$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
59 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reed Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, Disco bar, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront resort with top-notch water sports
  • Caribbean-style accommodations
  • In-house restaurants serving Italian and Mexican cuisines
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 202 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini bar, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type that has private balcony/terrace with hammock.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Mar 9, 2009

Good location for the price

Fantastic location on the quiet end of the beach which was wonderful for early morning walks. We also walked into town every day which took about 30 minutes or sometimes a taxi for 30 pesos. We did not take the all inclusive option as we prefer to eat dinner in town. We did have the great buffet breakfast at the hotel and just paid the bill. Rooms are nice enough with a small balcony. It's all you need on vacation. Staff were friendly and really helpful when you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great restaurants on the famous 5th avenue strip but La Parilla Mexican Grill was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Neillsville
Jan 3, 2009

Great Beach Access

The Grand Coco Bay had nice comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not stay all inclusive so I do not know how their dining facilities were. They had a great beach area with nice lounges. We were disappointed in the hot tub as it was not very hot when we went to use it. The view from the front, looking across the street from the hotel, was poor as it was undeveloped and not kept clean. The downtown area was within walking distance but taxi service was readily available, if needed. We did not plan on spending a lot of time at the hotel, except to sleep, so we were satisfied with the accommodations we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue was about a 15 minute walk away with lots of vendors and dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wood Dale, IL
Oct 30, 2008

just the two of us

When we checked in or room was right by the bar-lounge, it got noisey late in the evening.They let us change rooms the next morning. Pool was very nice, but the water was cold. Nice walk into town, my wife and I been there many times. Lot of boats, but still had nice swimming area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

downtown is a long walk for older person

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Poor, condesending service!

After 6 hrs of traveling, we arrived to the hotel at 8PM.It would've been nice to be greeted with courtesy, respect and a smile. The front desk employee raised her voice when we wanted clarification on our room rate. Later, we went downstairs to grab a bite to eat. The waiter rudely asked us what we wanted and motioned with his arm, for us to step out of the restaurant.We're not sure why he did that. He clearly noticed that we were wearing the bracelets they give you when you check in. We decided after only 1 hr at this hotel that we would not consume not even one bottle of water! They did not deserve our business. We left after 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th avenue is less than a mile away. Lots of shops and great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach
Aug 4, 2008

Nice Beach

Pros: Great Beach, nice dining, small all inclusive property. Good services, including water basic water sports. Cons: not too happy about the beds, a/c didnt cool room good, tv signal poor and fishing boats are moored right at the beach which is bothersome when they start motors and you can smell all the fumes. If they take of this then it would be a very nice spot to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fifth Avenue is nearby - long walk or just take taxi - shops of all kinds, restaurants and nightclubs and dance bars on this Avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MEDFORD, MA
May 8, 2008

Comfortable & Relaxing getaway

Grand Coco Bay sits on the ocean with breathtaking views of the sun rise. The pool is centered between the rooms and is a stone throw away from the restaurants and snack bars. There are plenty of bars, including one built into the side of the pool which you can swim up to and enjoy a beverage without leaving the refreshing water. The pool and amenities are clean, and there are always activities going on hosted by the hotel staff to keep things interesting. The hotel is a mile or so from route 5 which is an area of around 20 blocks that has restaurants, and stores, banks and other small businesses. This street is closed to traffic and is a must see while vacationing for souvenirs, and authentic cuisine. The food is pretty standard, and the main dinning hall has a different themed meal each night, so you won't be eating the same thing meal after meal. There are two specialty restaruants and the food and service is very good. I've heard other places skimp on the food and afterwards people would go to the main dining hall for seconds, but this place left you will a full feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Ellen
Business
Manchester, NH
Apr 20, 2008

Upscale Resort

The hotel was lovely and not too far from 5th avenue. The Beach Club was 8 miles away - we had rented an auto and so were easily able to get there. It closed at 5 however, while we wished we could have stayed longer. NO COFFEE IN ROOM!!! Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Buffet could have been better - food was there at dinner that we had for lunch. Restaurant that we made reservations for was great. Food wonderful. Room was very nice and very clean. Rates were reasonable. Am not sure we would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Too far to walk to 5th avenue, especially if it is very hot and humid - take a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Torrence
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 5, 2008

like be at home

just one simple comment wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

must go every night to 5th ave good food,live music,is the place to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Mar 10, 2008

Comfortable, affordable mid-range hotel

The Grand Coco Bay was a great experience and very affordable. The staff, food, cleanliness and general atmosphere were better than I had expected for a 3 Star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was awesome, powdery white sand, sea shells in the early morning, good for walks and excellent for couples or families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 10, 2008

Wonderful Vacation

The Grand Coco Bay was a very good choice for our vacation. This is the first time we had an all-inclusive food and beverage plan for a vacation. It was actually very affordable. At the Grand Coco Bay, we ate most of our meals at the Miramar Buffet Restaurant. We were never disappointed. There were always many amazing choices of fresh fruit, vegetables, breads, salads, etc. Each day there is a different theme for the choices of meat and vegetables, including Mexican, oriental, international, Caribbean, BBQ, etc. We ate one meal and many snacks at the snack bar. We made reservations on three evenings to eat in the Italian and Mexican Restaurants. The food, service, and ambiance in these restaurants was excellent. I highly recommend that you get up early and make your reservations for these outstanding restaurants. The seatings are 6:30, 7:30, 8:30, and 9:30 p.m. Men need to wear long pants for dinner. We saw many men turned away, due to inappropriate clothing. Our room was located on the construction side of the building. We were awakened the first three mornings at 6:50 a.m. by the pounding from the construction of the condos. Each morning we requested a different room, but none of the empty rooms that we were offered were any better, so we decided to stay in our original room. By the fourth morning, we had grown accustomed to the pounding noises, and slept well after that. The bed was very firm, but not hard. The room was nicely decorated and always kept clean by the friendly staff. We liked the location of the hotel, since it was an easy 20-minute walk along the beach to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen. The sand on the beach is very fine, but I made the mistake of wearing flip-flop sandals during our first walk into town. The sand caused blisters to form between my toes and under the strap of the sandals. This type of sand caused abrasion, much like sand-paper rubbing between my sandals and my skin. I have never experienced this abrasion with any other beach-walking in any other location. After the blisters formed, I needed to wear my athletic shoes and socks for our next five walks into town. We chose to visit Cozumel and Tulum during our week-long vacation. There are two companies that provide ferry service to Cozumel. They each depart at alternating times. My advice is to buy a one-way ticket to Cozumel, since you can buy your return ticket for the same price in Cozumel when you're ready to return. This way you don't need to wait for the original company to return you to Playa del Carmen, if the competing company offers a more convenient time when you're ready for your return. We took a two-hour taxi ride around the island of Cozumel. Our driver was very informative and stopped many times for pictures. When we visited Tulum, we took a taxi to the ADO bus station at Fifth Avenue and Juaraz. We bought an ADO bus ticket to Tulum with an open return time, since we didn't know exactly what time we'd be finished at Tulum. We walked around the ruins, and ate our lunch that we had brought from our hotel. We listened in on some of the tour guides, but they were giving much more information than we cared to wait for. We were glad that we didn't pay extra for a tour, since we learned what we wanted to learn on our own. I would highly recommend the Grand Coco Bay Hotel and Playa del Carmen to everyone looking for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top