$692 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly... See full review

  • Viggy
  • Nov 26, 2014
Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort! See full review

  • MikeS03
  • Nov 13, 2014
Set among 80 acres of the natural features that mark out the Riviera Maya - underwater caves, mangroves and bright green jungle - the Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya is a uniquely Mexican experience. Terraced suites call to mind the Mayan stepped pyramids of the peninsula, while miles of private Caribbean beachfront are just steps away from the pristine outdoor pool. The hotel is exceptional in its five-diamond rating, with healing and hydrotherapeutic spa treatments and an imaginative kids' program - which includes the jungle-surrounded Teen's Club. Guests can feast on marinated Asian creations at SinLin, or savor the rich flavors of Mexican mole (traditional sauces) under the watchful gaze of Frida Kahlo's famous self-portraits, at Frida restaurant.
Key facts
  • Key facts
  • 491 suites
  • 3 pools
  • 8 restaurants: Sen-Lin, Bistro, Frida, Azul, Lucca, Chaka, Piaf, Signature by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
  • Swim-up bars, plus sky bar
  • Gift shop
  • 32 conference/event spaces
  • Full-service health spa
  • Kids/Teens clubs
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • ATM/banking and currency exchange
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting seven miles north of the Playa del Carmen resort and a roughly 45-minute drive from Cancun Airport (CUN), the boutique shopping and glittering nightlife of Playa Del Carmen are only a short ride down the coast from your front door at Grand Velas. Dive or snorkel off the coast in the company of sea turtles and dazzling corals, take the frequent ferry out to the island of Cozumel in the bay, or comb the Quinta Avenida for a stylish Italian meal at one of the many Mediterranean outlets.
Hints and tips
Of the three main areas, you'll find Zen Grand to be the quietest, while Grand Class suites feature splash pools on the patios.

The multilingual staff will happily arrange limo and town car services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older
Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Dining

Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience
Chaka restaurant- Seasonal
Savour sights and sounds among Mangroves, Chechen, Salam and Chak trees. Its decor engage regional fabrics with exotic scenery; a magical combination. Chaka Restaurant is located in the hearth of the Zen Grand section, serves an international array of dishes and delightful organic experiences.
Frida
Recently distinguished by the AAA with the Four Diamonds Award , Frida Restaurant merges colors, foreign woods and white polished floors crowned by handpicked river stones to provide guests a relaxing atmosphere, enhanced by refined haute Mexican cuisine. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frstrtd and Disappntd
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 29, 2012

Frustrated and Disappointed

Our trip was by no means stress free. Very unhappy! We booked our stay through a travel site. After having to pay for a taxi to and from the hotel, we were told they do not honor the free shuttle when you book through the travel sites. The hotel detail also indicated free WiFi, which apparently changed one month before our arrival, but we were not told of this change, so we had to pay for that out of pocket once there. I'd expect better from a 5 DIAMOND Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T Star
Business
Houston, Texas
May 14, 2014

Ant resort galore!

This was my husband's first and last trip to Mexico, ever. I had been wanting to go the Riveria Maya since we got married, and as a Mother's day trip and wedding anniversary present, my husband reluctantly agreed. Knowing that I needed to make a lasting impression, I went all out and booked the most expensive hotel we could find in the PDC area. After reading the reviews, I was sold on Grand Velas, plus it was also in our "Hotel Collection"book provided by our credit card company, so I figured it could not be bad. I had to make sure we got a 5 star hotel. What a nightmare this trip and our room was. I should have known that there was a bug problem, we there was Raid Ant Spray in our closet right next to the safe. I suspected there would be ants outside in our private pool, but I was so wrong!! There were ants EVERY WHERE, on our dressers (not bed, thankfully), especially in the bathroom area. Please keep in mind, we left no food out ever!! Since you do get room service, I figured the ants are attracted to the food that was in the room. But our bathroom was disguisting, thousands of ants coming out of the sinks and crawling on our tolietries mind you absolutely no food in the restroom either. I suspect they were eating the stuff that the maids washed down from previous guests. Not only did, my husband and I had to deal with ants, our little 18 month old and 2.5 year old, kept scratching their heads the last two days we were there, but out bedding smelled like mold, mildew and stagnant water. I was so completely disguisted with this hotel and asked to moved rooms later that day, and they told me none and I needed to call back later the next afternoon after people checked out. Mind you the hotel had probably about 100 people in our section, even the shuttle driver told us there were only about 50 guests in the Ambassador area. By that time, I would call on the next afternoon, we would already being leaving the next day or so, so we decided to not pack all of our stuff again so we tolerated it. Other misc. stuff, my kids would not eat the Mexican food, and the pool water in our room was stagnant, like an outdoor tub, is all it equates too. The water in the private pool was slimy and probably rarely ever cleaned. We asked them to clean it and they came the next day finally, our last day, which we didn't get in the pool after he cleaned. Overall, I would save your money stay at another 4 star hotel in the area. It is all the same in Riveria Maya area. Same service and quality of food and facility. Nothing spectacular at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
all inclusive lover
Business
denver
Mar 27, 2012

Good Family Resort

Be sure and buy your transfer vouchers separately. Web site told us transfers were included, but they were not. Otherwise, beautiful, friendly resort with outstanding food and friendly service. Not much evening entertainment besides drinking at the bar. Definately a great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just what i need it
Business
new york, ny
Oct 1, 2012

a must go

fantastic. The pics on the internet don't do this hotel justice. Its beautiful overall. good food (small portions), good liquor. defenately will love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Bat
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 1, 2010

Go here for the amazing beaches!

This trip was primarily for relaxing by the beach. If that's what you are looking for this place is it. Every morning a large crew of employees rakes and cleans the beach of all seaweed so the beaches are pristine and huge (no rows of lounge chairs here). Powder white sand and blue,warm water make the view from your room a pleasure. The spa is a must! Set back in the jungle not only are the massage therapists amazing but they have all these different hot/cold water treatments with clay, creams and conditioners. It is truly an experience you must do while there. Each person at the spa has an ear piece so you are always guided where to go next. The grounds here are beautiful. Some negatives -- you must get up early to save a lounge chair--there are plenty but it seems people reserve a lot and some never show up and the staff could do a better job of monitoring the situation. The food is very good here. You must make reservations in advance at the fancier restaurants and the meals are French Laundry-like and you may tire of it after 2 or 3 (we did two and that was enough). The bistro is more casual and serves delicious simple food. The staff is very sweet and tries hard but the butler service that they advertise for us did not exist but we really didn't need it. Also make sure you are aware of where you book at this resort. The Master Suites are not by the beach but in the lush jungle area which some people love--personally I go to Mexico to go to the beach but some people stayed there and loved the serenity. There are more mosquitoes in this area so beware if you are prone to being biten (I got bit about 5 times and we stayed by the beach in December--can't imagine what it would be like in the summer--bring some spray). There is an Adults only pool/hotel called the Ambassador Suites and a family pool/hotel called just Ambassador-all part of the Grand Velas. The adult pool was lovely and quiet if that is what you are looking for and about a block away is the children's pool (both huge and beautiful) that is lively and full of sounds of children having fun. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This is all inclusive so must book dinner reservations in advance. Most of the restaurants are very fancy with 4 or 5 courses so you may want to only do 2 or 3. Pina Colodas are soooo good made with all fresh ingrediants. Also be aware of which part of the hotel you book--see my review for more detail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 24, 2010

Grand Velas

Great pool, really great service, people were super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB fan of resort
Business
NJ
Nov 29, 2014

Memorial Birthday

Spacious and comfortable room and kind courtesy!! However it's a little difficult to understand the restaurant reservation system quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shuttle transportation between 3 accomodation zones were so covenient and helpful that we could access to every restaurants with an infant child.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booya
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 8, 2011

Amazingly high end resort

Very upscale relaxing environment where everyone who works there is always smiling and knows your name. Overall the grounds were exceptional and the restaurants were of new york city 5 star quality. Even the buffet was excellent and the selection varied daily. Service here really sets the bar for what a resort should be like. Our butler/concierge Rogelio was exceptional and always went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The spa experience from beginning to end was absolutely mind blowing. The massage and the water journey were both one of a kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CChandler
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Highly recommended

My husband and I were looking for a vacation before Christmas where we could get away, relax and reconnect while leaving our 15 month old with her grandparents. Grand Velas was perfect! The customer service was the best I have seen at a resort, the food was spectacular and for half of our stay the resort was not crowded. We could not have enjoyed our time anymore. It is a family friendly resort, but they have an adult only pool where we enjoyed spending the day. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a restful vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only issue we ran into was in regards to tipping. We knew we had an all-inclusive stay, but at each meal they request a tip. The bill is given in pesos so we had to figure out what to tip. (Tip: know the exchange rate ahead of time) Overall, it worked out fine and we didn't mind, but we wish we would have known about it before we arrived at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
worldcaz
Business
Upstate New York, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Two friends getaway

From the beginning this resort was all five star. It felt like we were VIP. The service in all the restaurants was superb, as was the food. I had a problem with the shower in my room (the water was fluctuating between very hot to cold). It was addressed immediately. I could not ask for a more beautiful setting. I stayed in the Zen part which is in the jungle, and you need to take a shuttle to the main resort area. I never had to wait more than two minutes. I am looking foreword to my next trip there; they have spoiled me, I don't think I could go anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top