$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
107 reviews
good resort

great resort, excellent services, needs improvement on the beach, See full review

  • luis mtz
  • Oct 26, 2014
Dream Vacation!

The Resort was awesome! It is so large that they have shuttles to get you to where you want to go!... See full review

  • Maddog
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaribTraveler
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 30, 2012

The good, the bad, the ugly

My wife and I just got back and would like to give our input. Pros - The hotel was beautifully landscaped and gives a tropical paradise look and feel that gave a very nice first impression. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of food chioces with 4 buffet restraunts open in 4 hours blocks for morning afternoon and evening. Very large pool wth swim up suites and swim up bars. All Alcohol is included and to our suprise were top brands like Johnny Walker scotch ad Corona Beer. With so many bars in the hotel you will not have a problem finding a drink. Cons - Too much walking, the hotel is built out not up so it is a good 15 min walk from lobby to the room. It doesnt sound like a lot but you will end up walking that several times a day in the hot weather(my bad back was pretty sore by end of week). The food taste was just ok and It seemed like they recycled the food into different dishes and served at other meals. Conclusion - If your the partying type then I would recommend this hotel to you as the pool and beach party's were great. If your Handicapped, have a bad back, legs, I would find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When you go to Coba ...rent a bike!!! walking for miles in the heat was rough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
l.m.g.
Business
connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

o.k. vacation

we had o.k. time.the water is beautiful,but a lot of rocks.need special shoes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lsandlund
Business
Ogden, utah
May 12, 2013

Princess Riviera

We decided to upgrade to platinum which was a good decision for us, without an upgrade the amenities are limited. I didn't like that about this resort, all-inclusive should be all-inclusive. The grounds and facilities are top notch but the food and service from the staff is average at best. We've traveled to Mexico 8 times in the last ten years and I would say this resort ranks somewhere in the middle of the pack. You need a reservation to eat at the restaurants which was an inconvenience most days as we would would have liked to stay by the pool longer or weren't hungry for dinner yet, just little things. We had a great time and it's very nice resort but could improve a couple things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to platinum level, it was well worth it to us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riviera maya pro
Business
CT
May 16, 2013

Just ok!

So let me start by saying its beautiful!!!! Rooms large and clean (jr suite deluxe). Food was good. Drinks were strong! But This resort is extremely large. A ton of walking . A Super downfall for me is no ocean view when at the pools! Also no bottled water service anywhere. You get 2 medium sized bottles in your room but that's it! You can buy them at shop for $6 usd I'm really this is a HUGE issue for me. I would not return just on these two thing alone. But again it's beautiful grounds but you won't see them all cause its that big! But everyone has there likes and dislikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegerator USA
Business
Sterling, MA
May 18, 2013

Not what I expected

I've been to the Playa del Carmen area 4 times prior to this stay. This resort is huge and it's beautiful - marble everywhere. If you are not into walking a lot, and I mean a lot, then this is not the place for you. It's almost 1/2 mile from the lobby to the ocean. Everything requires a lengthy walk and stairs. The walkways and pool decks are very slippery and I saw several people take nasty falls - even before they got to the bar! The mattress and pillows were like granite. The housekeeper kept taking the bath towels and only replacing them with one towel. No matter how many times I complained, one of us had to use our beach towel to shower. The food was plentiful, but the overall quality I would rank as average-at-best. I went to the concierge desk only once and was pretty much blown off by the person working there. I wanted to go into the town to shop and was informed that the shuttles must be reserved a day in advance. She then picked up the phone and dialed before I could ask anything else. I paid more for this trip than I have for any other trip and have had very good experiences up until now. I always stay at a 4 star or better resort and this resort is not 4 star, in my opinion. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDudeAbides
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Staff, nice rooms, not very accomodating

Let me break this down into the good, and the bad: Good: The staff, the rooms, the drinks The Bad: The beach (it isn't bad, just isn't "Great"), The Food is terrible (except the a la carte restaurants which you need reservations for), and the hotel is WAYY to spread out. Additionally, I called a month before my trip asking for ocean view, and a king bed, I got neither. They did nothing to fix it, so I was stuck sleeping on two double beds (pushed together). Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I felt of all the times I've been to the carribean (5) and the times I've been to mexico (4), this resort wasn't worth going back to. You can do a lot better with your money, even if you sacrifice a little in the room. If you DO book here, make sure you book Platinum. The food, drinks and service is MUCH better if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The swimming with Whale Sharks experience is a once in a lifetime thing. It only happens from June - August, but wow.... it's awesome. Do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
best mami
Business
San Diego Ca
Jul 1, 2013

great family vacation

The hotel is good we love it but the beach it's not amazing a lot of rocks and the color it's not blue it's green and in some places brown and smelly the buffet average. The best reserved restaurant was Le Fleur we didn't like Miso too salty and Las Olas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
Business
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed explorer
Business
Chicago, il
Oct 1, 2013

Not so great

I booked my stay at the grand riviera princess and somehow ended up with grand sunset princess. Not exactly sure what the difference but it should've been explained. I was not pleased with their service. The concierge was not very helpful and was very un-accommodating. The view and sights were nice. Also, there were lots of Mosquitos in the room. On my next trip, I would rather pay a little more for a much better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super agent mn
Business
Minnesota
Oct 21, 2013

Good for the price

I felt like there was way to much walking and not another source of transportation other than walking unless u took their train that on ran for new people getting to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top