$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
107 reviews
good resort

great resort, excellent services, needs improvement on the beach, See full review

  • luis mtz
  • Oct 26, 2014
Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go!... See full review

  • Maddog
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 107
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pumucle
Business
atlanta
Aug 8, 2012

No smile

The staffs were not kind and had no willing to help customers. I don't want to stay there again. I won't recommend this hotel my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationer DY
Business
New Jersey
Aug 14, 2013

Wasn't What I Was Expecting

So I had booked 2 villas for a pretty good price thinking that it was going to be amazing. We had a late flight so we got to the hotel around 11 or so at night. First thing we notice is a dead cockroach in the closet of on the rooms and later on an alive one with insects scattered around the room. We believe this was because we had an outdoor shower. So we were arranged to move into a villa on the second floor which was a lot better. However the next night we found a small worm in our bed sheets near our pillow so we got that removed. Food wasn't good except for one place called Tapas. Beach was not as clear as we thought it would be. Not enough entertainment. Service was very good overall throughout the resort with the exception of the long waiting room exchange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UnhappyTraveling
Business
Denver,CO
Oct 27, 2014

Horrible experience

This is my 7th time visiting Mexico and I have always been impressed. Unfortunately this was the worst vacation I have ever experienced. Upon arrival there was no one greeting or offering beverages like every other hotel in Mexico. We had to wait in line and once we final reached the counter there was no friendly greeting and they spent 30 minutes staring at a screen before they told us there was no reservation. I showed all my reservation confirmations and proof of payment from my account but she told us the only way we cound get a room would be to give her a Credit card. I did, just wanting to settle in after a long day of travel. Once that was finished she told us the room would not be ready for 2 hours. 3 hours later we come to check into our room to be told it is still not ready but the manager would check to see soon. They ended up putting us in an alternative room until ours was finished 7 hours after arriving only to find a room that was not ready and under construction. We at that point realized the reason it took so long was because the Family section was under construction - incuding no bunk beds as promised, no alarm clock, only one twin bed for 2 children, a shower that leaked all over the floor both inside and outside of the shower, a safe that broke with all our belongings inside including our cash and passports, sheets that were not changed out, I had to call for room service, and a TV that was not even hooked up to cable. You can imagine the frustration at this point. We also had to go back up to the check in counter 2 additional times before they finally found our original reservation (this was on the last day of our 8 day vacation). We were only 1 of 7 families staying in this new section of the resort therefore - no consierge, no kids play area - as both were promised, and since it was under constructions lots on noise and banging to complete all other rooms early in the morning. I wish I would have know or I would have choosing another room. Next I want to comment on the service, no one seems happy or excited to work here, no one says hello or smiles as they pass you, when you do request something or need assistance they refer you to someone else and typically that requires another long walk just to find out no one is there. The Food was Horrible at the buffets, the Specialty restaurants were ok of you could get a reservation. There was not one day that passed that we did not have something terrible wrong happen. The ocean also has a sulfar spring right in the center so water is red, super salty and stinky. This is the first vacation I have ever had where my entire family was ready to go home days prior to the end of our trip. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JPAm
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 16, 2012

Never again

Although the resort wait staff was OK, the front desk staff was dis-respectful and less than helpful. After messing up my reservations, they put me in the wrong type of room and really could have cared less if I was a happy guest or not. It wasn't until I reached out to travel agent that things got straighten out. Thank you to my travel website for rescuing my vacation. No thanks to the front desk at the Grand Princess. I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go see Xplor. It was a great time. Also if you want to go diving in Cozumel. Use ScubaTony. They were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Italithai
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2013

Dirty Room, Vendor-Crowded Beach, Not ALL Included

We stayed here along with another couple May 18th-22nd. The other couple had the same disappointing experience we did. We arrived at 12pm, check in was not until 3pm, my fault for not checking. They are very strict on this, so don't come early thinking you can get to your room a little early (even if you offer to pay more). We get to the room to find the 'minibar' un-stocked, a half empty water bottle, and fridge warm (no freezer in the mini fridge). Normally we would not mind but we were traveling with our 9 month old daughter so we needed a cool place to store her milk. The bathroom was dirty (found a huge toenail on the floor GROSS!) The tub was dirty or stained, and there were only two bath towels, and no hand towels. These things all sound minor but when you arrive at a hotel, you expect things to be clean, and pretty... not the case for us. On to the beach. This is probably the WORST part of this resort. When you think Riviera Maya, you think beautiful blue beach, amazing views, and relaxation. Not the case here. Unless you are in the privileged suites area, you walk onto the beach and are IMMEDIATELY harassed to do a massage, snorkeling/diving trip ect. There are vendors lined up all along the beach selling everything from scuba trips to henna tattoos. You cannot bring your beach chair past the vendors (it's roped off) so you get to sit on a beach, in a beach chair, and stare at huts selling junk. Behind the huts is the beach, which gets very overcrowded because of the lack of space between the vendors and water. Next is the privileged suites only amenities. Unless you have booked your privileged suite, you DO NOT HAVE FREE WIFI it's $60 a week for us regular folk... top shelf alcohol is available at all bars FOR A CHARGE if you are not a privileged patron. I don't mind having special amenities for people who pay more but it was quite embarrassing when I was told I do not have the correct wrist band to order absolute vodka in my drink, and WiFi is free in EVERY SINGLE other all-inclusive resort I have stayed at. Buffet was sub-par, steakhouse/grill restaurant was delicious, and the Mexican restaurant was essentially the same you could find at the buffet. Needless to say we will not be returning to this resort, and I highly recommend Sandos Playacar over this resort any-day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christina2011
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

So so facility

Traveled with children and teenagers , required two rooms near each other at first we were told we can't accommodate your request because we assign rooms the night before arrival . After a tiresome ordeal we were given two rooms on separate floors and very apart (again traveling with children) ,and both rOOMShad king size beds not a double , and told we would be room changed in the morning, furious we returned to front desk and Antonella corrected the situation and gave us rooms only two rooms apart , nice rooms too. Reservations were made at the Mexican restaurant , friendly service, and Japanese ( yummy). Food was repeated for the four days , nice beach , grand pools , restaurant workers work hard tip when possible but will not return to this property again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
roberto m
Business
miami, fl
Aug 21, 2013

very poor food quality.

check in process is a mess. food quality is very poor. employees are nice. rooms are nice. beach has rocks. pool activities are fun. tennis instructor is awesome (luis coronado) night shows are ok spa is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Covina, ca
Aug 1, 2011

the Good, the bad, and the really ugly

The resort is very large, so if you want to go to the pool or beach, you have to walk about 15 minutes if your in the front units. Don't pay for the differnce between the Deluxe Jr. suite or the Jr. Suite, there is not much of a differnce. Rooms were not done until after 3:00. You can check in before 3:00 but they will not issue keys until 3:00, so when 3:00 approaches, you waiting in line for about 30 minutes to get your keys. Service was good in very few resturants, otherwise, you had to call them just to bring water to you. we complained, and they always mentioned that they were totally booked so we felt that was there out, to saying we are sorry. Only two beers per day in the mini-refrig. provided in the room, so its not fully stocked. No alarm clock in the rooms. Too many merchants booths line up on the beach, so you do not get a clear view of the beach from your lounge chair. Could not see my kids when in the water. Beach is a little rocky and water is not clear, unlike the Beaches in Cancun, which are cystal clear. I would not recommend this resort or ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveljunkie25
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 26, 2014

Slippery slope to a bad experience...

This trip was a family vacation for our fathers 50th birthday. We had 4 platinum rooms, and were all very excited about this trip. However I was very disappointed in this resort. I myself work in the hospitality industry and have gone on multiple vacations. Here are the issues I had with this resort stay: 1. The ground throughout the resort is super slippery. For a resort that is covered with pools and direct access to the beach, there is way too much tile and a huge slip hazards on all the walkways. 3 people in my party slipped during our stay. 2. The food was terrible. Bad quality. Super slow service especially with refilling beverages. And terrible customer service. Example (1): Our first night getting a sit down meal the resort lost our reservation forcing my dad to have to walk all the way back to the platinum suites to retrieve the ticket before they would set us a table in the empty restaurant. And then took over an hour to get the first course. (And please note that the heat index at this resort was insane, and men were required to wear pants and close toed shoes to dinner in restaurants that kept their AC at 82F.) Example (2): For my dad's 50th birthday dinner at the steak restaurant (that has a huge fire grill near seating), the AC was broken and when we asked the hostess&waiter about the heat they only responded with (I'm paraphrasing) "if you don't like it you can leave". 3. The housekeepers were picketing in front of the resort. Saying the managers force them to work overtime and don't pay them for it. Super uncomfortable for the guests. The parts we did enjoy: 1. The spa water circuit 2. The bartenders in the Platinum Riviera Lounge 3. The private seats for the Platinum guests on the beach Thank you for reading my review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alenat
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Oct 27, 2014

All inclusive doesn't really means what it is day in this hotel

This hotel remains me of a cheap airline, which is trying to get every nickel and dime from you on your way to your destination. Room and the internet services are not included in the price (try to define ALL INCLUSIVE” there), but if you upgrade to a more expensive villa or a "PLATINUM" section of the hotel you’ll get some of it. Villa does make a difference for an extra $190 per night, but "platinum” section of the hotel is a total waste of money. You may get a burrito late at night after waiting for at least an hour and a lousy internet service "for free" but that's about it. The sheer ambiance in this hotel is not as four star hotels are. My wife, my daughter, and her boyfriend rated this place on par of some Vegas motels where you see a sign "ELVIS SLEPT HERE". In Mexico, I guess it would sound "A JOSE SLEPT HERE", just to explain which one.. I would not recommend this place to anyone and it is on my 'NO TO STAY" list of the Riviera Hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Another Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top