$403 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
107 reviews
good resort

great resort, excellent services, needs improvement on the beach, See full review

  • luis mtz
  • Oct 26, 2014
Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go!... See full review

  • Maddog
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Felix A
New York
Nov 30, 2012

Nice Vacation

We stayed in Grand Riviera Princess from 10/20/2012-10/26/2012. We were with 2 kids: 2 y.o and 7 y.o. We had an amazing time there. The food was good. Ocean was warm but water in the pool was a little chilly. We will definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Pug
Business
IL
Feb 2, 2014

Relaxing

We just got back last night...was a relaxing vacation. We stayed in the Villas which was well worth the upgrade for what all is included...is time for a little freshening in the rooms though... Rating is most reflective that the food was just, ok. The Romantic dinner at Chill Out was not included in the all inclusive but was definitely a highlight of the trip. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chill Out" Romantic dinner on the beach...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doble A
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2014

Good for the price

Plenty of pools, could be a bit cleaner. Staff was for the most part great, some excellent. Food was good, big selection. Resort itself was very nice and big. Shortcomings, ran out of beach towels on regular basis, had 3-5 minute power outages about every other day in the mornings. Overall, good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit downtown Playa del Carmen, great food and shopping...short taxi cab drive, well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maby the best mom
Business
Playa del Cramen Cancun
Aug 29, 2014

good staff

Almost perfect, but the beach is very dirty and the place in it for sunbathing, very unpleasant, all stacked chairs. We had problem in the 1st room we were given, began   Spilled water on the ceiling of the shower, we were moved to other room after having to wait more than 8 hours, unable to enjoy the day. This room air conditioner did not work, so had to fix it, another waste of time on our vacation. What it saves the hotel is the excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1KDONNAS
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 8, 2014

Nice getaway

I read the reviews so I somewhat knew what we were heading for. I did not book transportation to the hotel when booking this trip because I remembered what it was like last time. Everyone stands in a line and the van makes lots of stops. It takes over an hour to get to the hotel. I took my chances and waited until I got there and ended up getting a taxi for the same price as the vans. The taxi went directly to the hotel with no stops in 40 minutes. Checking in was a lengthly process, Why, if check in is 3:00 you would only have 2 people working I don't know. Its hot and humid and no one is in the mood to stand in line. Dinner reservations were easy to get but you can only book for 3 days then you must come back for the other days, which wouldn't be so bad if the reservation desk wasn't so far away. At this time of year all three Princess properties are working out of one lobby, one reservation desk, half of the restrauants are closed, so there's a lot of walking. They have a tram service but theres no rhyme or reason to its schedule. Your suppose to be able to stop the tram to get on but they ignore you and keep going so we walked alot. We got a pool access room which was the best part of the trip and thank you to the people who suggested bring febreeze for the smell - Lysol would be better because the smell is mildew.The mattress, sheets and blankets all smell - I didn't use the febreeze until the second day and I slept much better. The beds are hard and not very comfortable. I brought plenty of singles to tip to get the fridge restocked daily and it works, Thanks for that tip as well. When I ran out of singles at the end of the vacation I got nothing restocked even though I had been tipping all week - that was annoying. I also thought the maid was the one stocking the fridge but she wasn't, apparently someone comes in and takes the money before the maid gets there and then comes back later and restocks, which makes sense as to why the cleaning service and towel replacement got worse as the days went by. I though I was tipping her! Better bring plenty more singles because its not the same person every day. The picture made it look like you could go from your room and swin to a swim up bar but that isn't the case. No pool access rooms are accessable to the swim up bars. The bar closest to our room was closed for renovations so we hiked it to another. They had two swim up bars across from each other in two different pools. One bar was for the wild ones and the other was for the calmer adults, but you could hear the racket.from the wild bar. The food was good, its the same as all inclusive places. The food at the ala carte restrauants is not anything special, the service is good - very individualized. All in all, I would not return, the pool access rooms was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Walnuts
Business
Phila. Pa
Oct 13, 2014

Ok for the money

Staff was very nice. Food was ok nothing great Not worth the Platnum up grade. Nice pool and beach. very big place. would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

book earlie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeniesk8s2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Fantastic for the PRICE!!

Had a wonderful time.. place was soooo clean and the service was exceptional. It was big.. but had so many options... ie, swim out rooms , villa's... many restaurants.. wonderful buffets.. busy beach, quiet beach.. exclusive beach.... Would go back .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use Shuttle service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All Inclusive Conossieur
Business
Quad Cities, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Trip to Paradise

What a beautiful resort, wall to wall granite and marble. The rooms are amazing, clean, very well kept and a joy to spend time in. The entire grounds are kept immaculate and make it easy to unwind here. Service is cordial but not overly friendly. Our onsite rep even went the extra mile to see that one of our rooms was changed to one with better air conditioning. Food at the a la carte restaurants was better than others I've visited but the buffett food and offering was MUCH better than other all-inlcusives I've visited. Expect premium liquor brands all over the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just off the back of Margaritaville Cafe in nearby Cozumel, Jimmy Buffett has sunk an airplane to create a manmade reef. The reef provides for an abundance of underwater wildlife free for the viewing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cousins retreat
Business
colorado
Dec 2, 2011

one week was not long enough

The staff was incredible. Very helpful and friendly. Almost everyone speaks English. The hotel is well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to make reservations for dinner if you want to eat at one of the restaurants instead of the buffets. Their rules for these reservations are quite restrictive so inquire about them your first day. The reservations fill up right away also so don't sleep in or you won't get your choice of restaurants .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show Pow
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Feb 13, 2012

Great getaway location

Everything was perfect. On arrival got upgraded to a better room. Only issue I have with this resort is the beach and the rock/seaweed and the fact that they forgot the bonus package that was purchased on top of my package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Depending on where you are situated the buffet can be upwards of 5-10 minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flowerchild1969
Business
MA
Apr 24, 2012

Marble Madness!

Stunning grounds. Well kept pools. Got to their website to see the photos. Check online for great reviews. This was my first AI. Was like a cruise only on land. Did not care much for soldiers with machine-guns along the highways. Area is unattractive. Area has some very interesting ruins and history of the Mayan people. Area is distressingly poor. If you are thinking of going to the Mayan Rivera area don't hesitate to book this hotel. Food is good. Did get sick of mexican food after a few days. Beach is lovely, plenty of chairs and palapas. Water pretty but lots of coral rock in the water. Take a left and go to the next hotel and they have a nicely cleared swimming area. WATCH OUT if you want a soft pillow, it's a $20 deposit. If someone steals your towel, it happened to us, you will pay $20 for another towel card. We lucked out as the concierge did get us another with difficulty. Concierge is not terribly helpful. We would still stay here again but for 4-5days. We prefer to explore the countries we visit. Did not feel safe doing so here. YMMV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top