$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
91 reviews
Loved this Resort!

We had an amazing trip at The Grand Princess Riviera Maya! Comparing it to 3 other hotels we've... See full review

  • MikiSims81
  • Aug 19, 2014
Friends and family vacation

The hotel was very nice and clean. We can't say enough about the staff there work so hard for so... See full review

  • Pretty boy
  • Jul 28, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D and Mag
Franklin, TN
Jul 22, 2012

Fabulous resort!

Could not have had better service! Stayed in a platinum suite with the most beautiful ocean view! Drinks are top notch, food was as good as at any other all-inclusive with some being superior. You will not regret your choice if you pick this resort! Traveled with children so did not mind shallow water in ocean, do bring water shoes though. Vendors on beach are not obnoxious...just say no. Platinum bar staff and snacks were excellent. Made best cappuccino I've ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Local vendors set up in plaza on site on Thursday night...a must do!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikiSims81
Hinckley, Ohio
Aug 19, 2014

Loved this Resort!

We had an amazing trip at The Grand Princess Riviera Maya! Comparing it to 3 other hotels we've stayed at : Gran Bahia Principe, The Grand Palladium, & Barcelo Palace Deluxe - this hotel is definitely up there. We read reviews & were a little worried. I assure you that those people were nitpicking on petty things like towel made figures and what not. Yes, there is a 7-10 minute walk to the beach if you stay at the farthest hotel rooms, (which we did), but along the walk, you have mini bars and gorgeous pools alongside. The food was incredible as were the restaurants. We stayed in the Junior Suite (3rd floor) and have to say the beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice. We traveled with two kids and they had a great time as well. Two shows per evening (we stayed 7 days). Would recommend to any travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Your better off booking "regular" rather than Platinum. It appears that the people who book Platinum were the ones who left the worst reviews, even though they were closest to the beach. They had the farthest walk to the main hotel buffets, restaurants, shows, & bars.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkiKat
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 12, 2012

Grand Riviera Princess - EXCELLENT PLACE

This was our fourth time to travel to an all inclusive resort and this place was excellent. Our room was perfect, the food was great, and the people were so friendly and accommodating. The only thing I was disappointed in was the specialty restaurants. It required reservations two days in advance and very limited availability. And after getting a reservation at Las Olas it was a disappointment. Everything else about the resort was EXCELLENT ! I would highly recommend Grand Riviera Princess and our next trip to Mexico will be back to this resort. E. Cooke, Baton Rouge, LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take in the local shopping you need to make your "Free Shuttle" reservations well in advance. Very limited seating. The taxi ride is $20 each way.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYtraveler5
New York, NY, USA
Mar 19, 2012

great place to relax

We only spent one night at the Princess at the end of our vacation. It was a beautiful resort -- the landscaping was amazing, and the pools were endless. Many of the rooms have personal entrances to the pools from their private balconies. The crowd was a mix of Spring break partiers, families and couples. All of the staff were very accomodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to nearby Dos Ojos Cenote and swim/snorkel in the caves!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kickin it in the sun
Wyoming, USA
Dec 27, 2011

A Perfect Family Getaway

This was our first stay at the Grand Riviera Princess, but 3rd overall trip to the Riviera Maya area. The hotel was wonderful and the staff was excellent. It's incredible how hard they work to please the guests. We took our daughters, ages 11 and 13 and they had a great time as well. A note of caution, the resort is very large and takes a bit to walk to the restaurants, beaches, etc..., but that's really nothing since the weather is absolutely incredible. There is so much to do at this resort and you can choose if you wish to be more or less involved. The swimup bars are fantastic and the beach is wonderful. There are some quirks with the beach since the hotel doesn't own it, the government does. They actually lease out some of their primo areas of the beach to dealer who then charges you to sit in his chairs, this was strange, but there are plenty of other areas for you to sit. Get a massage on the beach, well worth it and better than the spa. We actually had 2 during our week stay. We've stayed at other resorts, and the beds were like concrete, but not here, they were most comfortable and the rooms were very clean, each and everyday. The buffets get a little bland after awhile, seems like the same things over and over, but book the ala carte restaurants early and you'll enjoy the food. We ate at 4 of them and they were all wonderful. Also, we booked Xel Ha and Tulum! Incredible areas, we wish we would have had more time at Xel Ha! Beach is awesome, drinks were wonderful, and the staff is excellent, will definitely book this resort again. We had junior deluxe, not sure if Platinum is worth it, is what we heard from other guests. Awesome getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you've never been to Playa Del Carmen, definitely go. Don't use the ATM there though, very expensive in fees. I would use your credit cards in the restaurants and use Pesos when purchasing things. They'll take USD, but your exchange rate isn't as good.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proulxmaster
Edmonton Alberta
May 12, 2013

Great wedding location

We went with people of all ages for a wedding and regret nothing! Everyone had a blast. Good food drinks and atmosphere for young and old! Very clean resort. Only downside was lack of late night food. Definitely recommend the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annual Friendcation
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
May 28, 2012

BOOK NOW --- THIS PLACE IS AMAZING!!!

This place was great! LOOK NO FURTHER - THIS IS THE BEST VALUE FOR THE AREA --- TRUST ME, I ALREADY LOOKED! All food & alcohol included in the price. Although tipping is included, we still tipped at "a la carte" restaurants and for alcoholic beverages. I've been to several all-inclusive resorts, and this place has by far been my favorite.... watched a few youtube videos online to see tours of the resort, rooms, etc. There are "party pools" & other areas for those looking to party, and also relaxing pools & romantic areas for others. A great mix of everything you could want. I DEFINITELY recommend going with the Platinum level suites --- it's worth the price difference (it's the closest rooms to the beach, and you have a private lounge with premium beverages, snacks, etc.). Platinum also gets you access to additional restaurants & a private reserved area on the beach with drink butler service (all included in the price). Try the Steak House - the t-bone is bigger than your face! I heard Miso a la carte Restaurant was a great restaurant, but with 12 a la carte restaurants to choose from & with us only staying 5 nights, we didn't make it many of the restaurants. We took an excursion to Tulum Mayan Ruins for a day - it was awesome to see and our driver stopped at a great restaurant overlooking the ocean on our way home. Felt very safe everywhere we went - but we always had a guide or driver with us (he even waited outside the bathrooms for us to come out, making sure we were safe).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

All meals included - whether it's the buffets, room service (included for Platinum Level), A la Carte Restaurants.... Make your reservations for a la carte restaurants on your first day!!!! They book quick!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty boy
Fall River Ma
Jul 28, 2014

Friends and family vacation

The hotel was very nice and clean. We can't say enough about the staff there work so hard for so little . We will be back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The place is very big. I would stay in the middle .

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonita Chicita
Regina, SK, Canada
Feb 15, 2012

Fabulous Mexican Getaway!

This was my 3rd trip to Mexico and I would definitely stay at The Grand Riviera/Sunset Princess resort again. Tons of activities and things to do on the resort, no need to leave at all. Of course venturing out to Playa Del Carmen and Coco Bongo can be amazing fun too. Staff were great, rooms were lovely, had an all around great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The a la carte starts taking reservations at 2 BUT only has one person working at that time which makes for a long line up, at 3pm two more people show up to help. I stood in line for an hour, would have been faster to go at 3 instead. The Fondu and Oriental were my favorites!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelley07
Hudson, NH
Nov 21, 2012

Wonderful vacation!!

This was our third time at ths resort. First time i styed in swim up suite and the 2nd and 3rd Platinum with ocean view. Platinum is the way to go to get the best service including bed made and towels changed twice a day, free room service, a la carte lunches, easy reservations in platinum lounge for a la carte full service restaurants slippers, a bath robe, 3 bottles of liquor and refrigerator stock up each day. Its so worth the upgrade. Got towel art everyday and some amazing ones at that. Beach is beautifil, pools a little cool but ths resort is spotless, safe and clean and service is excellent. The shuttle company was Grey line and they were excellent also. Got a rose and water and could make a free call to the states. Will return again! And Flying nonstop is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Vaqueria grill has the best chicken meal you will ever find

Back to menu Return to top

Change search