$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Hacienda Real

3 stars
View map of Av. 10 con calle 10 colonia centro cp, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
28 reviews
awesome trip

Hotel was clean and close to everything. We will be back soon See full review

  • Marcos M.
  • Apr 27, 2015
Great family time

The Hotel is very clean, quite and family friendly. My kid loved the pool. Great value. Staff and... See full review

  • Bersain R.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Hacienda Real is a hotel in downtown Playa del Carmen, just a block away from the Quinta Avenida (Fifth Avenue.
This property's design was inspired by old colonial haciendas still found in the Yucatan Peninsula, combining soft tones in the decor, rustic wooden furniture, paintings and adornments.
To provide a maximum level of comfort, modern facilities and amenities have been added to this hotel, such as a swimming pool, air conditioned rooms with queen size beds, a restaurant-bar and a function room.

  • Additional amenities: Ballroom, Lobby and Reception.

    Top hotels

    Hotel Hacienda Real Rooms

    Deluxe Standard Room
    Deluxe Standard Room offers:

  • 1 or 2 queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Balcony/ Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Radio
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone and Voicemail
  • Blackout drapes/curtains.

  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Standard Room - Full American Breakfast
    Deluxe Standard Room - Full American Breakfast offers:

  • 1 or 2 queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Balcony / Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Radio
  • Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone and Voicemail
  • Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary)
  • Blackout drapes/curtains

  • Non-smoking only.

    Amenities

    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Wheel chair access
    Wheelchair accessible elevators
    Ramp access to buildings

    Dining

    Restaurant
    Try delicious Mexican, regional or international specialties at the restaurant at Hacienda Real. This family-oriented locale is open from breakfast time until 11:00 p.m., perfect for those who feel like having a late night snack.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Hacienda Real

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    9 out of 28
    Amenities:
    3.4
    Cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    3.7
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    4.1

    89% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    AJ the tired traveler
    Business
    PRESTON
    Jan 14, 2015

    Noise and Security Issues

    The room had a terrible smell. We did not feel secure or safe in the room the lock on the French doors was very poor and the bathroom window did not lock at all. The first night the air conditioning did not work. We had them come and fix it but even then it only worked half the time. The fridge was also very poor and was a potential fire hazard because the plug had been changed and had electrical tape bundled up on it. One of the nights we were there someone was slamming their door very loudly VERY early in the morning. Nothing was done for a long time until we finally called the front desk. The attendant did not seem to be aware of the situation and sent a security officer to OUR room. The officer wouldn't tell us what he wanted other than for us to open the door (All of this was in Spanish, so if you don't speak Spanish then this hotel is a definite no). It was VERY unsettling. When we complained the next morning the person at the front desk didn't even apologize, they just asked if we would like to be moved to the room next door (as if that would solve anything!). We would have left early but we had paid in advance and there was no refund for leaving early. We were so disappointed with this hotel that we were counting down the days for our vacation to end! We will definitely not return to this hotel or recommend it to others.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Dunamis
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Mar 1, 2012

    Room was Good Service was Bad

    The hotel room was clean and well air-conditioned. It was located just one block off of 5th about (90 seconds). We were located in a room facing 10th Ave. It could get loud in the evening time with Coco Bongo just 1 block away. My wife and I both slept with ear plugs most of the night so that was not a big deal for us. The AC kept the room very cold which was perfect for getting a good night sleep. The pool was small but nice. My only real complaint I had was in the service. It was definitely subpar. I made several attempts prior to our trip to get a hold of them both by phone and email with no response. The person at the front desk was not very helpful. We requested a wakeup call one morning but never got it. As a whole the only service that I thought was good was the house keeper. She always did a good job. All and all the hotel room is nice and well-priced. It is in a good location. The AC was the best I have ever had in a room...anywhere. The draw backs were subpar service and the noise level.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    If you have never been to Playa del Carmen before than be aware that the hotels and resorts have deals set up with many vendors on the streets. They will try to get you to visit their particular hotel/resort in exchange for discounts on most of the major activities. What they don't tell you is that it will more than likely take up at least 2 hours of your day plus travel time and they will pressure you to buy into a time share of sorts. If you are going to be there a week or more then this may be something you want to do in order to get the discounts as they can be a really good deal or even free. Just go into to knowing that it will take a minimum of 2 hours and will end in a strong sales pitch.

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    FrugalTraveler
    Business
    Silicon Valley, California, USA
    May 8, 2012

    Subpar stay

    I stayed at this hotel on two different days of the same week. The first night, I had a room that was nicely, but simply appointed: two queen-sized beds, tv, refrigerator, ceiling fan. It was clean and comfortable. The lighting was confusing because the lights don't work until you put one of your room cards into a slot on a wall-mounted power-activation unit, which is hard to do when the room is dark to begin with and you don't know you are supposed to do this. The remote control unit battery died, and I had to go the front desk to get another remote control unit because the first unit had to be charged (it did not have replaceable batteries). The front desk asked me what tv I had in my room so as to program the remote. I had no idea, so they had to return to my room to program the remote. The second stay was for two nights, and it was pretty disappointing, even though the room was next to the room I had earlier in the week. The door jammed about half-way open (scraping on the floor). The A/C didn't work. The bath tub plug had no nob to grab in order to unstop the drain, so I showered in a tub full of water. The shower head and hose unit holder was broken, so I had to hold the shower head and hose with one hand while showering. The safe had no instructions, so it took two visits from the front desk to get the safe working, and the staff could open any safe with a woden dowl--not too safe, it seems. Despite the problems, the price was so reasonable, that the hotel is good value, given the hotel's proximity to the happening part of Playa del Carmen, and to its on-premises parking at no extra charge. The hotel is connected to a restaurant, so eating is convenient, if not very fancy.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    The hotel has parking on the premises. This is very good since there is no parking anywhere nearby.

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Medicine
    Business
    jersey city, NJ
    Dec 4, 2014

    Right next to the playa del carmen 5th avenue and beach

    Hacienda Real Hotel is located in a perfect location for easy access to playa del carmen 5th avenue awesomeness and the beaches. They give a voucher that gets you 10% off and free welcome drinks at 6 nearby good restaurants. It can get a bit noisy sometimes as its right next to 5th avenue on the 10th avenue with lot of bars and tourists. But it was not so bad, I personally didn't find it as a big issue as the noise was sporadic. Beds are a bit hard, I think thats how it is in all the mexico budget hotels or may be in all mexico hotels, I am not sure. I stayed a day at ramada cancun and the beds were a bit hard there too. I personally didn't find it as a problem as they were okay. The staff were friendly and easily accessible, however only the front desk guy knows english well and other staff mostly may not know english. Collectivo and ADO/Mayab bus stops are also nearby. Taxis and ferry to cozumel are easy to get from there as well. I found it a good value for money as I literally spent the whole day out each day I was there going to near by places like Akumal, Xcaret, Tulum, Cozumel, Cenotes and Chichen Itza.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Collectivo stops are at Calle 2 / 20th ave. Dirt cheap compared to taxis and ADO buses.

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    viker123
    Business
    Murphys, CA
    Nov 19, 2014

    An Oasis in the City

    Having spent many years going to Playa, this was the first time we have stayed in the city itself. Location great with a proviso. You must be able to tolerate noise ! .VERY NOISY from people traffic at all hours of the night.. Not traffic, just very loud people up to 5 AM every night except Monday which for whatever reason was totally quiet. Room lacked glasses when we arrived. Staff took care of it. Water tasted like salt and same with shower. Big, sharp screw from shower drain could easily cut foot. Staff was notified. Very nice pool and lobby, incl parking on premesis.Very friendly staff, great Italian restaurant across the street, La Famiglia, HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great Itaian food (dinner) across the street. Great breakfast at 1000% Natural 1 block away on 5th. Terrible TV selections despite over 100 channels listed, but about 20 working !! Great place for short stay

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    kevin h.
    Business
    N/A
    Jan 20, 2015

    vacation

    Hotel is nice, free parking. Free WiFi. Walking distance to both beach, 5th street and Walmart and the mega store. Stayed before would stay again. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    sailboat
    Business
    Wisconsin
    Dec 30, 2011

    Best Vacation Ever

    The Hacienda Real is a beautiful property that delivers exactly what they sell. It is not on the beach but it is an easy walk to 5th Avenue shops and a public beach area. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are just as pictured and the pool area is very nice. The beds are a bit hard but we were so tired at the end of the day they didn't keep us awake. If you want the All Inclusive "resort" do not go here. They are a boutique hotel, located on a street with many small eateries and shops. We will be back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    When you arrive at the airport in Cancun do not be afraid to take the ADO buses. They are coach buses with the amenities, cost less than $10 each way and very very safe. They drop you off at the bus station in PLaya and it is a easy walk to the hotel Hacienda Real. There are great "mom & pop" eateries onthe corners of 4th and 6th and 10th. $2 for an omelet for breakfast and the best ceviche we have ever tasted.

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Kem1
    Business
    Madison, WI
    Jan 14, 2013

    Charming

    We loved every second of it. In our recent trip, we had stayed at an all inclusive "high-end" resort, the only real advantage was the ocean view, other than that, Hacienda Real had an awesome location, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    margarita55555
    Business
    Playa Del Carmen
    Jul 15, 2013

    MORE THAN WORTH IT

    I booked this hotel coming from a resort in Cancun...it was cheap and according to the map close to the beach! When the taxi pulled up I was surprised! it was so nice! I was more than impressed! its more than worth the money! there is a poool AC wifi . we ended up coming back to stay again after leaving for 4 nights to go to Cozumel. Hated Cozumel but loved it here its right around the corner from all the shops, bars, restaurants ( has an awesome restaurant of its own though) and the BEACH!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top