$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Hotel Hacienda Real

3 stars
View map of Av. 10 con calle 10 colonia centro cp, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Hacienda Real

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kem1
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 14, 2013

Charming

We loved every second of it. In our recent trip, we had stayed at an all inclusive "high-end" resort, the only real advantage was the ocean view, other than that, Hacienda Real had an awesome location, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
square root
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
May 25, 2012

Colonial paradise

Great location in the center of all the good stuff. I found this hotel when I lived on 15th & Constitutientes while eating at the awesome local restaruant "La Fimiglia" across the street. Two blocks down 10th is the beach and Zezies beach club a must do and Scuba Playa best dive shop in town. The hotel is beautiful and very quiet in the interior. Great price for those who don't care for all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at "La Vagabunda" and order the salmon eggs Benedict or the cinnamon apple crèpes and you'll never want to leave! Best breakfast ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrugalTraveler
Business
Silicon Valley, California, USA
May 8, 2012

Subpar stay

I stayed at this hotel on two different days of the same week. The first night, I had a room that was nicely, but simply appointed: two queen-sized beds, tv, refrigerator, ceiling fan. It was clean and comfortable. The lighting was confusing because the lights don't work until you put one of your room cards into a slot on a wall-mounted power-activation unit, which is hard to do when the room is dark to begin with and you don't know you are supposed to do this. The remote control unit battery died, and I had to go the front desk to get another remote control unit because the first unit had to be charged (it did not have replaceable batteries). The front desk asked me what tv I had in my room so as to program the remote. I had no idea, so they had to return to my room to program the remote. The second stay was for two nights, and it was pretty disappointing, even though the room was next to the room I had earlier in the week. The door jammed about half-way open (scraping on the floor). The A/C didn't work. The bath tub plug had no nob to grab in order to unstop the drain, so I showered in a tub full of water. The shower head and hose unit holder was broken, so I had to hold the shower head and hose with one hand while showering. The safe had no instructions, so it took two visits from the front desk to get the safe working, and the staff could open any safe with a woden dowl--not too safe, it seems. Despite the problems, the price was so reasonable, that the hotel is good value, given the hotel's proximity to the happening part of Playa del Carmen, and to its on-premises parking at no extra charge. The hotel is connected to a restaurant, so eating is convenient, if not very fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel has parking on the premises. This is very good since there is no parking anywhere nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dunamis
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Room was Good Service was Bad

The hotel room was clean and well air-conditioned. It was located just one block off of 5th about (90 seconds). We were located in a room facing 10th Ave. It could get loud in the evening time with Coco Bongo just 1 block away. My wife and I both slept with ear plugs most of the night so that was not a big deal for us. The AC kept the room very cold which was perfect for getting a good night sleep. The pool was small but nice. My only real complaint I had was in the service. It was definitely subpar. I made several attempts prior to our trip to get a hold of them both by phone and email with no response. The person at the front desk was not very helpful. We requested a wakeup call one morning but never got it. As a whole the only service that I thought was good was the house keeper. She always did a good job. All and all the hotel room is nice and well-priced. It is in a good location. The AC was the best I have ever had in a room...anywhere. The draw backs were subpar service and the noise level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have never been to Playa del Carmen before than be aware that the hotels and resorts have deals set up with many vendors on the streets. They will try to get you to visit their particular hotel/resort in exchange for discounts on most of the major activities. What they don't tell you is that it will more than likely take up at least 2 hours of your day plus travel time and they will pressure you to buy into a time share of sorts. If you are going to be there a week or more then this may be something you want to do in order to get the discounts as they can be a really good deal or even free. Just go into to knowing that it will take a minimum of 2 hours and will end in a strong sales pitch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
10Josh
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Good!

This hotel is located one block from 5th ave, which is a plus point. Staffs are very friendly. The only downside was i have encountered ants in the room and i have complained at the reception but No solution was found. I was stuck with ants for whole 14nights. Overall my experience, i would give 3and half stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like nightlife, should definitely try Blue parrot, its cheap but if u are into spending more dollars then definitely try Mandala. Both on same block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sailboat
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 30, 2011

Best Vacation Ever

The Hacienda Real is a beautiful property that delivers exactly what they sell. It is not on the beach but it is an easy walk to 5th Avenue shops and a public beach area. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are just as pictured and the pool area is very nice. The beds are a bit hard but we were so tired at the end of the day they didn't keep us awake. If you want the All Inclusive "resort" do not go here. They are a boutique hotel, located on a street with many small eateries and shops. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at the airport in Cancun do not be afraid to take the ADO buses. They are coach buses with the amenities, cost less than $10 each way and very very safe. They drop you off at the bus station in PLaya and it is a easy walk to the hotel Hacienda Real. There are great "mom & pop" eateries onthe corners of 4th and 6th and 10th. $2 for an omelet for breakfast and the best ceviche we have ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HHover
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 28, 2011

Nice Hotel

This is a nice Hotel. The room was clean and large enough for our family of four. The Pool area was very nice. We also ate breakfast at the restaurant. They had good food and prices. Free parking The Location was excellent, one block from the touristic 5th avenue. (No cars on this street) Only complaint: We discovered that our room was next to the area where they did the laundry. There was a lot of noise from the equipment and the employees coming and going from this room with carts slaming doors etc. in the evening and early morning. We called the front desk but they didn’t willing to do anything about it. I would stay here again but would make sure our room was further from the laundry area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pollita
Business
Virginia, USA
Oct 19, 2011

As always, this hotel was great!

The only issue this visit was at checkin....they couldn't find a room for me at first, but 4 hours later they were able to accomodate me in a room that was very nice with a balcony. The staff is always friendly and the location is perfect. The noise level is always pretty loud here, so if you are looking for a quiet location, this probably isn't the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pollita
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Location, Location!

The first room we had we were not very happy with due to it being on the first floor and in a hgh traffic area, but they moved us the next day with no issues. The few maintenance issues we had were addressed immediately, and the staff was really friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel was open very late and had really good, affordable food. The pool was decent and the pool chairs very comfortable. With your stay at the hotel you have access to Wicky's beach club which is a quick 2 block walk away. I travel to Playa del Carmen often, and I will definitely return to this hotel. You can't beat the location. One block from 5th ave, half a block from 12th street where all the night clubs are (including coco bongo) and only 2 blocks from the beach. You have a little of everything at this hotel for a reasonable price and never have to take a taxi anywhere. My only complaint would be the noise sometimes...kids tend to be loud in the courtyard where the pool is, and the design of the hotel is such that every room overlooks the courtyard, hence a LOT of screaming and playing in the pool at an early hour when some prefer to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I really recommend the Coco Bongo experience....it's all inclusive for the evening, and there's a little of everything there, dancing, music, a "vegas like" show and an open bar. It's not cheap, but it's an all-night party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Hacienda Real

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pollita
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Location, Location!

The first room we had we were not very happy with due to it being on the first floor and in a hgh traffic area, but they moved us the next day with no issues. The few maintenance issues we had were addressed immediately, and the staff was really friendly. The restaurant attached to the hotel was open very late and had really good, affordable food. The pool was decent and the pool chairs very comfortable. With your stay at the hotel you have access to Wicky's beach club which is a quick 2 block walk away. I travel to Playa del Carmen often, and I will definitely return to this hotel. You can't beat the location. One block from 5th ave, half a block from 12th street where all the night clubs are (including coco bongo) and only 2 blocks from the beach. You have a little of everything at this hotel for a reasonable price and never have to take a taxi anywhere. My only complaint would be the noise sometimes...kids tend to be loud in the courtyard where the pool is, and the design of the hotel is such that every room overlooks the courtyard, hence a LOT of screaming and playing in the pool at an early hour when some prefer to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I really recommend the Coco Bongo experience....it's all inclusive for the evening, and there's a little of everything there, dancing, music, a "vegas like" show and an open bar. It's not cheap, but it's an all-night party.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top