$786 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
all inclusive lover
Business
denver
Mar 27, 2012

Good Family Resort

Be sure and buy your transfer vouchers separately. Web site told us transfers were included, but they were not. Otherwise, beautiful, friendly resort with outstanding food and friendly service. Not much evening entertainment besides drinking at the bar. Definately a great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frstrtd and Disappntd
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 29, 2012

Frustrated and Disappointed

Our trip was by no means stress free. Very unhappy! We booked our stay through a travel site. After having to pay for a taxi to and from the hotel, we were told they do not honor the free shuttle when you book through the travel sites. The hotel detail also indicated free WiFi, which apparently changed one month before our arrival, but we were not told of this change, so we had to pay for that out of pocket once there. I'd expect better from a 5 DIAMOND Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CChandler
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Highly recommended

My husband and I were looking for a vacation before Christmas where we could get away, relax and reconnect while leaving our 15 month old with her grandparents. Grand Velas was perfect! The customer service was the best I have seen at a resort, the food was spectacular and for half of our stay the resort was not crowded. We could not have enjoyed our time anymore. It is a family friendly resort, but they have an adult only pool where we enjoyed spending the day. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a restful vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The only issue we ran into was in regards to tipping. We knew we had an all-inclusive stay, but at each meal they request a tip. The bill is given in pesos so we had to figure out what to tip. (Tip: know the exchange rate ahead of time) Overall, it worked out fine and we didn't mind, but we wish we would have known about it before we arrived at the resort.

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booya
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 8, 2011

Amazingly high end resort

Very upscale relaxing environment where everyone who works there is always smiling and knows your name. Overall the grounds were exceptional and the restaurants were of new york city 5 star quality. Even the buffet was excellent and the selection varied daily. Service here really sets the bar for what a resort should be like. Our butler/concierge Rogelio was exceptional and always went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The spa experience from beginning to end was absolutely mind blowing. The massage and the water journey were both one of a kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booya
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 8, 2011

Amazingly high end resort

Very upscale relaxing environment where everyone who works there is always smiling and knows your name. Overall the grounds were exceptional and the restaurants were of new york city 5 star quality. Even the buffet was excellent and the selection varied daily. Service here really sets the bar for what a resort should be like. Our butler/concierge Rogelio was exceptional and always went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. The spa experience from beginning to end was absolutely mind blowing. The massage and the water journey were both one of a kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sin Lin was by far the best restaurant there and they were all remarkable

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StanFam
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Fantastic all inclusive hotel!

The Grand Velas is a magnificent hotel. The hotel itself is wonderfully cared for, the food excellent and the service is impeccable. I'm trying to think of a criticism and nothing comes to mind. I have a new favorite hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
May 10, 2011

Fabulous

This is a great get away place. Very quiet, fabulous food, great drinks and spectacular grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maryanneski
Business
Calgary, Canada
Apr 11, 2011

Grand Velas does it again!

This is our second trip to Grand Velas Riviera Maya (we have also stayed at the Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit on the Pacific coast). Even though it's expensive for an all-inclusive resort, it truly is all-inclusive - there is no bottom shelf liquor and no restriction on the number of times you can dine in the a la carte restaurants. In fact, the food quality in all the restaurants is very good and service is impeccable. One night, we tried room service and the food was excellent. We stayed in two Grand Class rooms (adults and over 12s only). These are beautiful rooms, all beachfront with small plunge pools on the verandahs and benefiting from the services of a butler concierge. The hotel was a little quiet for our 17 year old son during the first half of the holiday but it picked up towards the end of the week (when we stayed last year around the same time it was much busier and there appeared to be more young people around). If you want lots of entertainment then this probably isn't the hotel for you and they don't have a team of people itching to rope you into something you don't want to do. Don't get me wrong though, there is still the volleyball, soccer on the beach etc. The beach was the largest and prettiest for miles but there were some areas of reef so it might be best to take water shoes. We went out on a Hobbie Cat for a sail whilst we were there and it was fantastic - we even saw a turtle. All in all this hotel is well worth the price and we are already planning a return trip next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnfun
Business
Nj
Apr 7, 2011

Best stay ever!

The resort thinks of everything and once you realize this you understand you are actually really on vacation. The food is outrageously good and the drinks are plentiful. The staff is awesome and if you make a request they go above and beyond to accomodate. We barely set foot off the resort and who would want to-- it didn't get any better than this. The ocean was beautiful blue and the pools were awesome. When you are at the ocean, food and beverage service is top notch- you never have to leave your chair if you don't want to. We were at the resort for a wedding and we knew several people who, like us, were cringing at the expense of the trip before arriving. Within hours of being there you realize this stay is going to be more than worth it. Everyone we know wants to visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not miss the breakfast room service- it's a must try!

Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya & Jim
Business
New York
Mar 29, 2011

Amazing Time

We traveled to Grand Velas for our honeymoon, and stayed in the Master Jungle Suites. The setting was gorgeous and the staff was super friendly and attentive. Our concierge surprised us by setting up rose petal bubble baths and champagne for us at night during the turn down service and having the chefs at different restaurants make desserts to celebrate our marriage and honeymoon. The resort is in excellent condition (being recently built) and cleaned spotless continuously. The rooms were beautiful, including the heated floors in the bathrooms and the plunge pool on the deck. The atmosphere is relaxing and the pools are outstanding. We had a whole pool to ourselves while there. We had no issues with getting lounges or cabanas at the beach either. The butler service at the pool was on the spot at all times, the beach a little less so but still good. The restaurants and food were outstanding. We tried as many different ones (of the seven) as possible, with our favorite being Piaf (French). The room service breakfast is outstanding and comes with anything you want, sure beats heading to a buffet breakfast at other resorts. We booked a few day trips see some Mayan ruins and to swim with the dolphins, the travel agent at the resort set all this up for us and was very helpful in recommending things to do and what would be best for our likes. The only negatives are the price of the spa treatments, but we didn't get any so we cannot say if it is actually worth the price and the nightlife/entertainment. We were there to relax so this did not bother us at all, we enjoyed the peace and quiet when strolling at night throughout the resort and the beach. This is an excellent resort with a great staff and beautiful location. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and are already planning on a trip to go back again sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We recommend booking the private transportation from the airport to the resort. It was much faster than having to wait for other travellers in your van. The private transportation was great and helpful with hints and knowledge of the area.

Back to menu Return to top