$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelley07
Hudson, NH
Nov 21, 2012

Wonderful vacation!!

This was our third time at ths resort. First time i styed in swim up suite and the 2nd and 3rd Platinum with ocean view. Platinum is the way to go to get the best service including bed made and towels changed twice a day, free room service, a la carte lunches, easy reservations in platinum lounge for a la carte full service restaurants slippers, a bath robe, 3 bottles of liquor and refrigerator stock up each day. Its so worth the upgrade. Got towel art everyday and some amazing ones at that. Beach is beautifil, pools a little cool but ths resort is spotless, safe and clean and service is excellent. The shuttle company was Grey line and they were excellent also. Got a rose and water and could make a free call to the states. Will return again! And Flying nonstop is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

La Vaqueria grill has the best chicken meal you will ever find

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pao1982
Business
Waldorf, md
Nov 8, 2014

Great vacations

The staff were nice and helpful. Great place to relax and eat. The beach was great! I totally recommend it. We went to the 5 th ave at night and it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 the avenue

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UnhappyTraveling
Business
Denver,CO
Oct 27, 2014

Horrible experience

This is my 7th time visiting Mexico and I have always been impressed. Unfortunately this was the worst vacation I have ever experienced. Upon arrival there was no one greeting or offering beverages like every other hotel in Mexico. We had to wait in line and once we final reached the counter there was no friendly greeting and they spent 30 minutes staring at a screen before they told us there was no reservation. I showed all my reservation confirmations and proof of payment from my account but she told us the only way we cound get a room would be to give her a Credit card. I did, just wanting to settle in after a long day of travel. Once that was finished she told us the room would not be ready for 2 hours. 3 hours later we come to check into our room to be told it is still not ready but the manager would check to see soon. They ended up putting us in an alternative room until ours was finished 7 hours after arriving only to find a room that was not ready and under construction. We at that point realized the reason it took so long was because the Family section was under construction - incuding no bunk beds as promised, no alarm clock, only one twin bed for 2 children, a shower that leaked all over the floor both inside and outside of the shower, a safe that broke with all our belongings inside including our cash and passports, sheets that were not changed out, I had to call for room service, and a TV that was not even hooked up to cable. You can imagine the frustration at this point. We also had to go back up to the check in counter 2 additional times before they finally found our original reservation (this was on the last day of our 8 day vacation). We were only 1 of 7 families staying in this new section of the resort therefore - no consierge, no kids play area - as both were promised, and since it was under constructions lots on noise and banging to complete all other rooms early in the morning. I wish I would have know or I would have choosing another room. Next I want to comment on the service, no one seems happy or excited to work here, no one says hello or smiles as they pass you, when you do request something or need assistance they refer you to someone else and typically that requires another long walk just to find out no one is there. The Food was Horrible at the buffets, the Specialty restaurants were ok of you could get a reservation. There was not one day that passed that we did not have something terrible wrong happen. The ocean also has a sulfar spring right in the center so water is red, super salty and stinky. This is the first vacation I have ever had where my entire family was ready to go home days prior to the end of our trip. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alenat
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Oct 27, 2014

All inclusive doesn't really means what it is day in this hotel

This hotel remains me of a cheap airline, which is trying to get every nickel and dime from you on your way to your destination. Room and the internet services are not included in the price (try to define ALL INCLUSIVE” there), but if you upgrade to a more expensive villa or a "PLATINUM" section of the hotel you’ll get some of it. Villa does make a difference for an extra $190 per night, but "platinum” section of the hotel is a total waste of money. You may get a burrito late at night after waiting for at least an hour and a lousy internet service "for free" but that's about it. The sheer ambiance in this hotel is not as four star hotels are. My wife, my daughter, and her boyfriend rated this place on par of some Vegas motels where you see a sign "ELVIS SLEPT HERE". In Mexico, I guess it would sound "A JOSE SLEPT HERE", just to explain which one.. I would not recommend this place to anyone and it is on my 'NO TO STAY" list of the Riviera Hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Another Hotel

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luis mtz
Business
el paso texas
Oct 26, 2014

good resort

great resort, excellent services, needs improvement on the beach,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maddog
Business
Riverside, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2014

Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go! The food very good with a wide variety of "Specialty Restaurants" to make reservations for! There was a "Bar" around every corner which came in handy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not fall for the "Dollar Rent-A-Car" Fraud for $39! If it sounds to good to be true... it isn't true!!! After all of the "Mandatory Extras," it would have cost me over $300 for the $39 rental!!! Then we had to find transportation to the Resort because we thought we would have a "Rental Car!" Three hours later, and $100 poorer, we got to the Resort! Better to just book ground transportation!!!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ss2h
Business
South Plainfield, NJ
Oct 15, 2014

Great trip!

We stayed 3 nights and everything was perfect, great food and strong wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Walnuts
Business
Phila. Pa
Oct 13, 2014

Ok for the money

Staff was very nice. Food was ok nothing great Not worth the Platnum up grade. Nice pool and beach. very big place. would not go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

book earlie

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1KDONNAS
Business
NEW YORK
Oct 8, 2014

Nice getaway

I read the reviews so I somewhat knew what we were heading for. I did not book transportation to the hotel when booking this trip because I remembered what it was like last time. Everyone stands in a line and the van makes lots of stops. It takes over an hour to get to the hotel. I took my chances and waited until I got there and ended up getting a taxi for the same price as the vans. The taxi went directly to the hotel with no stops in 40 minutes. Checking in was a lengthly process, Why, if check in is 3:00 you would only have 2 people working I don't know. Its hot and humid and no one is in the mood to stand in line. Dinner reservations were easy to get but you can only book for 3 days then you must come back for the other days, which wouldn't be so bad if the reservation desk wasn't so far away. At this time of year all three Princess properties are working out of one lobby, one reservation desk, half of the restrauants are closed, so there's a lot of walking. They have a tram service but theres no rhyme or reason to its schedule. Your suppose to be able to stop the tram to get on but they ignore you and keep going so we walked alot. We got a pool access room which was the best part of the trip and thank you to the people who suggested bring febreeze for the smell - Lysol would be better because the smell is mildew.The mattress, sheets and blankets all smell - I didn't use the febreeze until the second day and I slept much better. The beds are hard and not very comfortable. I brought plenty of singles to tip to get the fridge restocked daily and it works, Thanks for that tip as well. When I ran out of singles at the end of the vacation I got nothing restocked even though I had been tipping all week - that was annoying. I also thought the maid was the one stocking the fridge but she wasn't, apparently someone comes in and takes the money before the maid gets there and then comes back later and restocks, which makes sense as to why the cleaning service and towel replacement got worse as the days went by. I though I was tipping her! Better bring plenty more singles because its not the same person every day. The picture made it look like you could go from your room and swin to a swim up bar but that isn't the case. No pool access rooms are accessable to the swim up bars. The bar closest to our room was closed for renovations so we hiked it to another. They had two swim up bars across from each other in two different pools. One bar was for the wild ones and the other was for the calmer adults, but you could hear the racket.from the wild bar. The food was good, its the same as all inclusive places. The food at the ala carte restrauants is not anything special, the service is good - very individualized. All in all, I would not return, the pool access rooms was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbysz
Business
New York, NY
Sep 23, 2014

Couples

Everything was amazing! The staff was very helpful and always nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mamma Mia !

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbysz
Business
New York, NY
Sep 16, 2014

Couples Getaway

My experience was amazing the staff was very nice and welcoming. The check in process can be better but the hotel cleanses makes up for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top