$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maby the best mom
Business
Playa del Cramen Cancun
Aug 29, 2014

good staff

Almost perfect, but the beach is very dirty and the place in it for sunbathing, very unpleasant, all stacked chairs. We had problem in the 1st room we were given, began   Spilled water on the ceiling of the shower, we were moved to other room after having to wait more than 8 hours, unable to enjoy the day. This room air conditioner did not work, so had to fix it, another waste of time on our vacation. What it saves the hotel is the excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikiSims81
Business
Hinckley, Ohio
Aug 19, 2014

Loved this Resort!

We had an amazing trip at The Grand Princess Riviera Maya! Comparing it to 3 other hotels we've stayed at : Gran Bahia Principe, The Grand Palladium, & Barcelo Palace Deluxe - this hotel is definitely up there. We read reviews & were a little worried. I assure you that those people were nitpicking on petty things like towel made figures and what not. Yes, there is a 7-10 minute walk to the beach if you stay at the farthest hotel rooms, (which we did), but along the walk, you have mini bars and gorgeous pools alongside. The food was incredible as were the restaurants. We stayed in the Junior Suite (3rd floor) and have to say the beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice. We traveled with two kids and they had a great time as well. Two shows per evening (we stayed 7 days). Would recommend to any travelers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Your better off booking "regular" rather than Platinum. It appears that the people who book Platinum were the ones who left the worst reviews, even though they were closest to the beach. They had the farthest walk to the main hotel buffets, restaurants, shows, & bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Japhia
Business
Austin, Texas
Aug 11, 2014

Great Couples Relaxation

We had a great time in the Yucutan Rooms. They are adult only and they have the swim up balcony and exclusive bar for the Yucutan rooms. Only complaint was that the shower went cold and then hot off and on. But really it was fantastic. Beach was great and easy access to bar and servers. It is a very pretty beach but not as pretty as some of those just a bit North or South of this area. Buffet food was great. The place is filled with North Americans so they have a lot of comfort foods for those from the States. My advice, avoid all those foods and eat what they do best in Mexico. The red sauces are great. The tacos, pork, beef, etc are amazing. The restaurants are ok I thought. Fondue was really good. Bottom line if you want good value and an extremely relaxing and friendly environment, go with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty boy
Business
Fall River Ma
Jul 28, 2014

Friends and family vacation

The hotel was very nice and clean. We can't say enough about the staff there work so hard for so little . We will be back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The place is very big. I would stay in the middle .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty boy
Business
Fall River Ma
Jul 28, 2014

Friends and family vacation

We had a great time , the weather was perfect . The hotel was very clean and staff works hard for so little money there make . We always tip them .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would stay in the middle of the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveljunkie25
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 26, 2014

Slippery slope to a bad experience...

This trip was a family vacation for our fathers 50th birthday. We had 4 platinum rooms, and were all very excited about this trip. However I was very disappointed in this resort. I myself work in the hospitality industry and have gone on multiple vacations. Here are the issues I had with this resort stay: 1. The ground throughout the resort is super slippery. For a resort that is covered with pools and direct access to the beach, there is way too much tile and a huge slip hazards on all the walkways. 3 people in my party slipped during our stay. 2. The food was terrible. Bad quality. Super slow service especially with refilling beverages. And terrible customer service. Example (1): Our first night getting a sit down meal the resort lost our reservation forcing my dad to have to walk all the way back to the platinum suites to retrieve the ticket before they would set us a table in the empty restaurant. And then took over an hour to get the first course. (And please note that the heat index at this resort was insane, and men were required to wear pants and close toed shoes to dinner in restaurants that kept their AC at 82F.) Example (2): For my dad's 50th birthday dinner at the steak restaurant (that has a huge fire grill near seating), the AC was broken and when we asked the hostess&waiter about the heat they only responded with (I'm paraphrasing) "if you don't like it you can leave". 3. The housekeepers were picketing in front of the resort. Saying the managers force them to work overtime and don't pay them for it. Super uncomfortable for the guests. The parts we did enjoy: 1. The spa water circuit 2. The bartenders in the Platinum Riviera Lounge 3. The private seats for the Platinum guests on the beach Thank you for reading my review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doble A
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2014

Good for the price

Plenty of pools, could be a bit cleaner. Staff was for the most part great, some excellent. Food was good, big selection. Resort itself was very nice and big. Shortcomings, ran out of beach towels on regular basis, had 3-5 minute power outages about every other day in the mornings. Overall, good resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit downtown Playa del Carmen, great food and shopping...short taxi cab drive, well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
love couple
Business
Everett, MA
Jul 9, 2014

Grand Riviera Princes - 06/28/14 to 07/07/14

We were at Grand Riviera Princes on 06/28/14 to 07/07/14. The trip was great. We had great flight, even though My Husband and I didn't get a seat near each other and we didn't know that on US Airways you have to pay for all lugages. The hotel was clean and beautiful and the stuff was very friendly and always willing to help. The resort is very beautiful, water was hot, beautiful beach. The food was delicious and we had no complain. It was very hot and I loved when I saw Ice machine everywere :-).. for me this was the best, since I drink a lot of water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Couple1
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 23, 2014

Great Stay

We stayed here just last week and had an amazing time. The staff is great - super friendly! The grounds are so beautiful and manicured. MY ONLY COMPLAINT is that the food is awful. The attempt is there - but there is no way around it - the food stinks! If you don't mind about below average food then this is a wonderful stay! I would stay again - I would just pack some snacks.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana y Javier
Business
florida
Jun 14, 2014

relax vacation

Hotel is excellent the only complaint is on the two bar pools need better stairs for old people and beach is dirty but all other things excellents

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Buffet excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top