$784 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

5 stars
Carr Cancun- Tulum Km 62, Municipio de Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly... See full review

  • Viggy
  • Nov 26, 2014
Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort! See full review

  • MikeS03
  • Nov 13, 2014
The luxurious Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. Rated Five Diamonds by AAA and hugging the pristine white sand shore of Playa del Carmen, Mexico, the resort is the pinnacle of all - inclusive vacation luxury. Elegant accommodations, gourmet culinary tour dining experience, an exclusive deluxe spa, personalized butler concierge services, and a cutting edge convention center make Grand Velas Riviera Maya an ideal choice for leisure and business travelers.
Recent winner of the 2011 top Double Gold Medal Award for interior design in the Fourth International Forum of Women in Architecture and Interior Design. Each of the 491 spacious suites at Grand Velas Riviera Maya is elegantly appointed with upscale furnishings complemented by native artwork. Designed to pander all preferences and tastes with unique ambiances, the Grand Velas Riviera Maya carefully designed each experience, from over sized suites to an unparallel Gastronomic Tour:
The Zen Ambience, is located of a mile from the beach, in the natural environment of the Mayan Jungle. This family-friendly section features 206 handsomely furnished suites, each over 1000 square feet with Interior Jacuzzi. For the adventurous, these serene suites are surrounded by lush unspoiled vegetation boasts a beautiful variety of regional nature ideal for bird watcher lovers, including cenotes (natural underground reservoirs), mangroves and lagoons.Business travelers will enjoy the proximity of these suites to the convention center. Guests in this section access the beach and other sections of the resort by taking a 2-3 minute shuttle at any time of day or night.
The Ambassador family-friendly ambiance of the resort includes 197 1000+ square foot ocean-view suites with a terrace, sitting area, and some with private plunge pool. These suites are conveniently arranged around the main infinity pool, near the Ambassador Section Kids Club and gym in addition to lounge bars and restaurants to spoil the little ones.

The Grand Class ambiance of the resort is designed for optimum privacy and relaxation and features 89 1300+ square foot ocean-front suites. Guests enjoy of a separate check in area , private terraces with plunge pools and incredible ocean views, space for in-room massage tables, and interior Jacuzzis.This section is restricted to people aged 12 years and older. In the heart of the property a 76,640 sq ft sanctuary of health, relaxation and beauty can be found. The Grand Velas Spa, member of Leading Spa, named most Excellent Spa Hotel in Mexico by Cond Nast Johansens and Best Spa in the World award by Virtuoso, offers you luscious Spa treatments carefully crafted to sooth your mind, body and soul. Our unique services can be offered in the privacy of your suite or in the relaxing terrace of your suite overlooking the turquoise Caribbean waters.
Grand Velas Riviera Maya redefines the standards for luxury in All-Inclusive accommodation, impeccable service standards and hospitality .

Chak restaurant will be closed starting January 5th 2012 until further notice

For Kids Club welcomes children from 5 to 12 years old only.

Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive Rooms

Zen Grand Tower Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Zen Grand Tower Pool Suite Nature View-
1184 SQ FT. Located in the heart of the jungle with a special Zen atmosphere and unique natural views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Suite Ocean View
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with beautiful ocean and pool views. This suite offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Ambassador Tower-Pool Suite Ocean Front
1270 SQ FT. Located in Ambassador ambiance ideal for families and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Family Ambiance
Grand Class Tower- Pool Suite Ocean Front
1377 SQ FT. Located in the exclusive Grand Class ambiance and with privileged ocean front views. This suite graced with a private plunge pool offers one king size bed or two queen size beds, private terrace or balcony, indoor and outdoor sitting area, interior jacuzzi/whirpool, Molton Brown bathroom amenities, bathrobes & sleepers, beach bag, walk-in closet, white goose down comforter and pillows, pillow menu, laptop size safe deposit box, iPod/ DVD/CD/MP3 station, 42" flat screen TV, pay-per-view-movies, internet access ($), 1 touch screen telephone, 2 telephones, voicemail service, 24 hours suite service, daily restocked minibar , tea and coffee making facilities, Nespresso coffee maker, laundry service ($), smoking or non-smoking suites available. 24 hours concierge service. Relevant Hotel Recommendation: Ideal for families with teens from 12 years and older

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next business meeting, conference, or incentive event at the new Grand Velas Riviera Maya in beautiful Riviera Maya, Mexico. Our deluxe convention center offers more than 91,547 square feet of flexible event space that can be divided into as many as 32 small meeting rooms. Two large convention areas easily accommodate up to 3000 guests. Our team of professional meeting and event planners can help you coordinate a successful event complete with catering services, technical equipment, and group activities.

Dining

Piaf Restaurant
Piaf cuisine is a passion represented in a traditional way, respecting protocols and gastronomic customs found in French classic cuisine. Michele Mustiere, Chef of Restaurant Piaf, has been named a Maitre Cuisinier by the Association of Master Chefs of France. Only 300 Chefs in the entire world hold this distinction, and Chef Mustiere is one of just seven chefs in all Mexico to be recognized by the association. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Signature Restaurant by Mikel Alonso and Xavi Perez
Signature Restaurant is an experience of flavors and aromas, unveil gastronomic delicacies carefully created by international renowned Spanish Chef and Xavi Perez Stone who was the Grand finale winner of the Third Edition of Mexico's Chef of the Year in 2012, considered the best gastronomy contest for professionals in Mexico. Adults only, minimum age required 17 yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM. Kids up to 12 years old, are allowed only from 6 pm to 7:30 pm.
Aqua Bar (3)
Swim up to your favorite tropical drink while enjoying favorite swimming pool. Open daily from 10 AM to 6 PM. Aqua Bar at Adults only section is restricted to a minimum age of 18 years.
Sky Bar
Dazzling views from the roof top Sky bar- the perfect way to end an unforgettable night. Adults only minimum age required 18yrs. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Karaoke Bar (1)
Come nightfall the Lobby Bar comes to life with luscious libations and appetizing edibles, the place to be. Open daily from 6 PM to 11 PM.
Sen-Lin Bar
Exotic delights with a perfect balance.
Sen-Lin Restaurant
Serving flavourful Asian fusion cuisine, invites guests to indulge in an elegant experience of culinary delights. Children are welcomed. Open it's door March 2009.
Bistro Restaurant
A window to the Mexican Caribbean. Adults only restaurant located near the pool with oceanfront views, casual atmosphere. Minimum age required 17yrs. Open daily from 7 AM to 11 PM.
Azul Restaurant
Blending nature color palettes immersing into the white sand, turquoise sea & blue skies hues and its freeform design, Azul Restaurant endures the nature perfect balance. Casual ambiance located near the pool area. Open daily from 7 am to 11pm.
Lucca Restaurant
Italian delicacies surrounded by lush vegetation and the tranquil sounds of nature. Children are welcomed. Open daily from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Lucca menu is served at Chaka restaurant located at the Zen Ambience

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.9
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JeannieC
New Bedford, MA
May 4, 2014

Our "Unforgettable" 25th Wedding Anniversary!

From the moment we stepped foot into the Zen Lobby, to the moment we boarded the shuttle back to the airport, we were treated like royalty! Our concierges, Jorge and Angel, as well as all of the concierge staff were gracious and accommodating to our needs. We had made reservations to eat at Sen Lin Restaurant on our anniversary night and had to cancel because I had twisted my ankle and could not walk. Two of the concierge staff came to our room with a bucket of chilled champagne and a beautiful flower arrangement as well as ice for my ankle! This was a sweet and thoughtful moment that shows the caring atmosphere that prevails in this enchanting place! We did make it to Sen Lin, as well as, Lucca and Freida Restaurants and enjoyed the most amazing and uniquely delicious food and beverages, served by the most friendly and accommodating staffs! We even were graced with visits to our table from the Chefs of Sen Lin and Lucca! I have to make special mention of our amigos, Pedro and Santiago, who took care of our every need at the beach. Each time we'd go there, they would make sure I had a bag of ice to rest my ankle on and a shaded cabana, it was our perfect little paradise! Muchas gracias a mis amigos! I can not forget our other friends at the Zen Pool (the most beautiful area!) Bautista and Jacob, the bartender, who befriended my husband and made him feel at home with talk of tequilas and sporting news! We can not wait to return to the beautiful and peaceful Grand Velas Resort and Spas!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try all of the restaurants even if you don't think you'll like them! I think you will be nicely surprised! Don't hesitate to ask for suggestions from the wait staff on beverage choice or what to order, they are very knowledgeable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB fan of resort
Business
NJ
Nov 29, 2014

Memorial Birthday

Spacious and comfortable room and kind courtesy!! However it's a little difficult to understand the restaurant reservation system quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The shuttle transportation between 3 accomodation zones were so covenient and helpful that we could access to every restaurants with an infant child.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viggy
Business
Peapack, NJ
Nov 26, 2014

Superb

This was my second time visiting and it was again fantastic. I got a deal online and I honestly don't think there is better value out there.(paid approx $525 a night) I prefer the zen area as it's more private and luckily happens to be less money. I'm a bit of a hotel snob and I do not prefer all inclusives but the grand velas is just top notch. The restaurants and food are high end, the service and staff are great, and the suites and amenities are beautiful. See you all again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeS03
Business
New Jersey
Nov 13, 2014

Perfect couple getaway

Phenomenal experience at absolute 1st class resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FJK Senior
Business
Minnepolis, MN
Sep 11, 2014

Greatest All Inclusive on the Riviera

Excellence is all that needs to be stated about this resort. From the staff to the food, it was all 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cocina Autor is a must go for people looking for an adventure in food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMV ecu
Business
ecuador
Aug 28, 2014

Outstanding!!!

I have never been in a hotel like this. It seems like paradise. The staff is amazing their service outstanding, the food delicious and fhe rooms incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All restaurants amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GC23
Business
Riviera maya, mexico
Aug 19, 2014

Get ready to be spoiled

It doesn't get any better!!!! The food at the restaurants was outstanding and the service was on point. The convenience of being able to eat lunch in your lounge chair by the pool or beach really made this place an 11/10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam Cherro
Business
Wilmette
Aug 4, 2014

Excellent Family Vacation

Super clean hotel,The Food Is Excellent,Room Service is Slow, The Service at the pool is very very slow, it took almost an hour to get my order,half hour to get my drink, it was faster for me to go the bar & get it myself,,,the funny part is the bar is less than 10 feet away from the pool ,,,the reason why the service is low at the pool because they service the pool & the beach at the same time & there's not enough staff to get the service faster, othewise its excellent & no other complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Just be patient when you order room service, or drinks or food at the pool,hopefuly the they will take care take of that

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SweetRN
Business
NJ
Jul 24, 2014

Paradise

This was our 2nd visit to Grand Velas and it is by far one of the best resorts/hotels that I've ever stayed at. It is quite expensive but as they say you get what you pay for! I hope this place continues to exceed in service that they provide. My only complaint was that the airline that we flew on completely messed up our flight and our luggage was brought to the hotel at 230 am when we had arrived at the resort at 130pm.. We had completely lost one day of being able to enjoy the beach. Obviously this was not the hotels fault. I would absolutely return to this property in the future. The food, service, and ambiance is truly amazing. The beach is beautiful but there is a lot of seaweed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
T Star
Business
Houston, Texas
May 14, 2014

Ant resort galore!

This was my husband's first and last trip to Mexico, ever. I had been wanting to go the Riveria Maya since we got married, and as a Mother's day trip and wedding anniversary present, my husband reluctantly agreed. Knowing that I needed to make a lasting impression, I went all out and booked the most expensive hotel we could find in the PDC area. After reading the reviews, I was sold on Grand Velas, plus it was also in our "Hotel Collection"book provided by our credit card company, so I figured it could not be bad. I had to make sure we got a 5 star hotel. What a nightmare this trip and our room was. I should have known that there was a bug problem, we there was Raid Ant Spray in our closet right next to the safe. I suspected there would be ants outside in our private pool, but I was so wrong!! There were ants EVERY WHERE, on our dressers (not bed, thankfully), especially in the bathroom area. Please keep in mind, we left no food out ever!! Since you do get room service, I figured the ants are attracted to the food that was in the room. But our bathroom was disguisting, thousands of ants coming out of the sinks and crawling on our tolietries mind you absolutely no food in the restroom either. I suspect they were eating the stuff that the maids washed down from previous guests. Not only did, my husband and I had to deal with ants, our little 18 month old and 2.5 year old, kept scratching their heads the last two days we were there, but out bedding smelled like mold, mildew and stagnant water. I was so completely disguisted with this hotel and asked to moved rooms later that day, and they told me none and I needed to call back later the next afternoon after people checked out. Mind you the hotel had probably about 100 people in our section, even the shuttle driver told us there were only about 50 guests in the Ambassador area. By that time, I would call on the next afternoon, we would already being leaving the next day or so, so we decided to not pack all of our stuff again so we tolerated it. Other misc. stuff, my kids would not eat the Mexican food, and the pool water in our room was stagnant, like an outdoor tub, is all it equates too. The water in the private pool was slimy and probably rarely ever cleaned. We asked them to clean it and they came the next day finally, our last day, which we didn't get in the pool after he cleaned. Overall, I would save your money stay at another 4 star hotel in the area. It is all the same in Riveria Maya area. Same service and quality of food and facility. Nothing spectacular at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queen City Traveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 6, 2014

Fabulous Resort

I highly recommend Grand VeLas. The food was great, even the presentation of the food. There was a large offering of drinks and an abundance of staff so you could always get what you needed. Everyone was polite and made you feel important. The resort is in a beautiful setting and the accommodations were clean, modern and had plenty of room. The pool is amazing and there were plenty of beach loungers with cushions and cabanas. It was one of my favorite vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top