$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Mom 2012
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2012

Huge and friendly staff but needs some TLC!!!!

The hotel is quite overwhelming. It was great that it was large but the downfall was that we had to walk about 10 - 15 minutes from the lobby or the restaurants to get back to our room. There was plenty of areas to swim which was great! You did not feel like you were on top of one another because there were different spots throughout. The beach and pools were beautiful. The not so good side of the hotel was that there were tiny insects in the room. The jacuzzi was dirty, with some stains that I guess they could not remove. One night two baby lizards got into our room and I had to call the front desk to get someone to remove them. However, even with that the bed was comfy, the room and bathroom was a good size. Overall my experience at the Grand Riviera Princess was very good. The staff was always pleasant, I even got upgraded and the front desk person was very nice and accommodating. My recommendation to improve the hotel experience would be to get more housekeepers to clean better. I know the place is huge so maybe they don't have enough help. The food was mediocre. The restaurants to me were not 4 stars. I think they were about 3 stars (edible but no real WOW factor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely venture off the resort to try authentic Mexican cuisine by going to 5th Avenue. There are a slew of restaurants that are well worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaribTraveler
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 30, 2012

The good, the bad, the ugly

My wife and I just got back and would like to give our input. Pros - The hotel was beautifully landscaped and gives a tropical paradise look and feel that gave a very nice first impression. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of food chioces with 4 buffet restraunts open in 4 hours blocks for morning afternoon and evening. Very large pool wth swim up suites and swim up bars. All Alcohol is included and to our suprise were top brands like Johnny Walker scotch ad Corona Beer. With so many bars in the hotel you will not have a problem finding a drink. Cons - Too much walking, the hotel is built out not up so it is a good 15 min walk from lobby to the room. It doesnt sound like a lot but you will end up walking that several times a day in the hot weather(my bad back was pretty sore by end of week). The food taste was just ok and It seemed like they recycled the food into different dishes and served at other meals. Conclusion - If your the partying type then I would recommend this hotel to you as the pool and beach party's were great. If your Handicapped, have a bad back, legs, I would find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When you go to Coba ...rent a bike!!! walking for miles in the heat was rough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
l.m.g.
Business
connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

o.k. vacation

we had o.k. time.the water is beautiful,but a lot of rocks.need special shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lsandlund
Business
Ogden, utah
May 12, 2013

Princess Riviera

We decided to upgrade to platinum which was a good decision for us, without an upgrade the amenities are limited. I didn't like that about this resort, all-inclusive should be all-inclusive. The grounds and facilities are top notch but the food and service from the staff is average at best. We've traveled to Mexico 8 times in the last ten years and I would say this resort ranks somewhere in the middle of the pack. You need a reservation to eat at the restaurants which was an inconvenience most days as we would would have liked to stay by the pool longer or weren't hungry for dinner yet, just little things. We had a great time and it's very nice resort but could improve a couple things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to platinum level, it was well worth it to us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riviera maya pro
Business
CT
May 16, 2013

Just ok!

So let me start by saying its beautiful!!!! Rooms large and clean (jr suite deluxe). Food was good. Drinks were strong! But This resort is extremely large. A ton of walking . A Super downfall for me is no ocean view when at the pools! Also no bottled water service anywhere. You get 2 medium sized bottles in your room but that's it! You can buy them at shop for $6 usd I'm really this is a HUGE issue for me. I would not return just on these two thing alone. But again it's beautiful grounds but you won't see them all cause its that big! But everyone has there likes and dislikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegerator USA
Business
Sterling, MA
May 18, 2013

Not what I expected

I've been to the Playa del Carmen area 4 times prior to this stay. This resort is huge and it's beautiful - marble everywhere. If you are not into walking a lot, and I mean a lot, then this is not the place for you. It's almost 1/2 mile from the lobby to the ocean. Everything requires a lengthy walk and stairs. The walkways and pool decks are very slippery and I saw several people take nasty falls - even before they got to the bar! The mattress and pillows were like granite. The housekeeper kept taking the bath towels and only replacing them with one towel. No matter how many times I complained, one of us had to use our beach towel to shower. The food was plentiful, but the overall quality I would rank as average-at-best. I went to the concierge desk only once and was pretty much blown off by the person working there. I wanted to go into the town to shop and was informed that the shuttles must be reserved a day in advance. She then picked up the phone and dialed before I could ask anything else. I paid more for this trip than I have for any other trip and have had very good experiences up until now. I always stay at a 4 star or better resort and this resort is not 4 star, in my opinion. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDudeAbides
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Staff, nice rooms, not very accomodating

Let me break this down into the good, and the bad: Good: The staff, the rooms, the drinks The Bad: The beach (it isn't bad, just isn't "Great"), The Food is terrible (except the a la carte restaurants which you need reservations for), and the hotel is WAYY to spread out. Additionally, I called a month before my trip asking for ocean view, and a king bed, I got neither. They did nothing to fix it, so I was stuck sleeping on two double beds (pushed together). Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I felt of all the times I've been to the carribean (5) and the times I've been to mexico (4), this resort wasn't worth going back to. You can do a lot better with your money, even if you sacrifice a little in the room. If you DO book here, make sure you book Platinum. The food, drinks and service is MUCH better if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The swimming with Whale Sharks experience is a once in a lifetime thing. It only happens from June - August, but wow.... it's awesome. Do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
best mami
Business
San Diego Ca
Jul 1, 2013

great family vacation

The hotel is good we love it but the beach it's not amazing a lot of rocks and the color it's not blue it's green and in some places brown and smelly the buffet average. The best reserved restaurant was Le Fleur we didn't like Miso too salty and Las Olas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
Business
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed explorer
Business
Chicago, il
Oct 1, 2013

Not so great

I booked my stay at the grand riviera princess and somehow ended up with grand sunset princess. Not exactly sure what the difference but it should've been explained. I was not pleased with their service. The concierge was not very helpful and was very un-accommodating. The view and sights were nice. Also, there were lots of Mosquitos in the room. On my next trip, I would rather pay a little more for a much better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top