$757 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
58 reviews
Perfect stay

It was raining the entire trip and still awsome stay! The staff arrange some areas so you can be... See full review

  • Eduardo C.
  • Jun 16, 2015
The best hotel ever.

Inclusived food is awesome. main swimming pool is always clean and active location is good to visit... See full review

  • MOMO
  • Apr 6, 2015

Discover the Yucatan's most coveted vacation destination at Grand Velas Riviera Maya All Inclusive Playa Del Carmen resort. Indulge in superior Mexican hospitality with private, 24-hour butler service in elegantly appointed suites, or take advantage of pool- and beach-side concierge services, designed to cater to all of your relaxation needs. This resort also features multiple pools, including an exclusive children's pool for the little ones and a stunning infinity pool for sophisticated and luxurious adult time. Savvy travelers know that Grand Velas Riviera Maya is the resort of choice when unparalleled service and well-appointed accommodations are the order of the day.

Location
Sitting seven miles north of the Playa del Carmen resort and a roughly 45-minute drive from Cancun Airport (CUN), the boutique shopping and glittering nightlife of Playa Del Carmen are only a short ride down the coast from your front door at Grand Velas. Dive or snorkel off the coast in the company of sea turtles and dazzling corals, take the frequent ferry out to the island of Cozumel in the bay, or comb the Quinta Avenida for a stylish Italian meal at one of the many Mediterranean outlets.
Highlights

This sumptuous resort is just five minutes from downtown Playa Del Carmen, and a short 35-minute drive from Cancun International Airport (CUN), giving you easy access to the best Cancun has to offer. This family friendly, all-inclusive resort offers fun and age-appropriate services for every member of the family. The Grand Velas Teen's Club offers an ultra-cool environment with supervised dancing, video games and sports activities specially created for kids aged 13 to 18. The Grand Velas Kid's Club provides interactive and engaging activities for kids 5 to 12. These safe, supervised environments are designed to free adults to enjoy extensive spa and fitness suites, guided tours and other great attractions.

Policies
Of the three main areas, you'll find Zen Grand to be the quietest, while Grand Class suites feature splash pools on the patios.

The multilingual staff will happily arrange limo and town car services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Dining

Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Karaoke Bar (1)
Come nightfall the Lobby Bar comes to life with luscious libations and appetizing edibles, the place to be. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Sen-Lin Bar
Exotic delights with a perfect balance.
Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 58
Amenities:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eduardo C.
Business
N/A
Jun 16, 2015

Perfect stay

It was raining the entire trip and still awsome stay! The staff arrange some areas so you can be eathier relaxing at the spa, having a great time with the kids at the kids And teens clubs or having a drink in A restaurant or bar! The spa isn't cheap but the greatest experience ever! The all inclusive program is perfect! Food, drinks, even the minibar! Love This place! You are going to love it to!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deena B.
Business
Sunny Isles
Mar 1, 2015

Great trip

We had a wonderful time at the grand velas. I would recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy NY'er
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 3, 2015

Awesome Family Trip

I was there with a two year old and six year old. They had a blast from the pools and use of the kids clubs. The staff couldnt be more eager to help and understanding what its like to sit through a dinner with two small kids. Never once did we feel out of place especially when dining with such high quality food. We plan on returning again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB fan of resort
Business
NJ
Nov 29, 2014

Memorial Birthday

Spacious and comfortable room and kind courtesy!! However it's a little difficult to understand the restaurant reservation system quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shuttle transportation between 3 accomodation zones were so covenient and helpful that we could access to every restaurants with an infant child.

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natasha S.
Business
Dana point, CA
Sep 7, 2014

Perfect escape

From the moment you arrive until you leave expect to be spoiled and treated like the only guest at this resort. The concierge staff fulfills whatever your needs. The rooms with beautiful views and luxury amenities do not disappoint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMV ecu
Business
ecuador
Aug 28, 2014

Outstanding!!!

I have never been in a hotel like this. It seems like paradise. The staff is amazing their service outstanding, the food delicious and fhe rooms incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants amazing

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam Cherro
Business
Wilmette
Aug 4, 2014

Excellent Family Vacation

Super clean hotel,The Food Is Excellent,Room Service is Slow, The Service at the pool is very very slow, it took almost an hour to get my order,half hour to get my drink, it was faster for me to go the bar & get it myself,,,the funny part is the bar is less than 10 feet away from the pool ,,,the reason why the service is low at the pool because they service the pool & the beach at the same time & there's not enough staff to get the service faster, othewise its excellent & no other complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just be patient when you order room service, or drinks or food at the pool,hopefuly the they will take care take of that

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T Star
Business
Houston, Texas
May 14, 2014

Ant resort galore!

This was my husband's first and last trip to Mexico, ever. I had been wanting to go the Riveria Maya since we got married, and as a Mother's day trip and wedding anniversary present, my husband reluctantly agreed. Knowing that I needed to make a lasting impression, I went all out and booked the most expensive hotel we could find in the PDC area. After reading the reviews, I was sold on Grand Velas, plus it was also in our "Hotel Collection"book provided by our credit card company, so I figured it could not be bad. I had to make sure we got a 5 star hotel. What a nightmare this trip and our room was. I should have known that there was a bug problem, we there was Raid Ant Spray in our closet right next to the safe. I suspected there would be ants outside in our private pool, but I was so wrong!! There were ants EVERY WHERE, on our dressers (not bed, thankfully), especially in the bathroom area. Please keep in mind, we left no food out ever!! Since you do get room service, I figured the ants are attracted to the food that was in the room. But our bathroom was disguisting, thousands of ants coming out of the sinks and crawling on our tolietries mind you absolutely no food in the restroom either. I suspect they were eating the stuff that the maids washed down from previous guests. Not only did, my husband and I had to deal with ants, our little 18 month old and 2.5 year old, kept scratching their heads the last two days we were there, but out bedding smelled like mold, mildew and stagnant water. I was so completely disguisted with this hotel and asked to moved rooms later that day, and they told me none and I needed to call back later the next afternoon after people checked out. Mind you the hotel had probably about 100 people in our section, even the shuttle driver told us there were only about 50 guests in the Ambassador area. By that time, I would call on the next afternoon, we would already being leaving the next day or so, so we decided to not pack all of our stuff again so we tolerated it. Other misc. stuff, my kids would not eat the Mexican food, and the pool water in our room was stagnant, like an outdoor tub, is all it equates too. The water in the private pool was slimy and probably rarely ever cleaned. We asked them to clean it and they came the next day finally, our last day, which we didn't get in the pool after he cleaned. Overall, I would save your money stay at another 4 star hotel in the area. It is all the same in Riveria Maya area. Same service and quality of food and facility. Nothing spectacular at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy NY'er
Business
NYC
Apr 15, 2014

Great family getaway

If you are working too hard and need a place to simply getaway and forget about life for a while. This is the place. I stayed there for 6 nights with my family two boys 6 and 2. What a blast! The kids pools at the ambassador and the zen were perfectly shaded and also the service around them was very helpful any food or drink you needed was within your disposal within minutes. The kids clubs were so efficient that my boys couldn't stay away. The staff actually spends time with your kids as opposed to some place that I've been to in Mexico and the Caribbean. And oh the food. Yum!!! Gourmet for the adults and more than adequate for your kids. We later went to some of the better eateries in NYC and could say that there was little difference between the two. If you need to decompress and be taken care of this is the place. We'd go back in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HollyLynn
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Mar 18, 2014

Perfect family vacation

We just returned from a week at Grand Velas and I can't say enough good things about this resort. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pools are fantastic......The Ambassador pool overlooks the ocean and is great for kids, The Zen pools are very tranquil and have a very tropical feel to them, lots of lush gardens and trees surrounding them......if you are looking for a place to relax, this is the spot. My only negative would be that the beach is rocky in spots, so water shoes would be a must next time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we felt pampered the whole time. The restaurants were outstanding and drinks were top notch!! We will most definitely be returning to this resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top