$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
52 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Highlights
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
Nearby attractions
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

Top hotels

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Pool View Premium Room
This room includes:

Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.

  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:
    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:
  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.
  • Garden View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.
  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service
  • WI-FI.

  • Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.
  • One king size bed or two double beds.
  • Air conditioning.
  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.
  • 32 inch LCD TV.
  • Telephone.
  • Mini Fridge.
  • Deposit Box ($).
  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.
  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:
  • Coffee maker
  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
  • Safety deposit box
  • Daily minibar with soda and beer
  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge
  • 25% spa discount coupon
  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival
  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    52 out of 52
    Amenities:
    3.6
    Cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    4

    75% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    tachuela28
    Business
    Novi, Michigan
    Jan 5, 2014

    Excelent All Inclusive

    The service was awesome, the location was perfect for an all inclusive in playa (i dont like the resorts). The food was amazing everyday had different food and it was so good. The staff is friendly and gave us the best service. I'll definitely will stay here again

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    If you want the good licor in the open bar you should buy the international open bar wrist band for $ 18 US daily. After two or three drinks of black label or Don Julio it's paid. That save me a lot of money.

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Thunder11
    Business
    Poteet, texas
    Feb 19, 2014

    It was great!

    The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center were great! The staff always happy to help, We really enjoyed the buffet...very good food! We could not have asked for more and can't wait to go back...we miss Coco Beach already!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Sam86
    Business
    Minneapolis, minnesota
    May 27, 2013

    It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

    Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    netrae31
    Business
    Stratford, wi
    May 31, 2014

    Had a great stay

    Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't like was not all the restaurant's were included in the price as we were informed when we booked. Otherwise great place for families.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Mar 9, 2008

    Nice place to stay

    This is a very nice property, the grounds are well taken care of, and you can't beat being beach front.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    5th Avenue shopping is only a short drive away, and it only costs $3 for a cab to get there. There's a Walmart also within a short cab ride.

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Lexington, KY
    Mar 10, 2008

    Comfortable, affordable mid-range hotel

    The Grand Coco Bay was a great experience and very affordable. The staff, food, cleanliness and general atmosphere were better than I had expected for a 3 Star experience.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The beach was awesome, powdery white sand, sea shells in the early morning, good for walks and excellent for couples or families.

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Torrence
    Business
    Sacramento, CA
    Apr 5, 2008

    like be at home

    just one simple comment wonderful

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    must go every night to 5th ave good food,live music,is the place to be.

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Minneapolis, MN
    Mar 10, 2008

    Wonderful Vacation

    The Grand Coco Bay was a very good choice for our vacation. This is the first time we had an all-inclusive food and beverage plan for a vacation. It was actually very affordable. At the Grand Coco Bay, we ate most of our meals at the Miramar Buffet Restaurant. We were never disappointed. There were always many amazing choices of fresh fruit, vegetables, breads, salads, etc. Each day there is a different theme for the choices of meat and vegetables, including Mexican, oriental, international, Caribbean, BBQ, etc. We ate one meal and many snacks at the snack bar. We made reservations on three evenings to eat in the Italian and Mexican Restaurants. The food, service, and ambiance in these restaurants was excellent. I highly recommend that you get up early and make your reservations for these outstanding restaurants. The seatings are 6:30, 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 p.m. Men need to wear long pants for dinner. We saw many men turned away, due to inappropriate clothing. Our room was located on the construction side of the building. We were awakened the first three mornings at 6:50 a.m. by the pounding from the construction of the condos. Each morning we requested a different room, but none of the empty rooms that we were offered were any better, so we decided to stay in our original room. By the fourth morning, we had grown accustomed to the pounding noises, and slept well after that. The bed was very firm, but not hard. The room was nicely decorated and always kept clean by the friendly staff. We liked the location of the hotel, since it was an easy 20-minute walk along the beach to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The sand on the beach is very fine, but I made the mistake of wearing flip-flop sandals during our first walk into town. The sand caused blisters to form between my toes and under the strap of the sandals. This type of sand caused abrasion, much like sand-paper rubbing between my sandals and my skin. I have never experienced this abrasion with any other beach-walking in any other location. After the blisters formed, I needed to wear my athletic shoes and socks for our next five walks into town. We chose to visit Cozumel and Tulum during our week-long vacation. There are two companies that provide ferry service to Cozumel. They each depart at alternating times. My advice is to buy a one-way ticket to Cozumel, since you can buy your return ticket for the same price in Cozumel when you're ready to return. This way you don't need to wait for the original company to return you to Playa del Carmen, if the competing company offers a more convenient time when you're ready for your return. We took a two-hour taxi ride around the island of Cozumel. Our driver was very informative and stopped many times for pictures. When we visited Tulum, we took a taxi to the ADO bus station at Fifth Avenue and Juaraz. We bought an ADO bus ticket to Tulum with an open return time, since we didn't know exactly what time we'd be finished at Tulum. We walked around the ruins, and ate our lunch that we had brought from our hotel. We listened in on some of the tour guides, but they were giving much more information than we cared to wait for. We were glad that we didn't pay extra for a tour, since we learned what we wanted to learn on our own. I would highly recommend the Grand Coco Bay Hotel and Playa del Carmen to everyone looking for a great vacation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    New York, NY
    Dec 14, 2007

    My review of Grand Coco Bay

    great place- they tried very hard- rooms were basic and clean. restaurants really tried hard to be first class and did a great job. food was very good at both italian and mexican. buffet had many choices, snack bar totally convenient and open until 2am!! pool area typical with music during the day wether you want it or not- the same songs every day however- at least they were decent songs! entertainment staff working very hard to keep everyone up! and active! which was a bit much when you want to be lazy on vacation- but good intentions by all!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Emilee
    Business
    Detroit, MI
    Apr 26, 2007

    Great Bang For Your Buck

    The Grand Coco Bay was a great value. It is neither a huge resort nor a 5 star resort, but we were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned once a day and the fridge was replenished every other day with cola. The location was great because there is nothing to the north so you can walk quite a distance up the beach. The beach area is by far the best of any hotel in Playa del Carmen. The non-motorized water sports are free. My husband paid for a sailing lesson in a small catamaran for $40. The guide took us out for over an hour. We were then allowed to take out the boat every day for an hour for free. Snorkling gear is available for an hour free each day. We also paid $50 for both of us and the same guide took us out for over an hour to the reef near the hotel for snorkling. He tied off the boat and took us around to the best spots. Great personal attention and much better that a huge catamaran with 80 other people. The quality of the snorkeling was not the best, we thought St. Maarten was a bit better. The buffet restaurant is a little better than average. The reservation restaurants are about the same. However, we ate in town and had some really great food from both restaurants and street vendors. The water in the hotel restaurants is filtered. So is the ice. You should buy some bottles of water to keep in your room fridge for brushing teeth, meds, etc. The town is an easy three dollar cab ride one way. Taxis are highly accessible. Also, we took about $200 in US dollar bills down specifically for tipping and change. The exchange rate is always rounded down- not in our favor. Although the gratuity is included in the hotel, you'd be suprised for what $5 a day per bartender gets you in service. We were able to get drinks right away even if there was a line. They definitely are appreciative and went out of their way to pay special attention to us.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top