guards at the entrance make you feel like you are entering a jail when they inspect the vehicle and none of them speak English. 10- This hotel is for really old people. The hotel does not feel alive. There is no one to be seen at many times in the day and was not a fun atmosphere for kids. 11- The hotel is far from the city where all the shops are located. Each way to and from the hotel costs $20. 12- When checking out, they made a big deal because my bracelet got ripped off while canoeing. Apparently we have to return the bracelet to them at check out and were going to charge us $20 since I didn't have it but I got into an argument with the receptionist and they waived the bogus fee. We really could not take it at this hotel more than two nights. We called the booking company, complained about the hotel and they switched us to an amazing hotel in Cancun named Riu Palace. With the money you pay at this hotel, you can have a much better stay at a different hotel. The manager really seems like he has no idea what's going on in the hotel and it is a very badly managed hotel. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lalaleo
Business
Murrieta, CA, USA
Oct 1, 2011

great location, great food, front desk/concierge needs work

great location, great food, front desk/concierge needs work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

do not miss the circus, skip michael jackson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 12, 2011

Great Family Vacation

The property was beautiful, well maintained, the rooms were very spacious, and the service and staff were amazing. The beach beds were a favorite spot to hang out, read, enjoy the beach views, and also enjoyed excellent wait service. The kayaking and snorkeling were easily accessible and also the planned tours were easy and well coordinated. We loved the "SenseAdventure" tour. There was so much to see and do on the property we saved money by staying on sight the whole time. The food was un-believable! Our stay was great, we would recommend HTR highly to anyone, young, old, couples, singles, families alike. The only negative, which has nothing to do with the HTR lodging, was the flight which was delayed for 8 hours!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the SenseAdventure Tour, very relaxing. The spa was also top notch. And don't forget to pack long pants for the wonderful dinning rooms, dress code is enforced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hacienda Tres Rios Riviera Maya Resort, Spa and Nature Park - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArtimusO
Business
Baytown, Texas
Jul 1, 2011

Nice, but not 5 star

Hotel was presented as a 5 star property but, this being my 14th year to travel to Playa this hotel is far from being a 5 star property. 1. Hotel had way to many kids to make it enjoyable for couples. 2. Hotel pool for adults only, was never avaible for adults to enjoy without having large groups of kids around. 3.This is not the hotel to go to if you want the beautiful beach of Playa Del Carmen. ( a lot of sea weed) 4. Hotel service was a little disorganized. I would have three waiters one minute and none the next. 5. Too many sales people walking aroung selling Tres Rios time share. ( takes away from the vacation experience) However, on the up side, the food was truly exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top