$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dora H.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Staff very friendly

Food was just ok..... Little disappointed with choices Some good... Some not so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first_time_yucatan
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

First timer Playa Del Carmen Princess review

In general we all (there were 4 adults and 2 minors) agreed the resort was nice. The entire staff was very friendly and bent over backwards to help, with the exception of Fernando in the Family teen center that missed 2 scheduled appointments for basketball with my son and other boys. The only other negative issue was the food. The food was plentiful and diverse, but as usual in a large venue, there was a bad food service element to the food (especially in the buffet). We were initially excited about all the different restaurants and really wanted to like the food but were disappointed with the preparation and taste at almost every turn. A general disappointment. I would advise going to some restaurants in Playa Del Carmen in the evening for good Mexican food. The grills at the beach were great though. The food service and staff were excellent throughout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dine elsewhere when and if possible.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shenno
Business
miami, Fl
Dec 1, 2014

nice experience

That was my first time going to Cancun...we had a great time there but i was expecting more as for shows snd kids activities...but overall it was a nice experience..the resort is beautiful and well designed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wee Man
Business
Playa del Carmen
Nov 25, 2014

Lovely

5 ***** great location and food choice plenty pools and bars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FranciscoG
Business
Chicago
Nov 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel, a bit understaffed.

The Grand Riviera Princess is a beautiful expansive resort with all of the amenities one could ask for. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the Platinum or Laguna Suites as the extra amenities are definitely worth the cost. The only downside for me was the quality of service. While the staff was very friendly and helpful when they could be, the resort is simply just too big for the amount of staff on site. With so many people to take care of, you are almost always waiting for something you need. Whether its checking in or trying to make a dinner reservation get ready to do a lot of standing around. Also, the resort isn't exactly next door to the center of town so if you want to enjoy life outside of the resort get ready to spend $20 bucks on cab rides back and forth. That being said, still had a wonderful time and met a lot of nice people. Would recommend a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sm1234
Business
north jersey
Nov 18, 2014

great hotel for the price

Without traffic, the hotel was only a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport. The hotel staff were all very pleasant - from front desk check in to the cleaning staff for the rooms. The hotel grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Food was average, but for the price I paid for airfare and the all inclusive feature it was well worth it. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would return again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Selvatica - awesome day trip for zip lines and other adventures. About a 40 min drive from hotel.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pao1982
Business
Waldorf, md
Nov 8, 2014

Great vacations

The staff were nice and helpful. Great place to relax and eat. The beach was great! I totally recommend it. We went to the 5 th ave at night and it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

5 the avenue

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UnhappyTraveling
Business
Denver,CO
Oct 27, 2014

Horrible experience

This is my 7th time visiting Mexico and I have always been impressed. Unfortunately this was the worst vacation I have ever experienced. Upon arrival there was no one greeting or offering beverages like every other hotel in Mexico. We had to wait in line and once we final reached the counter there was no friendly greeting and they spent 30 minutes staring at a screen before they told us there was no reservation. I showed all my reservation confirmations and proof of payment from my account but she told us the only way we cound get a room would be to give her a Credit card. I did, just wanting to settle in after a long day of travel. Once that was finished she told us the room would not be ready for 2 hours. 3 hours later we come to check into our room to be told it is still not ready but the manager would check to see soon. They ended up putting us in an alternative room until ours was finished 7 hours after arriving only to find a room that was not ready and under construction. We at that point realized the reason it took so long was because the Family section was under construction - incuding no bunk beds as promised, no alarm clock, only one twin bed for 2 children, a shower that leaked all over the floor both inside and outside of the shower, a safe that broke with all our belongings inside including our cash and passports, sheets that were not changed out, I had to call for room service, and a TV that was not even hooked up to cable. You can imagine the frustration at this point. We also had to go back up to the check in counter 2 additional times before they finally found our original reservation (this was on the last day of our 8 day vacation). We were only 1 of 7 families staying in this new section of the resort therefore - no consierge, no kids play area - as both were promised, and since it was under constructions lots on noise and banging to complete all other rooms early in the morning. I wish I would have know or I would have choosing another room. Next I want to comment on the service, no one seems happy or excited to work here, no one says hello or smiles as they pass you, when you do request something or need assistance they refer you to someone else and typically that requires another long walk just to find out no one is there. The Food was Horrible at the buffets, the Specialty restaurants were ok of you could get a reservation. There was not one day that passed that we did not have something terrible wrong happen. The ocean also has a sulfar spring right in the center so water is red, super salty and stinky. This is the first vacation I have ever had where my entire family was ready to go home days prior to the end of our trip. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone as it was a very bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alenat
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Oct 27, 2014

All inclusive doesn't really means what it is day in this hotel

This hotel remains me of a cheap airline, which is trying to get every nickel and dime from you on your way to your destination. Room and the internet services are not included in the price (try to define ALL INCLUSIVE” there), but if you upgrade to a more expensive villa or a "PLATINUM" section of the hotel you’ll get some of it. Villa does make a difference for an extra $190 per night, but "platinum” section of the hotel is a total waste of money. You may get a burrito late at night after waiting for at least an hour and a lousy internet service "for free" but that's about it. The sheer ambiance in this hotel is not as four star hotels are. My wife, my daughter, and her boyfriend rated this place on par of some Vegas motels where you see a sign "ELVIS SLEPT HERE". In Mexico, I guess it would sound "A JOSE SLEPT HERE", just to explain which one.. I would not recommend this place to anyone and it is on my 'NO TO STAY" list of the Riviera Hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Another Hotel

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luis mtz
Business
el paso texas
Oct 26, 2014

good resort

great resort, excellent services, needs improvement on the beach,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top