$280 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 24, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
61 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Family-oriented beachfront resort
  • Caribbean-style accommodations and personalized attention at a small size resort
  • Just a short hop from the 5th Avenue in downtown Playa del Carmen
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 196 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini refrigerator, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Pool View Premium Room
This room includes:

Includes the Pool View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Ocean View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular ocean view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Standard Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular garden view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Garden View Superior
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Garden View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Garden Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Pool View Superior Room
    This room includes:

    Includes the Pool View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival

  • Pool View Room
    Amenities:

  • Spectacular pool front view.

  • One king size bed or two double beds.

  • Air conditioning.

  • Private bath room with shower and tub, hair dryer & make up mirror.

  • 32 inch LCD TV.

  • Telephone.

  • Mini Fridge.

  • Deposit Box ($).

  • Private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

  • Alarm Clock.


  • Includes:

    Full service Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, 1 A la carte Dinner option in Italian a la carte restaurant (Mexican a la carte restaurant available at a surcharge per person), Snackbar & tea time, domestic alcohol and non alcoholic drinks, Kids club, bikes, gym, aerobics, Day and night activities, Non motorized watersports.
    Ocean View Superior & Ocean View Premium
    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View room amenities, plus extra:

  • Coffee maker

  • Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room

  • Safety deposit box

  • Daily minibar with soda and beer

  • Two a la carte restaurant options with no extra charge

  • 25% spa discount coupon

  • Bottle of wine in the room on the day of arrival


  • Ocean View Premium

    This room includes:

    Includes the Ocean View Superior room amenities, plus extra:

  • Premium alcoholic beverages in all bars (does not include wine and champagne) international brands selected by the hotel.

  • Access to our Private Lounge Bar at the beach with personalized VIP service

  • WI-FI.

  • Amenities

    • All inclusive
    • WiFi
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Spa
    Tennis
    Dining
    All inclusive
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Barber/Beauty shop
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Free parking

    Dining

    Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
    Stop by the delightfully tranquil Lobby Bar for big band tunes and evening cocktails.Open 6.30 pm - 12 pm
    Miramar Restaurant
    Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM. Dress code: Not allowed to be wet, without a shirt or barefoot.
    Rosinella Restaurant
    At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to10:00PM. Reservation required. (Please take out :Reservation required)
    Sabor Restaurant
    Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
    Sports Bar
    This elegant restaurant serves an a la carte menu inspired by the culinary traditions of Mexico. $6 surcharge (free with superior and superior premium room). Dress code: Not allowed to wear sandals, pool clothes, hats or shirts
    Pool Bar
    Our thatched-roof swim-up pool bar serves a thirst-quenching array of cocktails, beer and non-alcoholic beverages. Open 11 am - 10 pm
    Snack Bar El Palmar
    This relaxing poolside spot serves snacks during day time and night time. Open 11 am 7 pm & 10.30 - 2 am
    Bar & Mar Lounge Bar
    Luxurious Bar & Mar pairs a beachfront location with music, A/C & flat screens available and premium-branded cocktails. Access with your Premium level accommodations. Surcharge for standard and superior room. Open 12 pm - 12 am

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (61)

    Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Overall score

    3.6 / 5
    5.01.0
    61 out of 61
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    3.8
    Value:
    3.9

    72% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    I Love Mexico
    Business
    Minnesota
    May 4, 2009

    Great place for a 4 day trip!

    Three of us girls, late thirties, went here for a 4 day trip to relax in the sun and have time away from work and kids. The hotel is great for beach and pool, and the close relation to Playa Del Carmen. Breakfast and lunch are fine but dinner was better in town than at the resort. The drinks aren't the greatest, and they serve them in little cups so everyone brought thermos mugs. Overall the trip was wonderful. I would go back to Grand Coco Bay for another 4 day trip but probably not for a full week. The beach there is breathtaking and the town of Playa is a $5.00 cab ride and well worth going there for dinner and drinks. Don't hesitate to stay at Grand Coco Bay if you aren't going into it expecting a 5 star resort, but just want an easy, relaxing, vacation with a great location close to town.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Karen's is a great place to eat and drink on 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. And the staff is very fun.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Indianapolis, IN
    Apr 22, 2009

    First time at Grand Coco Bay

    The hotel was everything we expected and more. So was Mexico! The ONLY down side to our vacation was the trip the Orbitz representative ([...]) who met us at the hotel booked for us. He said we would be traveling in a 2009 new bus with restrooms and snacks for a three hour one way trip. We paid $99 per person for the trip. What picked us up was a 12 passenger van and we had the very back seat and it was terrible. It actually ruined the day and the trip. We dreaded the three hour trip back. There was 15 people in the van, one customer had to set between the driver and tour guide. It was not acceptable and we were unable to get ahold of [...] later, I do still have his information with our vacation items.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    We ate at a different restaurant every day and it was great! If people are eating there it is a good sign.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Canada
    Mar 9, 2009

    Good location for the price

    Fantastic location on the quiet end of the beach which was wonderful for early morning walks. We also walked into town every day which took about 30 minutes or sometimes a taxi for 30 pesos. We did not take the all inclusive option as we prefer to eat dinner in town. We did have the great buffet breakfast at the hotel and just paid the bill. Rooms are nice enough with a small balcony. It's all you need on vacation. Staff were friendly and really helpful when you needed it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    There were many great restaurants on the famous 5th avenue strip but La Parilla Mexican Grill was fabulous.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Neillsville
    Jan 3, 2009

    Great Beach Access

    The Grand Coco Bay had nice comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not stay all inclusive so I do not know how their dining facilities were. They had a great beach area with nice lounges. We were disappointed in the hot tub as it was not very hot when we went to use it. The view from the front, looking across the street from the hotel, was poor as it was undeveloped and not kept clean. The downtown area was within walking distance but taxi service was readily available, if needed. We did not plan on spending a lot of time at the hotel, except to sleep, so we were satisfied with the accommodations we received.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    5th Avenue was about a 15 minute walk away with lots of vendors and dining options.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Wood Dale, IL
    Oct 30, 2008

    just the two of us

    When we checked in or room was right by the bar-lounge, it got noisey late in the evening.They let us change rooms the next morning. Pool was very nice, but the water was cold. Nice walk into town, my wife and I been there many times. Lot of boats, but still had nice swimming area.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

    downtown is a long walk for older person

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Aug 23, 2008

    Poor, condesending service!

    After 6 hrs of traveling, we arrived to the hotel at 8PM.It would've been nice to be greeted with courtesy, respect and a smile. The front desk employee raised her voice when we wanted clarification on our room rate. Later, we went downstairs to grab a bite to eat. The waiter rudely asked us what we wanted and motioned with his arm, for us to step out of the restaurant.We're not sure why he did that. He clearly noticed that we were wearing the bracelets they give you when you check in. We decided after only 1 hr at this hotel that we would not consume not even one bottle of water! They did not deserve our business. We left after 3 days.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    5th avenue is less than a mile away. Lots of shops and great restaurants.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Newport Beach
    Aug 4, 2008

    Nice Beach

    Pros: Great Beach, nice dining, small all inclusive property. Good services, including water basic water sports. Cons: not too happy about the beds, a/c didnt cool room good, tv signal poor and fishing boats are moored right at the beach which is bothersome when they start motors and you can smell all the fumes. If they take of this then it would be a very nice spot to stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Fifth Avenue is nearby - long walk or just take taxi - shops of all kinds, restaurants and nightclubs and dance bars on this Avenue

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    MEDFORD, MA
    May 8, 2008

    Comfortable & Relaxing getaway

    Grand Coco Bay sits on the ocean with breathtaking views of the sun rise. The pool is centered between the rooms and is a stone throw away from the restaurants and snack bars. There are plenty of bars, including one built into the side of the pool which you can swim up to and enjoy a beverage without leaving the refreshing water. The pool and amenities are clean, and there are always activities going on hosted by the hotel staff to keep things interesting. The hotel is a mile or so from route 5 which is an area of around 20 blocks that has restaurants, and stores, banks and other small businesses. This street is closed to traffic and is a must see while vacationing for souvenirs, and authentic cuisine. The food is pretty standard, and the main dinning hall has a different themed meal each night, so you won't be eating the same thing meal after meal. There are two specialty restaruants and the food and service is very good. I've heard other places skimp on the food and afterwards people would go to the main dining hall for seconds, but this place left you will a full feeling.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Jo Ellen
    Business
    Manchester, NH
    Apr 20, 2008

    Upscale Resort

    The hotel was lovely and not too far from 5th avenue. The Beach Club was 8 miles away - we had rented an auto and so were easily able to get there. It closed at 5 however, while we wished we could have stayed longer. NO COFFEE IN ROOM!!! Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Buffet could have been better - food was there at dinner that we had for lunch. Restaurant that we made reservations for was great. Food wonderful. Room was very nice and very clean. Rates were reasonable. Am not sure we would go back again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Too far to walk to 5th avenue, especially if it is very hot and humid - take a cab.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Torrence
    Business
    Sacramento, CA
    Apr 5, 2008

    like be at home

    just one simple comment wonderful

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

    must go every night to 5th ave good food,live music,is the place to be.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top