$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
relax vacation

Hotel is excellent the only complaint is on the two bar pools need better stairs for old people and... See full review

  • Diana y Javier
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great Hotel, Amazing Staff

The staff at the Princess hotels were amazing. They were helpful and extremely friendly. The food... See full review

  • Eric Oranges
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryan Pet
Lodi, NJ
Jun 7, 2014

Do not stay here unless you want to get ripped off

We were lied to by the staff and after 20 min of asking for a king size bed after being told there were none, we were given a room with one. Then the room had bodily fluids all over the sheets and hair on the soap. We were told after showing the concierge staff the issue were still told it was clean. You have to take a trolley to get to the lobby. The lobby staff was rude and do not care about anything you have to say. They laugh at you and make fun of you in Spanish especially Luis and Rafael at the front desk. They thought we didn't understand but my wife is fluent in Spanish. Then we had to wait for an hour to speak to the manager Amaury who again doesn't care but agreed to give us a full refund. I'm still waiting for it. We left after only one night and instead of them making things right they laughed and said good for you we don't want you to stay anyway. We left on 6/2/14 after arriving 6/1/14 so we are due a refund. The concierge name Juan Carlos does nothing to help you even when we told him about the bodily fluids and showed him. He said just be lucky it's good luck And good for your skin. Do not stay here and hopefully if enough people refuse too they will get what they deserve and shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Pug
IL
Feb 2, 2014

Relaxing

We just got back last night...was a relaxing vacation. We stayed in the Villas which was well worth the upgrade for what all is included...is time for a little freshening in the rooms though... Rating is most reflective that the food was just, ok. The Romantic dinner at Chill Out was not included in the all inclusive but was definitely a highlight of the trip. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chill Out" Romantic dinner on the beach...

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDudeAbides
Fairfax, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Staff, nice rooms, not very accomodating

Let me break this down into the good, and the bad: Good: The staff, the rooms, the drinks The Bad: The beach (it isn't bad, just isn't "Great"), The Food is terrible (except the a la carte restaurants which you need reservations for), and the hotel is WAYY to spread out. Additionally, I called a month before my trip asking for ocean view, and a king bed, I got neither. They did nothing to fix it, so I was stuck sleeping on two double beds (pushed together). Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I felt of all the times I've been to the carribean (5) and the times I've been to mexico (4), this resort wasn't worth going back to. You can do a lot better with your money, even if you sacrifice a little in the room. If you DO book here, make sure you book Platinum. The food, drinks and service is MUCH better if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The swimming with Whale Sharks experience is a once in a lifetime thing. It only happens from June - August, but wow.... it's awesome. Do it.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaribTraveler
New Hampshire
Oct 30, 2012

The good, the bad, the ugly

My wife and I just got back and would like to give our input. Pros - The hotel was beautifully landscaped and gives a tropical paradise look and feel that gave a very nice first impression. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of food chioces with 4 buffet restraunts open in 4 hours blocks for morning afternoon and evening. Very large pool wth swim up suites and swim up bars. All Alcohol is included and to our suprise were top brands like Johnny Walker scotch ad Corona Beer. With so many bars in the hotel you will not have a problem finding a drink. Cons - Too much walking, the hotel is built out not up so it is a good 15 min walk from lobby to the room. It doesnt sound like a lot but you will end up walking that several times a day in the hot weather(my bad back was pretty sore by end of week). The food taste was just ok and It seemed like they recycled the food into different dishes and served at other meals. Conclusion - If your the partying type then I would recommend this hotel to you as the pool and beach party's were great. If your Handicapped, have a bad back, legs, I would find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When you go to Coba ...rent a bike!!! walking for miles in the heat was rough.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recent GRP Traveler
CA
Aug 14, 2012

Beautiful Location...Some Downsides

The resort itself was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a Platinum Suite, which had some positives and major negatives. The room was nice and big, but had a horrible horrible musty/mold-like smell and was EXTREMELY humid! No matter how low we tried to turn down the A/C it never got rid of the humidity and never got any cooler. We had issues with the outdoor jacuzzi knob breaking and having to get replaced (lost one night of jacuzzing b/c of it) and it took FOREVER for it to fill up (also the same one in the bathroom). We also had issues with breakers blowing if too many things were plugged in/on at the same time. We were under the impression that we would have vodka included in the room, which it wasn't. The premium bar consisted of a small bottle of tequila and 2 different types of rum. The Platinum Suites private pool and lounge was nice, which included free use of computers/Wi-Fi. The bar that was in the lounge closed at 11pm, which sucked considering the closest bar was all the way at the front of the resort...about a 15 minute walk or you had to catch a shuttle that came every 10-15 minutes. The lounge also had a 24-hour concierge available, which was helpful and we utilized numerous times! The beach was beautiful and very relaxing. We never had to worry about getting lounge chairs at the beach, which I know some people complained about. The grill on the beach was great...some of the best food at the resort. Beware that when getting in the water, the first 1 1/2-2 ft is covered with small pebbles/shells/rocks, which HURT your feet really bad! The water temperature was perfect though and hardly had any waves...nice to just cool off and float in the water. The food was overall pretty subpar. The buffets were terrible. We found that the best way to order breakfast was through room service, the best place for lunch was the grill on the beach and the restaurants open for dinner were hit or miss. The mexican restaurant and italian restaurant were terrible...food was cold and not good. The grill and chinese/tepanyaki restaurant were fabulous! Highly recommend only eating dinner at those 2 restaurants. The nightly shows at the resort were great and the drinks were pretty good at most of the bars. Sometimes the vodka had a weird taste like rum...but you couldn't go wrong with margaritas or fruity type drinks. The resort had 2 really good drinks I would highly recommend....Bahama Mama and Purple Rain. Overall, we had a nice time, but would probably prefer to stay at a smaller resort in a non-humid room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort offers a shuttle to downtown Playa del Carmen, but you have to book at the Grand Sunset Princess 24 hours in advance starting at 8am (books up fast). A taxi ride to/from town costs $40.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott123
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Too big!

If you're looking for a weekend getaway with pool and drinks this is fine. If you want good food and more amenities look elsewhere. If you don't upgrade to a suite the only restaurant reservations made available to you are 6PM and you aren't allowed to dine at over half of the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
l.m.g.
connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

o.k. vacation

we had o.k. time.the water is beautiful,but a lot of rocks.need special shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed explorer
Chicago, il
Oct 1, 2013

Not so great

I booked my stay at the grand riviera princess and somehow ended up with grand sunset princess. Not exactly sure what the difference but it should've been explained. I was not pleased with their service. The concierge was not very helpful and was very un-accommodating. The view and sights were nice. Also, there were lots of Mosquitos in the room. On my next trip, I would rather pay a little more for a much better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mauchiappe
Bogota, Colombia
Aug 8, 2012

Great Getaway

The hotel is good.....Have a problem with mosquitos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Is very close to Playacar

Back to menu Return to top