$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 15, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
Loved this Resort!

We had an amazing trip at The Grand Princess Riviera Maya! Comparing it to 3 other hotels we've... See full review

  • MikiSims81
  • Aug 19, 2014
Friends and family vacation

The hotel was very nice and clean. We can't say enough about the staff there work so hard for so... See full review

  • Pretty boy
  • Jul 28, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pumucle
atlanta
Aug 8, 2012

No smile

The staffs were not kind and had no willing to help customers. I don't want to stay there again. I won't recommend this hotel my friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationer DY
New Jersey
Aug 14, 2013

Wasn't What I Was Expecting

So I had booked 2 villas for a pretty good price thinking that it was going to be amazing. We had a late flight so we got to the hotel around 11 or so at night. First thing we notice is a dead cockroach in the closet of on the rooms and later on an alive one with insects scattered around the room. We believe this was because we had an outdoor shower. So we were arranged to move into a villa on the second floor which was a lot better. However the next night we found a small worm in our bed sheets near our pillow so we got that removed. Food wasn't good except for one place called Tapas. Beach was not as clear as we thought it would be. Not enough entertainment. Service was very good overall throughout the resort with the exception of the long waiting room exchange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gandalfdea
Wisconsin
Dec 15, 2013

Mixed Emotions

The resort /facility had many nice features, but these pluses were more than offset by the problem with HVAC /mold / mildew situation. Our group stayed in many different building and the problem existed in all of them. HVAC desperately needs some remediation / replacement work. The smell stayed in everything (clothes, luggage, plastics) we had in the room and required a lot of Lysol spray to get rid of it. Unfortunate as it could be an nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Maya ruins of Tulum! Well worth the rental car cost to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryan Pet
Lodi, NJ
Jun 7, 2014

Do not stay here unless you want to get ripped off

We were lied to by the staff and after 20 min of asking for a king size bed after being told there were none, we were given a room with one. Then the room had bodily fluids all over the sheets and hair on the soap. We were told after showing the concierge staff the issue were still told it was clean. You have to take a trolley to get to the lobby. The lobby staff was rude and do not care about anything you have to say. They laugh at you and make fun of you in Spanish especially Luis and Rafael at the front desk. They thought we didn't understand but my wife is fluent in Spanish. Then we had to wait for an hour to speak to the manager Amaury who again doesn't care but agreed to give us a full refund. I'm still waiting for it. We left after only one night and instead of them making things right they laughed and said good for you we don't want you to stay anyway. We left on 6/2/14 after arriving 6/1/14 so we are due a refund. The concierge name Juan Carlos does nothing to help you even when we told him about the bodily fluids and showed him. He said just be lucky it's good luck And good for your skin. Do not stay here and hopefully if enough people refuse too they will get what they deserve and shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
roberto m
miami, fl
Aug 21, 2013

very poor food quality.

check in process is a mess. food quality is very poor. employees are nice. rooms are nice. beach has rocks. pool activities are fun. tennis instructor is awesome (luis coronado) night shows are ok spa is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveljunkie25
Orlando, Fl
Jul 26, 2014

Slippery slope to a bad experience...

This trip was a family vacation for our fathers 50th birthday. We had 4 platinum rooms, and were all very excited about this trip. However I was very disappointed in this resort. I myself work in the hospitality industry and have gone on multiple vacations. Here are the issues I had with this resort stay: 1. The ground throughout the resort is super slippery. For a resort that is covered with pools and direct access to the beach, there is way too much tile and a huge slip hazards on all the walkways. 3 people in my party slipped during our stay. 2. The food was terrible. Bad quality. Super slow service especially with refilling beverages. And terrible customer service. Example (1): Our first night getting a sit down meal the resort lost our reservation forcing my dad to have to walk all the way back to the platinum suites to retrieve the ticket before they would set us a table in the empty restaurant. And then took over an hour to get the first course. (And please note that the heat index at this resort was insane, and men were required to wear pants and close toed shoes to dinner in restaurants that kept their AC at 82F.) Example (2): For my dad's 50th birthday dinner at the steak restaurant (that has a huge fire grill near seating), the AC was broken and when we asked the hostess&waiter about the heat they only responded with (I'm paraphrasing) "if you don't like it you can leave". 3. The housekeepers were picketing in front of the resort. Saying the managers force them to work overtime and don't pay them for it. Super uncomfortable for the guests. The parts we did enjoy: 1. The spa water circuit 2. The bartenders in the Platinum Riviera Lounge 3. The private seats for the Platinum guests on the beach Thank you for reading my review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christina2011
New York
Jun 21, 2013

So so facility

Traveled with children and teenagers , required two rooms near each other at first we were told we can't accommodate your request because we assign rooms the night before arrival . After a tiresome ordeal we were given two rooms on separate floors and very apart (again traveling with children) ,and both rOOMShad king size beds not a double , and told we would be room changed in the morning, furious we returned to front desk and Antonella corrected the situation and gave us rooms only two rooms apart , nice rooms too. Reservations were made at the Mexican restaurant , friendly service, and Japanese ( yummy). Food was repeated for the four days , nice beach , grand pools , restaurant workers work hard tip when possible but will not return to this property again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JPAm
Charlotte, NC
Jul 16, 2012

Never again

Although the resort wait staff was OK, the front desk staff was dis-respectful and less than helpful. After messing up my reservations, they put me in the wrong type of room and really could have cared less if I was a happy guest or not. It wasn't until I reached out to travel agent that things got straighten out. Thank you to my travel website for rescuing my vacation. No thanks to the front desk at the Grand Princess. I will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

go see Xplor. It was a great time. Also if you want to go diving in Cozumel. Use ScubaTony. They were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Covina, ca
Aug 1, 2011

the Good, the bad, and the really ugly

The resort is very large, so if you want to go to the pool or beach, you have to walk about 15 minutes if your in the front units. Don't pay for the differnce between the Deluxe Jr. suite or the Jr. Suite, there is not much of a differnce. Rooms were not done until after 3:00. You can check in before 3:00 but they will not issue keys until 3:00, so when 3:00 approaches, you waiting in line for about 30 minutes to get your keys. Service was good in very few resturants, otherwise, you had to call them just to bring water to you. we complained, and they always mentioned that they were totally booked so we felt that was there out, to saying we are sorry. Only two beers per day in the mini-refrig. provided in the room, so its not fully stocked. No alarm clock in the rooms. Too many merchants booths line up on the beach, so you do not get a clear view of the beach from your lounge chair. Could not see my kids when in the water. Beach is a little rocky and water is not clear, unlike the Beaches in Cancun, which are cystal clear. I would not recommend this resort or ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Italithai
New Jersey
May 23, 2013

Dirty Room, Vendor-Crowded Beach, Not ALL Included

We stayed here along with another couple May 18th-22nd. The other couple had the same disappointing experience we did. We arrived at 12pm, check in was not until 3pm, my fault for not checking. They are very strict on this, so don't come early thinking you can get to your room a little early (even if you offer to pay more). We get to the room to find the 'minibar' un-stocked, a half empty water bottle, and fridge warm (no freezer in the mini fridge). Normally we would not mind but we were traveling with our 9 month old daughter so we needed a cool place to store her milk. The bathroom was dirty (found a huge toenail on the floor GROSS!) The tub was dirty or stained, and there were only two bath towels, and no hand towels. These things all sound minor but when you arrive at a hotel, you expect things to be clean, and pretty... not the case for us. On to the beach. This is probably the WORST part of this resort. When you think Riviera Maya, you think beautiful blue beach, amazing views, and relaxation. Not the case here. Unless you are in the privileged suites area, you walk onto the beach and are IMMEDIATELY harassed to do a massage, snorkeling/diving trip ect. There are vendors lined up all along the beach selling everything from scuba trips to henna tattoos. You cannot bring your beach chair past the vendors (it's roped off) so you get to sit on a beach, in a beach chair, and stare at huts selling junk. Behind the huts is the beach, which gets very overcrowded because of the lack of space between the vendors and water. Next is the privileged suites only amenities. Unless you have booked your privileged suite, you DO NOT HAVE FREE WIFI it's $60 a week for us regular folk... top shelf alcohol is available at all bars FOR A CHARGE if you are not a privileged patron. I don't mind having special amenities for people who pay more but it was quite embarrassing when I was told I do not have the correct wrist band to order absolute vodka in my drink, and WiFi is free in EVERY SINGLE other all-inclusive resort I have stayed at. Buffet was sub-par, steakhouse/grill restaurant was delicious, and the Mexican restaurant was essentially the same you could find at the buffet. Needless to say we will not be returning to this resort, and I highly recommend Sandos Playacar over this resort any-day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search