$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Punta Bete Km 296, Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveljunkie25
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 26, 2014

Slippery slope to a bad experience...

This trip was a family vacation for our fathers 50th birthday. We had 4 platinum rooms, and were all very excited about this trip. However I was very disappointed in this resort. I myself work in the hospitality industry and have gone on multiple vacations. Here are the issues I had with this resort stay: 1. The ground throughout the resort is super slippery. For a resort that is covered with pools and direct access to the beach, there is way too much tile and a huge slip hazards on all the walkways. 3 people in my party slipped during our stay. 2. The food was terrible. Bad quality. Super slow service especially with refilling beverages. And terrible customer service. Example (1): Our first night getting a sit down meal the resort lost our reservation forcing my dad to have to walk all the way back to the platinum suites to retrieve the ticket before they would set us a table in the empty restaurant. And then took over an hour to get the first course. (And please note that the heat index at this resort was insane, and men were required to wear pants and close toed shoes to dinner in restaurants that kept their AC at 82F.) Example (2): For my dad's 50th birthday dinner at the steak restaurant (that has a huge fire grill near seating), the AC was broken and when we asked the hostess&waiter about the heat they only responded with (I'm paraphrasing) "if you don't like it you can leave". 3. The housekeepers were picketing in front of the resort. Saying the managers force them to work overtime and don't pay them for it. Super uncomfortable for the guests. The parts we did enjoy: 1. The spa water circuit 2. The bartenders in the Platinum Riviera Lounge 3. The private seats for the Platinum guests on the beach Thank you for reading my review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alenat
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Oct 27, 2014

All inclusive doesn't really means what it is day in this hotel

This hotel remains me of a cheap airline, which is trying to get every nickel and dime from you on your way to your destination. Room and the internet services are not included in the price (try to define ALL INCLUSIVE” there), but if you upgrade to a more expensive villa or a "PLATINUM" section of the hotel you’ll get some of it. Villa does make a difference for an extra $190 per night, but "platinum” section of the hotel is a total waste of money. You may get a burrito late at night after waiting for at least an hour and a lousy internet service "for free" but that's about it. The sheer ambiance in this hotel is not as four star hotels are. My wife, my daughter, and her boyfriend rated this place on par of some Vegas motels where you see a sign "ELVIS SLEPT HERE". In Mexico, I guess it would sound "A JOSE SLEPT HERE", just to explain which one.. I would not recommend this place to anyone and it is on my 'NO TO STAY" list of the Riviera Hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Another Hotel

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
V Gj
Business
dallas
Aug 5, 2014

Family Vacation

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful but there was a large section (possibly expanding) on construction right smack in the middle of the resort. Lots of Mosquitos and several of us were stung by bees near the pools and beachs. Rooms were comfortable and clean. However again there were Mosquitos everywhere and it was impossible to keep them out of the room. Also the resort was very large and there was a train provided however, while my grandmother was exiting the train she hadn't gotten fully off and the driver proceeded to start moving causing her to fall very badly. I did not like the hotels response. My Grandmother is almost 80 years old and we had to request the doctor. Doctors came to her room that night with some sort of cream in a napkin! They rubbed some on her yet did not give her any for after. The next morning I feel at least the hotel manager should have contacted her however no one did. BAD Customer service! My grandfather passed away from complications after a fall 6 months ago and this was my grandmothers first trip without him. The food was awful. My husband made a dent in a block of cheese to see if they would change the food but that dented cheese stayed in the lunch buffet for 4 days!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sun Pug
Business
IL
Feb 2, 2014

Relaxing

We just got back last night...was a relaxing vacation. We stayed in the Villas which was well worth the upgrade for what all is included...is time for a little freshening in the rooms though... Rating is most reflective that the food was just, ok. The Romantic dinner at Chill Out was not included in the all inclusive but was definitely a highlight of the trip. Staff was very attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Chill Out" Romantic dinner on the beach...

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PA Traveler
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 9, 2011

Ask lots of questions!!!

We had a negative experience from the beginning of our arrival at this resort. We booked a Platinum Suite on the Riviera side of the resort. However when we received our key, we had to find our room on our own. We were instructed that the only place serving food was the Sports Restaurant, and we were hungry, having not eaten since before our flight 8 hrs earlier. Food was horrible there. We arrived in our room, our luggage came shortly there after. I knew this was not the Platinum Suite that was described on the Orbitz site. The staff member comfirmed that it was not and the Platinum suites were at the Sunset side only. I immediately called the front desk, and they said that this was a modified Platinum room. I then went to see the concierge, and she was kind, understanding, and promised to put us on the list as 'number one' for the next Platinum room. When nothing happened the next day, I went to the concierge and was told the original girl was not working for several days, and they knew nothing about this. The third day, we could not take it anymore. We tried for it not to ruin our vacation, but we were on the third floor, and no elevator in this building. Our view was of the woods. The only thing they did to this regular room to make it "Platinum" was they placed some amenities in the bathroom. On the third day, I went to the front desk, and told them this vacation was not what we had expected. We had intentionally booked this resort after researching many, because of it's Platinum rooms being close to the beach and pools. The Princess did correct the problem, but explained to me that Orbitz, as well as all of the travel agents were informed that the Riviera section of the Platinum Suites are all under renovations, and are not opened. The Sunset Platinum are opened with limited amt of rooms. Orbitz should have informed their customers who think they are getting a Riviera Platinum resort, (paying for such also), but not receiving one. When we finally did get the Platinum Suite on the Sunset side, there was a huge improvement in the room, size, amenities, LOCATION, respect, buffet, and everything overall. I think that the resort needs to explain more about where everything is, besides handing you a map, which does not have everything labeled. The second half of our vacation was wonderful, The grounds were well maintained. Staff was friendly, food was just ok at the buffets, but the ala carte restaurants were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I bought beach shoes and they were the best investment ever!!!

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WNS Caribbean Traveler
Business
West Hartford, CT
Mar 18, 2012

It was ok

This was my third trip to Mexico in the past 5 years. We picked this resort because we thought that it was in Playa del Carmen but it turned out that we had to take a 20-minute ride to get to the center of Playa del Carmen. The resort and the rooms were beautiful. The beach was full of seaweed and it was rocky in many areas. The beach area was full with massage huts and vendors, which blocked the beach views in many areas and limited the number of available beach chairs under huts. People were going very early in the morning and leaving their towels and books on the chairs to reserve them. By 8 am, there were no chairs available. The all-inclusive package included buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. It also included vouchers for “a la carte” dinners. We arrived on Saturday morning and went immediately after checking in to reserve for the a la carte dinners. We were able to reserve at one restaurant twice at 9 pm and all the others were completely booked. Apparently, they limit the a la carte dinners to 40 people per half an hour, which is unrealistic given the size of the resort. With a 2 year old, it was difficult to eat at 9 pm and they were not very accommodating to us. Additionally, in the buffet restaurants, we walked out with a banana and a bread roll in our hand for our daughter because she didn't eat anything that day, the waiter followed us outside the restaurant and wanted us to put them back as if we were stealing food. I didn't pay $6,000 for the vacation to steal a banana and a bread roll. The quality of the food in the buffet restaurants or the a la carte restaurants was average to below average. The staff in general was very kind and friendly. The front desk staff and concierge service were not very nice and nor very helpful. We were trying to call a local taxi company (Grey Line) to confirm our return trip to the airport. For some reason, the hotel phone lines were "unable to call the number" because it was considered "long distance". However, we could make the call from our room with a $5 connection charge then $1.60 per minute after that. Eventually, I called on my cell phone and had them confirm it for us. There was entertainment every night. It was not great but it was ok. They had music bands, dance shows and fire shows. They also had a sports bar that was open all night with billiard tables, air hockey and foosball tables, many flat screen TV’s showing NBA basketball, college basketball, tennis, soccer, and hockey. I certainly had a much better time during my previous two visits to Mexico and my stay at the other resorts was much more relaxing and enjoyable. The resort is just way too big, crowded and it took almost 10 minutes to walk from our room to the beachfront. The bottom line is that the hotel advertises things that it does not provide. It offered a beautiful beachfront, great food and restaurants and a 4 star rating. What we got was a 4 star resort and room appearance and a 2-3 star service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott123
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Too big!

If you're looking for a weekend getaway with pool and drinks this is fine. If you want good food and more amenities look elsewhere. If you don't upgrade to a suite the only restaurant reservations made available to you are 6PM and you aren't allowed to dine at over half of the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Beachlover
Business
Berlin, NJ, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Some Great and Some Not

We usually stay at the Riu resorts in Mexico and Jamaica which we absolutely love but decided to see if we were missing out on some better resorts. We paid a lot more to stay at the Grand Riviera Princess than we would have paid to stay at a Riu so we were thinking we were getting a better resort. This is a beautiful resort that falls short in so many areas. Basically, you check in and are then left to figure everything else out on your own, from getting to your room to where restaurants are and everything in between. We were in the platinum building and my sister was in a villa for one week. We knew we were entitled to extras amenities but were never told about them by the resort staff. The staff is not friendly (came across one friendly guy on a golf cart making a delivery) and they don't know anything about the resort other than things that pertain to their job (the main building with all the restaurants is very large and we had to ask 2 different people where one restaurant was as there are no maps posted or signs directing you to the restaurants). There are so many common sense things missing such as no towel hooks in the bathroom, no instructions in the room on how to turn on the electric (knew from reading forums that your key card is put into a slot by the door to turn it on), how to turn on ceiling fans (sliding tabs hidden on the walls) or how the AC works (it is in Spanish and has many settings). Breakfast at the restaurant by the platinum building was not done well - ran out of bacon almost every day and even ran out of scrambled eggs one day forcing us to have an omelet made by a very unfriendly lady. It's not as though we were getting there just before they closed, we were usually there between 8am and 9am. They would have mustard out for breakfast but no ketchup and then at lunch, no mustard and the ketchup would run out so no condiments for the hamburgers and hotdogs. Guacamole ran out everyday and like everything else, was not re-filled. Lunches at the platinum restaurant were pretty good but choices were limited. We are used to endless choices at the Rui. Will say the dinner buffet in the main building was very good every night. We ate at the Japanese restaurant (hibachi table) one night and it was very good and entertaining. I talked to a lady one day staying in a regular room with her parents and her son. They called to get extra coffee and were told they would have to pay for it!! We didn't go to the beach because the water was so bad - filled with rocks and tons of seaweed. I'm from NJ and can tolerate seaweed but this was wall to wall in the water and on the beach!! The large center pool where the entertainment takes place each day is a lot of fun with music playing whereas the other pools are more quiet and no music. The pool by the platinum building is massive huge but other than the 12 seats around the swim up bar and inside the jacuzzi there is no place to hang out - no built in tables with stools, no seating ledge around the perimeter. Also, the only way in and out of this pool is by ladders or the one area where it becomes very shallow whereas the pool in the center of the resort has multiple areas with steps - very strange to do in one pool but not others. We talked to quite a few people and everyone of them said they would not go back even though it was a beautiful resort. It is such a shame to have built a truly beautiful resort and to not have thought through the simple things that would make it superior and to not insist that your employees know the resort and know how to interact with the customers. Even though I have written a lot of negatives, I will say we didn't let this stop us from having a great time as it isn't worth letting the things you can't change ruin your vacation. Back to the Riu Resorts for us!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2coolchick
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Jun 23, 2012

Opulent, but not for single travellers

Unfortunately, the hotel staff do not know how to respond to single travellers. The accomodations were lovely, but the staff always made a comment when I appeared for dinner to ask why are you alone, where is your husband. Single travllers are increasing and I had to continual explain that I was travelling alone on purpose for R&R away from my spouse and daughter. There was a free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen and this was only mentioned upon check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recent GRP Traveler
Business
CA
Aug 14, 2012

Beautiful Location...Some Downsides

The resort itself was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a Platinum Suite, which had some positives and major negatives. The room was nice and big, but had a horrible horrible musty/mold-like smell and was EXTREMELY humid! No matter how low we tried to turn down the A/C it never got rid of the humidity and never got any cooler. We had issues with the outdoor jacuzzi knob breaking and having to get replaced (lost one night of jacuzzing b/c of it) and it took FOREVER for it to fill up (also the same one in the bathroom). We also had issues with breakers blowing if too many things were plugged in/on at the same time. We were under the impression that we would have vodka included in the room, which it wasn't. The premium bar consisted of a small bottle of tequila and 2 different types of rum. The Platinum Suites private pool and lounge was nice, which included free use of computers/Wi-Fi. The bar that was in the lounge closed at 11pm, which sucked considering the closest bar was all the way at the front of the resort...about a 15 minute walk or you had to catch a shuttle that came every 10-15 minutes. The lounge also had a 24-hour concierge available, which was helpful and we utilized numerous times! The beach was beautiful and very relaxing. We never had to worry about getting lounge chairs at the beach, which I know some people complained about. The grill on the beach was great...some of the best food at the resort. Beware that when getting in the water, the first 1 1/2-2 ft is covered with small pebbles/shells/rocks, which HURT your feet really bad! The water temperature was perfect though and hardly had any waves...nice to just cool off and float in the water. The food was overall pretty subpar. The buffets were terrible. We found that the best way to order breakfast was through room service, the best place for lunch was the grill on the beach and the restaurants open for dinner were hit or miss. The mexican restaurant and italian restaurant were terrible...food was cold and not good. The grill and chinese/tepanyaki restaurant were fabulous! Highly recommend only eating dinner at those 2 restaurants. The nightly shows at the resort were great and the drinks were pretty good at most of the bars. Sometimes the vodka had a weird taste like rum...but you couldn't go wrong with margaritas or fruity type drinks. The resort had 2 really good drinks I would highly recommend....Bahama Mama and Purple Rain. Overall, we had a nice time, but would probably prefer to stay at a smaller resort in a non-humid room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort offers a shuttle to downtown Playa del Carmen, but you have to book at the Grand Sunset Princess 24 hours in advance starting at 8am (books up fast). A taxi ride to/from town costs $40.

Back to menu Return to top