$784 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly... See full review

  • Viggy
  • Nov 26, 2014
Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort! See full review

  • MikeS03
  • Nov 13, 2014
Set among 80 acres of the natural features that mark out the Riviera Maya - underwater caves, mangroves and bright green jungle - the Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya is a uniquely Mexican experience. Terraced suites call to mind the Mayan stepped pyramids of the peninsula, while miles of private Caribbean beachfront are just steps away from the pristine outdoor pool. The hotel is exceptional in its five-diamond rating, with healing and hydrotherapeutic spa treatments and an imaginative kids' program - which includes the jungle-surrounded Teen's Club. Guests can feast on marinated Asian creations at SinLin, or savor the rich flavors of Mexican mole (traditional sauces) under the watchful gaze of Frida Kahlo's famous self-portraits, at Frida restaurant.
Key facts
  • Key facts
  • 491 suites
  • 3 pools
  • 8 restaurants: Sen-Lin, Bistro, Frida, Azul, Lucca, Chaka, Piaf, Signature by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
  • Swim-up bars, plus sky bar
  • Gift shop
  • 32 conference/event spaces
  • Full-service health spa
  • Kids/Teens clubs
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour room service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • ATM/banking and currency exchange
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Sitting seven miles north of the Playa del Carmen resort and a roughly 45-minute drive from Cancun Airport (CUN), the boutique shopping and glittering nightlife of Playa Del Carmen are only a short ride down the coast from your front door at Grand Velas. Dive or snorkel off the coast in the company of sea turtles and dazzling corals, take the frequent ferry out to the island of Cozumel in the bay, or comb the Quinta Avenida for a stylish Italian meal at one of the many Mediterranean outlets.
Hints and tips
Of the three main areas, you'll find Zen Grand to be the quietest, while Grand Class suites feature splash pools on the patios.

The multilingual staff will happily arrange limo and town car services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Karaoke Bar (1)
Come nightfall the Lobby Bar comes to life with luscious libations and appetizing edibles, the place to be. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Sen-Lin Bar
Exotic delights with a perfect balance.
Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB fan of resort
Business
NJ
Nov 29, 2014

Memorial Birthday

Spacious and comfortable room and kind courtesy!! However it's a little difficult to understand the restaurant reservation system quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shuttle transportation between 3 accomodation zones were so covenient and helpful that we could access to every restaurants with an infant child.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viggy
Business
Peapack, NJ
Nov 26, 2014

Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly don't think there is better value out there.(paid approx $525 a night) I prefer the zen area as it's more private and luckily happens to be less money. I'm a bit of a hotel snob and I do not prefer all inclusives but the grand velas is just top notch. The restaurants and food are high end, the service and staff are great, and the suites and amenities are beautiful. See you all again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeS03
Business
New Jersey
Nov 13, 2014

Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FJK Senior
Business
Minnepolis, MN
Sep 11, 2014

Greatest All Inclusive on the Riviera

Excellence is all that needs to be stated about this resort. From the staff to the food, it was all 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cocina Autor is a must go for people looking for an adventure in food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMV ecu
Business
ecuador
Aug 28, 2014

Outstanding!!!

I have never been in a hotel like this. It seems like paradise. The staff is amazing their service outstanding, the food delicious and fhe rooms incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GC23
Business
Riviera maya, mexico
Aug 19, 2014

Get ready to be spoiled

It doesn't get any better!!!! The food at the restaurants was outstanding and the service was on point. The convenience of being able to eat lunch in your lounge chair by the pool or beach really made this place an 11/10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam Cherro
Business
Wilmette
Aug 4, 2014

Excellent Family Vacation

Super clean hotel,The Food Is Excellent,Room Service is Slow, The Service at the pool is very very slow, it took almost an hour to get my order,half hour to get my drink, it was faster for me to go the bar & get it myself,,,the funny part is the bar is less than 10 feet away from the pool ,,,the reason why the service is low at the pool because they service the pool & the beach at the same time & there's not enough staff to get the service faster, othewise its excellent & no other complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just be patient when you order room service, or drinks or food at the pool,hopefuly the they will take care take of that

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SweetRN
Business
NJ
Jul 24, 2014

Paradise

This was our 2nd visit to Grand Velas and it is by far one of the best resorts/hotels that I've ever stayed at. It is quite expensive but as they say you get what you pay for! I hope this place continues to exceed in service that they provide. My only complaint was that the airline that we flew on completely messed up our flight and our luggage was brought to the hotel at 230 am when we had arrived at the resort at 130pm.. We had completely lost one day of being able to enjoy the beach. Obviously this was not the hotels fault. I would absolutely return to this property in the future. The food, service, and ambiance is truly amazing. The beach is beautiful but there is a lot of seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T Star
Business
Houston, Texas
May 14, 2014

Ant resort galore!

This was my husband's first and last trip to Mexico, ever. I had been wanting to go the Riveria Maya since we got married, and as a Mother's day trip and wedding anniversary present, my husband reluctantly agreed. Knowing that I needed to make a lasting impression, I went all out and booked the most expensive hotel we could find in the PDC area. After reading the reviews, I was sold on Grand Velas, plus it was also in our "Hotel Collection"book provided by our credit card company, so I figured it could not be bad. I had to make sure we got a 5 star hotel. What a nightmare this trip and our room was. I should have known that there was a bug problem, we there was Raid Ant Spray in our closet right next to the safe. I suspected there would be ants outside in our private pool, but I was so wrong!! There were ants EVERY WHERE, on our dressers (not bed, thankfully), especially in the bathroom area. Please keep in mind, we left no food out ever!! Since you do get room service, I figured the ants are attracted to the food that was in the room. But our bathroom was disguisting, thousands of ants coming out of the sinks and crawling on our tolietries mind you absolutely no food in the restroom either. I suspect they were eating the stuff that the maids washed down from previous guests. Not only did, my husband and I had to deal with ants, our little 18 month old and 2.5 year old, kept scratching their heads the last two days we were there, but out bedding smelled like mold, mildew and stagnant water. I was so completely disguisted with this hotel and asked to moved rooms later that day, and they told me none and I needed to call back later the next afternoon after people checked out. Mind you the hotel had probably about 100 people in our section, even the shuttle driver told us there were only about 50 guests in the Ambassador area. By that time, I would call on the next afternoon, we would already being leaving the next day or so, so we decided to not pack all of our stuff again so we tolerated it. Other misc. stuff, my kids would not eat the Mexican food, and the pool water in our room was stagnant, like an outdoor tub, is all it equates too. The water in the private pool was slimy and probably rarely ever cleaned. We asked them to clean it and they came the next day finally, our last day, which we didn't get in the pool after he cleaned. Overall, I would save your money stay at another 4 star hotel in the area. It is all the same in Riveria Maya area. Same service and quality of food and facility. Nothing spectacular at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen City Traveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 6, 2014

Fabulous Resort

I highly recommend Grand VeLas. The food was great, even the presentation of the food. There was a large offering of drinks and an abundance of staff so you could always get what you needed. Everyone was polite and made you feel important. The resort is in a beautiful setting and the accommodations were clean, modern and had plenty of room. The pool is amazing and there were plenty of beach loungers with cushions and cabanas. It was one of my favorite vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top