$784 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly... See full review

  • Viggy
  • Nov 26, 2014
Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort! See full review

  • MikeS03
  • Nov 13, 2014
Set among 80 acres of the natural features that mark out the Riviera Maya - underwater caves, mangroves and bright green jungle - the Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya is a uniquely Mexican experience. Terraced suites call to mind the Mayan stepped pyramids of the peninsula, while miles of private Caribbean beachfront are just steps away from the pristine outdoor pool. The hotel is exceptional in its five-diamond rating, with healing and hydrotherapeutic spa treatments and an imaginative kids' program - which includes the jungle-surrounded Teen's Club. Guests can feast on marinated Asian creations at SinLin, or savor the rich flavors of Mexican mole (traditional sauces) under the watchful gaze of Frida Kahlo's famous self-portraits, at Frida restaurant.
Key facts
  • Key facts
  • 491 suites
  • 3 pools
  • 8 restaurants: Sen-Lin, Bistro, Frida, Azul, Lucca, Chaka, Piaf, Signature by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
  • Swim-up bars, plus sky bar
  • Gift shop
  • 32 conference/event spaces
  • Full-service health spa
  • Kids/Teens clubs
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • ATM/banking and currency exchange
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting seven miles north of the Playa del Carmen resort and a roughly 45-minute drive from Cancun Airport (CUN), the boutique shopping and glittering nightlife of Playa Del Carmen are only a short ride down the coast from your front door at Grand Velas. Dive or snorkel off the coast in the company of sea turtles and dazzling corals, take the frequent ferry out to the island of Cozumel in the bay, or comb the Quinta Avenida for a stylish Italian meal at one of the many Mediterranean outlets.
Hints and tips
Of the three main areas, you'll find Zen Grand to be the quietest, while Grand Class suites feature splash pools on the patios.

The multilingual staff will happily arrange limo and town car services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Karaoke Bar (1)
Come nightfall the Lobby Bar comes to life with luscious libations and appetizing edibles, the place to be. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Sen-Lin Bar
Exotic delights with a perfect balance.
Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booya
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 8, 2011

Amazingly high end resort

Very upscale relaxing environment where everyone who works there is always smiling and knows your name. Overall the grounds were exceptional and the restaurants were of new york city 5 star quality. Even the buffet was excellent and the selection varied daily. Service here really sets the bar for what a resort should be like. Our butler/concierge Rogelio was exceptional and always went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The spa experience from beginning to end was absolutely mind blowing. The massage and the water journey were both one of a kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StanFam
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Fantastic all inclusive hotel!

The Grand Velas is a magnificent hotel. The hotel itself is wonderfully cared for, the food excellent and the service is impeccable. I'm trying to think of a criticism and nothing comes to mind. I have a new favorite hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
May 10, 2011

Fabulous

This is a great get away place. Very quiet, fabulous food, great drinks and spectacular grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryanneski
Business
Calgary, Canada
Apr 11, 2011

Grand Velas does it again!

This is our second trip to Grand Velas Riviera Maya (we have also stayed at the Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit on the Pacific coast). Even though it's expensive for an all-inclusive resort, it truly is all-inclusive - there is no bottom shelf liquor and no restriction on the number of times you can dine in the a la carte restaurants. In fact, the food quality in all the restaurants is very good and service is impeccable. One night, we tried room service and the food was excellent. We stayed in two Grand Class rooms (adults and over 12s only). These are beautiful rooms, all beachfront with small plunge pools on the verandahs and benefiting from the services of a butler concierge. The hotel was a little quiet for our 17 year old son during the first half of the holiday but it picked up towards the end of the week (when we stayed last year around the same time it was much busier and there appeared to be more young people around). If you want lots of entertainment then this probably isn't the hotel for you and they don't have a team of people itching to rope you into something you don't want to do. Don't get me wrong though, there is still the volleyball, soccer on the beach etc. The beach was the largest and prettiest for miles but there were some areas of reef so it might be best to take water shoes. We went out on a Hobbie Cat for a sail whilst we were there and it was fantastic - we even saw a turtle. All in all this hotel is well worth the price and we are already planning a return trip next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnfun
Business
Nj
Apr 7, 2011

Best stay ever!

The resort thinks of everything and once you realize this you understand you are actually really on vacation. The food is outrageously good and the drinks are plentiful. The staff is awesome and if you make a request they go above and beyond to accomodate. We barely set foot off the resort and who would want to-- it didn't get any better than this. The ocean was beautiful blue and the pools were awesome. When you are at the ocean, food and beverage service is top notch- you never have to leave your chair if you don't want to. We were at the resort for a wedding and we knew several people who, like us, were cringing at the expense of the trip before arriving. Within hours of being there you realize this stay is going to be more than worth it. Everyone we know wants to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not miss the breakfast room service- it's a must try!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya & Jim
Business
New York
Mar 29, 2011

Amazing Time

We traveled to Grand Velas for our honeymoon, and stayed in the Master Jungle Suites. The setting was gorgeous and the staff was super friendly and attentive. Our concierge surprised us by setting up rose petal bubble baths and champagne for us at night during the turn down service and having the chefs at different restaurants make desserts to celebrate our marriage and honeymoon. The resort is in excellent condition (being recently built) and cleaned spotless continuously. The rooms were beautiful, including the heated floors in the bathrooms and the plunge pool on the deck. The atmosphere is relaxing and the pools are outstanding. We had a whole pool to ourselves while there. We had no issues with getting lounges or cabanas at the beach either. The butler service at the pool was on the spot at all times, the beach a little less so but still good. The restaurants and food were outstanding. We tried as many different ones (of the seven) as possible, with our favorite being Piaf (French). The room service breakfast is outstanding and comes with anything you want, sure beats heading to a buffet breakfast at other resorts. We booked a few day trips see some Mayan ruins and to swim with the dolphins, the travel agent at the resort set all this up for us and was very helpful in recommending things to do and what would be best for our likes. The only negatives are the price of the spa treatments, but we didn't get any so we cannot say if it is actually worth the price and the nightlife/entertainment. We were there to relax so this did not bother us at all, we enjoyed the peace and quiet when strolling at night throughout the resort and the beach. This is an excellent resort with a great staff and beautiful location. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and are already planning on a trip to go back again sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We recommend booking the private transportation from the airport to the resort. It was much faster than having to wait for other travellers in your van. The private transportation was great and helpful with hints and knowledge of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Mar 28, 2011

Beautiful, delicious, superior service

Large suite with gorgeous ocean view that included a butler service. Large infinity pool with bridge and various areas for children of all ages. Extra large white sand beach with various sunning areas. Waiters readily available for pool or beach. Numerous restaurants with varied gourmet cuisine. The spa was exceptional. The entire week was beyond expectation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
df
Feb 1, 2011

Exellent!!

Exellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Nov 4, 2010

Fantastic vacation!!!!!

Service was excellent!!! Dinning was unbeatable!!! Presentations of each meal were a piece of art!!! Pool and beach services were perfect!!!Thank you to our concierge [...], he was on the top of everything!!! We fully enjoyed our vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cville traveler
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 1, 2010

Absolutely fantastic

Grand Velas is a wonderful resort. Very large, modern rooms, beautiful grounds, gourmet food, and the best service of any resort we've been too. Oh, and a good value becuase it's all-inclusive. This is not like any other all inclusive, it's very high end, and the food and service are 5 star. Not for the party crowd, more of a high class, quiet, relaxing resort. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all the resturants, but our favorites were Freda (grilled lobster!), Cocina de Autor, and Sin Lin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top