$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
58 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reed Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, Disco bar, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront resort with top-notch water sports
  • Caribbean-style accommodations
  • In-house restaurants serving Italian and Mexican cuisines
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 202 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini bar, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type that has private balcony/terrace with hammock.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

Hotel Map

20.6366 -87.0602
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos, Playa del Carmen, Tulum.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 55 minutes and distance is 47 km (29.5 miles).
Area description
Located just 37.5 miles south of Cancun, our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tachuela28
Business
Novi, Michigan
Jan 5, 2014

Excelent All Inclusive

The service was awesome, the location was perfect for an all inclusive in playa (i dont like the resorts). The food was amazing everyday had different food and it was so good. The staff is friendly and gave us the best service. I'll definitely will stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you want the good licor in the open bar you should buy the international open bar wrist band for $ 18 US daily. After two or three drinks of black label or Don Julio it's paid. That save me a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thunder11
Business
Poteet, texas
Feb 19, 2014

It was great!

The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center were great! The staff always happy to help, We really enjoyed the buffet...very good food! We could not have asked for more and can't wait to go back...we miss Coco Beach already!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam86
Business
Minneapolis, minnesota
May 27, 2013

It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
netrae31
Business
Stratford, wi
May 31, 2014

Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't like was not all the restaurant's were included in the price as we were informed when we booked. Otherwise great place for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2008

Nice place to stay

This is a very nice property, the grounds are well taken care of, and you can't beat being beach front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

5th Avenue shopping is only a short drive away, and it only costs $3 for a cab to get there. There's a Walmart also within a short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Mar 10, 2008

Comfortable, affordable mid-range hotel

The Grand Coco Bay was a great experience and very affordable. The staff, food, cleanliness and general atmosphere were better than I had expected for a 3 Star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was awesome, powdery white sand, sea shells in the early morning, good for walks and excellent for couples or families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Torrence
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 5, 2008

like be at home

just one simple comment wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

must go every night to 5th ave good food,live music,is the place to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 10, 2008

Wonderful Vacation

The Grand Coco Bay was a very good choice for our vacation. This is the first time we had an all-inclusive food and beverage plan for a vacation. It was actually very affordable. At the Grand Coco Bay, we ate most of our meals at the Miramar Buffet Restaurant. We were never disappointed. There were always many amazing choices of fresh fruit, vegetables, breads, salads, etc. Each day there is a different theme for the choices of meat and vegetables, including Mexican, oriental, international, Caribbean, BBQ, etc. We ate one meal and many snacks at the snack bar. We made reservations on three evenings to eat in the Italian and Mexican Restaurants. The food, service, and ambiance in these restaurants was excellent. I highly recommend that you get up early and make your reservations for these outstanding restaurants. The seatings are 6:30, 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 p.m. Men need to wear long pants for dinner. We saw many men turned away, due to inappropriate clothing. Our room was located on the construction side of the building. We were awakened the first three mornings at 6:50 a.m. by the pounding from the construction of the condos. Each morning we requested a different room, but none of the empty rooms that we were offered were any better, so we decided to stay in our original room. By the fourth morning, we had grown accustomed to the pounding noises, and slept well after that. The bed was very firm, but not hard. The room was nicely decorated and always kept clean by the friendly staff. We liked the location of the hotel, since it was an easy 20-minute walk along the beach to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The sand on the beach is very fine, but I made the mistake of wearing flip-flop sandals during our first walk into town. The sand caused blisters to form between my toes and under the strap of the sandals. This type of sand caused abrasion, much like sand-paper rubbing between my sandals and my skin. I have never experienced this abrasion with any other beach-walking in any other location. After the blisters formed, I needed to wear my athletic shoes and socks for our next five walks into town. We chose to visit Cozumel and Tulum during our week-long vacation. There are two companies that provide ferry service to Cozumel. They each depart at alternating times. My advice is to buy a one-way ticket to Cozumel, since you can buy your return ticket for the same price in Cozumel when you're ready to return. This way you don't need to wait for the original company to return you to Playa del Carmen, if the competing company offers a more convenient time when you're ready for your return. We took a two-hour taxi ride around the island of Cozumel. Our driver was very informative and stopped many times for pictures. When we visited Tulum, we took a taxi to the ADO bus station at Fifth Avenue and Juaraz. We bought an ADO bus ticket to Tulum with an open return time, since we didn't know exactly what time we'd be finished at Tulum. We walked around the ruins, and ate our lunch that we had brought from our hotel. We listened in on some of the tour guides, but they were giving much more information than we cared to wait for. We were glad that we didn't pay extra for a tour, since we learned what we wanted to learn on our own. I would highly recommend the Grand Coco Bay Hotel and Playa del Carmen to everyone looking for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2007

My review of Grand Coco Bay

great place- they tried very hard- rooms were basic and clean. restaurants really tried hard to be first class and did a great job. food was very good at both italian and mexican. buffet had many choices, snack bar totally convenient and open until 2am!! pool area typical with music during the day wether you want it or not- the same songs every day however- at least they were decent songs! entertainment staff working very hard to keep everyone up! and active! which was a bit much when you want to be lazy on vacation- but good intentions by all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emilee
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 26, 2007

Great Bang For Your Buck

The Grand Coco Bay was a great value. It is neither a huge resort nor a 5 star resort, but we were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned once a day and the fridge was replenished every other day with cola. The location was great because there is nothing to the north so you can walk quite a distance up the beach. The beach area is by far the best of any hotel in Playa del Carmen. The non-motorized water sports are free. My husband paid for a sailing lesson in a small catamaran for $40. The guide took us out for over an hour. We were then allowed to take out the boat every day for an hour for free. Snorkling gear is available for an hour free each day. We also paid $50 for both of us and the same guide took us out for over an hour to the reef near the hotel for snorkling. He tied off the boat and took us around to the best spots. Great personal attention and much better that a huge catamaran with 80 other people. The quality of the snorkeling was not the best, we thought St. Maarten was a bit better. The buffet restaurant is a little better than average. The reservation restaurants are about the same. However, we ate in town and had some really great food from both restaurants and street vendors. The water in the hotel restaurants is filtered. So is the ice. You should buy some bottles of water to keep in your room fridge for brushing teeth, meds, etc. The town is an easy three dollar cab ride one way. Taxis are highly accessible. Also, we took about $200 in US dollar bills down specifically for tipping and change. The exchange rate is always rounded down- not in our favor. Although the gratuity is included in the hotel, you'd be suprised for what $5 a day per bartender gets you in service. We were able to get drinks right away even if there was a line. They definitely are appreciative and went out of their way to pay special attention to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top