$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
relax vacation

Hotel is excellent the only complaint is on the two bar pools need better stairs for old people and... See full review

  • Diana y Javier
  • Jun 14, 2014
Great Hotel, Amazing Staff

The staff at the Princess hotels were amazing. They were helpful and extremely friendly. The food... See full review

  • Eric Oranges
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Mayan Riviera offers gorgeous surroundings and an incredible variety of landscapes to explore the ancient history of the area, and the Grand Riviera Princess All-Suites Resort lets guests take full advantage of that. Hundreds of palm trees line the resort to enhance the natural setting, but the beach is the main attraction, keeping honeymooners and other guests coming back. Enjoy one of the 12 pools scattered around the property, or take a free scuba lesson to prepare for later excursions in the crystal-clear ocean. The all-Inclusive tag of the Grand Riviera Princess means that meals, drinks and selected activities are included when you book a stay.
Key facts
  • All-inclusive room packages
  • 12 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Teen club
  • Water sports
  • 6 tennis courts
  • Scuba lessons
  • Banquet and meeting facilities
  • 24-hour room service
Neighborhood
The Grand Riviera Princess is located just minutes from the beach and all the shops, restaurants and amenities of the resort. There's a trolley service for those who want to rest tired legs after walking in the Mexican heat.
Hints and tips
Overall, the resort is quite large. Search a map online before booking your stay, and decide what you want to be near so that you can choose a room accordingly.

Staying in the center of the resort will be a short walk to restaurants and the beach. If you select a swim-out room, make sure to book one in front of the pools where the sunshine warms the water.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Grand Yucatn Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View
Deluxe Junior Suite - Pool View offers the same accomodations as in the Deluxe Junior Suite, with a direct acces to the pool from the balcony
Platinum Suite
Plaitnum Suite offers one king bed or two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 32' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite offers one king bed or two double beds air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, iron / ironing board, laundry service, mini bar, room service, safe in room, telephone and tea and coffee making facilities.
Junior Suite Deluxe
Junior Suite Deluxe offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. Balcony or terrace.
Laguna Villa Suite
Laguna Villa Suite offers one king bed, two double beds, sofa bed, full bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair Dryer and Vanity Mirror, Telefhone in room and bathroom, Iron and board, safety deposit box, air conditioning and ceiling fan, coffee market, satelite 26' plasma TV,In room Premium bar, Mini Bar with water, soft drink, beer, stocked daily. DVD Library available in Platinum lounge, Pillow Menu in Platinum Lounge, 24hrs. room service, Private pool with butler service, International Newspaper located in Platinum Lounge, Nightly turn down service, Use of bathrobes during entire stay, Free internet unlimited at Platinum Lounge as well as free wireless internet in rooms, Private Check in with cold towel on arrival and welcome drink, 1 special dinner, 1 water circuit at the Spa (per adult, per week), special amenities in room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6728 -87.0337
Area served
Playa del Carmen.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN) - 45 minutes.
Area description
The hotel is located in Riviera Maya, 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport an 15 minutes to Playa del Carmen.

Dining

Riviera
International Main Buffet.
Sunset
International Main Buffet.
Mamma Mia
Italian.
La Vaqueria
Grill.
Las Olas
Seafood.
La Hacienda
Mexican.
Miso
Asian.
Le Fleur
International Gourmet.
La Fondue
Swiss.
Chill Out Beach Club & Restaurant
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Pug
IL
Feb 2, 2014

Relaxing

We just got back last night...was a relaxing vacation. We stayed in the Villas which was well worth the upgrade for what all is included...is time for a little freshening in the rooms though... Rating is most reflective that the food was just, ok. The Romantic dinner at Chill Out was not included in the all inclusive but was definitely a highlight of the trip. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chill Out" Romantic dinner on the beach...

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hatetofly
staten island, new york
Jun 4, 2013

nice staff huge resort

aside from the terrible weather and an issue with the round trip shuttle service, my stay here was good. I booked in the Platinum suite. they stand strong at checking in at 3 o'clock so have your bathing suit handy so you can relax in a pool or grab a bite and drinks especially if you're there 3 hours early. this resort is huge which seems nice at first, but if you missed the shuttle service that takes you to and from the lobby area to the beach area you will be waiting around for 15 minutes till the next one comes. otherwise you can walk 15 minutes.( not ideal for the women in heels) the terrible weather left us no choice sometime to either walk the 15 minutes in the rain or wait an hour because everybody was waiting for the shuttle. made me appreciate the smaller resorts where the beach is directly to your right and the Disco's and restaurants are a two minute walk to your left

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDudeAbides
Fairfax, VA
Jun 19, 2013

Great Staff, nice rooms, not very accomodating

Let me break this down into the good, and the bad: Good: The staff, the rooms, the drinks The Bad: The beach (it isn't bad, just isn't "Great"), The Food is terrible (except the a la carte restaurants which you need reservations for), and the hotel is WAYY to spread out. Additionally, I called a month before my trip asking for ocean view, and a king bed, I got neither. They did nothing to fix it, so I was stuck sleeping on two double beds (pushed together). Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but I felt of all the times I've been to the carribean (5) and the times I've been to mexico (4), this resort wasn't worth going back to. You can do a lot better with your money, even if you sacrifice a little in the room. If you DO book here, make sure you book Platinum. The food, drinks and service is MUCH better if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The swimming with Whale Sharks experience is a once in a lifetime thing. It only happens from June - August, but wow.... it's awesome. Do it.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaribTraveler
New Hampshire
Oct 30, 2012

The good, the bad, the ugly

My wife and I just got back and would like to give our input. Pros - The hotel was beautifully landscaped and gives a tropical paradise look and feel that gave a very nice first impression. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of food chioces with 4 buffet restraunts open in 4 hours blocks for morning afternoon and evening. Very large pool wth swim up suites and swim up bars. All Alcohol is included and to our suprise were top brands like Johnny Walker scotch ad Corona Beer. With so many bars in the hotel you will not have a problem finding a drink. Cons - Too much walking, the hotel is built out not up so it is a good 15 min walk from lobby to the room. It doesnt sound like a lot but you will end up walking that several times a day in the hot weather(my bad back was pretty sore by end of week). The food taste was just ok and It seemed like they recycled the food into different dishes and served at other meals. Conclusion - If your the partying type then I would recommend this hotel to you as the pool and beach party's were great. If your Handicapped, have a bad back, legs, I would find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When you go to Coba ...rent a bike!!! walking for miles in the heat was rough.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WNS Caribbean Traveler
West Hartford, CT
Mar 18, 2012

It was ok

This was my third trip to Mexico in the past 5 years. We picked this resort because we thought that it was in Playa del Carmen but it turned out that we had to take a 20-minute ride to get to the center of Playa del Carmen. The resort and the rooms were beautiful. The beach was full of seaweed and it was rocky in many areas. The beach area was full with massage huts and vendors, which blocked the beach views in many areas and limited the number of available beach chairs under huts. People were going very early in the morning and leaving their towels and books on the chairs to reserve them. By 8 am, there were no chairs available. The all-inclusive package included buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. It also included vouchers for “a la carte” dinners. We arrived on Saturday morning and went immediately after checking in to reserve for the a la carte dinners. We were able to reserve at one restaurant twice at 9 pm and all the others were completely booked. Apparently, they limit the a la carte dinners to 40 people per half an hour, which is unrealistic given the size of the resort. With a 2 year old, it was difficult to eat at 9 pm and they were not very accommodating to us. Additionally, in the buffet restaurants, we walked out with a banana and a bread roll in our hand for our daughter because she didn't eat anything that day, the waiter followed us outside the restaurant and wanted us to put them back as if we were stealing food. I didn't pay $6,000 for the vacation to steal a banana and a bread roll. The quality of the food in the buffet restaurants or the a la carte restaurants was average to below average. The staff in general was very kind and friendly. The front desk staff and concierge service were not very nice and nor very helpful. We were trying to call a local taxi company (Grey Line) to confirm our return trip to the airport. For some reason, the hotel phone lines were "unable to call the number" because it was considered "long distance". However, we could make the call from our room with a $5 connection charge then $1.60 per minute after that. Eventually, I called on my cell phone and had them confirm it for us. There was entertainment every night. It was not great but it was ok. They had music bands, dance shows and fire shows. They also had a sports bar that was open all night with billiard tables, air hockey and foosball tables, many flat screen TV’s showing NBA basketball, college basketball, tennis, soccer, and hockey. I certainly had a much better time during my previous two visits to Mexico and my stay at the other resorts was much more relaxing and enjoyable. The resort is just way too big, crowded and it took almost 10 minutes to walk from our room to the beachfront. The bottom line is that the hotel advertises things that it does not provide. It offered a beautiful beachfront, great food and restaurants and a 4 star rating. What we got was a 4 star resort and room appearance and a 2-3 star service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lsandlund
Ogden, utah
May 12, 2013

Princess Riviera

We decided to upgrade to platinum which was a good decision for us, without an upgrade the amenities are limited. I didn't like that about this resort, all-inclusive should be all-inclusive. The grounds and facilities are top notch but the food and service from the staff is average at best. We've traveled to Mexico 8 times in the last ten years and I would say this resort ranks somewhere in the middle of the pack. You need a reservation to eat at the restaurants which was an inconvenience most days as we would would have liked to stay by the pool longer or weren't hungry for dinner yet, just little things. We had a great time and it's very nice resort but could improve a couple things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to platinum level, it was well worth it to us.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Mom 2012
New York
Aug 29, 2012

Huge and friendly staff but needs some TLC!!!!

The hotel is quite overwhelming. It was great that it was large but the downfall was that we had to walk about 10 - 15 minutes from the lobby or the restaurants to get back to our room. There was plenty of areas to swim which was great! You did not feel like you were on top of one another because there were different spots throughout. The beach and pools were beautiful. The not so good side of the hotel was that there were tiny insects in the room. The jacuzzi was dirty, with some stains that I guess they could not remove. One night two baby lizards got into our room and I had to call the front desk to get someone to remove them. However, even with that the bed was comfy, the room and bathroom was a good size. Overall my experience at the Grand Riviera Princess was very good. The staff was always pleasant, I even got upgraded and the front desk person was very nice and accommodating. My recommendation to improve the hotel experience would be to get more housekeepers to clean better. I know the place is huge so maybe they don't have enough help. The food was mediocre. The restaurants to me were not 4 stars. I think they were about 3 stars (edible but no real WOW factor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely venture off the resort to try authentic Mexican cuisine by going to 5th Avenue. There are a slew of restaurants that are well worth the trip.

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super agent mn
Minnesota
Oct 21, 2013

Good for the price

I felt like there was way to much walking and not another source of transportation other than walking unless u took their train that on ran for new people getting to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riviera maya pro
CT
May 16, 2013

Just ok!

So let me start by saying its beautiful!!!! Rooms large and clean (jr suite deluxe). Food was good. Drinks were strong! But This resort is extremely large. A ton of walking . A Super downfall for me is no ocean view when at the pools! Also no bottled water service anywhere. You get 2 medium sized bottles in your room but that's it! You can buy them at shop for $6 usd I'm really this is a HUGE issue for me. I would not return just on these two thing alone. But again it's beautiful grounds but you won't see them all cause its that big! But everyone has there likes and dislikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Playa Del Carmen 5th avenue!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jorbar47
Mexico
Aug 24, 2012

naa

Food was awful even in the a la carte restaurants. Personnel lacks training and are not helpful. Overall, there are way better all inclusive options near the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont miss Xcaret

Back to menu Return to top