$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
north man
Business
North Dakota
Feb 27, 2012

Enjoyed it

Had a great time, location is excellent. The service was great especially Manuel at sport bar, If you are expecting a 5 star resort go someplace else, this is a nice clean smaller resort and is a great value for the money, staff was great all in all had a blast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gusfor
Business
montevideo ,uruguay
Jan 22, 2012

Very nice

It is very comfortable and very well attended,all the ammenties clean and tidy and the service very well done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen 10th street

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Readyfredee
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Vacation at the Grand COCO

My wife and i have traveled to Mexico since the late 70'S so we feel like we have an understanding of the area. We have stayed in all size resorts and found that COCO BAY was perfect for us. Not to big but just right for comfort and relaxation. Food was about a 7 on a scale of 10. Service was great and activities such as shows were also great. The place was close to the city of Del Carmen so shopping was convenient. They offered all of the extras if you wanted to take side trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel offered 2 extra choices as well as the buffet. The buffet was great.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
EAST TEXAS
May 26, 2009

AVERAGE STAY

THE HOTEL WAS CLOSE TO EVERTHING YOU NEEDED. WHEN WE WALKED IN THERE WERE ONLY 4 PEOPLE AT THE POOL, IT MADE US WONDER IF WE MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. DUE TO THE FLU SCARE ALOT OF PEOPLE HAD CANCELLED THEY WERE ONLY AT 18% OCCUPANCY RATE. I BELIEVE THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE LACK OF STAFF, AND THE ONES THAT WERE THERE WERE VERY TIRED AND GRUMPY. SEVERAL EMPLOYEES SAID THEY WERE REQUIRED TO WORK 12-18 HOUR DAYS, WHICH WHEN DEALING WITH DEMANDING TOURIST WILL STRAIN ANYONES SANITY. THE ROOMS WERE CLEANED VERY WELL EVERYDAY. FOOD WAS TYPICAL FOR A MEXICO VACATION. THE GROUNDS WERE WELL KEPT AND THE PLACE FELT VERY SECURE, AND SAFE. THE WATER PRESSURE WAS VERY POOR IN THE SHOWERS. WE HAD WATER LEAKING FROM OUR CEILING?????? THEY OFFER 2 KINDS OF BEER AND THE ONE THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE COULD DRINK THEY WOULD RUN OUT OF BY 2 OR 3, AND SAID THEY HAD TO SAVE THE REST FOR THE NIGHT. SAME WITH MIXED DRINKS THEY SEEMED TO RUN OUT OF MIXES OFTEN. BOTTOM LINE; DONT KNOW HOW IT WOULD BE UNDER REGULAR CIRCUMSTANCES??? THIS WAS OUR EXPERIENCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE WITH GOOD DEALS GO TO 5TH AVENUE. WE ATE AT KARENS AND THEY WERE GREAT, FOOD WAS EXCELLENT

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 22, 2009

First time at Grand Coco Bay

The hotel was everything we expected and more. So was Mexico! The ONLY down side to our vacation was the trip the Orbitz representative ([...]) who met us at the hotel booked for us. He said we would be traveling in a 2009 new bus with restrooms and snacks for a three hour one way trip. We paid $99 per person for the trip. What picked us up was a 12 passenger van and we had the very back seat and it was terrible. It actually ruined the day and the trip. We dreaded the three hour trip back. There was 15 people in the van, one customer had to set between the driver and tour guide. It was not acceptable and we were unable to get ahold of [...] later, I do still have his information with our vacation items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a different restaurant every day and it was great! If people are eating there it is a good sign.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Mar 9, 2009

Good location for the price

Fantastic location on the quiet end of the beach which was wonderful for early morning walks. We also walked into town every day which took about 30 minutes or sometimes a taxi for 30 pesos. We did not take the all inclusive option as we prefer to eat dinner in town. We did have the great buffet breakfast at the hotel and just paid the bill. Rooms are nice enough with a small balcony. It's all you need on vacation. Staff were friendly and really helpful when you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great restaurants on the famous 5th avenue strip but La Parilla Mexican Grill was fabulous.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Neillsville
Jan 3, 2009

Great Beach Access

The Grand Coco Bay had nice comfortable rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not stay all inclusive so I do not know how their dining facilities were. They had a great beach area with nice lounges. We were disappointed in the hot tub as it was not very hot when we went to use it. The view from the front, looking across the street from the hotel, was poor as it was undeveloped and not kept clean. The downtown area was within walking distance but taxi service was readily available, if needed. We did not plan on spending a lot of time at the hotel, except to sleep, so we were satisfied with the accommodations we received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue was about a 15 minute walk away with lots of vendors and dining options.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wood Dale, IL
Oct 30, 2008

just the two of us

When we checked in or room was right by the bar-lounge, it got noisey late in the evening.They let us change rooms the next morning. Pool was very nice, but the water was cold. Nice walk into town, my wife and I been there many times. Lot of boats, but still had nice swimming area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

downtown is a long walk for older person

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Poor, condesending service!

After 6 hrs of traveling, we arrived to the hotel at 8PM.It would've been nice to be greeted with courtesy, respect and a smile. The front desk employee raised her voice when we wanted clarification on our room rate. Later, we went downstairs to grab a bite to eat. The waiter rudely asked us what we wanted and motioned with his arm, for us to step out of the restaurant.We're not sure why he did that. He clearly noticed that we were wearing the bracelets they give you when you check in. We decided after only 1 hr at this hotel that we would not consume not even one bottle of water! They did not deserve our business. We left after 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

5th avenue is less than a mile away. Lots of shops and great restaurants.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach
Aug 4, 2008

Nice Beach

Pros: Great Beach, nice dining, small all inclusive property. Good services, including water basic water sports. Cons: not too happy about the beds, a/c didnt cool room good, tv signal poor and fishing boats are moored right at the beach which is bothersome when they start motors and you can smell all the fumes. If they take of this then it would be a very nice spot to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fifth Avenue is nearby - long walk or just take taxi - shops of all kinds, restaurants and nightclubs and dance bars on this Avenue

Back to menu Return to top