$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelley07
Hudson, NH
Nov 21, 2012

Wonderful vacation!!

This was our third time at ths resort. First time i styed in swim up suite and the 2nd and 3rd Platinum with ocean view. Platinum is the way to go to get the best service including bed made and towels changed twice a day, free room service, a la carte lunches, easy reservations in platinum lounge for a la carte full service restaurants slippers, a bath robe, 3 bottles of liquor and refrigerator stock up each day. Its so worth the upgrade. Got towel art everyday and some amazing ones at that. Beach is beautifil, pools a little cool but ths resort is spotless, safe and clean and service is excellent. The shuttle company was Grey line and they were excellent also. Got a rose and water and could make a free call to the states. Will return again! And Flying nonstop is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Vaqueria grill has the best chicken meal you will ever find

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maddog
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2014

Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go! The food very good with a wide variety of "Specialty Restaurants" to make reservations for! There was a "Bar" around every corner which came in handy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not fall for the "Dollar Rent-A-Car" Fraud for $39! If it sounds to good to be true... it isn't true!!! After all of the "Mandatory Extras," it would have cost me over $300 for the $39 rental!!! Then we had to find transportation to the Resort because we thought we would have a "Rental Car!" Three hours later, and $100 poorer, we got to the Resort! Better to just book ground transportation!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ss2h
Business
South Plainfield, NJ
Oct 15, 2014

Great trip!

We stayed 3 nights and everything was perfect, great food and strong wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatest gramma
Business
Belize
Oct 14, 2014

Great family getaway

It was what we expected when we booked. Staff was friendly and the ambiance perfect for clean family fun. Great entertainment. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Child friendly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Walnuts
Business
Phila. Pa
Oct 13, 2014

Ok for the money

Staff was very nice. Food was ok nothing great Not worth the Platnum up grade. Nice pool and beach. very big place. would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

book earlie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1KDONNAS
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 8, 2014

Nice getaway

I read the reviews so I somewhat knew what we were heading for. I did not book transportation to the hotel when booking this trip because I remembered what it was like last time. Everyone stands in a line and the van makes lots of stops. It takes over an hour to get to the hotel. I took my chances and waited until I got there and ended up getting a taxi for the same price as the vans. The taxi went directly to the hotel with no stops in 40 minutes. Checking in was a lengthly process, Why, if check in is 3:00 you would only have 2 people working I don't know. Its hot and humid and no one is in the mood to stand in line. Dinner reservations were easy to get but you can only book for 3 days then you must come back for the other days, which wouldn't be so bad if the reservation desk wasn't so far away. At this time of year all three Princess properties are working out of one lobby, one reservation desk, half of the restrauants are closed, so there's a lot of walking. They have a tram service but theres no rhyme or reason to its schedule. Your suppose to be able to stop the tram to get on but they ignore you and keep going so we walked alot. We got a pool access room which was the best part of the trip and thank you to the people who suggested bring febreeze for the smell - Lysol would be better because the smell is mildew.The mattress, sheets and blankets all smell - I didn't use the febreeze until the second day and I slept much better. The beds are hard and not very comfortable. I brought plenty of singles to tip to get the fridge restocked daily and it works, Thanks for that tip as well. When I ran out of singles at the end of the vacation I got nothing restocked even though I had been tipping all week - that was annoying. I also thought the maid was the one stocking the fridge but she wasn't, apparently someone comes in and takes the money before the maid gets there and then comes back later and restocks, which makes sense as to why the cleaning service and towel replacement got worse as the days went by. I though I was tipping her! Better bring plenty more singles because its not the same person every day. The picture made it look like you could go from your room and swin to a swim up bar but that isn't the case. No pool access rooms are accessable to the swim up bars. The bar closest to our room was closed for renovations so we hiked it to another. They had two swim up bars across from each other in two different pools. One bar was for the wild ones and the other was for the calmer adults, but you could hear the racket.from the wild bar. The food was good, its the same as all inclusive places. The food at the ala carte restrauants is not anything special, the service is good - very individualized. All in all, I would not return, the pool access rooms was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbysz
Business
New York, NY
Sep 23, 2014

Couples

Everything was amazing! The staff was very helpful and always nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mamma Mia !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbysz
Business
New York, NY
Sep 16, 2014

Couples Getaway

My experience was amazing the staff was very nice and welcoming. The check in process can be better but the hotel cleanses makes up for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dustyraptor
Business
Northwest coast of Canaa
Aug 30, 2014

Yukatan - Adults only section

We stayed at the resort for 5 days-6nights and I would say we left feeling relaxed and pampered. Upon arrival, there are no complaints here about the check-in. We were upgraded to the Yukatan-adults only section, this was exciting. When we first saw our room we did not think it was an upgrade as our original room seemed to have listed more things such as pool access. When we went back to complain the concierge gave us the list of everything that was included and it certainly was an upgrade! **Make sure you ask for all the things that are included in your vacation package!!*** The resort is beautiful. However, when it rains be careful because it is very slippery and parts of the resort roof leak. Last thing to mention is the beach. It is very warm and clear, if you are a platinum member then you have a section of the beach that has a waiter bringing you drinks! If you give her a good tip she just keeps brining them without you needing to order. If you keep a look out when you are in the ocean you can see the two fresh water springs. The water will be a bit "bubbly" over the springs and you can swim right over them!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pre book your transportation from the airport to the resort. If you wait till you land in Cancun you will have to pay an outrageous amount for a 40 minute taxi ride. ($130 for a city taxi)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maby the best mom
Business
Playa del Cramen Cancun
Aug 29, 2014

good staff

Almost perfect, but the beach is very dirty and the place in it for sunbathing, very unpleasant, all stacked chairs. We had problem in the 1st room we were given, began   Spilled water on the ceiling of the shower, we were moved to other room after having to wait more than 8 hours, unable to enjoy the day. This room air conditioner did not work, so had to fix it, another waste of time on our vacation. What it saves the hotel is the excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikiSims81
Business
Hinckley, Ohio
Aug 19, 2014

Loved this Resort!

We had an amazing trip at The Grand Princess Riviera Maya! Comparing it to 3 other hotels we've stayed at : Gran Bahia Principe, The Grand Palladium, & Barcelo Palace Deluxe - this hotel is definitely up there. We read reviews & were a little worried. I assure you that those people were nitpicking on petty things like towel made figures and what not. Yes, there is a 7-10 minute walk to the beach if you stay at the farthest hotel rooms, (which we did), but along the walk, you have mini bars and gorgeous pools alongside. The food was incredible as were the restaurants. We stayed in the Junior Suite (3rd floor) and have to say the beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice. We traveled with two kids and they had a great time as well. Two shows per evening (we stayed 7 days). Would recommend to any travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Your better off booking "regular" rather than Platinum. It appears that the people who book Platinum were the ones who left the worst reviews, even though they were closest to the beach. They had the farthest walk to the main hotel buffets, restaurants, shows, & bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top