$786 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mosleh
Maryland, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Total Relaxation

A wonderful place that caters to families as much as it does to couples without children. Three beautiful properties under one umbrella! We would certainly go back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a luxury and all inclusive vacation experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SweetRN
Business
NJ
Jul 24, 2014

Paradise

This was our 2nd visit to Grand Velas and it is by far one of the best resorts/hotels that I've ever stayed at. It is quite expensive but as they say you get what you pay for! I hope this place continues to exceed in service that they provide. My only complaint was that the airline that we flew on completely messed up our flight and our luggage was brought to the hotel at 230 am when we had arrived at the resort at 130pm.. We had completely lost one day of being able to enjoy the beach. Obviously this was not the hotels fault. I would absolutely return to this property in the future. The food, service, and ambiance is truly amazing. The beach is beautiful but there is a lot of seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T Star
Business
Houston, Texas
May 14, 2014

Ant resort galore!

This was my husband's first and last trip to Mexico, ever. I had been wanting to go the Riveria Maya since we got married, and as a Mother's day trip and wedding anniversary present, my husband reluctantly agreed. Knowing that I needed to make a lasting impression, I went all out and booked the most expensive hotel we could find in the PDC area. After reading the reviews, I was sold on Grand Velas, plus it was also in our "Hotel Collection"book provided by our credit card company, so I figured it could not be bad. I had to make sure we got a 5 star hotel. What a nightmare this trip and our room was. I should have known that there was a bug problem, we there was Raid Ant Spray in our closet right next to the safe. I suspected there would be ants outside in our private pool, but I was so wrong!! There were ants EVERY WHERE, on our dressers (not bed, thankfully), especially in the bathroom area. Please keep in mind, we left no food out ever!! Since you do get room service, I figured the ants are attracted to the food that was in the room. But our bathroom was disguisting, thousands of ants coming out of the sinks and crawling on our tolietries mind you absolutely no food in the restroom either. I suspect they were eating the stuff that the maids washed down from previous guests. Not only did, my husband and I had to deal with ants, our little 18 month old and 2.5 year old, kept scratching their heads the last two days we were there, but out bedding smelled like mold, mildew and stagnant water. I was so completely disguisted with this hotel and asked to moved rooms later that day, and they told me none and I needed to call back later the next afternoon after people checked out. Mind you the hotel had probably about 100 people in our section, even the shuttle driver told us there were only about 50 guests in the Ambassador area. By that time, I would call on the next afternoon, we would already being leaving the next day or so, so we decided to not pack all of our stuff again so we tolerated it. Other misc. stuff, my kids would not eat the Mexican food, and the pool water in our room was stagnant, like an outdoor tub, is all it equates too. The water in the private pool was slimy and probably rarely ever cleaned. We asked them to clean it and they came the next day finally, our last day, which we didn't get in the pool after he cleaned. Overall, I would save your money stay at another 4 star hotel in the area. It is all the same in Riveria Maya area. Same service and quality of food and facility. Nothing spectacular at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen City Traveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 6, 2014

Fabulous Resort

I highly recommend Grand VeLas. The food was great, even the presentation of the food. There was a large offering of drinks and an abundance of staff so you could always get what you needed. Everyone was polite and made you feel important. The resort is in a beautiful setting and the accommodations were clean, modern and had plenty of room. The pool is amazing and there were plenty of beach loungers with cushions and cabanas. It was one of my favorite vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieC
Business
New Bedford, MA
May 4, 2014

Our "Unforgettable" 25th Wedding Anniversary!

From the moment we stepped foot into the Zen Lobby, to the moment we boarded the shuttle back to the airport, we were treated like royalty! Our concierges, Jorge and Angel, as well as all of the concierge staff were gracious and accommodating to our needs. We had made reservations to eat at Sen Lin Restaurant on our anniversary night and had to cancel because I had twisted my ankle and could not walk. Two of the concierge staff came to our room with a bucket of chilled champagne and a beautiful flower arrangement as well as ice for my ankle! This was a sweet and thoughtful moment that shows the caring atmosphere that prevails in this enchanting place! We did make it to Sen Lin, as well as, Lucca and Freida Restaurants and enjoyed the most amazing and uniquely delicious food and beverages, served by the most friendly and accommodating staffs! We even were graced with visits to our table from the Chefs of Sen Lin and Lucca! I have to make special mention of our amigos, Pedro and Santiago, who took care of our every need at the beach. Each time we'd go there, they would make sure I had a bag of ice to rest my ankle on and a shaded cabana, it was our perfect little paradise! Muchas gracias a mis amigos! I can not forget our other friends at the Zen Pool (the most beautiful area!) Bautista and Jacob, the bartender, who befriended my husband and made him feel at home with talk of tequilas and sporting news! We can not wait to return to the beautiful and peaceful Grand Velas Resort and Spas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaurants even if you don't think you'll like them! I think you will be nicely surprised! Don't hesitate to ask for suggestions from the wait staff on beverage choice or what to order, they are very knowledgeable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy NY'er
Business
NYC
Apr 15, 2014

Great family getaway

If you are working too hard and need a place to simply getaway and forget about life for a while. This is the place. I stayed there for 6 nights with my family two boys 6 and 2. What a blast! The kids pools at the ambassador and the zen were perfectly shaded and also the service around them was very helpful any food or drink you needed was within your disposal within minutes. The kids clubs were so efficient that my boys couldn't stay away. The staff actually spends time with your kids as opposed to some place that I've been to in Mexico and the Caribbean. And oh the food. Yum!!! Gourmet for the adults and more than adequate for your kids. We later went to some of the better eateries in NYC and could say that there was little difference between the two. If you need to decompress and be taken care of this is the place. We'd go back in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HollyLynn
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Mar 18, 2014

Perfect family vacation

We just returned from a week at Grand Velas and I can't say enough good things about this resort. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pools are fantastic......The Ambassador pool overlooks the ocean and is great for kids, The Zen pools are very tranquil and have a very tropical feel to them, lots of lush gardens and trees surrounding them......if you are looking for a place to relax, this is the spot. My only negative would be that the beach is rocky in spots, so water shoes would be a must next time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we felt pampered the whole time. The restaurants were outstanding and drinks were top notch!! We will most definitely be returning to this resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAT10
Business
Sao Paulo
Mar 8, 2014

Great family carnival break.

It was all perfect. The best all inclusive food I have ever experienced. The exclusive dinners went better and better: Mexican, Italian, Asian, French, Mediterranean . All great gourmet menu's with great chef selection. The spa was also great but the treatments were pricy, preventing to full use of it. The pools are amazing and the beach beautiful. I was expecting the water sports (sailing) to be included on package as well. The boats were most of the time not used. Staff always nice and keen to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

XPlor adventure Park is a must. The park is incredible we'll developed and maintained. A day full of joy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Birthday Treat
Business
Northfield, New Jersey
Feb 18, 2014

Unbelievable Experience

The resort was fabulous. Can't say enough about the accommodations, restaurants and service. The staff is very attentive to your needs and go out of their way to make your experience the best possible. The beach and the pools were exceptional. There truly is nothing else you could want during your visit. I've been to many upscale resorts and this was without a doubt the best yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You won't want to leave the premises for any meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Azadian
Business
Cleveland,Ohio
Jul 14, 2013

Total Relaxation

Way above and beyond our expectations. Good Food, Great service, Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate S.
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2013

Great in every way

Stayed in the jungle section room with my boyfriend. Was a bit nervous about being "far" from the beach but the trek from jungle to beach was so easy and seamless it did not make one bit of a difference. Jungle rooms were beautiful and worth it for the price difference. Suite was gorgeous. Food varied from ok to very good. Definitely good food for an all-inclusive hotel. Will definitely go back no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There basically is none, at least when I was there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top