$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
99 reviews
Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go!... See full review

  • Maddog
  • Oct 20, 2014
Great trip!

We stayed 3 nights and everything was perfect, great food and strong wifi. See full review

  • ss2h
  • Oct 15, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orestico
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Jun 27, 2013

Good vacation

The hotel is huge.From our room to beach we walked about 15 minutes, but it is nice. There are a lot of mosquitoes , especially at night, but if you use your protection is OK. The food is good. You can find everything in buffet restaurant. We went to Fondue restaurant( Swiss style)and the food was good except meat. Chicken and shrimp were very good. There are a lot a swimming pools and are very clean. We spent a very good time. We bought excursions to Tulum and Cenotes( This is a cave with subterranean river).It was an incredible adventure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make the reservation at restaurants early in order to see the show at the theater. This begins at 8.30 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christina2011
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

So so facility

Traveled with children and teenagers , required two rooms near each other at first we were told we can't accommodate your request because we assign rooms the night before arrival . After a tiresome ordeal we were given two rooms on separate floors and very apart (again traveling with children) ,and both rOOMShad king size beds not a double , and told we would be room changed in the morning, furious we returned to front desk and Antonella corrected the situation and gave us rooms only two rooms apart , nice rooms too. Reservations were made at the Mexican restaurant , friendly service, and Japanese ( yummy). Food was repeated for the four days , nice beach , grand pools , restaurant workers work hard tip when possible but will not return to this property again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDudeAbides
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Staff, nice rooms, not very accomodating

Let me break this down into the good, and the bad: Good: The staff, the rooms, the drinks The Bad: The beach (it isn't bad, just isn't "Great"), The Food is terrible (except the a la carte restaurants which you need reservations for), and the hotel is WAYY to spread out. Additionally, I called a month before my trip asking for ocean view, and a king bed, I got neither. They did nothing to fix it, so I was stuck sleeping on two double beds (pushed together). Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I felt of all the times I've been to the carribean (5) and the times I've been to mexico (4), this resort wasn't worth going back to. You can do a lot better with your money, even if you sacrifice a little in the room. If you DO book here, make sure you book Platinum. The food, drinks and service is MUCH better if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The swimming with Whale Sharks experience is a once in a lifetime thing. It only happens from June - August, but wow.... it's awesome. Do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ODINOK
Business
NYC
Jun 17, 2013

Good vacation

This hotel has very unique look and very nice style. Rooms are comfortable , some walking required, to the beach and restaurant. Food is good and plenty, but almost the same . There are few restaurants, you can make dinner reservation, I liked Grilled and MISO ,Italian. Beach is not big but comfortable. The only access to the water have problem, rocks. It was good vacation and I recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Miso ,Italian,Gril

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
Business
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddy girl
Business
Columbus, oh
May 23, 2013

Great beach

Awesome beach. Food was good. Very clean. Some nights entertainment was great other nights not so much. Few complaint was the booking of dinner reservations, earliest can be done is 2 pm, disruptive for day planning. Would have like to gotten it out of the way first thing in morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Italithai
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2013

Dirty Room, Vendor-Crowded Beach, Not ALL Included

We stayed here along with another couple May 18th-22nd. The other couple had the same disappointing experience we did. We arrived at 12pm, check in was not until 3pm, my fault for not checking. They are very strict on this, so don't come early thinking you can get to your room a little early (even if you offer to pay more). We get to the room to find the 'minibar' un-stocked, a half empty water bottle, and fridge warm (no freezer in the mini fridge). Normally we would not mind but we were traveling with our 9 month old daughter so we needed a cool place to store her milk. The bathroom was dirty (found a huge toenail on the floor GROSS!) The tub was dirty or stained, and there were only two bath towels, and no hand towels. These things all sound minor but when you arrive at a hotel, you expect things to be clean, and pretty... not the case for us. On to the beach. This is probably the WORST part of this resort. When you think Riviera Maya, you think beautiful blue beach, amazing views, and relaxation. Not the case here. Unless you are in the privileged suites area, you walk onto the beach and are IMMEDIATELY harassed to do a massage, snorkeling/diving trip ect. There are vendors lined up all along the beach selling everything from scuba trips to henna tattoos. You cannot bring your beach chair past the vendors (it's roped off) so you get to sit on a beach, in a beach chair, and stare at huts selling junk. Behind the huts is the beach, which gets very overcrowded because of the lack of space between the vendors and water. Next is the privileged suites only amenities. Unless you have booked your privileged suite, you DO NOT HAVE FREE WIFI it's $60 a week for us regular folk... top shelf alcohol is available at all bars FOR A CHARGE if you are not a privileged patron. I don't mind having special amenities for people who pay more but it was quite embarrassing when I was told I do not have the correct wrist band to order absolute vodka in my drink, and WiFi is free in EVERY SINGLE other all-inclusive resort I have stayed at. Buffet was sub-par, steakhouse/grill restaurant was delicious, and the Mexican restaurant was essentially the same you could find at the buffet. Needless to say we will not be returning to this resort, and I highly recommend Sandos Playacar over this resort any-day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gena19
Business
New York
May 23, 2013

there is a room for improvement

it started from getting a smoking room with 2 beds instead of requested non-smoking king size bed. the request to exchange the room was not granted. the broken glass shower door by one of the stuff was replaced quickly. that's a plus. the broken air conditioner in my daughter's room was fixed within 2 hours. still ok. but to occupy the room with smoke smell for 9 days was not pleasant. not staying in this hotel any more. one of the concierges(RENATO)in the lobby area was rude and left bad impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

follow the dress code of the restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegerator USA
Business
Sterling, MA
May 18, 2013

Not what I expected

I've been to the Playa del Carmen area 4 times prior to this stay. This resort is huge and it's beautiful - marble everywhere. If you are not into walking a lot, and I mean a lot, then this is not the place for you. It's almost 1/2 mile from the lobby to the ocean. Everything requires a lengthy walk and stairs. The walkways and pool decks are very slippery and I saw several people take nasty falls - even before they got to the bar! The mattress and pillows were like granite. The housekeeper kept taking the bath towels and only replacing them with one towel. No matter how many times I complained, one of us had to use our beach towel to shower. The food was plentiful, but the overall quality I would rank as average-at-best. I went to the concierge desk only once and was pretty much blown off by the person working there. I wanted to go into the town to shop and was informed that the shuttles must be reserved a day in advance. She then picked up the phone and dialed before I could ask anything else. I paid more for this trip than I have for any other trip and have had very good experiences up until now. I always stay at a 4 star or better resort and this resort is not 4 star, in my opinion. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riviera maya pro
Business
CT
May 16, 2013

Just ok!

So let me start by saying its beautiful!!!! Rooms large and clean (jr suite deluxe). Food was good. Drinks were strong! But This resort is extremely large. A ton of walking . A Super downfall for me is no ocean view when at the pools! Also no bottled water service anywhere. You get 2 medium sized bottles in your room but that's it! You can buy them at shop for $6 usd I'm really this is a HUGE issue for me. I would not return just on these two thing alone. But again it's beautiful grounds but you won't see them all cause its that big! But everyone has there likes and dislikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top