$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
relax vacation

Hotel is excellent the only complaint is on the two bar pools need better stairs for old people and... See full review

  • Diana y Javier
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great Hotel, Amazing Staff

The staff at the Princess hotels were amazing. They were helpful and extremely friendly. The food... See full review

  • Eric Oranges
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelley07
Hudson, NH
Nov 21, 2012

Wonderful vacation!!

This was our third time at ths resort. First time i styed in swim up suite and the 2nd and 3rd Platinum with ocean view. Platinum is the way to go to get the best service including bed made and towels changed twice a day, free room service, a la carte lunches, easy reservations in platinum lounge for a la carte full service restaurants slippers, a bath robe, 3 bottles of liquor and refrigerator stock up each day. Its so worth the upgrade. Got towel art everyday and some amazing ones at that. Beach is beautifil, pools a little cool but ths resort is spotless, safe and clean and service is excellent. The shuttle company was Grey line and they were excellent also. Got a rose and water and could make a free call to the states. Will return again! And Flying nonstop is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Vaqueria grill has the best chicken meal you will ever find

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ODINOK
NYC
Jun 17, 2013

Good vacation

This hotel has very unique look and very nice style. Rooms are comfortable , some walking required, to the beach and restaurant. Food is good and plenty, but almost the same . There are few restaurants, you can make dinner reservation, I liked Grilled and MISO ,Italian. Beach is not big but comfortable. The only access to the water have problem, rocks. It was good vacation and I recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Miso ,Italian,Gril

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gena19
New York
May 23, 2013

there is a room for improvement

it started from getting a smoking room with 2 beds instead of requested non-smoking king size bed. the request to exchange the room was not granted. the broken glass shower door by one of the stuff was replaced quickly. that's a plus. the broken air conditioner in my daughter's room was fixed within 2 hours. still ok. but to occupy the room with smoke smell for 9 days was not pleasant. not staying in this hotel any more. one of the concierges(RENATO)in the lobby area was rude and left bad impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

follow the dress code of the restaurants

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddy girl
Columbus, oh
May 23, 2013

Great beach

Awesome beach. Food was good. Very clean. Some nights entertainment was great other nights not so much. Few complaint was the booking of dinner reservations, earliest can be done is 2 pm, disruptive for day planning. Would have like to gotten it out of the way first thing in morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Italithai
New Jersey
May 23, 2013

Dirty Room, Vendor-Crowded Beach, Not ALL Included

We stayed here along with another couple May 18th-22nd. The other couple had the same disappointing experience we did. We arrived at 12pm, check in was not until 3pm, my fault for not checking. They are very strict on this, so don't come early thinking you can get to your room a little early (even if you offer to pay more). We get to the room to find the 'minibar' un-stocked, a half empty water bottle, and fridge warm (no freezer in the mini fridge). Normally we would not mind but we were traveling with our 9 month old daughter so we needed a cool place to store her milk. The bathroom was dirty (found a huge toenail on the floor GROSS!) The tub was dirty or stained, and there were only two bath towels, and no hand towels. These things all sound minor but when you arrive at a hotel, you expect things to be clean, and pretty... not the case for us. On to the beach. This is probably the WORST part of this resort. When you think Riviera Maya, you think beautiful blue beach, amazing views, and relaxation. Not the case here. Unless you are in the privileged suites area, you walk onto the beach and are IMMEDIATELY harassed to do a massage, snorkeling/diving trip ect. There are vendors lined up all along the beach selling everything from scuba trips to henna tattoos. You cannot bring your beach chair past the vendors (it's roped off) so you get to sit on a beach, in a beach chair, and stare at huts selling junk. Behind the huts is the beach, which gets very overcrowded because of the lack of space between the vendors and water. Next is the privileged suites only amenities. Unless you have booked your privileged suite, you DO NOT HAVE FREE WIFI it's $60 a week for us regular folk... top shelf alcohol is available at all bars FOR A CHARGE if you are not a privileged patron. I don't mind having special amenities for people who pay more but it was quite embarrassing when I was told I do not have the correct wrist band to order absolute vodka in my drink, and WiFi is free in EVERY SINGLE other all-inclusive resort I have stayed at. Buffet was sub-par, steakhouse/grill restaurant was delicious, and the Mexican restaurant was essentially the same you could find at the buffet. Needless to say we will not be returning to this resort, and I highly recommend Sandos Playacar over this resort any-day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegerator USA
Sterling, MA
May 18, 2013

Not what I expected

I've been to the Playa del Carmen area 4 times prior to this stay. This resort is huge and it's beautiful - marble everywhere. If you are not into walking a lot, and I mean a lot, then this is not the place for you. It's almost 1/2 mile from the lobby to the ocean. Everything requires a lengthy walk and stairs. The walkways and pool decks are very slippery and I saw several people take nasty falls - even before they got to the bar! The mattress and pillows were like granite. The housekeeper kept taking the bath towels and only replacing them with one towel. No matter how many times I complained, one of us had to use our beach towel to shower. The food was plentiful, but the overall quality I would rank as average-at-best. I went to the concierge desk only once and was pretty much blown off by the person working there. I wanted to go into the town to shop and was informed that the shuttles must be reserved a day in advance. She then picked up the phone and dialed before I could ask anything else. I paid more for this trip than I have for any other trip and have had very good experiences up until now. I always stay at a 4 star or better resort and this resort is not 4 star, in my opinion. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riviera maya pro
CT
May 16, 2013

Just ok!

So let me start by saying its beautiful!!!! Rooms large and clean (jr suite deluxe). Food was good. Drinks were strong! But This resort is extremely large. A ton of walking . A Super downfall for me is no ocean view when at the pools! Also no bottled water service anywhere. You get 2 medium sized bottles in your room but that's it! You can buy them at shop for $6 usd I'm really this is a HUGE issue for me. I would not return just on these two thing alone. But again it's beautiful grounds but you won't see them all cause its that big! But everyone has there likes and dislikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proulxmaster
Edmonton Alberta
May 12, 2013

Great wedding location

We went with people of all ages for a wedding and regret nothing! Everyone had a blast. Good food drinks and atmosphere for young and old! Very clean resort. Only downside was lack of late night food. Definitely recommend the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco bongo

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lsandlund
Ogden, utah
May 12, 2013

Princess Riviera

We decided to upgrade to platinum which was a good decision for us, without an upgrade the amenities are limited. I didn't like that about this resort, all-inclusive should be all-inclusive. The grounds and facilities are top notch but the food and service from the staff is average at best. We've traveled to Mexico 8 times in the last ten years and I would say this resort ranks somewhere in the middle of the pack. You need a reservation to eat at the restaurants which was an inconvenience most days as we would would have liked to stay by the pool longer or weren't hungry for dinner yet, just little things. We had a great time and it's very nice resort but could improve a couple things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to platinum level, it was well worth it to us.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super beach
Dallas, texas
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful

Beautiful large hotel. The grounds were immaculate and so were the rooms. We were in the platinum area ad the pool was great. The staff was not as friendly as other resorts we have gone to. Overall great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa de Carmen for shopping

Back to menu Return to top