$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel Hacienda Real

3 stars
View map of Av. 10 con calle 10 colonia centro cp, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
32 reviews
awesome trip

Hotel was clean and close to everything. We will be back soon See full review

  • Marcos M.
  • Apr 27, 2015
Great family time

The Hotel is very clean, quite and family friendly. My kid loved the pool. Great value. Staff and... See full review

  • Bersain R.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Hacienda Real is a hotel in downtown Playa del Carmen, just a block away from the Quinta Avenida (Fifth Avenue.
This property's design was inspired by old colonial haciendas still found in the Yucatan Peninsula, combining soft tones in the decor, rustic wooden furniture, paintings and adornments.
To provide a maximum level of comfort, modern facilities and amenities have been added to this hotel, such as a swimming pool, air conditioned rooms with queen size beds, a restaurant-bar and a function room.

  • Additional amenities: Ballroom, Lobby and Reception.

    Top hotels

    Hotel Hacienda Real Rooms

    Deluxe Standard Room
    Deluxe Standard Room offers:

  • 1 or 2 queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Balcony/ Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Radio
  • Safe in room
  • Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone and Voicemail
  • Blackout drapes/curtains.

  • Non-smoking only.
    Deluxe Standard Room - Full American Breakfast
    Deluxe Standard Room - Full American Breakfast offers:

  • 1 or 2 queen beds
  • Air conditioning
  • Alarm clock
  • Balcony / Terrace
  • Bathroom amenities
  • Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Iron / Ironing board
  • Radio
  • Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities
  • Telephone and Voicemail
  • Wireless high-speed Internet access (complimentary)
  • Blackout drapes/curtains

  • Non-smoking only.

    Amenities

    • Free internet
    • Free parking
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    Free internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Wheel chair access
    Wheelchair accessible elevators
    Ramp access to buildings

    Dining

    Restaurant
    Try delicious Mexican, regional or international specialties at the restaurant at Hacienda Real. This family-oriented locale is open from breakfast time until 11:00 p.m., perfect for those who feel like having a late night snack.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Hacienda Real

    Overall score

    4.1 / 5
    5.01.0
    32 out of 32
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4.1
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    4.4

    94% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    sailboat
    Wisconsin
    Dec 30, 2011

    Best Vacation Ever

    The Hacienda Real is a beautiful property that delivers exactly what they sell. It is not on the beach but it is an easy walk to 5th Avenue shops and a public beach area. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are just as pictured and the pool area is very nice. The beds are a bit hard but we were so tired at the end of the day they didn't keep us awake. If you want the All Inclusive "resort" do not go here. They are a boutique hotel, located on a street with many small eateries and shops. We will be back.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    When you arrive at the airport in Cancun do not be afraid to take the ADO buses. They are coach buses with the amenities, cost less than $10 each way and very very safe. They drop you off at the bus station in PLaya and it is a easy walk to the hotel Hacienda Real. There are great "mom & pop" eateries onthe corners of 4th and 6th and 10th. $2 for an omelet for breakfast and the best ceviche we have ever tasted.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Amy J.
    Business
    Oklahoma
    Aug 18, 2013

    BEDDING SMELLED SWEATY & LIKE SOURED MILDEW & the free breakfast was not complementary.

    The best things I can say about this hotel are, It has great potential, the courtyard pool is beautiful, the room was a nice size & the location is good. A little noisy @ night tho. Travel tip for this hotel is, if you have it in writing, bring it! After having our free complementary breakfast as advertised online, the hotel clerk informed us, ours wasn't free because our paperwork didn't stated it. We spent an hour trying to access wifi to prove it was included in our price. After confirming their discrepancy, the hotel clerk gave us a sharp-eyed look and said ok, but it's for adults only & not our 2 children. The next morning, we were told, breakfast would not be free for us adults & that the online info is wrong. Even though our travel info stated it was free, I'm not one to complain to management & I didn't want to argue over a breakfast that wasn't that good anyway. So, I just won't stay here again. I did not like being hassled & made to feel like a liar over something so trivial & is a standard offer @ this hotel & others in this area. My advise, If you are planning a trip to this hotel, spend a little bit more & get a great complementary breakfast without attitude & great smelling, unstained, freshly cleaned bedding & pillows that don't stink & aren't loosing their stuffing. Be Playa, on 26 Calle & 10 Av is an excellent place to stay! Try them instead! As for dinning, the cheapest beer buckets & food were on 6 Calle between 5th &10 Av. All the shops & restaurants not on 5th Av are much cheaper. Our Spanish speaking came in handy for our location, we were amongst the locals & a little Spanish went a long way. If you want to avoid the hustle of 5th, travel along 10th Av but beware of the bicyclers coming up behind you on the east sidewalk & watch out for holes! The best food is @ Babe's, on 10 Calle between 10th Av & 5th Av. It is helpful to know that Calle streets run east/west & Av streets run north/south.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Italian Ristortante Romagna Mia on 5 Av between calle 20 & 22 is a fun place to grab a cheap pizza & people watch. The Manager, Mario is the best guy in Playa! He will keep you entertained!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    AJ the tired traveler
    Business
    PRESTON
    Jan 14, 2015

    Noise and Security Issues

    The room had a terrible smell. We did not feel secure or safe in the room the lock on the French doors was very poor and the bathroom window did not lock at all. The first night the air conditioning did not work. We had them come and fix it but even then it only worked half the time. The fridge was also very poor and was a potential fire hazard because the plug had been changed and had electrical tape bundled up on it. One of the nights we were there someone was slamming their door very loudly VERY early in the morning. Nothing was done for a long time until we finally called the front desk. The attendant did not seem to be aware of the situation and sent a security officer to OUR room. The officer wouldn't tell us what he wanted other than for us to open the door (All of this was in Spanish, so if you don't speak Spanish then this hotel is a definite no). It was VERY unsettling. When we complained the next morning the person at the front desk didn't even apologize, they just asked if we would like to be moved to the room next door (as if that would solve anything!). We would have left early but we had paid in advance and there was no refund for leaving early. We were so disappointed with this hotel that we were counting down the days for our vacation to end! We will definitely not return to this hotel or recommend it to others.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Dunamis
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Mar 1, 2012

    Room was Good Service was Bad

    The hotel room was clean and well air-conditioned. It was located just one block off of 5th about (90 seconds). We were located in a room facing 10th Ave. It could get loud in the evening time with Coco Bongo just 1 block away. My wife and I both slept with ear plugs most of the night so that was not a big deal for us. The AC kept the room very cold which was perfect for getting a good night sleep. The pool was small but nice. My only real complaint I had was in the service. It was definitely subpar. I made several attempts prior to our trip to get a hold of them both by phone and email with no response. The person at the front desk was not very helpful. We requested a wakeup call one morning but never got it. As a whole the only service that I thought was good was the house keeper. She always did a good job. All and all the hotel room is nice and well-priced. It is in a good location. The AC was the best I have ever had in a room...anywhere. The draw backs were subpar service and the noise level.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    If you have never been to Playa del Carmen before than be aware that the hotels and resorts have deals set up with many vendors on the streets. They will try to get you to visit their particular hotel/resort in exchange for discounts on most of the major activities. What they don't tell you is that it will more than likely take up at least 2 hours of your day plus travel time and they will pressure you to buy into a time share of sorts. If you are going to be there a week or more then this may be something you want to do in order to get the discounts as they can be a really good deal or even free. Just go into to knowing that it will take a minimum of 2 hours and will end in a strong sales pitch.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    FrugalTraveler
    Business
    Silicon Valley, California, USA
    May 8, 2012

    Subpar stay

    I stayed at this hotel on two different days of the same week. The first night, I had a room that was nicely, but simply appointed: two queen-sized beds, tv, refrigerator, ceiling fan. It was clean and comfortable. The lighting was confusing because the lights don't work until you put one of your room cards into a slot on a wall-mounted power-activation unit, which is hard to do when the room is dark to begin with and you don't know you are supposed to do this. The remote control unit battery died, and I had to go the front desk to get another remote control unit because the first unit had to be charged (it did not have replaceable batteries). The front desk asked me what tv I had in my room so as to program the remote. I had no idea, so they had to return to my room to program the remote. The second stay was for two nights, and it was pretty disappointing, even though the room was next to the room I had earlier in the week. The door jammed about half-way open (scraping on the floor). The A/C didn't work. The bath tub plug had no nob to grab in order to unstop the drain, so I showered in a tub full of water. The shower head and hose unit holder was broken, so I had to hold the shower head and hose with one hand while showering. The safe had no instructions, so it took two visits from the front desk to get the safe working, and the staff could open any safe with a woden dowl--not too safe, it seems. Despite the problems, the price was so reasonable, that the hotel is good value, given the hotel's proximity to the happening part of Playa del Carmen, and to its on-premises parking at no extra charge. The hotel is connected to a restaurant, so eating is convenient, if not very fancy.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    The hotel has parking on the premises. This is very good since there is no parking anywhere nearby.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    HAYDEN CO.
    May 10, 2011

    GREAT LOCATION FOR PRICE

    ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND HAD HIGH QUALITY FURNITURE,NICE POOL IN COURTYARD. I WOULD STAY AGAIN, VERY GOOD VALUE FOR PRICE.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    5TH AVE SHOPPING AND DINING WERE ONE BLOCK AWAY

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Medicine
    Business
    jersey city, NJ
    Dec 4, 2014

    Right next to the playa del carmen 5th avenue and beach

    Hacienda Real Hotel is located in a perfect location for easy access to playa del carmen 5th avenue awesomeness and the beaches. They give a voucher that gets you 10% off and free welcome drinks at 6 nearby good restaurants. It can get a bit noisy sometimes as its right next to 5th avenue on the 10th avenue with lot of bars and tourists. But it was not so bad, I personally didn't find it as a big issue as the noise was sporadic. Beds are a bit hard, I think thats how it is in all the mexico budget hotels or may be in all mexico hotels, I am not sure. I stayed a day at ramada cancun and the beds were a bit hard there too. I personally didn't find it as a problem as they were okay. The staff were friendly and easily accessible, however only the front desk guy knows english well and other staff mostly may not know english. Collectivo and ADO/Mayab bus stops are also nearby. Taxis and ferry to cozumel are easy to get from there as well. I found it a good value for money as I literally spent the whole day out each day I was there going to near by places like Akumal, Xcaret, Tulum, Cozumel, Cenotes and Chichen Itza.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Collectivo stops are at Calle 2 / 20th ave. Dirt cheap compared to taxis and ADO buses.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Pollita
    Business
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Sep 22, 2011

    Location, Location!

    The first room we had we were not very happy with due to it being on the first floor and in a hgh traffic area, but they moved us the next day with no issues. The few maintenance issues we had were addressed immediately, and the staff was really friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel was open very late and had really good, affordable food. The pool was decent and the pool chairs very comfortable. With your stay at the hotel you have access to Wicky's beach club which is a quick 2 block walk away. I travel to Playa del Carmen often, and I will definitely return to this hotel. You can't beat the location. One block from 5th ave, half a block from 12th street where all the night clubs are (including coco bongo) and only 2 blocks from the beach. You have a little of everything at this hotel for a reasonable price and never have to take a taxi anywhere. My only complaint would be the noise sometimes...kids tend to be loud in the courtyard where the pool is, and the design of the hotel is such that every room overlooks the courtyard, hence a LOT of screaming and playing in the pool at an early hour when some prefer to sleep.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    I really recommend the Coco Bongo experience....it's all inclusive for the evening, and there's a little of everything there, dancing, music, a "vegas like" show and an open bar. It's not cheap, but it's an all-night party.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    HHover
    Business
    Charlotte, NC
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nice Hotel

    This is a nice Hotel. The room was clean and large enough for our family of four. The Pool area was very nice. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. They had good food and prices. Free parking The Location was excellent, one block from the touristic 5th avenue. (No cars on this street) Only complaint: We discovered that our room was next to the area where they did the laundry. There was a lot of noise from the equipment and the employees coming and going from this room with carts slaming doors etc. in the evening and early morning. We called the front desk but they didn’t willing to do anything about it. I would stay here again but would make sure our room was further from the laundry area.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great Location

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    10Josh
    Business
    New York, NY, USA
    Jan 22, 2012

    Good!

    This hotel is located one block from 5th ave, which is a plus point. Staffs are very friendly. The only downside was i have encountered ants in the room and i have complained at the reception but No solution was found. I was stuck with ants for whole 14nights. Overall my experience, i would give 3and half stars.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    If you like nightlife, should definitely try Blue parrot, its cheap but if u are into spending more dollars then definitely try Mandala. Both on same block.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    square root
    Business
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    May 25, 2012

    Colonial paradise

    Great location in the center of all the good stuff. I found this hotel when I lived on 15th & Constitutientes while eating at the awesome local restaruant "La Fimiglia" across the street. Two blocks down 10th is the beach and Zezies beach club a must do and Scuba Playa best dive shop in town. The hotel is beautiful and very quiet in the interior. Great price for those who don't care for all inclusive.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Eat breakfast at "La Vagabunda" and order the salmon eggs Benedict or the cinnamon apple crèpes and you'll never want to leave! Best breakfast ever.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top