The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Calle Costera Norte S/N, Lte.1 Region 6, Playa del Carmen, 77710
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
59 reviews
Fun filled relaxing getaway

My newly fiancé and I had such an amazing experiece at The reef coco beach! The staff was kind and... See full review

  • FiloB
  • Aug 16, 2014
Had a great stay

Would like to thank the staff for a great stay very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • netrae31
  • May 31, 2014
All-inclusive resort offering world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive offers comfortable accommodations set close to the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, direct access to the beach and a rich experience of world-class water sports, spa services and fine dining. Snorkeling, boogie boarding and kayaking are just among the water recreations guests can try while at the property. At The Reed Coco Beach - All Inclusive, patrons savor Italian cuisine at Rosinella restaurant, Mexican favorites at Sabor Latino and all-day buffet at Miramar. The resort also has one snack and four bars. Rejuvenate with pampering treatments at Ya'ax Spa on site. Other recreational facilities include fitness center, Jacuzzi, Disco bar, tennis court and Kids Club. Corporate visitors can also take advantage of the meeting room and private events facilities. Wi-Fi access (fees apply) is also available.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Beachfront resort with top-notch water sports
  • Caribbean-style accommodations
  • In-house restaurants serving Italian and Mexican cuisines
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Resort Rooms
The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive features 202 Caribbean-style rooms appointed with air conditioning, mini bar, cable TV, hair dryer, ceiling fan, iron and ironing board, safety deposit box (fees apply), shower and bathtub. The resort also offers Ocean Front room type that has private balcony/terrace with hammock.
Things To Do
  • Nuestra Senora del Carmen Catholic Church (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yucatek Divers (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Playacar Golf Club (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Chaak Tun Cenote (4.3 mi/7.0 km)
  • Xplor Park (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Delphinus Xcaret (5.5 mi/8.9 km)

The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View with Private Balcony, 321 Sq.Ft
Standard room includes: Ocean, garden or pool view, one king size bed or two doubles, caribbean style decoration, balcony or terrace. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, telephone, mini bar, safety box, bath tube, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.6366 -87.0602
Area served
Cancun, Puerto Morelos, Playa del Carmen, Tulum.
Nearby airports
Cancn International Airport (CUN): Approximate driving time is 55 minutes and distance is 47 km (29.5 miles).
Area description
Located just 37.5 miles south of Cancun, our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Tres Rios, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.

Dining

Lobby Bar Tabacco Y Ron
Live music and a great ambiance are the ingredients at our lobby bar. Open from 6PM - Midnight.
Miramar Restaurant
Enjoy your buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner in front of the Amazing Caribbean sea view Breakfast from 7 - 11AM, lunch from 12:30 - 3:00PM, dinner from 6:30 - 10PM.
Rosinella Restaurant
At our Italian specialties restaurant you will enjoy of a romantic dinner. Rossinela opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sabor Restaurant
Mexican Specialties and a fantastic view are the main ingredients that you will discover to make a night almost perfect opens from 6:30PM to 9:30PM. Reservation required.
Sports Bar Heaven
Sport Bar Papos is characterized because of the sport entertainment and here you will find an extended variety of drinks, open from 5PM - 2AM.
Pool Bar
Pool Bar Azul 48 gives service to those who wants to get domestic or International exotic drinks at the pool, open from 11AM -6:30PM.
Snack Bar El Palmar
Informal and relaxing atmosphere are the characteristics of our snack located in front of the pool here you will found great food all the day and open from 11AM - 6PM, and from 10PM2AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colombiafreqtraveler
Business
colombia
Aug 3, 2013

not complains

we had a wonderful time during our vacations. the onky thing that could be better is the quality for the food served at night. highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AHL61
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 6, 2013

3rd Time to Riviera Maya

I enjoyed the proximity of this hotel to 5th Avenue shopping, only three walking blocks out the front door of the hotel much closer than expected having walked there along the beach. In either respect it was never a hardship. We stayed in room 2240. It was clean, quiet and close to the lobby. It didn't take more than 5 minutes to get to any of the restaurants, beach or pool. All of which were never over crowded. We enjoyed the mexican specialty restaurant menu. The buffet served it's purpose for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A good variety of the basic dishes beef, chicken, pork and fish. The snack bar was quick and cooked to order. A taste of home so to speak when it came to a fresh hamburger, hotdog, nachos, pizzas and even chicken wings. Lomas travel was onsite and could handle every excursion imaginable and was nice to have straight forward pricing from the different excursion groups so you always had a choice and no experience was pushed more than the other. They even helped arranged a private transfer to the airport for us. Mother nature interfered with a lot of rain. But we weren't discouraged. We had a rain coat, the resort provided an umbrella and despite the rain it was still very much warm to hot outside. Once the rain stopped the beach and pool came back to life. We were early risers and found our favorite beach spot with out a problem right after breakfast 730-800. The lobby bar was great meeting point at night for late night excursions with a group or so we heard. The theater had a good 1 1/2 hours worth of theater entertainment that was perfect before or after dinner. There was a good variety of couples, families and friends that never got in anyones way and if anything new friendships were born easily. While I wouldn't consider this a honeymooners resort it wasn't too large you'd get lost and not too small that we became board. Regardless of my opinion the Riviera Maya is an awesome destination for shopping, history, cuisine, water sports or just sitting at the beach. Staying at this resort was a great value for the price, having traveled from Minneapolis and staying for 7 days @$1999. In the end with shopping, excursions and a few generous tips we spent $3000 and will do it again real soon! Tony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This resort is just 4 short blocks out the front door of the hotel and can also be reached while walking along the beach. It's the best of both worlds away from the large beach resorts closer to 5th Ave. and close enough to eat, drink and play if the resort doesn't meet your expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam86
Business
Minneapolis, minnesota
May 27, 2013

It Doesnt Get Much Better than Grand Coco Bay.

Upon our arrival we were greeted and continuously treated with the utmost respect. The facility is cozy, that is what i look for in a Hotel, i don't want a huge complex which is difficult getting from point A to point B. Grand Coco Bay is a modest size and everything is very convenient to get to. The hotel is steps away from the beach, the pool has ample space for all who would perfer to lay by the pool. Grand Coco bay's Overall location is priceless, you are in walking distance from the famed 5TH ave which has ample restaurants, shops and nightlife. The all inclusive factor really ensures you get your moneys worth, all you can drink and eat. they have a great Snack bar: my favorite were the nacho's with Guacamole , if you would rather sit down and not be pool side they have a buffet that has a great breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Dinner is themed so one night is mexican, another Italian etc. My favorite was obviously mexican night. I have come to Grand Coco Bay 3 times, and am already planning my 4th. listen i am very Picky when it comes to destinations and hotels and no other hotels in playa compare from the price to the location. the one thing i would really Suggest is room service, I love room service, and complementary Wi-fi. it must be purchased daily or weekly for a steep price. While i was staying at the hotel i was looking for relaxation. I got A message in the spa from betty, I layed out, We went dolphin swimming, jet Skiing and Scuba Diving All set up by the hotel for HONESTLY a great price. I went to 5th Ave Almost daily and on a few occasions walked back to the hotel. If you decide to take a cab the hotel is so close to town that it only costs you 4 USD. The one thing i wish i did do more of is eat locally instead of mostly at the hotel but the selection at the hotel was always so great. I will forever go to this hotel and i will definitely be returning 2014.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short Walk to 5TH AVE but even if you want to take a cab its only 4usd from the hotel. 5th Ave is A must see, and i would recommend dolphin swimming set up by the hotel, Very decent pricing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Airport Johnny
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 23, 2013

Excellent Experience

What a great trip! For the money, you cannot find a better deal in Playa del Carmen. The staff was beyond friendly... they were quite incredible, actually! The place was extremely clean and the food and beverages were decent. Great view of the ocean and the pool. I would absolutely stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guadalajara
Business
Maspeth, NY
May 20, 2013

second trip

we were so excited to come back to this resort. what a surprise. everything change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mystery guy
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 21, 2013

Paper thin walls

Noise from my neighbors woke me up by 7AM every morning. I could hear snoring and conversation through the walls. The beach is a parking lot for boats, which spoils the view. However, the staff was nice and the food wasn't bad. I feel that I would have been better off paying less for a hotel that wasn't part of a resort. Or paying slightly more for a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loveplaya
Business
dallas
Jan 9, 2013

Small beach

Nice pool but very small beach. My room was near the lobby so, it was pretty loud. And while there I kept getting mesquito bites from sitting on the balcony. Property was nice, not great. Location was ok, but not within walking distance of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmom Susan
Business
Oklahoma
Nov 29, 2012

Great family getaway

Property is beautiful, but beach is small. Beds were great for a Mexican bed, much softer than most. Food was far better than most all inclusives. Specialty restaurants were very nice. Staff was very engaging and really tried to do everything that they could for you. Would have been nice to have WIFI in the lobby, without paying $15 per day. Fishing was great, went to the right of the property to book. Close to town, really was a $5 cab ride. Would recommend it to others. Rooms are older, but you are only in them to sleep and they were clean. Great family place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Property is about 6-8 blocks from main shopping area of 5th avenue. Cab ride was only$5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cath63
Business
Ashley, Pa USA
Sep 20, 2012

Great deal

The Grand Coco resort was a true bargain. From the clean rooms, beautiful grounds & beach, to wonderful professional staff, this vacaton could not have been better. But beware, paid for transfers thou Orbitzs to Grey line. Told when we got to Cancun airport that we owed another $75 because of hotel zones. I was stuck, had to give my credit card which cost more. Believe me, I was mad & thought this was a ripe off. I made confirmed reservation before we left & was not told about the price..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reef Coco Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachlazy2012
Business
west Milford,nj
May 9, 2012

coco62

great hotel great location great views foodis Ok beach nice need servers by beach and pool Area need more exciting nightlife after 11:00 Pm overall great stay .would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top