$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
74 reviews
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
It was great!

The hotel is beautiful, our room was beautiful, perfect, and clean. The pool, beach and dive center... See full review

  • Thunder11
  • Feb 19, 2014
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, Grand Coco Bay - All Inclusive is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world-renowned tropical paradise.

Nestled on a lengthy stretch of beach, just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best nightlifes the Mayan Riviera has to offer. Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmens famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacars Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

Our beautifully detailed rooms offer a spectacular view, one king size or two double beds, tile floors, air conditioning, private bath with shower and bath tub, hair dryer, vanity mirror, mini bar, 27 inch color TV with European and American channels, direct dial telephone, voice mail and a private balcony or terrace all surrounded by exuberant tropical gardens.

Honeymooners will receive a complimentary bottle of domestic wine in the room upon arrival. Clients must contact the hotel prior arrival.

Hotel Map

20.6366 -87.0602
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos, Playa del Carmen, Tulum.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 55 minutes and distance is 47 km (29.5 miles).
Area description
Located just 37.5 miles south of Cancun, our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gusfor
montevideo ,uruguay
Jan 22, 2012

Very nice

It is very comfortable and very well attended,all the ammenties clean and tidy and the service very well done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Playa del Carmen 10th street

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Readyfredee
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Vacation at the Grand COCO

My wife and i have traveled to Mexico since the late 70'S so we feel like we have an understanding of the area. We have stayed in all size resorts and found that COCO BAY was perfect for us. Not to big but just right for comfort and relaxation. Food was about a 7 on a scale of 10. Service was great and activities such as shows were also great. The place was close to the city of Del Carmen so shopping was convenient. They offered all of the extras if you wanted to take side trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel offered 2 extra choices as well as the buffet. The buffet was great.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
EAST TEXAS
May 26, 2009

AVERAGE STAY

THE HOTEL WAS CLOSE TO EVERTHING YOU NEEDED. WHEN WE WALKED IN THERE WERE ONLY 4 PEOPLE AT THE POOL, IT MADE US WONDER IF WE MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. DUE TO THE FLU SCARE ALOT OF PEOPLE HAD CANCELLED THEY WERE ONLY AT 18% OCCUPANCY RATE. I BELIEVE THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE LACK OF STAFF, AND THE ONES THAT WERE THERE WERE VERY TIRED AND GRUMPY. SEVERAL EMPLOYEES SAID THEY WERE REQUIRED TO WORK 12-18 HOUR DAYS, WHICH WHEN DEALING WITH DEMANDING TOURIST WILL STRAIN ANYONES SANITY. THE ROOMS WERE CLEANED VERY WELL EVERYDAY. FOOD WAS TYPICAL FOR A MEXICO VACATION. THE GROUNDS WERE WELL KEPT AND THE PLACE FELT VERY SECURE, AND SAFE. THE WATER PRESSURE WAS VERY POOR IN THE SHOWERS. WE HAD WATER LEAKING FROM OUR CEILING?????? THEY OFFER 2 KINDS OF BEER AND THE ONE THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE COULD DRINK THEY WOULD RUN OUT OF BY 2 OR 3, AND SAID THEY HAD TO SAVE THE REST FOR THE NIGHT. SAME WITH MIXED DRINKS THEY SEEMED TO RUN OUT OF MIXES OFTEN. BOTTOM LINE; DONT KNOW HOW IT WOULD BE UNDER REGULAR CIRCUMSTANCES??? THIS WAS OUR EXPERIENCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE WITH GOOD DEALS GO TO 5TH AVENUE. WE ATE AT KARENS AND THEY WERE GREAT, FOOD WAS EXCELLENT

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
EAST TEXAS
May 26, 2009

AVERAGE STAY

THE HOTEL WAS CLOSE TO EVERTHING YOU NEEDED. WHEN WE WALKED IN THERE WERE ONLY 4 PEOPLE AT THE POOL, IT MADE US WONDER IF WE MADE THE RIGHT DECISION. DUE TO THE FLU SCARE ALOT OF PEOPLE HAD CANCELLED THEY WERE ONLY AT 18% OCCUPANCY RATE. I BELIEVE THAT IS WHAT CAUSED THE LACK OF STAFF, AND THE ONES THAT WERE THERE WERE VERY TIRED AND GRUMPY. SEVERAL EMPLOYEES SAID THEY WERE REQUIRED TO WORK 12-18 HOUR DAYS, WHICH WHEN DEALING WITH DEMANDING TOURIST WILL STRAIN ANYONES SANITY. THE ROOMS WERE CLEANED VERY WELL EVERYDAY. FOOD WAS TYPICAL FOR A MEXICO VACATION. THE GROUNDS WERE WELL KEPT AND THE PLACE FELT VERY SECURE, AND SAFE. THE WATER PRESSURE WAS VERY POOR IN THE SHOWERS. WE HAD WATER LEAKING FROM OUR CEILING?????? THEY OFFER 2 KINDS OF BEER AND THE ONE THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE COULD DRINK THEY WOULD RUN OUT OF BY 2 OR 3, AND SAID THEY HAD TO SAVE THE REST FOR THE NIGHT. SAME WITH MIXED DRINKS THEY SEEMED TO RUN OUT OF MIXES OFTEN. BOTTOM LINE; DONT KNOW HOW IT WOULD BE UNDER REGULAR CIRCUMSTANCES??? THIS WAS OUR EXPERIENCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD AND FRIENDLY SERVICE WITH GOOD DEALS GO TO 5TH AVENUE. WE ATE AT KARENS AND THEY WERE GREAT, FOOD WAS EXCELLENT

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin man
Michigan
May 10, 2009

The Coco Bay resort

We have been to several other resort in Mexico that we liked better. The buffet was very lacking. Not a great selection of foods. Same thing everyday gets boring. The pool and swim up bar were great. Rooms needed some TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Playa del Carmen was a short 20 minute walk along the beach to shop. Or any of the cabs were only $5.00 each way.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I Love Mexico
Minnesota
May 4, 2009

Great place for a 4 day trip!

Three of us girls, late thirties, went here for a 4 day trip to relax in the sun and have time away from work and kids. The hotel is great for beach and pool, and the close relation to Playa Del Carmen. Breakfast and lunch are fine but dinner was better in town than at the resort. The drinks aren't the greatest, and they serve them in little cups so everyone brought thermos mugs. Overall the trip was wonderful. I would go back to Grand Coco Bay for another 4 day trip but probably not for a full week. The beach there is breathtaking and the town of Playa is a $5.00 cab ride and well worth going there for dinner and drinks. Don't hesitate to stay at Grand Coco Bay if you aren't going into it expecting a 5 star resort, but just want an easy, relaxing, vacation with a great location close to town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Karen's is a great place to eat and drink on 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. And the staff is very fun.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 22, 2009

First time at Grand Coco Bay

The hotel was everything we expected and more. So was Mexico! The ONLY down side to our vacation was the trip the Orbitz representative ([...]) who met us at the hotel booked for us. He said we would be traveling in a 2009 new bus with restrooms and snacks for a three hour one way trip. We paid $99 per person for the trip. What picked us up was a 12 passenger van and we had the very back seat and it was terrible. It actually ruined the day and the trip. We dreaded the three hour trip back. There was 15 people in the van, one customer had to set between the driver and tour guide. It was not acceptable and we were unable to get ahold of [...] later, I do still have his information with our vacation items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a different restaurant every day and it was great! If people are eating there it is a good sign.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 22, 2009

First time at Grand Coco Bay

The hotel was everything we expected and more. So was Mexico! The ONLY down side to our vacation was the trip the Orbitz representative ([...]) who met us at the hotel booked for us. He said we would be traveling in a 2009 new bus with restrooms and snacks for a three hour one way trip. We paid $99 per person for the trip. What picked us up was a 12 passenger van and we had the very back seat and it was terrible. It actually ruined the day and the trip. We dreaded the three hour trip back. There was 15 people in the van, one customer had to set between the driver and tour guide. It was not acceptable and we were unable to get ahold of [...] later, I do still have his information with our vacation items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a different restaurant every day and it was great! If people are eating there it is a good sign.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Mar 9, 2009

Good location for the price

Fantastic location on the quiet end of the beach which was wonderful for early morning walks. We also walked into town every day which took about 30 minutes or sometimes a taxi for 30 pesos. We did not take the all inclusive option as we prefer to eat dinner in town. We did have the great buffet breakfast at the hotel and just paid the bill. Rooms are nice enough with a small balcony. It's all you need on vacation. Staff were friendly and really helpful when you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great restaurants on the famous 5th avenue strip but La Parilla Mexican Grill was fabulous.

Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Mar 9, 2009

Good location for the price

Fantastic location on the quiet end of the beach which was wonderful for early morning walks. We also walked into town every day which took about 30 minutes or sometimes a taxi for 30 pesos. We did not take the all inclusive option as we prefer to eat dinner in town. We did have the great buffet breakfast at the hotel and just paid the bill. Rooms are nice enough with a small balcony. It's all you need on vacation. Staff were friendly and really helpful when you needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great restaurants on the famous 5th avenue strip but La Parilla Mexican Grill was fabulous.

Back to menu Return to top