$784 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly... See full review

  • Viggy
  • Nov 26, 2014
Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort! See full review

  • MikeS03
  • Nov 13, 2014
Set among 80 acres of the natural features that mark out the Riviera Maya - underwater caves, mangroves and bright green jungle - the Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya is a uniquely Mexican experience. Terraced suites call to mind the Mayan stepped pyramids of the peninsula, while miles of private Caribbean beachfront are just steps away from the pristine outdoor pool. The hotel is exceptional in its five-diamond rating, with healing and hydrotherapeutic spa treatments and an imaginative kids' program - which includes the jungle-surrounded Teen's Club. Guests can feast on marinated Asian creations at SinLin, or savor the rich flavors of Mexican mole (traditional sauces) under the watchful gaze of Frida Kahlo's famous self-portraits, at Frida restaurant.
Key facts
  • Key facts
  • 491 suites
  • 3 pools
  • 8 restaurants: Sen-Lin, Bistro, Frida, Azul, Lucca, Chaka, Piaf, Signature by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
  • Swim-up bars, plus sky bar
  • Gift shop
  • 32 conference/event spaces
  • Full-service health spa
  • Kids/Teens clubs
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • ATM/banking and currency exchange
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting seven miles north of the Playa del Carmen resort and a roughly 45-minute drive from Cancun Airport (CUN), the boutique shopping and glittering nightlife of Playa Del Carmen are only a short ride down the coast from your front door at Grand Velas. Dive or snorkel off the coast in the company of sea turtles and dazzling corals, take the frequent ferry out to the island of Cozumel in the bay, or comb the Quinta Avenida for a stylish Italian meal at one of the many Mediterranean outlets.
Hints and tips
Of the three main areas, you'll find Zen Grand to be the quietest, while Grand Class suites feature splash pools on the patios.

The multilingual staff will happily arrange limo and town car services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Karaoke Bar (1)
Come nightfall the Lobby Bar comes to life with luscious libations and appetizing edibles, the place to be. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Sen-Lin Bar
Exotic delights with a perfect balance.
Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Birthday Treat
Business
Northfield, New Jersey
Feb 18, 2014

Unbelievable Experience

The resort was fabulous. Can't say enough about the accommodations, restaurants and service. The staff is very attentive to your needs and go out of their way to make your experience the best possible. The beach and the pools were exceptional. There truly is nothing else you could want during your visit. I've been to many upscale resorts and this was without a doubt the best yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You won't want to leave the premises for any meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAT10
Business
Sao Paulo
Mar 8, 2014

Great family carnival break.

It was all perfect. The best all inclusive food I have ever experienced. The exclusive dinners went better and better: Mexican, Italian, Asian, French, Mediterranean . All great gourmet menu's with great chef selection. The spa was also great but the treatments were pricy, preventing to full use of it. The pools are amazing and the beach beautiful. I was expecting the water sports (sailing) to be included on package as well. The boats were most of the time not used. Staff always nice and keen to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor adventure Park is a must. The park is incredible we'll developed and maintained. A day full of joy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HollyLynn
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Mar 18, 2014

Perfect family vacation

We just returned from a week at Grand Velas and I can't say enough good things about this resort. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pools are fantastic......The Ambassador pool overlooks the ocean and is great for kids, The Zen pools are very tranquil and have a very tropical feel to them, lots of lush gardens and trees surrounding them......if you are looking for a place to relax, this is the spot. My only negative would be that the beach is rocky in spots, so water shoes would be a must next time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we felt pampered the whole time. The restaurants were outstanding and drinks were top notch!! We will most definitely be returning to this resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy NY'er
Business
NYC
Apr 15, 2014

Great family getaway

If you are working too hard and need a place to simply getaway and forget about life for a while. This is the place. I stayed there for 6 nights with my family two boys 6 and 2. What a blast! The kids pools at the ambassador and the zen were perfectly shaded and also the service around them was very helpful any food or drink you needed was within your disposal within minutes. The kids clubs were so efficient that my boys couldn't stay away. The staff actually spends time with your kids as opposed to some place that I've been to in Mexico and the Caribbean. And oh the food. Yum!!! Gourmet for the adults and more than adequate for your kids. We later went to some of the better eateries in NYC and could say that there was little difference between the two. If you need to decompress and be taken care of this is the place. We'd go back in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieC
Business
New Bedford, MA
May 4, 2014

Our "Unforgettable" 25th Wedding Anniversary!

From the moment we stepped foot into the Zen Lobby, to the moment we boarded the shuttle back to the airport, we were treated like royalty! Our concierges, Jorge and Angel, as well as all of the concierge staff were gracious and accommodating to our needs. We had made reservations to eat at Sen Lin Restaurant on our anniversary night and had to cancel because I had twisted my ankle and could not walk. Two of the concierge staff came to our room with a bucket of chilled champagne and a beautiful flower arrangement as well as ice for my ankle! This was a sweet and thoughtful moment that shows the caring atmosphere that prevails in this enchanting place! We did make it to Sen Lin, as well as, Lucca and Freida Restaurants and enjoyed the most amazing and uniquely delicious food and beverages, served by the most friendly and accommodating staffs! We even were graced with visits to our table from the Chefs of Sen Lin and Lucca! I have to make special mention of our amigos, Pedro and Santiago, who took care of our every need at the beach. Each time we'd go there, they would make sure I had a bag of ice to rest my ankle on and a shaded cabana, it was our perfect little paradise! Muchas gracias a mis amigos! I can not forget our other friends at the Zen Pool (the most beautiful area!) Bautista and Jacob, the bartender, who befriended my husband and made him feel at home with talk of tequilas and sporting news! We can not wait to return to the beautiful and peaceful Grand Velas Resort and Spas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaurants even if you don't think you'll like them! I think you will be nicely surprised! Don't hesitate to ask for suggestions from the wait staff on beverage choice or what to order, they are very knowledgeable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen City Traveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 6, 2014

Fabulous Resort

I highly recommend Grand VeLas. The food was great, even the presentation of the food. There was a large offering of drinks and an abundance of staff so you could always get what you needed. Everyone was polite and made you feel important. The resort is in a beautiful setting and the accommodations were clean, modern and had plenty of room. The pool is amazing and there were plenty of beach loungers with cushions and cabanas. It was one of my favorite vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lungmaster
Business
Cuernavaca, Mexico
May 7, 2010

Grand Velas Resort Riviera Maya all Incl

This is the best Hotel I have ever been on a beach. Excellence !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MPO
Business
Lawrenceville, NJ
Jan 20, 2010

Best vacation ever!

Resort was spectacular with excellent service and staff that anticipated our every need. The food was absolutely amazing and every plate had spectacular presentations. Chef [...] of Cocina De Autor was fantastic and took the time to explain and show us how to recreate one of his masterpieces! His food was creative and more delicious than many restaurants we have tried across the world. We were addressed by name everywhere we went and the shuttle was waiting or arrived within 30 seconds. Trip was fantastic! Hope to return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations online prior to your trip because you won't want to miss any of these restaurants. Our favorite was Cocina de Autor. Every meal was unique and outstanding...even the shrimp tacos by the pool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
klhots
Business
Washington, MO
Jun 23, 2010

Wonderful-Beautiful

We stayed June 13th thru June 18th, and from the very moment we arrived it was wonderful, the resort staff greeted us in the lobby brought us refreshing drinks, checked us in quickly and was even able to make a last minute change to accomodate two rooms next to one another. The pools were beautiful (watch out for the steps)drinks by the pool were great. The staff itself were very friendly and helpful. Our conceirge [...] was great! The food at the restaurants we ate at was great, my kids even enjoyed trying foods they wouldn't normally have eaten. We did not have any trouble getting any reservations, and most of the time there were only a few people in the restaurant. The one complaint that I would have is that on two occasions (two different nights) they closed the restaurant we were going to go to for a private party, and we really wanted to go back to Azul our last night. All in all it was a great trip, we will definetely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reb
Business
Louisville, Colorado
Nov 24, 2009

Best All-Inclusive I've Ever Stayed At!

This place HAD IT ALL! From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet on a vacation. The hotel is stunning. The architecture, the decor, the landscaping... Not a detail missed. I felt like I was in a dream scape. The rooms were large and well stocked. The food was top notch. We were even able to make special requests not on the the menu and the staff didn't bat an eye. The beach was heaven. Everything you could hope for. Staff and guests alike were happy and friendly. We loved this place and would go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top