$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KARDOM
Ottawa, Canada
Dec 13, 2012

VILLAS couple getaway

The hotel was exceptional. Great value. I will definitely return again. The only thing is in the Villa section has a private pool area which gets busy and has limited space. We found ourselves staying by the public pools half the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Wet Wendy's in Cozumel

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super agent mn
Business
Minnesota
Oct 21, 2013

Good for the price

I felt like there was way to much walking and not another source of transportation other than walking unless u took their train that on ran for new people getting to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doble A
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2014

Good for the price

Plenty of pools, could be a bit cleaner. Staff was for the most part great, some excellent. Food was good, big selection. Resort itself was very nice and big. Shortcomings, ran out of beach towels on regular basis, had 3-5 minute power outages about every other day in the mornings. Overall, good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit downtown Playa del Carmen, great food and shopping...short taxi cab drive, well worth it.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maby the best mom
Business
Playa del Cramen Cancun
Aug 29, 2014

good staff

Almost perfect, but the beach is very dirty and the place in it for sunbathing, very unpleasant, all stacked chairs. We had problem in the 1st room we were given, began   Spilled water on the ceiling of the shower, we were moved to other room after having to wait more than 8 hours, unable to enjoy the day. This room air conditioner did not work, so had to fix it, another waste of time on our vacation. What it saves the hotel is the excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1KDONNAS
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 8, 2014

Nice getaway

I read the reviews so I somewhat knew what we were heading for. I did not book transportation to the hotel when booking this trip because I remembered what it was like last time. Everyone stands in a line and the van makes lots of stops. It takes over an hour to get to the hotel. I took my chances and waited until I got there and ended up getting a taxi for the same price as the vans. The taxi went directly to the hotel with no stops in 40 minutes. Checking in was a lengthly process, Why, if check in is 3:00 you would only have 2 people working I don't know. Its hot and humid and no one is in the mood to stand in line. Dinner reservations were easy to get but you can only book for 3 days then you must come back for the other days, which wouldn't be so bad if the reservation desk wasn't so far away. At this time of year all three Princess properties are working out of one lobby, one reservation desk, half of the restrauants are closed, so there's a lot of walking. They have a tram service but theres no rhyme or reason to its schedule. Your suppose to be able to stop the tram to get on but they ignore you and keep going so we walked alot. We got a pool access room which was the best part of the trip and thank you to the people who suggested bring febreeze for the smell - Lysol would be better because the smell is mildew.The mattress, sheets and blankets all smell - I didn't use the febreeze until the second day and I slept much better. The beds are hard and not very comfortable. I brought plenty of singles to tip to get the fridge restocked daily and it works, Thanks for that tip as well. When I ran out of singles at the end of the vacation I got nothing restocked even though I had been tipping all week - that was annoying. I also thought the maid was the one stocking the fridge but she wasn't, apparently someone comes in and takes the money before the maid gets there and then comes back later and restocks, which makes sense as to why the cleaning service and towel replacement got worse as the days went by. I though I was tipping her! Better bring plenty more singles because its not the same person every day. The picture made it look like you could go from your room and swin to a swim up bar but that isn't the case. No pool access rooms are accessable to the swim up bars. The bar closest to our room was closed for renovations so we hiked it to another. They had two swim up bars across from each other in two different pools. One bar was for the wild ones and the other was for the calmer adults, but you could hear the racket.from the wild bar. The food was good, its the same as all inclusive places. The food at the ala carte restrauants is not anything special, the service is good - very individualized. All in all, I would not return, the pool access rooms was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Walnuts
Business
Phila. Pa
Oct 13, 2014

Ok for the money

Staff was very nice. Food was ok nothing great Not worth the Platnum up grade. Nice pool and beach. very big place. would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

book earlie

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovemexico
Business
Kimball
Mar 2, 2015

annual mexico trip

The weather was great and the people we meet were awesome. Overall the food was good. The resort experience was not as favorable. No free wi-fi, no dresser drawers, no slippers or robes, no conditioner, lotion, razor....dinner reservations can only be done for 2 days a time. Pool area is crowded and beach area is limited and not as nice as other resorts. Service at the pool was almost nonexistant,limited and slow. Lots of children everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindsay
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Good Value

The hotel was beautiful! The beach was gorgeous. The food was so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Malakas
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2014

Great Deal for the Money !

Great Resort. So much to do. So many Awesome restaurants. Great Food. It is a Very Very big resort.... That is the only drawback. Did a lot of walking. Very Very Clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

always get the price before you get in the cab.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeniesk8s2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Fantastic for the PRICE!!

Had a wonderful time.. place was soooo clean and the service was exceptional. It was big.. but had so many options... ie, swim out rooms , villa's... many restaurants.. wonderful buffets.. busy beach, quiet beach.. exclusive beach.... Would go back .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use Shuttle service

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All Inclusive Conossieur
Business
Quad Cities, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Trip to Paradise

What a beautiful resort, wall to wall granite and marble. The rooms are amazing, clean, very well kept and a joy to spend time in. The entire grounds are kept immaculate and make it easy to unwind here. Service is cordial but not overly friendly. Our onsite rep even went the extra mile to see that one of our rooms was changed to one with better air conditioning. Food at the a la carte restaurants was better than others I've visited but the buffett food and offering was MUCH better than other all-inlcusives I've visited. Expect premium liquor brands all over the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just off the back of Margaritaville Cafe in nearby Cozumel, Jimmy Buffett has sunk an airplane to create a manmade reef. The reef provides for an abundance of underwater wildlife free for the viewing!

Back to menu Return to top