$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
61 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Pool View Premium Room
This room includes:

Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Garden View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival


  • Ocean View Premium

    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    31 out of 61
    Amenities:
    3.8
    Cleanliness:
    4.3
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.9
    Location:
    3.9
    Value:
    4.2

    81% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    FiloB
    Business
    New York
    Aug 16, 2014

    Fun filled relaxing getaway

    My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and by far some of the hardest workers we have seen. We felt like true guests being catered to. The atmosphere was fun, relaxing and beautiful! We went on some awesome excursions, we loved those as well! Overall experiece was fantastic! :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    Safe and taxis are right there to accommodate you. Just know the exchange and what your $ is worth. They try to be a little sneaky with tourist and try to fool you if you don't know exactly that the exchange is.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Wandering Paradise
    Business
    Washington State
    May 19, 2014

    Great place, wonderful time

    The hotel was beautiful, staff greeted and took your luggage immediately. Concierge greeted us with a glass of champagne. We were escorted to our Ocean View room which was well air conditioned and clean. The view was OK, the other Ocean view rooms I noticed were better, ours had a palm tree in the way of the view, but it wasn't my priority for a view. The staff in the entire hotel, restaurants and bars were all friendly and helpful. The Italian restaurant was my favorite. The buffet had decent food, there was a wide selection. The Mexican restaurant and the Italian restaurant were NOT included in the all inclusive deal. You pay $6 per person. Not bad for a full course meal and something other then the buffet so we paid it, but upon booking I thought they were included as did a lot of people who dined there after us. The pool was wonderful, beautiful landscaping around it. The lounging area was great on the Ocean. The only thing is if you want an Ocean view without anything blocking your view you won't want to be here. There are boats all in front of the resort because the Pier is close by. We walked farther from the resort down the beach just to see the view without anything blocking it. We had a wonderful time, my boyfriend and I, and missed it the moment we walked away.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Crystheteacher
    Business
    Richmond. Va
    Apr 29, 2014

    Not resort people but this turned us

    Out first visit to Mexico and playa. It is located at the end of playa and has virtually no neighbors. It's less than a 5 dollar cab ride to downtown playa. We enjoyed its location and lack of dense tourism! It is not a new resort but it provides everything you will need. It is a good size and does not take a long time to reach anything within the resort. Buffet was good- some days better than others. Loved the juices and all the fruits. Went to the Italian place- wasn't impressed but it was a nice change of pace. The upstairs bar has the best view in the whole place of the ocean and the moon!!! Great beach access with plenty of chairs and nice big towels. If you stay here I suggest bringing a big mug or water bottle bc the staff will pour your drinks in it rather than the plastic cups. The lobby bar has the best pour on drinks while the swim of bar tended to be a bit more weak. Snack bar has yummy burgers and an ice cream machine. We enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go again!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    If you want a day trip arrange wih mayland tours in the lobby they are cheaper than the concierge.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Thunder11
    Business
    Poteet, texas
    Feb 19, 2014

    It was great!

    The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center were great! The staff always happy to help, We really enjoyed the buffet...very good food! We could not have asked for more and can't wait to go back...we miss Coco Beach already!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Alaska Couple 2012
    Business
    Alaska
    Jan 15, 2014

    Beds were horrible!

    The location was near 5th Avenue which was nice, not the best neighborhood-kinda dirty location. Staff was really nice. Downsides are food is average at best, if your looking for all the booze you can drink but cant get coffee in your room unless you pay $5 bucks a packet- then this is the place for you. Beds were horrible and hard, could not get any sleep and woke up sore every morning- even tried to switch rooms and the staff said "All the beds are like that" which was true for both rooms we were in. Activities are included but only 1 per day for 1 hour per day. Kind of felt nickel and dimed at every corner. Would only consider going back for the staff, nothing else.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    dbaker71
    Business
    San Francisco, CA
    Jan 12, 2014

    Cockroaches, cover-fees (on all-inclusive restaurants), break-ins

    What a nightmare of a vacation. Room was a pit. Cockroaches killed daily in room. Standing water in bathtub. Floods during rain. Sewer backed up daily outside hotel so it smelled like a dirty toilet near the front every day. Day 2, someone broke into the room and hotel staff didn't care ("well, at least nothing was missing" was all they could say). Food in buffet was nasty. McDonalds would have tasted better. Half-way through the week they started charging $6/person 'cover charge' to All-Inclusive restaurant. They let scammers in to sell fake deals to guests around the pool area (guy sold a couple discount tickets to Coco Bongo and told them to meet him at front at a certain time that evening only never to show up; he was a regular around the hotel apparently). I would not consider paying more than $39/night for this trash heap.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Look elsewhere

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Mateo13
    Business
    dallas, texas
    Aug 27, 2013

    quick trip

    Avg hotel with avg beaches. Close to the center of town

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    colombiafreqtraveler
    Business
    colombia
    Aug 3, 2013

    not complains

    we had a wonderful time during our vacations. the onky thing that could be better is the quality for the food served at night. highly recommended.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    AHL61
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Jun 6, 2013

    3rd Time to Riviera Maya

    I enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue shopping, only three walking blocks out the front door of the hotel much closer than expected having walked there along the beach. In either respect it was never a hardship. We stayed in room 2240. It was clean, quiet and close to the lobby. It didn't take more than 5 minutes to get to any of the restaurants, beach or pool. All of which were never over crowded. We enjoyed the mexican specialty restaurant menu. The buffet served it's purpose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good variety of the basic dishes beef, chicken, pork and fish. The snack bar was quick and cooked to order. A taste of home so to speak when it came to a fresh hamburger, hotdog, nachos, pizzas and even chicken wings. Lomas travel was onsite and could handle every excursion imaginable and was nice to have straight forward pricing from the different excursion groups so you always had a choice and no experience was pushed more than the other. They even helped arranged a private transfer to the airport for us. Mother nature interfered with a lot of rain. But we weren't discouraged. We had a rain coat, the resort provided an umbrella and despite the rain it was still very much warm to hot outside. Once the rain stopped the beach and pool came back to life. We were early risers and found our favorite beach spot with out a problem right after breakfast 730-800. The lobby bar was great meeting point at night for late night excursions with a group or so we heard. The theater had a good 1 1/2 hours worth of theater entertainment that was perfect before or after dinner. There was a good variety of couples, families and friends that never got in anyones way and if anything new friendships were born easily. While I wouldn't consider this a honeymooners resort it wasn't too large you'd get lost and not too small that we became board. Regardless of my opinion the Riviera Maya is an awesome destination for shopping, history, cuisine, water sports or just sitting at the beach. Staying at this resort was a great value for the price, having traveled from Minneapolis and staying for 7 days @$1999. In the end with shopping, excursions and a few generous tips we spent $3000 and will do it again real soon! Tony

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    This resort is just 4 short blocks out the front door of the hotel and can also be reached while walking along the beach. It's the best of both worlds away from the large beach resorts closer to 5th Ave. and close enough to eat, drink and play if the resort doesn't meet your expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Guadalajara
    Business
    Maspeth, NY
    May 20, 2013

    second trip

    we were so excited to come back to this resort. what a surprise. everything change.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top